Metascore
48

Mixed or average reviews - based on 28 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 28
  2. Negative: 5 out of 28
  1. Reviewed by: Jody Mitori
    Aug 12, 2011
    38
    The result is more like a long commercial than a cohesive movie, and the omissions are glaring.
  2. Reviewed by: Kyle Smith
    Aug 12, 2011
    38
    Fine for fans? Sure. This stuff is crack for fans. Crack is really bad!
  3. Reviewed by: Ty Burr
    Aug 11, 2011
    38
    It's a working illustration of what differentiates movie stars from TV stars. When we buy a ticket for a George Clooney movie, it's because we want to see George Clooney (or Emma Stone or Tom Hanks or whomever). The real stars of "Glee," on the other hand, are the characters, not the actors.
  4. Reviewed by: Kimberley Jones
    Aug 18, 2011
    30
    The film restages the greatest hits of the show's many musical numbers, to greatly diminished effect, with lackluster choreography and all the narrative appeal stripped away.
  5. Reviewed by: Peter Travers
    Aug 11, 2011
    25
    The movie plays like an evangelical prayer meeting, though I'd hold the hallelujahs. The characters we came to admire as vulnerable misfits hit the stage like visiting royalty and with a nonstop perkiness that makes the Von Trapps look like manic-depressives.
User Score
5.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 44 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 17
  2. Negative: 7 out of 17
  1. Aug 30, 2011
    1
    What a **** of a movie, fuc*ing stupid, ruin a good song, actually all songs got ruined. HATE IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Full Review »
  2. Sep 4, 2011
    4
    Why 3D? I am not a fan of the TV show (but am very familiar with it since my wife watches it religiously and drug me to the movie). I found it very strange that the "challenged" character in the wheel chair walks in the movie -- it would make more sense to either never have him in a chair or always, but to have him get up part-way through the show and then return to the chair just was strange. I never did figure out if the bass guitarist (female) at the beginning of the show is tiny or the guitar was huge, either. Since I was obsessing on this, it is obvious that I was not "into" the music. If Streisand was actually there, why not at least show her? Full Review »
  3. Aug 12, 2011
    0
    Girlfriend made me go see this with her. The only thing I do not know about this film is if it, or the Twilight series are more gay. Do yourself a favor and go see the Smurf movie instead, or watch paint dry for two hours. Full Review »