User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 462 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 13 out of 462

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 5, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I saw the film really late. The dialogues, the action scenes, the action, and the direction, wow, everything is absolutely terrific. "What we do in life, echoes in eternity". The best dialogue I have ever heard, so Philosophical, so Strengthening, so Inspiring, and just so Wonderful. I'd love to watch it all over again and again. The film is Remarkably great. I think enough said !! Expand
  2. Sep 25, 2011
    6
    "Gladiator" is just your average Rome summer flick, between all those massive action and masterful dialogue.
  3. Jun 1, 2012
    10
    My favorite movie of all time. Every time I watch it I'm entranced all over again.
  4. Jan 7, 2011
    9
    A really great movie. Who would think that something as ridiculous as gladiators could garner so much critical acclaim and an Oscar for best actor. It shows just how good Crowe is. Props to Joaquin Pheonix as well.
  5. Mar 30, 2011
    10
    Gladiator is a triump of a film that excells in every catagory. Gladiator has talented acting, great plot, Beautiful music and superb action scenes. Ridley scott's best film until Robin Hood in 2010. I really enjoy watching this film.
  6. Nov 8, 2012
    9
    Gladiator is not only a captivating, startling historical epic, it is also exciting and entertaining.
  7. Aug 14, 2011
    10
    The best film I've ever seen....it has the truly best making sense parts....and the honor , physical and conscience power of REAL man , endurance, friendship , love , love of father to son- son to father, love to his family of REAL man, revenge , betrayal and etc. ....
    But just little disadvantage in this film: it may be just little long , running little more than 2 hours......
  8. Oct 31, 2011
    10
    "Gladiator" definitely is a classic-modern epic film as it combines a simple, but moving, story with beautiful scenery, filming, direction and score â
  9. Nov 4, 2011
    8
    This is a classic and an amazing movie that could have nearly managed a 9. The score/ soundtrack is one of the best I've heard in any movie, and the fast paced action scenes are intense and violent. The set and the storyline is brilliant and really well done. The movie is a bit overrated in some ways but never the less, this movie is one that you have to say you've seen.
  10. Nov 5, 2011
    10
    It is best movie i ever watch. aswm dialogues,screen play is good. One of the rarest movies.
    It is an inspiring, mesmerizing, beautiful, action packed flick. It is about strength, honor, courage betratal, ruthlessness, survival, and even incest! This is the type of movie thatll motivate you to fight for what you live for because as gladiator said it best "what we do in life, echoes in eternity".
  11. Dec 2, 2011
    10
    Stop just Stop... this is masterpiece... this is one of few movies that impressed me, it even put some tears in my eyes. I will risk and say THIS IS ONE OF THE BEST MOVIES.Stop complaining, this the best movie from 2000-2011...
  12. Feb 29, 2012
    9
    The Oscar-winning motion picture is full of style, the intense-graphic combat sequences are surprisingly epic and well-performed, full of ambition, and well designed from the beginning to the end.
  13. Apr 16, 2012
    10
    You will be hard pressed to find a better cast within such an epic summer film. Both Russell Crowe and Joaquin Phoenix are incredibly brilliant in their respective roles, however Phoenix deserves tons of props for pulling off a convincing evil emporer. Connie Nielsen almost steals the show at times while playing Lucille (Commodus' sister). When all the dust settles from brutal voilence (in the name of good sport), Gladiator stands as one of the most excellently crafted films and will likely hold its place in time as one of the greatest war/action films ever. Ridley Scott got this one right. Expand
  14. Dec 17, 2012
    10
    This film is about a general who became a slave, then he became a gladiator. Maximus wants to take revenge about his son and his wife who have been murdered from the young emperor who has also killed his father Marcus. It is a great film.
  15. Mar 16, 2013
    10
    Gladiator is one of the best movies of all time. It's flawlessly directed and features some of the most memorable performances ever committed to film. The action is grisly but not gratuitous in any way. The fights on offer here are integral to the story. There is so much emotional gravitas in the final battle that it might well be the greatest end fight in movie history. Basically speaking, Gladiator is perfect. Expand
  16. Aug 21, 2010
    2
    This piece of rubbish narrowly edges out 'Hurt locker' as the worst movie ever to win an academy award. Cliche after gut-wrenching cliche...
    Joaquin Phoenix's villain is so comical that I was waiting for him to raise his pinky finger to the corner of his lip 'Dr Evil' style and say "one million dollars".
    Crap. Plain and simple.
  17. Oct 23, 2010
    5
    Not sure I am really into these sandy classic epics from civilisations gone by. For sure, Crowe does a great job but by the end of the movie I was getting a little restless and I struggled to realise why it had gone for as long as it had.â
  18. Feb 13, 2011
    10
    Best of all time:

    Lead actor (Rusell Crowe)
    Soundtrack (Hans Zimmer)
    Screenplay (Ridley Scott)
    Suport actor (Joaquin Phoenix) This movie is definetly my favourite movie of all time!!
  19. May 20, 2011
    10
    Gladiator never ceases to amaze, even after repeated viewing - there's always something new to savour in this sumptuous historical epic. You're yanked by the toga into Ridley Scott's vision of Ancient Rome right from the off, and first-rate performances from the whole cast (particularly Crowe, Phoenix and Reed), a tight screenplay, a wonderfully emotive score, in addition to brilliantly choreographed and terrifically brutal fight scenes makes Gladiator a truly spectacular masterclass in film entertainment. Expand
  20. May 29, 2011
    8
    It's worthwhile to start saying that the movie is not. Ie: "Gladiator" is not merely a collection of fighting at the Coliseum in Rome, more or less of spectacular via special effects. And what is it? A real tragedy of inner power, underpinned by a subtle and intelligent argument that favors relations backstage and shades of political discourse. Gladiator is a true intimate epic, served by some remarkable compositions of his cast, especially almost inevitable for Joaquin Phoenix, impeccable characterization of a tissue power of ambition, blindness and fear. Ultimately, we are faced with a symphonic work whose themes and variations are wonderfully scored music by Hans Zimmer and Lisa Gerrard. Moreover, it is always interesting to watch the rising of a star - Russell Crowe. Expand
  21. Feb 9, 2013
    7
    One-half of the movie Gladiator is utter brilliant film-making; the other half is cliche Hollywood action-blockbuster. Good thing there was more of the brilliance than the cliches.
  22. May 10, 2013
    10
    i dont get the critic reviews this is the best movie ever a stunding story nice places and a extreme ending where you can cry if you like good music extreme good acting its just awsome if you dident so the movie yet go watch it now
  23. Jun 3, 2013
    10
    Best movie of all time enough said. Acting was brilliant. It shows chivalry and the heart of a champion in every scene. It's intense emotional triumph. Should have won more oscars.
  24. Mar 1, 2014
    10
    One of my dearest movies ever. Awesome, with great characters and an intriguing story, Gladiator is just perfect art by actor and director. Russel Crowe and Joaquin Phoenix both are terrific.
  25. Aug 25, 2011
    5
    Analyzing Ridley Scott's past films, you can draw that conclusion that when it comes to technical mastery, he is simply a genius. Analyzing again, he also shows little understanding of the way characters play off one another and how to look for stories with depth beneath all the tech. This is especially true in Gladiator, a movie with all the buildings for a boneheaded, kistchy, action-packed gorefest. If only Scott and Crowe realized that the movie is that as it is, rather trying to disguise it by trying to make it a drama, and a clunky one at that. Expand
  26. Sep 19, 2013
    10
    You will be hard pressed to find a better cast within such an epic summer film. Both Russell Crowe and Joaquin Phoenix are incredibly brilliant in their respective roles, however Phoenix deserves tons of props for pulling off a convincing evil emporer. Connie Nielsen almost steals the show at times while playing Lucille (Commodus' sister). When all the dust settles from brutal voilence (in the name of good sport), Gladiator stands as one of the most excellently crafted films and will likely hold its place in time as one of the greatest war/action films ever. Ridley Scott got this one right Expand
  27. Nov 5, 2013
    8
    "Gladiator" has a brilliant cast and is brilliantly made. The movie is powerful and deeply emotional. With that, we have an excellent script and plot, accurate historical information on gladiators, and some intense bloody gladiator fights.
  28. Jul 6, 2012
    4
    "Gladiator" brings me to understand why so many knowledgable people have been apprehensive to agree when I
  29. May 19, 2013
    7
    A decent movie, with good acting, exciting action, a large scale, and moments of brilliance sprinkled throughout, but it's also a film which contains a lot of bland and boring sections. At times Gladiator can have a great atmosphere, but it doesn't like to stick with it nearly as often as it should. The visual effects add a tremendous upgrade to the scale of things but are very inconsistent. They range from barely passable to impressive. The best visual effects scene is probably the one where the gladiators enter the coliseum for their first time. Like I mentioned before the sword fights are very good and the performances are also good, but there is too much which is uninspired in this good movie for it to become great. It's full potential has been denied. It still might've deserved best picture for its year though. Expand
  30. Jul 14, 2013
    5
    I watched this movie with other epics like Braveheart in mind. I would think this would be a fair comparison but perhaps I should have seen it without trying to compare it with the likes of Braveheart, because this movie is a passionless, murky experience.

    When I watch the whole movie with a scowl on my face from squinting to much to see what is going on in the murkyness of the action
    and for the convoluted tone of the movie.. it's not a good sign.

    So the issues: a pouty, uninspiring villian, murky, difficult to discern special fx and battle scenes, a convoluted plot and poor pacing.

    Why then not a really low score like a 1-4 out of ten? Because Russell Crowe did do a good job, looking bold and also grizzly, and when I could discern what was happening and the movie focussed on the final battle sequence, it was involving.
    Expand
  31. Nov 17, 2013
    10
    One of the best movies ever made, no one will forget this one. Gladiator is an accurate display of the struggle of gladiators and the extent of power of the Roman empire. It also shows the amount of power the emperor had and the amazing story of Maximus and his final struggle for justice.
  32. Jan 11, 2014
    6
    Adorei o filme cheio de aventura romance ação, em relação ao original e melhor

    mas ainda gosto de filmes de Época onde mostra algo mais real ok valeu
  33. Feb 21, 2014
    8
    Honestly, this one took a little bit for me to get into. It was never outright like, "Wow this is horrible," but it just did not manage to grip me. However, it eventually finally sank its teeth into me. First off, I loved the score. The score was so perfect for this film and really helped bring the film to life. In addition, the fight sequences were brilliantly choreographed and I also appreciate that while of course there has to be a lot of blood, it was never gratuitous. As for the acting, Russell Crowe did a really great job as Maximus, but for me, Joaquin Phoenix outshined him. Phoenix brought the consciously evil Commodus to life. I also loved seeing Tommy Flanagan in a small role here, as I love his current work in the TV series "Sons of Anarchy". Another plus for this film was certainly the screenplay. Tons of quotable lines and great speeches really helped to amplify this film.

    My complaints would likely center around the forced and unnecessary romance. It did not help move the film forward in the least. In terms of providing character history, it works, but as the action unfolds, it no longer really serves a purpose and felt like excess. In addition, the aforementioned slow beginning sequence was not overly to my liking, though I certainly understand why it is there and cannot complain over its conclusion. It simply did not provide the necessary spark to grab the viewers attention in my mind, but regardless, its importance is clear. Other than that, while typically top-notch, the CGI at times was noticeable with some unrealistic deaths along the way, but that is to be expected, as no film is perfect.

    Overall, Gladiator is a very good film that proves that these types of films can be done successfully if enough work is put into them. Very deserving of the praise it has received without a doubt.
    Expand
  34. Feb 23, 2014
    9
    The virtue and the rye, the leitmotivs of this beautiful piece of art. A man fighting for an idea, not for revenge, but for honor, for the glory of the empire. A man that throughout his veins flows the genuine royal blood, despite the fact he is from a provence conquered by Romans. Betrayed by the state he fought for, the true gladiator reborn from it's own ashes unleashes the warrior led by courage, wisdom, justice and temperance. A story of everyday life, in which every noble goal must succeed. Expand
  35. Mar 22, 2014
    10
    to this day I still think this is the best movie that has ever been made, I love this film and I don't see that changing with all these terrible films that are coming out, if you have not seen this film you need to
  36. Apr 18, 2014
    9
    this is why the Romans are the longest lasting empire the values, honor and courage are bred in and even when there is no chance the fighting spirit never gives up.
  37. Apr 29, 2014
    10
    10/10, one of my most favourite movies of all time, incredibly well made film, great acting, amazing attention to detail and a stellar soundtrack! Russell Crowe's best film.
  38. May 8, 2014
    8
    "Are you not entertained?" Well, I have to say I was. The dazzling visuals and epic battle scenes are the things to watch Gladiator for, and not for its simple premise. I will admit though that the dialogue was sharp and well-written, and the acting was pretty good (except Phoenix: is performance was wooden and clichéd). The movie could've been better, but director Ridley Scott is laughing at anyone who bashes it, Oscar in hand. Expand
  39. May 25, 2014
    8
    Gladiator is a masterful film from director Ridley Scott the story may be simple but its the performances of the actors that make this movie excel and be considered one of the best movies of all time. Russell Crowe as Maximus was phenomenal and him winning the Best Actor Oscar was definitely a hard choice for me because he was going up against Tom Hanks in Cast Away which also had another amazing performance but him winning was the right choice. Joaquin Phoenix as Commodus was perfect because he did an amazing job for what the movie called for being a big baby with daddy issues he did do a pretty great job regardless of that though but i dont see why people love him so much in this. The action scenes are wonderfully brutal with plenty of gory deaths this movie doesnt hold back for sure. Out of everything though the best part of this movie id have to say is the Score it is simply beautiful i have listened to the it so many times it never gets old its just so peaceful if im having a bad day thats music ill listen to.

    Overall i give it a 8.5
    Expand
  40. Jun 16, 2014
    10
    With Ridley Scott's spectacular visual direction, Russell Crowe's gripping performance that reminds me of the greatest Roman generals ever lived, and Joaquin Phoenix's successful portrayal of the evil, insane Emperor Commodus, Gladiator certainly earned it's reward as 2000 Oscar Best Picture
  41. Jun 24, 2014
    10
    Perhaps the most underrated film in Metacritic history, Gladiator is definitive proof that professional film critics are not, in fact, the divine arbiters of cinematic good they believe themselves to be. While it's not as shocking, disturbing, or otherwise counter-traditional as films that their class eats up and spits out 90+ ratings for, this masterpiece by Ridley Scott recaptures something special about epic films that has been almost entirely lost since the days of Lawrence of Arabia, Ben-Hur, and Spartacus. This movie brings the notion of redemption to life in a way that makes you deeply empathize with the main character, Maximus. While a fictional work, it brilliantly captures the elegant and corrupt world Rome at its apex. With intense (but not over-the-top) battles fueled by choreography rather than CGI, cunning dialogue, and a truly honorable story, Gladiator deserves to be recognized for what it is, an iconic motion picture, among of the best of its time.

    In no universe should this film score a mere 13 points above Zach Snyder's substanceless meatgrinder '300'.
    Expand
  42. Jul 6, 2014
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Given for granted its critically acclaimed success, "Gladiator" has managed to find a way to stand strong and live up to the expectations that resided some 15 years later from its release, reaching into the top 50 of all time best films. However, its appeal and publicity doesn't always match what the actual film delivers, yes this is a story about revenge, the journey of a man who was on the brink of release from the Roman army, a man who won the honour and glory of his fellow soldiers, who battled and won every fight, who was admired by the great, Marcus Aurelius himself. Only too lose everything he holds dear and to be embroiled into gladiator games where he fights to the death and slowly regains his pride and honour to exact revenge on the man who took it all away from him. sound interesting? sure it does do this, but at a cost of being weighed down in political hoohaar and character arks that never really go anywhere until the end (which might I add is probably one of the best directed,acted and moving ending 30 minutes of this century, as of to date) but all that information and back story seems to be lost, the characters that side with Maximus seem to suddenly loose there morals and make an alarmingly unbelievable set of characters, I'm allowed to think this seeing as most of the historical elements are also flawed, yes, the story has to fit in with the history and vis versa, but there are some big inaccuracies here. The story feels dragged and at some points loses all interest in itself, taking away the focus from the "main promotion" of the film i.e. the gladiator aspect and sides more with the stale conspiracies and uninteresting characters that control them. Yes, the gladiator games are well choreographed full of action and excitement, but there is a serious lack of it in my opinion, especially for a film that is named "Gladiator" and features the main character who becomes a gladiator and participates in the gladiator games should have a predominate feature in the games. Obviously not in this case, this isn't criticism, I just don't understand why the political aspect has to be so major.

    The soundtrack to this film is one of the best scores produced by Hans Zimmer; especially towards the end. Plus the acting from Russell Crowe as Maximus is fantastic and easily brings the best role here alive with only one other actor Joaquin Phoenix as Commodus coming into the only other position of 2nd place seeing as he is really the only other developed character, not to mention that the rivalry between them is brilliantly played out even if Commodus character falls a little flat, becoming a rather alienated and brash person when it comes to decision making, but Phoenix does a great job of being paranoid. Generally all other characters seem just to fall short of this even through the script is great and well written it doesn't justify any other characters other than Maximus and Commodus, with the exception of Proximo, Lucille and Marcus but they just aren't developed enough to care but Richard Harris does deliver a fine performance.

    I have to say that the cinematography is amazing in this film, the CGI has stood the test of time and although some scenery and deaths look a bit...well patchy. I have to say the mise-un-scene compliments the ancient Rome style very well and even looks like it was filmed in the original robes. This film isn't a bad film at all, I found it very good, I think that Ridley Scott has made a fine film which has great acting, a decent/fairly interesting story, a well written script and perfect cinematography. But yet it does not deliver on certain aspects and jumps around to a load of characters, rather than focusing on its main ones, for a lengthy film it does drag, but this film will be a lot more enjoyable for a light hearted watch.
    Expand
  43. Jul 9, 2014
    8
    ONE OF MY FAVORITE FILM OF ALL TIME, EPIC WAR FILM,AWESOME GREAT ACTING,STUNNING VISUAL EFFECTS ,OUTSTANDING SOUND EFFECTS , EXCELLENT STORY IS WELL DIRECTED AND EXECUTED IT SUPERBLY , don't miss THIS EPIC BLOCKBUSTER IN YOUR LIFE
  44. Jul 21, 2014
    1
    Change the title to GRUMPY MAN and it will pass for an average comedy.

    And Crowe got an oscar out of the deal. Great job academy!

    The soundtrack supplied the only clothes pins holding up this drippy crap stained sheet on the line.
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 37 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 37
  2. Negative: 1 out of 37
  1. The script by producer David Franzoni, John Logan, and William Nicholson is serviceable but not exactly inspired.
  2. 60
    Filled with brilliant filmmaking and features outstanding performances, but it's neither profound enough nor pop enough to be great -- it's mournful, serious, beautiful and, finally, pointless.
  3. 75
    Lacks emotional depth and sweep -- but the movie still delivers the type of rousing, large-scale adventure that marked the best films of its kind