Metascore
48

Mixed or average reviews - based on 28 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 28
  2. Negative: 5 out of 28
  1. Reviewed by: Peter Rainer
    Aug 12, 2011
    83
    This rousing documentary directed by Kevin Tancharoen and shot during two live concerts in New Jersey, is a nonstop campy celebration of youthful pizazz.
  2. 80
    The film is really a valentine to the fans.
  3. Reviewed by: David Hiltbrand
    Aug 11, 2011
    75
    Part of Glee's charm has always been its innocent amateurishness, its just-folks aura. The live show clings to that conceit - with some pyrotechnics thrown in.
  4. Reviewed by: Steve Persall
    Aug 11, 2011
    75
    For the most part, the performances can raise goosebumps, especially whenever Lea Michele, Amber Riley and Naya Rivera open their mouths.
  5. Reviewed by: Aaron Riccio
    Aug 10, 2011
    75
    The film is as emotionally manipulative as the show, but it's never appeared more truthful in its aspiration to inspire - and profit in the process.
  6. Reviewed by: Liam Lacey
    Aug 10, 2011
    75
    A high-school talent show, no doubt, but, at its best, well worth glorifying.
  7. Reviewed by: Lael Loewenstein
    Aug 11, 2011
    70
    You might leave Glee 3D feeling a little gooey all over, but that slushie does taste kind of sweet.
  8. Reviewed by: Tasha Robinson
    Aug 10, 2011
    67
    One amusing disadvantage of the crystal-clear, you-are-there 3-D cinematography, and the focus on the audience experience is that in practically every shot, it's easy to pick out off-message concertgoers who are bored, tired, or otherwise disengaged.
  9. Reviewed by: Roger Moore
    Aug 10, 2011
    63
    Haters, head for the door. But Gleeks? Get your "Glee" on.
  10. Reviewed by: Tomi Obaro
    Aug 12, 2011
    60
    Interviews with real-life Gleeks contribute to the signature mix of schmaltz and earnestness one can expect from any Ryan Murphy vehicle, and there's nothing here that couldn't be accomplished in good old 2-D. Still, there's no need to stop believing.
  11. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    Aug 11, 2011
    60
    A blatant commodity designed to illustrate what a splendid influence the hit television show has been on the world at large, if the series' creators don't mind saying so themselves.
  12. Reviewed by: Ed Masley
    Aug 10, 2011
    60
    It's entertaining at face value, but they never let it be just that.
  13. Reviewed by: Jen Yamato
    Aug 11, 2011
    55
    Can't make its mind up about what, exactly, it is.
  14. Reviewed by: Richard Corliss
    Aug 13, 2011
    50
    The film also serves as the clearest statement of Glee's sacred mission. Through it, we can see how the entire multimedia phenomenon - the show, the albums, the iTunes hits, the recent concert tour and now this movie - has accrued the odor, say the incense, of a secular religion.
  15. Reviewed by: Nick Schager
    Aug 13, 2011
    50
    It's merely a trivial footnote to the popular franchise - though one that will no doubt satisfy rabid gleeks.
  16. Reviewed by: Robert Abele
    Aug 12, 2011
    50
    For the show's rabid viewership, these testimonials are probably integral to a celebratory experience like the "Glee" live show. To everyone else, it's all gonna be Gleek to you.
  17. Reviewed by: Lisa Schwarzbaum
    Aug 12, 2011
    50
    As for the concert itself, it's a generically big, loud, overchoreographed, over-mic'ed, post-Madonna production.
  18. Reviewed by: Amy Biancolli
    Aug 11, 2011
    50
    It's a celebration of nerd pride in all its many-feathered glory.
  19. Reviewed by: Scott Bowles
    Aug 11, 2011
    50
    Glee the TV show has become a cult phenom with three essential ingredients: whip-smart kids, adult-sized issues, all blended to sugary pop tunes. About a third of those components made it into Glee: The 3D Concert Movie.
  20. Reviewed by: Jen Chaney
    Aug 11, 2011
    50
    At its best, it's joyful, uplifting and even, occasionally, moving. And at its worst, it's a propaganda piece designed to win our undying loyalty to a TV show/cash cow that advocates for the little guy even though it's clearly turned into a diva.
  21. Reviewed by: Howard Cohen
    Aug 11, 2011
    50
    Great messages, of course. But Glee: 3D is not good enough, it's not smart enough, and doggone it, well, you get the gist.
  22. Reviewed by: Joe Neumaier
    Aug 12, 2011
    40
    A lot of gleeful audience members are interviewed in Glee: The 3-D Concert Experience, though the source of their happiness could be a lot of things.
  23. Reviewed by: Stephen Holden
    Aug 11, 2011
    40
    There is a paradox at the heart of the film. It strains to celebrate diversity and individualism, while its processed music exemplifies strict corporate teamwork.
  24. Reviewed by: Jody Mitori
    Aug 12, 2011
    38
    The result is more like a long commercial than a cohesive movie, and the omissions are glaring.
  25. Reviewed by: Kyle Smith
    Aug 12, 2011
    38
    Fine for fans? Sure. This stuff is crack for fans. Crack is really bad!
  26. Reviewed by: Ty Burr
    Aug 11, 2011
    38
    It's a working illustration of what differentiates movie stars from TV stars. When we buy a ticket for a George Clooney movie, it's because we want to see George Clooney (or Emma Stone or Tom Hanks or whomever). The real stars of "Glee," on the other hand, are the characters, not the actors.
  27. Reviewed by: Kimberley Jones
    Aug 18, 2011
    30
    The film restages the greatest hits of the show's many musical numbers, to greatly diminished effect, with lackluster choreography and all the narrative appeal stripped away.
  28. Reviewed by: Peter Travers
    Aug 11, 2011
    25
    The movie plays like an evangelical prayer meeting, though I'd hold the hallelujahs. The characters we came to admire as vulnerable misfits hit the stage like visiting royalty and with a nonstop perkiness that makes the Von Trapps look like manic-depressives.
User Score
5.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 47 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 17
  2. Negative: 7 out of 17
  1. Aug 30, 2011
    1
    What a **** of a movie, fuc*ing stupid, ruin a good song, actually all songs got ruined. HATE IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Full Review »
  2. Sep 4, 2011
    4
    Why 3D? I am not a fan of the TV show (but am very familiar with it since my wife watches it religiously and drug me to the movie). I found it very strange that the "challenged" character in the wheel chair walks in the movie -- it would make more sense to either never have him in a chair or always, but to have him get up part-way through the show and then return to the chair just was strange. I never did figure out if the bass guitarist (female) at the beginning of the show is tiny or the guitar was huge, either. Since I was obsessing on this, it is obvious that I was not "into" the music. If Streisand was actually there, why not at least show her? Full Review »
  3. Aug 12, 2011
    0
    Girlfriend made me go see this with her. The only thing I do not know about this film is if it, or the Twilight series are more gay. Do yourself a favor and go see the Smurf movie instead, or watch paint dry for two hours. Full Review »