Metascore
37

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 29 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 19 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , ,
  • Summary: Forced to flee her abusive mother (Rosario Dawson), and turned away by her Wall Street father (Brendan Fraser), Agnes “Apple” Bailey (Vanessa Hudgens) finds herself on a desperate and isolated journey of survival. In the depths of despair, she meets a compassionate stranger (James EarlForced to flee her abusive mother (Rosario Dawson), and turned away by her Wall Street father (Brendan Fraser), Agnes “Apple” Bailey (Vanessa Hudgens) finds herself on a desperate and isolated journey of survival. In the depths of despair, she meets a compassionate stranger (James Earl Jones), who ultimately leads her to salvation and unprecedented support in a suburban shelter for homeless teenagers. With gained confidence, and the warmth of her new home, Apple breaks from her inhibiting past, embracing the future with clarity and hope. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 29
  2. Negative: 12 out of 29
  1. Reviewed by: Rex Reed
    Jan 24, 2014
    75
    It’s not for the squeamish, but thanks to a riveting central performance by Vanessa Hudgens and a compassionate screenplay by Ron Krauss, who also directed, this is a far more sobering and substantial exposé of homeless teenage girls on the dangerous edge of society than you might expect.
  2. Reviewed by: Sheila O'Malley
    Jan 24, 2014
    63
    The film never says the words "pro-life" or "pro-choice." It genuinely seems to be about how the system has broken down entirely, and how sometimes it is up to privately funded charities to provide a light at the end of the tunnel.
  3. Reviewed by: Betsy Sharkey
    Jan 23, 2014
    50
    Gimme Shelter, a ripped-from-real-life story of a pregnant teen's journey toward hope, is filled with very good intentions, very bad dialogue and a surprisingly affecting turn by its star Vanessa Hudgens.
  4. Reviewed by: Kate Erbland
    Jan 21, 2014
    42
    For all of Krauss’ clearly good intentions, the film still falls staggeringly flat, even with the inclusion of a bold and unexpected performance from Vanessa Hudgens, doing her damndest to break out of the Disney mold and turn in actual work here.
  5. Reviewed by: Peter Travers
    Jan 23, 2014
    38
    Propaganda is a bitch to act. And this misguided movie leaves Hudgens buried in it.
  6. Reviewed by: Bilge Ebiri
    Jan 24, 2014
    30
    Whatever its politics, Gimme Shelter fails on multiple levels.
  7. Reviewed by: R. Kurt Osenlund
    Jan 22, 2014
    0
    Writer-director Ron Krauss's Gimme Shelter is wretched long before its odious ulterior motives come to light.

See all 29 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. Jan 29, 2014
    10
    I agree with a lot of the other users - Vanessa Hudgens was incredible. It's a good story (based on a true story) with a good cast, includingI agree with a lot of the other users - Vanessa Hudgens was incredible. It's a good story (based on a true story) with a good cast, including Rosario Dawson, James Earl Jones, Dascha Polanco, and Brendan Fraser. An indie flick packing a major punch, it deserves to be given a chance by moviegoers. Expand
  2. May 4, 2014
    10
    Professional reviewer wrote a lot of negative critics because politics & religion about ABORTION. But WTF Seriously we don't care about thatProfessional reviewer wrote a lot of negative critics because politics & religion about ABORTION. But WTF Seriously we don't care about that questions just now, a movie is a entertainment so just relax yourself and appreciate the show guys...then ... for my review now : I want to say It's just a great movie mainly because the drama is solid, realistic, the actors are all excellent especially Vanessa Hudgen, she's even great as she was in the last movie "The Frozen Ground". I'm impressed by her performance , I think I'm turning fan *_* Expand
  3. Jan 25, 2014
    10
    Luckily for Vanessa Hudgens (“Spring Breakers” 2013) she has broken out of her Disney princess shell and transformed herself into a bonafideLuckily for Vanessa Hudgens (“Spring Breakers” 2013) she has broken out of her Disney princess shell and transformed herself into a bonafide actress with real credentials.She proves that she has completely left her amateur puppy Disney HSM acting and moved on to bigger future roles that will certainly give her a lot of career options, maybe an Oscar too. And why not? In Gimme Shelter, Vanessa Hudgens, as an actress, portrays all the emotions and characteristics that the Academy of Arts want to see. I wont be surprised if I see Hudgens taking at least a nomination for her stunning, breath taking performance. Collapse
  4. Jan 31, 2014
    9
    Kudos to Ron Krauss for his production and to Vanessa Hudgens for an outstanding performance in a movie that clearly demonstrates that thereKudos to Ron Krauss for his production and to Vanessa Hudgens for an outstanding performance in a movie that clearly demonstrates that there are choices and their are people with hearts of compassion. Hudgens performance in my opinion was stellar! She is no longer a Disney "princess!" She has stepped up to the plate and hit a home run! Expand
  5. Jul 8, 2014
    7
    An independent movie based on the true story. About a runaway teenage girl, hiding from her abusive mother and looking for her father. Kind ofAn independent movie based on the true story. About a runaway teenage girl, hiding from her abusive mother and looking for her father. Kind of 'Juno' meets 'Precious'. Both, teen pregnancy and abusive were exposed in the movie. Yet another movie of Vanessa Hudgens gives a similar kind of character display to the movie 'The Frozen Ground'.

    The title gives the expression of 'tearjerker' movie, but it was not. Maybe not persuaded us that hard to feel close enough. That is where it fails, otherwise the movie would have been recognized widely. Especially family audience would have been the target. It was the story of Apple, a teen girl who takes off from her abusive mother to find her real father. Then she comes to know that she's pregnant. She has to decide whether to have a baby or an alternate option. But she is lack of confidence, believes no one. So implementation of trust in life and handling her own life is what told in the remaining story.

    ''Just turn the page. And forget about it. Like you did with me.''

    As it was inspired by real, the story was extremely outspoken what you wanted to know. But, as a movie it did not turn into one nice piece. You are not going to enjoy it completely due to it was told largely in struggling manner, yet won't bring tears to the viewer's eyes like I said. A couple of scenes were inspiring, it gave a sign of positive to the viewers to proceed their watch. Could have been a little better in presenting crucial elements. Overall, not a bad movie for the subject it digs.
    Expand
  6. Jun 19, 2014
    7
    I can't really see why all the negativity to this film, especially from critics; the movie wasn't perfect, and Vanessa Hudgens didn't breakI can't really see why all the negativity to this film, especially from critics; the movie wasn't perfect, and Vanessa Hudgens didn't break any ground, but no one can deny that the film is touching and has a powerful story. The film is based on a true story, a teen named Apples, runs from her abusive mother, in search of her father, and throughout the movie, we see how she leaves behind darkness and runs to light and hope. The movie is very touching, really disturbing at part, there is one scene in a church that made me so sad, Apple is a pregnant teenage, and the movie shows us how Apple is abusive and has a really hard time connecting to people, because of her past. The music in this movie makes it really emotional for the viewer. However the main issue with this movie is that all the people in this movie, although did their best, but felt not really fit for their roles, a similar movie in plot came out a few years back called "Precious" got slammed with a hard R, had tons of emotions because you can feel the characters by the emotions delivered from the actors, however, I can understand why the creators have chosen young actors; to grab the attention of young audiences to such important movie and story, because if there isn't anyone to grab the attention of the teens, this movie would lose its main purpose, and that's why this movie is a PG-13, I can totally understand, and I am not saying that the actors did bad, they were actually really good. Overall this movie is very emotional, disturbing at time, Gimme Shelter might be a movie that you don't wanna really tire yourself to see, but it is a must! Expand
  7. Nov 13, 2014
    4
    "Gimme Shelter" 10 Scale Rating: 4.0 (Bad) ...

    The Good: Hudgens was game and turns in a solid performance that gets stronger as the film
    "Gimme Shelter" 10 Scale Rating: 4.0 (Bad) ...

    The Good: Hudgens was game and turns in a solid performance that gets stronger as the film progresses. I actually can't fault any of the performances at all as Fraser, Dawson, and James Earl Jones were all great in supporting roles. Fraser in particular was a pleasant surprise as I haven't enjoyed much of his work for a very long time.

    The Bad: For starters, the film feels more like an after school special (with curse words!) than anything. The tone, setting, and story just give that vibe. It's also very predictable and doesn't set itself apart from other similar films. Lastly, it's slow moving and boring despite containing interesting and explosive subject matter.
    Expand

See all 13 User Reviews

Trailers