Metascore
45

Mixed or average reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 17
  2. Negative: 4 out of 17
  1. Reviewed by: A.O. Scott
    May 10, 2012
    70
    The movie, by virtue of its self-conscious parody of the kind of movie it is, turns out to be an unusually smart and sensitive example of the genre.
  2. Reviewed by: Marc Savlov
    May 9, 2012
    67
    Girl in Progress is an old story about a young girl told in a smart way, and that's something you don't see every day, no matter how many times you think you've seen it before.
  3. Reviewed by: Lou Lumenick
    May 11, 2012
    63
    The two lead actresses rise to the occasion when they're finally forced to confront each other at the climax.
  4. Reviewed by: Sheri Linden
    May 10, 2012
    60
    Mendes is charismatic and likable as Grace - perhaps too likable. Conveying Grace's parental blind spots, she doesn't turn her character's single motherhood into an argument for sainthood. Yet she avoids any darker glimpses that would lend a more satisfying complexity to the mother-daughter tension and to the movie's too-neat ending.
  5. Reviewed by: Joe Neumaier
    May 10, 2012
    60
    A well-done, conscientious and funny little film that recalls "Clueless," only with more heart.
  6. Reviewed by: Michelle Orange
    May 10, 2012
    60
    Girl in Progress feels a little trapped by its own conceits: It plays with the idea that all rebellion is in some sense performed and makes a caricature out of the immature, attention-hungry mother, but it never liberates its characters from their molds.
  7. 60
    The movie goes soft. But it has the unpretentious energy and charm of a good YA girls' novel.
  8. Reviewed by: Claudia Puig
    May 10, 2012
    50
    Seems like a work in progress.
  9. Reviewed by: Boyd van Hoeij
    May 10, 2012
    50
    Never finds its own groove, alternating between high-school dramedy and overworked-single-mom narratives without ever really becoming a mother-and-daughter story until the closing scenes.
  10. Reviewed by: Mary Pols
    May 10, 2012
    50
    Unfortunately, Girl in Progress doesn't upend anything; it just makes us weary of its wisecracking, oblivious teen and her ditzy mom.
  11. Reviewed by: Mark Olsen
    May 12, 2012
    40
    This archly self-aware coming-of-age tale fizzles, as the targeted Latino audience is upstaged by a culture more firmly rooted in the film's soggy Seattle setting.
  12. Reviewed by: Melissa Anderson
    May 8, 2012
    40
    Unconvincing, flawed matriarch Mendes and junior showboat Ramirez appear to be acting in entirely different movies.
  13. Reviewed by: R. Emmet Sweeney
    May 8, 2012
    40
    Uneasily poised between glib irony and earnest melodrama, Patricia Riggen's coming-of-age tale is as scattered as its manic pubescent protagonist.
  14. Reviewed by: Roger Ebert
    May 9, 2012
    38
    Ansiedad is a smart charmer, and well-played by Cierra Ramirez, she should really be above this sort of thing - above the whole movie, really.
  15. Reviewed by: Nathan Rabin
    May 12, 2012
    25
    Girl In Progress is ultimately less interested in subverting the clichés of the genre than in recycling them. It wants audiences to know it's in on the joke though it's not always apparent that there even is a joke in the first place.
  16. Reviewed by: Lisa Schwarzbaum
    May 9, 2012
    25
    This inauthentic teen tale, with its cosmetically softened edges, serves neither the young people nor the Mendes fans for whom it might be intended.
  17. Reviewed by: Nick Schager
    May 7, 2012
    25
    Girl in Progress operates like a training-wheels melodrama for genre-uneducated tweens.
User Score
6.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 5 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 4
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 4
  3. Negative: 1 out of 4
  1. Jul 22, 2014
    6
    This comedy-drama about the Mexican family living in America talks about a girl who wants to be an adult in a short period of time. With theThis comedy-drama about the Mexican family living in America talks about a girl who wants to be an adult in a short period of time. With the usual teen comedy, the story goes all around showcasing a girlie side of mischievous behavior. This was not a great teen movie, but acceptable. It's just letting us know what happen when teens are not supervised carefully by their parents. Clearly to say, it briefs the differences between maturity and the word opposite to that.

    A struggling poor family of mother-daughter's life is not getting better, instead becomes worse everyday. Grace (Eva Mendis) has been busy all day between her two jobs and a relationship with a married which put her daughter, Annsiedad in a negligence state. Since Annsiedad's mother is not giving any attention towards her, she grows a rebellious character within. One day she decides to become an adult by discarding all the childish character in her once she had experienced them all. So she makes a list to encounter 'coming-of-age' and leave behind her childhood. The plan won't end, according to she arranged. Takes a diverted path and the conclusion of the story is what delivers a message for parents who is so careless of their children.

    ‘‘So now I'm free to fly. And I hop on a bus to adult-ville.
    My coming of age story is complete. Roll end credits.
    Bring up the house light. I am not a kid anymore.’’

    The whole first half was like a silly teen movie with usual narration and there is nothing special about it to highlight. The humors that is not really funny kind of stuffs. Maybe we get used to it for seeing in every teen movie. The last quarter is what makes the sense, a lesson is to learn from it, for that you have to watch the whole movie. Teens want everything to be done so quickly, slow and steady is not meant for them. In such a concept this movie happens which reminds a proverb 'Rome was not built in a day'. The casting was good, both, the mother character played by Eva Mendis and her daughter's was shelved very well. After seeing a fair end scene I thought the script should have had a little stronger in the initial portions to balance its overall strength. Anyway, an average movie, but can be enjoyed if you are not too serious about what you want to watch.
    Full Review »
  2. Jan 17, 2014
    6
    What a frustrating film! I feel that this movie could have (should have) gone in one of two directions. Either it should have been like theWhat a frustrating film! I feel that this movie could have (should have) gone in one of two directions. Either it should have been like the much more dark, but also realistic and balanced, Thirteen; or it should have gone for something more akin to Moonrise Kingdom, an adult movie for the kid in all of us. Those were Stupendous films who's heights few movies can attain, but had Girl In Progress had a little more of the focus and inspiration of the sort that drove two films then it would have gone a long way to convincing me that this was an 8 or a 9 instead of a 6. There was also some bad jokes of extremely poor taste. To wit: "Your husband beats you", said to a waitress as though that was a judgement on her character and not on her husband's. Again, regarding the same waitress, "She had a fight with a flight of stairs." Ha ha. These two jokes alone are enough to merit a Zero out of Ten in anybody's book, so it is lucky I am giving it a 6.

    Anyway. The first opening minutes are completely hilarious and I busted a gut laughing. Were those minutes the extent of the film, I would give it a 10. Unfortunately that is not the spirit or the nature of the movie. I felt that creating a sympathetic mom hijacked the movie, though I have no problem with the actor, Eva Mendes, and had the film makers put all their attention on her character, provided some better development and writing were also there, that would have been fine with me. But I really wanted this to be the young woman's, the character Ansiedad's, movie and I felt let down.
    Full Review »
  3. Jan 15, 2013
    10
    This movie was a fantastic piece of art. It was well written, and it connects well with what many working class Hispanic-American women goThis movie was a fantastic piece of art. It was well written, and it connects well with what many working class Hispanic-American women go through living in this country. The writer was creative in how he develops the character of the daughter and although this film is a tear-jerker I highly recommend that people watch it. The cast is amazing, Eva Mendez does a magnificent job portraying a single mother who tends to be irresponsible, and Cierra Ramirez does an unbelievably great job. Full Review »