DreamWorks Distribution | Release Date: May 5, 2000
8.9
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 716 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
663
Mixed:
38
Negative:
15
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
6
grandpajoe6191Sep 25, 2011
"Gladiator" is just your average Rome summer flick, between all those massive action and masterful dialogue.
6 of 19 users found this helpful613
All this user's reviews
5
PaxsterOct 23, 2010
Not sure I am really into these sandy classic epics from civilisations gone by. For sure, Crowe does a great job but by the end of the movie I was getting a little restless and I struggled to realise why it had gone for as long as it had.â
1 of 6 users found this helpful15
All this user's reviews
4
adamnJul 31, 2007
Really, not enough action to make up for the horrible plot. I cannot believe Russel Crowe won best actor for this but not A Beautiful Mind, which he was spectacular in. The people who claim this is the best movie ever made are in the same Really, not enough action to make up for the horrible plot. I cannot believe Russel Crowe won best actor for this but not A Beautiful Mind, which he was spectacular in. The people who claim this is the best movie ever made are in the same vein of people who think the DaVinci Code is the best book ever written. The action is good (though hasn't aged well), but the rest is not even as close to as good as it's made to be. Expand
0 of 6 users found this helpful
5
J-ShapAug 25, 2011
Analyzing Ridley Scott's past films, you can draw that conclusion that when it comes to technical mastery, he is simply a genius. Analyzing again, he also shows little understanding of the way characters play off one another and how to lookAnalyzing Ridley Scott's past films, you can draw that conclusion that when it comes to technical mastery, he is simply a genius. Analyzing again, he also shows little understanding of the way characters play off one another and how to look for stories with depth beneath all the tech. This is especially true in Gladiator, a movie with all the buildings for a boneheaded, kistchy, action-packed gorefest. If only Scott and Crowe realized that the movie is that as it is, rather trying to disguise it by trying to make it a drama, and a clunky one at that. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
4
GraemeHigginsonJul 6, 2012
"Gladiator" brings me to understand why so many knowledgable people have been apprehensive to agree when I
0 of 6 users found this helpful06
All this user's reviews
5
mawattie100Jul 14, 2013
I watched this movie with other epics like Braveheart in mind. I would think this would be a fair comparison but perhaps I should have seen it without trying to compare it with the likes of Braveheart, because this movie is a passionless,I watched this movie with other epics like Braveheart in mind. I would think this would be a fair comparison but perhaps I should have seen it without trying to compare it with the likes of Braveheart, because this movie is a passionless, murky experience.

When I watch the whole movie with a scowl on my face from squinting to much to see what is going on in the murkyness of the action and for the convoluted tone of the movie.. it's not a good sign.

So the issues: a pouty, uninspiring villian, murky, difficult to discern special fx and battle scenes, a convoluted plot and poor pacing.

Why then not a really low score like a 1-4 out of ten? Because Russell Crowe did do a good job, looking bold and also grizzly, and when I could discern what was happening and the movie focussed on the final battle sequence, it was involving.
Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
6
DeimonnJan 11, 2014
Adorei o filme cheio de aventura romance ação, em relação ao original e melhor

mas ainda gosto de filmes de Época onde mostra algo mais real ok valeu
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
MrMovieBuffDec 4, 2016
"Are you not entertained?!" Says Russell Crowe in his ambitious character. I was entertained... for the most part of 'Gladiator', directed by Ridley Scott, the movie stars Russell Crowe as Maximus, the leader of the Roman army to battle"Are you not entertained?!" Says Russell Crowe in his ambitious character. I was entertained... for the most part of 'Gladiator', directed by Ridley Scott, the movie stars Russell Crowe as Maximus, the leader of the Roman army to battle against the Germanic tribes. Maximus decides to retire to his Spanish farm estate, however, the son of Emperor Marcus Aurelius (Richard Harris), Commodus (Joaquin Phoenix) wants to rule, but is unfit in his own father's eyes, to say the least. However, Commodus does end up becoming the new ruler, and asks Maximus for his loyalty, Maximus is then arrested, but manages to escape and get back to his farm. When he arrives, he sees that his family are dead, meaning he was too late to return. When Maximus finally goes to show what he is capable of, that is when the movie really starts to move fast, however, some of the dialogue in this movie comes off as a little corny, even for a movie that was released in 2000. The screenplay by David Faranzoni, John Logan and William Nicholson is sharp, but ill-timed here and there. Ridley Scott directs this movie with pure ambition, and Russell Crowe is at his best here, not to mention Joaquin Phoenix, who plays the cold villain with such a menacing presence. The movie, as a whole, feels a bit stale and at times, emotionally detaching. I liked it for the most part... but I couldn't admire or even love it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
solomsApr 17, 2015
A little bit boring. I liked the way they filmed the scenes, I really like the scenarium but the story is the most important thing in a movie. And that was to boring, like many other movies that pretend to show the same era and the sama story.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews