Gladiator

Gladiator Image
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 37 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 702 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Before Maximus (Crowe), the heroic Roman General, can honor the wishes of his dying emperor Marcus Aurelius (Harris) by assuming the emperor's role, the emperor's cruel and corrupt son Commodus (Phoenix) orders the execution of Maximus and his family. Escaping death, Maximus assumes theBefore Maximus (Crowe), the heroic Roman General, can honor the wishes of his dying emperor Marcus Aurelius (Harris) by assuming the emperor's role, the emperor's cruel and corrupt son Commodus (Phoenix) orders the execution of Maximus and his family. Escaping death, Maximus assumes the life of an anonymous gladiator, fighting his way back to the Roman Colosseum where he seeks revenge and a return to justice for Rome. Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 37
  2. Negative: 1 out of 37
  1. Philadelphia Inquirer
    Reviewed by: Desmond Ryan
    100
    It's a stunning Roman triumph.
  2. Rolling Stone
    Reviewed by: Peter Travers
    90
    Glorious, a colossus of rousing action and ferocious fun.
  3. Mr. Showbiz
    Reviewed by: Cody Clark
    84
    Combining a seething physicality with enough weary nobility and tightly checked rage for a dozen wronged heroes, (Crowe) provides the movie's vital center of gravity without looming over his co-stars.
  4. Brawny, he-man spectacle combined with a surprisingly solid story and buttressed by excellent performances.
  5. 63
    Instead of the heat of humanity, what lingers on in the mind is the cool of the computerized effects.
  6. Like an aging athlete who knows how to husband strength and camouflage weaknesses, it makes the most of what it does well and hopes you won't notice its limitations.
  7. Friends, Washingtonians, countrymen, I come not to praise Gladiator but to bury it.

See all 37 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 11 out of 143
  1. EdwardT.
    Jan 26, 2009
    10
    Its so nice to the point , no words can describe it.
  2. Mar 1, 2014
    10
    One of my dearest movies ever. Awesome, with great characters and an intriguing story, Gladiator is just perfect art by actor and director.One of my dearest movies ever. Awesome, with great characters and an intriguing story, Gladiator is just perfect art by actor and director. Russel Crowe and Joaquin Phoenix both are terrific. Expand
  3. jakep
    Dec 24, 2009
    10
    The best movie i have ever seen (and I am a film critic). It is an inspiring, mesmerizing, beautiful, action packed flick. It is about The best movie i have ever seen (and I am a film critic). It is an inspiring, mesmerizing, beautiful, action packed flick. It is about strength, honor, courage betratal, ruthlessness, survival, and even incest! This is the type of movie thatll motivate you to fight for what you live for because as gladiator said it best "what we do in life, echoes in eternity". Expand
  4. NB.
    Oct 21, 2009
    9
    One of the best movies I've seen. It has well executed action sequences, an interesting, yet simple plot, great characters, superb One of the best movies I've seen. It has well executed action sequences, an interesting, yet simple plot, great characters, superb acting. My only problem is that they made Commodus' personality detestable to such an extent. I don't expect to like the villain, their actions, or their beliefs, but I usually like to see some sort of redeeming quality. But even in that case there was a rational explanation for his behavior, and his character was well written none the less. I don't know what movie that guy at the Washington Post was watching, because there is no way he could have rated such an epic movie so poorly. I guess the user scores ratings and the sheer amount of awards the movie has won(wiki says its won 48 different awards) are more accurate depictions of the movie that the reviews that were published. I wouldn't say the movie is perfect, but. Expand
  5. SterlingS.
    Jul 9, 2009
    8
    64 out of 100? Lets look at the review from Washington Post. The complaint of an Australian accent? Computer generated Furniture? The final 64 out of 100? Lets look at the review from Washington Post. The complaint of an Australian accent? Computer generated Furniture? The final fight being "banal and unimpressive?" How many movies involve the use of incorrect accents, computer generated frames and realistic (as apposed to solely entertaining) fight scenes and still receive excellent ratings? Personal bias supersedes a neutral review of quality. Although not historically accurate, Gladiator is one of the best movies ever produced. The user ratings compared to the critic meta score says enough. Expand
  6. Jul 9, 2014
    8
    ONE OF MY FAVORITE FILM OF ALL TIME, EPIC WAR FILM,AWESOME GREAT ACTING,STUNNING VISUAL EFFECTS ,OUTSTANDING SOUND EFFECTS , EXCELLENT STORYONE OF MY FAVORITE FILM OF ALL TIME, EPIC WAR FILM,AWESOME GREAT ACTING,STUNNING VISUAL EFFECTS ,OUTSTANDING SOUND EFFECTS , EXCELLENT STORY IS WELL DIRECTED AND EXECUTED IT SUPERBLY , don't miss THIS EPIC BLOCKBUSTER IN YOUR LIFE Expand
  7. Jul 21, 2014
    1
    Change the title to GRUMPY MAN and it will pass for an average comedy.

    And Crowe got an oscar out of the deal. Great job academy! The
    Change the title to GRUMPY MAN and it will pass for an average comedy.

    And Crowe got an oscar out of the deal. Great job academy!

    The soundtrack supplied the only clothes pins holding up this drippy crap stained sheet on the line.
    Expand

See all 143 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. 28 Best Picture Oscar Winners, Ranked From Worst to Best

    28 Best Picture Oscar Winners, Ranked From Worst to Best Image
    Published: February 18, 2016
    We rank the best picture winners of the past three decades.
  2. Ridley Scott: All Films Considered

    Ridley Scott: All Films Considered Image
    Published: May 12, 2010
    The famed director's latest big-budget adventure, "Robin Hood," arrives in theaters this week. We take the opportunity to look back at Scott's career and rank his films from best to worst.
  3. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: June 30, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including The BFG, The Purge: Election Year, The Legend of Tarzan, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.
  4. DVD/Blu-ray Release Calendar: July 2016

    DVD/Blu-ray Release Calendar: July 2016 Image
    Published: June 29, 2016
    Find a complete guide to TV and movie titles heading to Blu-ray and DVD throughout the month of July, including an extended version of Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice plus Green Room, Everybody Wants Some!!, O.J.: Made in America, and more.
  5. 10 (or Maybe 11) Films to See in July

    10 (or Maybe 11) Films to See in July Image
    Published: June 28, 2016
    Our editors pick out the most interesting films headed to theaters next month.
  6. Spielberg Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best

    Spielberg Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best Image
    Published: June 24, 2016
    We rank every movie directed by Steven Spielberg throughout his 40-plus-year career.