Unapix Entertainment Productions | Release Date: October 26, 2001
8.1
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 109 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
90
Mixed:
7
Negative:
12
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
MikeS.Jan 19, 2006
What a movie, its great.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
EmSNov 2, 2005
This is so good!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AshleyADec 20, 2005
One of the best Canadian films I have seen - One of my favorite movies of all time!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JacquelineG.Oct 6, 2005
My favorite character is Brigitte Fitzgerald. I really love the ginger snaps movies. It's the coolest movie i've ever seen.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CrystalA.Aug 30, 2005
Liked it very much.....excellent movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GregLDec 13, 2005
Very good!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AmandaW.Sep 23, 2006
Amazing! One of my favorite movies!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
KrisK.Nov 26, 2005
Impressive!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
McNeumeyerApr 19, 2011
I absolutley love this film. It's truly a classic with it's dark comedy, smart writing, and great acting. It's comparison between lycanthropism and puberty is unique. One of my favorite films. Buy it now.
5 of 5 users found this helpful50
All this user's reviews
10
JacobparkerMay 18, 2013
At first you might think it is a funny teenie horror comedy, that is true.
But in the end might pass the laugh. The movie will be bloody, creepy and sad!
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
10
scareahmonsterJan 11, 2014
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This movie is a great dark comedy horror that is one of my all time favorites, including the sequels (Ginger Snaps Back & Ginger Snaps: The Beginning) although they are no where near as good as the first film. But like so many other B &/or independent movies Ginger Snaps is not very well known nor is it given the credit it deserves. If you grew up an outcast or love anything morbid then you will fall in love with teenage twins Bridget & Ginger & their gothy twisted sense of being. If you've ever wanted to hit a snobby bully with a field hockey stick or think that different ways to commit suicide are interesting then this is a must see. If not or if you are that snobby bully then I still recommend you see this film. It's one werewolf movie that doesn't disappoint! Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
zhoaJul 15, 2015
This film is just a classic, interesting characters and questionable fashion..what more could you want! The more you watch it the more things you notice too..
Give it a watch!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
GamecubeLoverJul 29, 2016
This is my 2nd favorite movie of all time and the best werewolf movie. This movie should not even get ONE bad or mixed review this deserves a 10/10 for sure.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
MadclownJackDec 21, 2014
The whole movie is awesome, from the scenery and the community the whole story is put in, to the monstrously gory practical effects. The ending, though, along with the musical score, brought tears to my eyes. Brutally, unabashedlyThe whole movie is awesome, from the scenery and the community the whole story is put in, to the monstrously gory practical effects. The ending, though, along with the musical score, brought tears to my eyes. Brutally, unabashedly melancholic. The Canadian answer to "Donnie Darko". Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
Meth-dudeOct 31, 2016
The story was interesting, the movie had plenty of gore and great action scenes and the practical effects were well made. Unfortunately, the acting was pretty bad and the movie was kind of boring, It's not a bad movie, it's just overrated.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
marc5477Sep 11, 2015
It was not a ground breaking movie, nor a bad movie by any stretch. A lot of reviews (especially at IMDB) overthink the plot (like this was some deep scifi flick) and state that its yet another tweeny horror movie... it is not a teen horrorIt was not a ground breaking movie, nor a bad movie by any stretch. A lot of reviews (especially at IMDB) overthink the plot (like this was some deep scifi flick) and state that its yet another tweeny horror movie... it is not a teen horror flick. There is no retarded teenage love story in this movie nor any nudity nor a bunch of topless guys. There are no cheap gimmics in this movie designed to draw teens. It is a straight forward horror drama about two sisters and how they try to cope with one turning to a werewolf. The quality of the film is definitely limited; this was not a big budget flick but at the same, the low budget and lack of CGI really give it a very natural eerie feel similar to how old horror movies used to be. The only exception is the werewolf itself which looks pretty 80s (in a bad way) but was not really in the movie for very long any way and the movie is not really about cheap scares anyway. I always felt like older horror movies were much more convincing due to narrower camera perspectives (smaller resolutions and angles) and use of imagination (making people think) over CGI and special effects. Todays average horror flick is very bad (more like garbage) and has mostly devolved to formulaic snore fests requiring over the top violence and gore (a la Saw or Hostel) and/or cheap surprise scares which stop working once a person gets older. This was a nice change of pace and I plan to watch the next two movies. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews