Unapix Entertainment Productions | Release Date: October 26, 2001
8.8
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 163 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
146
Mixed:
6
Negative:
11
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
McNeumeyerApr 19, 2011
I absolutley love this film. It's truly a classic with it's dark comedy, smart writing, and great acting. It's comparison between lycanthropism and puberty is unique. One of my favorite films. Buy it now.
5 of 5 users found this helpful50
All this user's reviews
10
scareahmonsterJan 11, 2014
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This movie is a great dark comedy horror that is one of my all time favorites, including the sequels (Ginger Snaps Back & Ginger Snaps: The Beginning) although they are no where near as good as the first film. But like so many other B &/or independent movies Ginger Snaps is not very well known nor is it given the credit it deserves. If you grew up an outcast or love anything morbid then you will fall in love with teenage twins Bridget & Ginger & their gothy twisted sense of being. If you've ever wanted to hit a snobby bully with a field hockey stick or think that different ways to commit suicide are interesting then this is a must see. If not or if you are that snobby bully then I still recommend you see this film. It's one werewolf movie that doesn't disappoint! Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
7
marc5477Sep 11, 2015
It was not a ground breaking movie, nor a bad movie by any stretch. A lot of reviews (especially at IMDB) overthink the plot (like this was some deep scifi flick) and state that its yet another tweeny horror movie... it is not a teen horrorIt was not a ground breaking movie, nor a bad movie by any stretch. A lot of reviews (especially at IMDB) overthink the plot (like this was some deep scifi flick) and state that its yet another tweeny horror movie... it is not a teen horror flick. There is no retarded teenage love story in this movie nor any nudity nor a bunch of topless guys. There are no cheap gimmics in this movie designed to draw teens. It is a straight forward horror drama about two sisters and how they try to cope with one turning to a werewolf. The quality of the film is definitely limited; this was not a big budget flick but at the same, the low budget and lack of CGI really give it a very natural eerie feel similar to how old horror movies used to be. The only exception is the werewolf itself which looks pretty 80s (in a bad way) but was not really in the movie for very long any way and the movie is not really about cheap scares anyway. I always felt like older horror movies were much more convincing due to narrower camera perspectives (smaller resolutions and angles) and use of imagination (making people think) over CGI and special effects. Todays average horror flick is very bad (more like garbage) and has mostly devolved to formulaic snore fests requiring over the top violence and gore (a la Saw or Hostel) and/or cheap surprise scares which stop working once a person gets older. This was a nice change of pace and I plan to watch the next two movies. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
MikeS.Jan 19, 2006
What a movie, its great.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
AshleyADec 20, 2005
One of the best Canadian films I have seen - One of my favorite movies of all time!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
AmandaW.Sep 23, 2006
Amazing! One of my favorite movies!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
MadclownJackDec 21, 2014
The whole movie is awesome, from the scenery and the community the whole story is put in, to the monstrously gory practical effects. The ending, though, along with the musical score, brought tears to my eyes. Brutally, unabashedlyThe whole movie is awesome, from the scenery and the community the whole story is put in, to the monstrously gory practical effects. The ending, though, along with the musical score, brought tears to my eyes. Brutally, unabashedly melancholic. The Canadian answer to "Donnie Darko". Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
GamecubeLoverJul 29, 2016
This is my 2nd favorite movie of all time and the best werewolf movie. This movie should not even get ONE bad or mixed review this deserves a 10/10 for sure.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
JacobparkerMay 18, 2013
At first you might think it is a funny teenie horror comedy, that is true.
But in the end might pass the laugh. The movie will be bloody, creepy and sad!
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
0
BryantW.Aug 4, 2002
I don't know what the rest of you are talking about. This is the worst movie I've ever seen. I wouldn't watch this movie again if you gave me a thousand dollars.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
NikkiG.Mar 6, 2002
This movie is the best movie i've seen in my whole life!!! Since i'm such a big werewolf movie fan, i loved it.. its my fave movie ever.. katherine isabelle who plays ginger and emily perkins who plays brigitte both made anThis movie is the best movie i've seen in my whole life!!! Since i'm such a big werewolf movie fan, i loved it.. its my fave movie ever.. katherine isabelle who plays ginger and emily perkins who plays brigitte both made an extraordinary performance in this red blooded shocker!! mimi rogers who plays the mother of the sisters and kris lemche who plays sam also did great jobs in the film:) i loved this movie so much that i bought the canadian DVD as soon as it came out and i bought the soundtrack and i put the canadian poster of the film in my room!! i even printed pictures off the internet and stuck them on my wall!! i just loove this movie!! i always talk about it.. its just amazing.. i recommend it to everyone!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PamelaP.May 5, 2002
It was gr8!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LadyJul 12, 2002
The movie was sweet. Didn't like that gory parts tho. But it was an awesome movie!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ShannonP.Jul 22, 2002
Best werewolf movie ever made and it also has lots of comedy so thats cool.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JenM.Dec 20, 2003
My favourite all time movie along with the Exorcist... complete genius, maybe the ending could have been stronger, but none the less this is a fantastic work of Art!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
sarahApr 6, 2005
I love ginger snaps that was the no.1 movie katherine isabelle, emilyperkins rok i want that sound track :o)
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MatthewL.Oct 15, 2002
Bloody brilliant! Very entertaining, loved the werewolf at the end, makes a nice change to have a 'real' monster rather than a dodgy looking CGI graphic (american werewolf in paris anyone?)
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
[Anonymous]Feb 20, 2002
Grreat movie! I really liked the little detail in it like the gore photos the sisters make.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
EdF.Jul 30, 2002
Katharine Isabelle is hot. That is all that matters.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KatrinM.Aug 23, 2002
One of the best films i ever have seen.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SocoJ.Sep 29, 2002
Really cool movie about turning into a werewolf bitch at age 16, which was never told before. And deep sisterhood bond "together forever" is heartpounding!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
FanniB.Dec 25, 2003
Coooooooool!!!!!!!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
NickVJun 1, 2003
Love it. Own it. Can't wait for the sequel.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LucyR.Jan 4, 2004
This movie is awesome its the best i love it i would love to meet katherine or emily.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AshleyR.Jan 7, 2004
It was the best movie every but the movie should have end were the guy would have been ok and ginger woldnt and both sisters would get the shot to go back to normal it would have been nice that way.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
TessyBelleH.Aug 9, 2004
This movie was very well thought out. And althought when I got this movie I was looking for scary I liked this movie a lot any way because it doesn't need to be scary. This movie has humor, action, suspence and more. This is one of the This movie was very well thought out. And althought when I got this movie I was looking for scary I liked this movie a lot any way because it doesn't need to be scary. This movie has humor, action, suspence and more. This is one of the only horror movies that has made me almost cry at the end. In all this movie is pretty good and once you see it you come back for more Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
CharlotteW.Dec 21, 2001
Being a fan of werewolfie genres, i enjoyed this film. I loved the way they mixed the lycanthrope with adolescence, it was a great mix. The drugs guy was **FWAR** too.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KeraL.Feb 28, 2002
This is one of the best movies I've ever seen, and I went out and bought it as soon as it came in the shops, a must see!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TinkerbellApr 21, 2002
The film is unspeakably fantastic. It's really funny and nasty at the same time. And the drugs man an ginger are most definatly *FWAR*
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GINGERaleMay 20, 2002
For those of you who haven't seen it, run...run right now to a video store and go grab a copy. This is the best movie i have seen this year, i absolutely loved every minute of it. Katherine Isabelle (Ginger) is so incredibly hottt, and For those of you who haven't seen it, run...run right now to a video store and go grab a copy. This is the best movie i have seen this year, i absolutely loved every minute of it. Katherine Isabelle (Ginger) is so incredibly hottt, and makes the transformation to a werewolf believable. You won't be disappointed, a grade A top choice film for the truly morbid. Mmmmmm. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful