Girl, Interrupted

Girl, Interrupted Image
Metascore
51

Mixed or average reviews - based on 32 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 82 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: ,
  • Summary: In the 1960's a young woman (Ryder) commits herself to a mental institute after being diagnosed with BPD (Borderline Personality Disorder). Based on writer Susanna Kaysen's account of her 18-month stay at a mental hospital.

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 32
  2. Negative: 4 out of 32
  1. Shrewd, tough, and lively -- a junior-league "One Flew Over the Cuckoo's Nest."
  2. They have turned a brief, appealing, honest autobiography by Susanna Kaysen into a long, appealing, rather dishonest film.
  3. 67
    Jolie's explosive performance surpasses all expectations and renders the film a veritable must-see.
  4. Newsweek
    Reviewed by: David Ansen
    60
    Barring one dreadfully trumped-up climactic scene, they've managed to avoid the usual asylum-movie cliches.
  5. Contains some nicely restrained turns, like Clea Duval as Kaysen's Oz-obsessed roommate, but mainly it's a showcase for Ryder's winsome victim
  6. Mr. Showbiz
    Reviewed by: Michael Atkinson
    48
    Mangold ultimately delivers the same film any number of other Hollywood journeyman could've made from this material, and the results are predictable and stale.
  7. For a movie about people with hugely complicated inner lives, this sadly unconvincing drama stays resolutely on the surface, rarely hinting at anything like an insight or idea.

See all 32 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 25
  2. Negative: 2 out of 25
  1. Oct 7, 2011
    10
    Great performance by Angeline Jolie, she is really great in playing intense characters. Movie in general was okey, liked the cast and theGreat performance by Angeline Jolie, she is really great in playing intense characters. Movie in general was okey, liked the cast and the story. It is a movie that's worth watching. Expand
  2. SylwiaP.
    Dec 10, 2005
    10
    The best film I have ever seen.
  3. Sammy
    Jan 1, 2006
    10
    Very good movie. Great actresses.
  4. NatC.
    Jan 24, 2006
    8
    Painfull life turned into amazing book turned into great well acted/ thoughtout film! top knoch!
  5. Apr 6, 2012
    8
    Best role for Jolie, hands down. I'm more than shocked that the metacritic average is 51, it kind of pisses me off actually. I was glued toBest role for Jolie, hands down. I'm more than shocked that the metacritic average is 51, it kind of pisses me off actually. I was glued to the tv set from start to finish. But I am one to drop everything out of my mind and get lost in a movie. A must watch in my book. Expand
  6. Jul 15, 2015
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Despite it's amazing performances from all of the cast members, after reading the novel, this movie is not an insult to the novel, but an insult to the real life Lisa Rowe. They made her out to be a cold-blooded and harmful person, and also made it so that Lisa was the reason another character commits suicide.

    None of that ever happened in the book. And because the book is based off real people, it's even worse. Angelina Jolie's performance is great, and the movie is able to avoid most of the cliches that movies about mental illnesses have. But I find it difficult to look past it's horrific misinterpretations of Lisa Rowe and other real life people.

    As a fictional story, the film works, mainly thanks to all the amazing performances by Angelina Jolie, Winona Ryder, Clea Duvall, Angela Bettis, and the late Brittany Murphy. But it's a terrible rendition of Kaysen's novel and an even worse rendition of the real life people.

    But similar to Stanley Kubrick's The Shining, though it fails as an adaptation, it works very well as a stand-alone story. Despite how much I harped on this film, I do really like it. It just loses points for what it made these people out to be. I'm not saying this movie is on par with a Kubrick film, because it's not. But before, and even after I read the novel, I thoroughly liked this film.
    Expand
  7. JamesB.
    Mar 25, 2007
    3
    English teachers should not show the movie to the students because the book was much better.

See all 25 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Best of September 2016: Top Albums, Games, Movies & TV

    Best of September 2016: Top Albums, Games, Movies & TV Image
    Published: September 30, 2016
    Browse our handy guide to the best entertainment of the past month, with lists of the highest-scoring albums, video games, TV shows, and films released during September.
  2. Film Friday (9/30): This Week's New Movie Trailers

    Film Friday (9/30): This Week's New Movie Trailers Image
    Published: September 30, 2016
    Watch all of this week's new film trailers, including new looks at Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them and new films from Denzel Washington, Jim Jarmusch, Mike Mills, Warren Beatty, Olivier Assayas, and more. Plus, get a quick update on the latest movie news and release date announcements.
  3. DVD/Blu-ray Release Calendar: October 2016

    DVD/Blu-ray Release Calendar: October 2016 Image
    Published: September 29, 2016
    Find a complete guide to TV and movie titles heading to Blu-ray and DVD throughout the month of October, including The Night Of, Ghostbusters, X-Men: Apocalypse, and more.
  4. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: September 28, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Deepwater Horizon, Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children, Masterminds, Queen of Katwe, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.