Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 37 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 424 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Before Maximus (Crowe), the heroic Roman General, can honor the wishes of his dying emperor Marcus Aurelius (Harris) by assuming the emperor's role, the emperor's cruel and corrupt son Commodus (Phoenix) orders the execution of Maximus and his family. Escaping death, Maximus assumes the life of an anonymous gladiator, fighting his way back to the Roman Colosseum where he seeks revenge and a return to justice for Rome. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 37
  2. Negative: 1 out of 37
  1. It's a stunning Roman triumph.
  2. 90
    Glorious, a colossus of rousing action and ferocious fun.
  3. Reviewed by: Cody Clark
    84
    Combining a seething physicality with enough weary nobility and tightly checked rage for a dozen wronged heroes, (Crowe) provides the movie's vital center of gravity without looming over his co-stars.
  4. Reviewed by: Sean Means
    70
    The warm humanizing element in all the cool stuff is Crowe.
  5. Reviewed by: Jay Carr
    63
    It epitomizes the kind of high-profile bloodshed we now expect to herald the hazy, lazy, blockbuster-fixated days of summer.
  6. Like an aging athlete who knows how to husband strength and camouflage weaknesses, it makes the most of what it does well and hopes you won't notice its limitations.
  7. Friends, Washingtonians, countrymen, I come not to praise Gladiator but to bury it.

See all 37 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 89 out of 105
  2. Negative: 10 out of 105
  1. jakep
    Dec 24, 2009
    10
    The best movie i have ever seen (and I am a film critic). It is an inspiring, mesmerizing, beautiful, action packed flick. It is about strength, honor, courage betratal, ruthlessness, survival, and even incest! This is the type of movie thatll motivate you to fight for what you live for because as gladiator said it best "what we do in life, echoes in eternity". Expand
  2. May 10, 2013
    10
    i dont get the critic reviews this is the best movie ever a stunding story nice places and a extreme ending where you can cry if you like good music extreme good acting its just awsome if you dident so the movie yet go watch it now Expand
  3. MikeP.
    Jan 5, 2007
    10
    This could have been my most favorite movie of all time!!!!!!!!! You people who gave this a 2 or a 1 must have been drunk or something when you watched it. Expand
  4. Nov 5, 2011
    10
    It is best movie i ever watch. aswm dialogues,screen play is good. One of the rarest movies.
    It is an inspiring, mesmerizing, beautiful,
    action packed flick. It is about strength, honor, courage betratal, ruthlessness, survival, and even incest! This is the type of movie thatll motivate you to fight for what you live for because as gladiator said it best "what we do in life, echoes in eternity". Expand
  5. NB.
    Oct 21, 2009
    9
    One of the best movies I've seen. It has well executed action sequences, an interesting, yet simple plot, great characters, superb acting. My only problem is that they made Commodus' personality detestable to such an extent. I don't expect to like the villain, their actions, or their beliefs, but I usually like to see some sort of redeeming quality. But even in that case there was a rational explanation for his behavior, and his character was well written none the less. I don't know what movie that guy at the Washington Post was watching, because there is no way he could have rated such an epic movie so poorly. I guess the user scores ratings and the sheer amount of awards the movie has won(wiki says its won 48 different awards) are more accurate depictions of the movie that the reviews that were published. I wouldn't say the movie is perfect, but. Expand
  6. May 29, 2011
    8
    It's worthwhile to start saying that the movie is not. Ie: "Gladiator" is not merely a collection of fighting at the Coliseum in Rome, more or less of spectacular via special effects. And what is it? A real tragedy of inner power, underpinned by a subtle and intelligent argument that favors relations backstage and shades of political discourse. Gladiator is a true intimate epic, served by some remarkable compositions of his cast, especially almost inevitable for Joaquin Phoenix, impeccable characterization of a tissue power of ambition, blindness and fear. Ultimately, we are faced with a symphonic work whose themes and variations are wonderfully scored music by Hans Zimmer and Lisa Gerrard. Moreover, it is always interesting to watch the rising of a star - Russell Crowe. Expand
  7. AshH.
    Dec 22, 2009
    1
    Some people are calling this the best film of all time. W. T. F. This film's characters were absolutely terrible. The acting was decent, especially from Phoenix, but everything else about it was quite lacking. Watch it with the professional eye and you'll see that the editing is in fact, quite non-professional and sloppy. The writing was without a doubt the worst thing about it. I don't know what some people see in it, all they look for in movies are action, which this film delivers solidly along with the acting, but does not do so with anything else. Expand

See all 105 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Ridley Scott: All Films Considered

    Ridley Scott: All Films Considered Image
    Published: May 12, 2010
    The famed director's latest big-budget adventure, "Robin Hood," arrives in theaters this week. We take the opportunity to look back at Scott's career and rank his films from best to worst.