New Line Cinema | Release Date: September 29, 1992
8.2
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 77 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
69
Mixed:
5
Negative:
3
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
StevenMMay 19, 2009
Anybody who voted less than 10 hasn't worked in sales. This gritty performance is absolutely spot on acting. And perhaps one of the best casts ever assembled. I wish they'd made a second one.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
RolentoJun 27, 2014
My all time favorite movie probably, so excuse me both for being biased AND for not being an expert on movies enough to say anything remotely deep or accurate about it. I honestly don't know what to say, I remember I was amazed by the factMy all time favorite movie probably, so excuse me both for being biased AND for not being an expert on movies enough to say anything remotely deep or accurate about it. I honestly don't know what to say, I remember I was amazed by the fact that despite being a movie relying solely on dialogue I wasn't bored in the slightest, but that's comparative and also from the PoV of a modern hyperactive kid or something, so disregard that: on its own merit, it made me care about most characters, wonder about who was the "culprit" at the end, and they were all detailed in their own way. I read aferwards that it was actually an adaptation from a famous play, and after rewatching it, I could totally see the theatrality in it: the characters coming in and out of the scene, the intertwined plots. I really don't know what to say, all the actors were amazing and the story was awesome and it described the grim reality of something as mundane as salesmen, and even managed to slip in some suspence with the final theft thing among all that beautifully crafted dialogue. I liked it very much! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
Compi24Apr 30, 2013
Perfect dialogue and performances meet a tidal wave of drama, hilarity, and intrigue "Glengarry Glen Ross" is an impossibly entertaining piece from David Mamet's repertoire.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
[Anonymous]Jul 10, 2005
Great. Captivating, from start to finish. I can't believe I've only just watched this!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RyanM.Sep 14, 2005
Classic, great movie that is as good as the play and just as effective. Dialogue and performances are superb. Beyond well written. A pleasure to watch all- around.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
KeithF.Mar 13, 2006
I haven't seen this movie in quite a while. If I recall, the acting was some of the best and intense I'd ever seen in a contemporary movie - especially, Jack Lemmon, Ed Harris and Alec Baldwin. But all the acting was great - Arkin, I haven't seen this movie in quite a while. If I recall, the acting was some of the best and intense I'd ever seen in a contemporary movie - especially, Jack Lemmon, Ed Harris and Alec Baldwin. But all the acting was great - Arkin, Pacino, Price, Spacey. Technically, I don't recall much - just the acting. I suppose Foley did a good job with the pacing of the movie - but again, the acting was impressive. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
PatC.May 19, 2004
One of the best movies dialogue-wise ever made, and would have won an Oscar for casting if such things were awarded. All the characters are scumbags. Their saucy language, sometimes rising to the form of high poetry, is still offensive. This One of the best movies dialogue-wise ever made, and would have won an Oscar for casting if such things were awarded. All the characters are scumbags. Their saucy language, sometimes rising to the form of high poetry, is still offensive. This is an unblinking look at characters for which a happy ending is impossible. The story has no redeeming social value, but that?s non-applicable here. Like Citizen Kane, an excellent movie can prosper in a joyless vacuum. But here the resignation is conveyed not by genius but profanity, so in the end the characters convey only crisp frustration for their situation, not realization of their lost potential. Yet it's too bad most movies plots aren't as tightly wound. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ERG1008Aug 24, 2010
Real estate agency, poor sales, owners send man to motivate them, after a week the two best sellers keep their jobs, rest get fired.
Great cast, good fast-paced script, sweary & dramatic.
Really well acted (Al Pacino plays himself, Hoo Ha)
Real estate agency, poor sales, owners send man to motivate them, after a week the two best sellers keep their jobs, rest get fired.
Great cast, good fast-paced script, sweary & dramatic.
Really well acted (Al Pacino plays himself, Hoo Ha) but Jack Lemmon steals the show for me as Shell "The Machine" Levine.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
PigBenisJun 8, 2011
Gripping, intense, and some of the best acting you will ever see in a movie. Ever actor in it is so great. Love Pacino in it, but Lemmon steals the show.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
mubagreenSep 10, 2011
the entire film took place in a small real este office in one evening and next morning.within this the director superbly crafted the entire cast. all you can see is crucial dialogues everywhere and classic performances...must say glengarrythe entire film took place in a small real este office in one evening and next morning.within this the director superbly crafted the entire cast. all you can see is crucial dialogues everywhere and classic performances...must say glengarry glen ross is a well directed corporate drama Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
SpangleNov 8, 2014
Undeniably a very good film. Lots of things happening, though you do have to pay attention to pick up on them, but largely, this one is a character study of multiple different characters, which is a very interesting thing to see. This one isUndeniably a very good film. Lots of things happening, though you do have to pay attention to pick up on them, but largely, this one is a character study of multiple different characters, which is a very interesting thing to see. This one is ultimately all about the script and the acting. David Mamet's script is brilliant and rife with brilliant dialogue and near perfect pacing. It feels as if we know every character by the end and everything they all say is pitch perfect. The acting from this star-studded cast of Al Pacino, Jack Lemmon, Alec Baldwin, Ed Harris, Kevin Spacey, Alan Arkin, and Jonathan Pryce, is predictably good. No one expected anything less and they delivered a complete home run. It is rare to see so many good actors sharing the screen together, so it is a real treat when they do. Ultimately, Glengarry Glen Ross closes the deal. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
KFarkSep 26, 2012
Lights, camera, talk! Sit back and watch the words fly. It's not called Mamet speak for nothing. This is Mamet's best work, and the same could be said about any of the actors. Pacino got the nom, but Lemmon should have taken home an Oscar!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
pabloaimarFeb 20, 2013
The acting is natural and the plot is amusing, unpredictable, and pivots not around one individual.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
FranzHcriticFeb 13, 2015
The profane dialogue and direct acting are all at a higher level of acting; a realism that most dramas are lacking. But 'Glengarry Glen Ross' is a short but very well paced and poignant film that examines the high pressure atmosphere theseThe profane dialogue and direct acting are all at a higher level of acting; a realism that most dramas are lacking. But 'Glengarry Glen Ross' is a short but very well paced and poignant film that examines the high pressure atmosphere these salesmen live in. Simple, but well effective. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
thexpertoffilmFeb 23, 2014
Most films rely on pretty visuals and cool sound effects. Not many are talk-heavy like this 90's classic. Glengarry Glen Ross not only pulls in the viewer with it's harsh, realistic feel, but does it only by the characters talking. No oneMost films rely on pretty visuals and cool sound effects. Not many are talk-heavy like this 90's classic. Glengarry Glen Ross not only pulls in the viewer with it's harsh, realistic feel, but does it only by the characters talking. No one ever does anything except talk. That's what makes this film so different. You could literally just listen to the film and you'd still understand it. Also, I should mention that this is the best acting I've ever seen in a movie. All the actors talk like real people, and the fantastic writing goes with the superb acting. As long as you're paying attention to it, Glengarry Glen Ross is sure to please. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
RobertBroganOct 1, 2015
Glengarry Glen Ross is the type of movie where if you enjoy it once then you will enjoy watching it again. Why? It has excellent dialogue and acting, which do not get used up in one viewing (vs. special effects or plot twists). Jack LemmonGlengarry Glen Ross is the type of movie where if you enjoy it once then you will enjoy watching it again. Why? It has excellent dialogue and acting, which do not get used up in one viewing (vs. special effects or plot twists). Jack Lemmon gives a stand-out performance, great characterization and reactions. This is a film you will want to view since it may become one of your all-time favorites. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
CasuallyFeb 1, 2017
Heated words fly for one hundred minutes as the pressure mounts and no one escapes the firing line. Sharp witty dialogue grabs the plot by the scruff of the neck and pulls it through with class. Pacino and Lemmon live up to their charactersHeated words fly for one hundred minutes as the pressure mounts and no one escapes the firing line. Sharp witty dialogue grabs the plot by the scruff of the neck and pulls it through with class. Pacino and Lemmon live up to their characters sentiment showing how it was done in the good old days. A classic. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews