Metascore
48

Mixed or average reviews - based on 28 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 28
  2. Negative: 5 out of 28
Watch On
  1. Reviewed by: Tomi Obaro
    Aug 12, 2011
    60
    Interviews with real-life Gleeks contribute to the signature mix of schmaltz and earnestness one can expect from any Ryan Murphy vehicle, and there's nothing here that couldn't be accomplished in good old 2-D. Still, there's no need to stop believing.
  2. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    Aug 11, 2011
    60
    A blatant commodity designed to illustrate what a splendid influence the hit television show has been on the world at large, if the series' creators don't mind saying so themselves.
  3. Reviewed by: Ed Masley
    Aug 10, 2011
    60
    It's entertaining at face value, but they never let it be just that.
  4. Reviewed by: Jen Yamato
    Aug 11, 2011
    55
    Can't make its mind up about what, exactly, it is.
  5. Reviewed by: Richard Corliss
    Aug 13, 2011
    50
    The film also serves as the clearest statement of Glee's sacred mission. Through it, we can see how the entire multimedia phenomenon - the show, the albums, the iTunes hits, the recent concert tour and now this movie - has accrued the odor, say the incense, of a secular religion.
  6. Reviewed by: Nick Schager
    Aug 13, 2011
    50
    It's merely a trivial footnote to the popular franchise - though one that will no doubt satisfy rabid gleeks.
  7. Reviewed by: Robert Abele
    Aug 12, 2011
    50
    For the show's rabid viewership, these testimonials are probably integral to a celebratory experience like the "Glee" live show. To everyone else, it's all gonna be Gleek to you.
  8. Reviewed by: Lisa Schwarzbaum
    Aug 12, 2011
    50
    As for the concert itself, it's a generically big, loud, overchoreographed, over-mic'ed, post-Madonna production.
  9. Reviewed by: Scott Bowles
    Aug 11, 2011
    50
    Glee the TV show has become a cult phenom with three essential ingredients: whip-smart kids, adult-sized issues, all blended to sugary pop tunes. About a third of those components made it into Glee: The 3D Concert Movie.
  10. Reviewed by: Amy Biancolli
    Aug 11, 2011
    50
    It's a celebration of nerd pride in all its many-feathered glory.
  11. Reviewed by: Jen Chaney
    Aug 11, 2011
    50
    At its best, it's joyful, uplifting and even, occasionally, moving. And at its worst, it's a propaganda piece designed to win our undying loyalty to a TV show/cash cow that advocates for the little guy even though it's clearly turned into a diva.
  12. Reviewed by: Howard Cohen
    Aug 11, 2011
    50
    Great messages, of course. But Glee: 3D is not good enough, it's not smart enough, and doggone it, well, you get the gist.
  13. Reviewed by: Joe Neumaier
    Aug 12, 2011
    40
    A lot of gleeful audience members are interviewed in Glee: The 3-D Concert Experience, though the source of their happiness could be a lot of things.
  14. Reviewed by: Stephen Holden
    Aug 11, 2011
    40
    There is a paradox at the heart of the film. It strains to celebrate diversity and individualism, while its processed music exemplifies strict corporate teamwork.
User Score
5.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 49 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 17
  2. Negative: 7 out of 17
  1. Aug 30, 2011
    1
    What a **** of a movie, fuc*ing stupid, ruin a good song, actually all songs got ruined. HATEWhat a **** of a movie, fuc*ing stupid, ruin a good song, actually all songs got ruined. HATE IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Full Review »
  2. Sep 4, 2011
    4
    Why 3D? I am not a fan of the TV show (but am very familiar with it since my wife watches it religiously and drug me to the movie). I foundWhy 3D? I am not a fan of the TV show (but am very familiar with it since my wife watches it religiously and drug me to the movie). I found it very strange that the "challenged" character in the wheel chair walks in the movie -- it would make more sense to either never have him in a chair or always, but to have him get up part-way through the show and then return to the chair just was strange. I never did figure out if the bass guitarist (female) at the beginning of the show is tiny or the guitar was huge, either. Since I was obsessing on this, it is obvious that I was not "into" the music. If Streisand was actually there, why not at least show her? Full Review »
  3. Aug 12, 2011
    0
    Girlfriend made me go see this with her. The only thing I do not know about this film is if it, or the Twilight series are more gay. DoGirlfriend made me go see this with her. The only thing I do not know about this film is if it, or the Twilight series are more gay. Do yourself a favor and go see the Smurf movie instead, or watch paint dry for two hours. Full Review »