User Score
4.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 101 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 45 out of 101
  2. Negative: 52 out of 101
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 27, 2010
    10
    she can act.. though not that good as what was expected but she did act.. she performed well not just by singing but by her expression.. well done still.. well done...still proud of you
  2. RobbieC
    Dec 19, 2007
    5
    Obviously, this is a bad movie. But it's not THAT bad. The media had a lot of fun making this out to be worse than it truly is. That's because as a culture, we enjoy putting people up on pedestals and then tearing them down, (like we're doing with Britney); that's exactly what we're doing to Mariah, though she struggles incessantly against it. This movie is like Obviously, this is a bad movie. But it's not THAT bad. The media had a lot of fun making this out to be worse than it truly is. That's because as a culture, we enjoy putting people up on pedestals and then tearing them down, (like we're doing with Britney); that's exactly what we're doing to Mariah, though she struggles incessantly against it. This movie is like any made-for-tv piece of garbage. But it's better than A Perfect Storm. So it deserves at least SOMETHING. Expand
  3. ChristianT
    Oct 22, 2006
    0
    What was this? Listen to me people: Mariah Carey Sucks! Not only does she sing horrible, vapid music, now she also does horrible, vapid movies. Avoid even if your life depends on it.
  4. sexybob
    May 8, 2005
    6
    Pros: Excellent soundtrack, was a movie with a heart. Cons: "eh" acting, sloppy screenplay. Overview: A movie that might have heart and a great soundtrack, but does not quite live up to Mariah's nameplate... Its like a Hyundai with a BMW nameplate!!
  5. Tom
    Dec 10, 2005
    0
    This movie could have been popular, had it been released in the 20's when them dang ole' movin' pictures first came out. People would have LOVED it, but alas, it was released when people knew what movies were supposed to look like, so they knew that this crap had nothing to do with good movies.
  6. AlysW.
    Jan 9, 2006
    10
    It's a great movie with very romantic scene Mariah Carey deserves an oscar for her role as Billie Frank.
  7. tonys.
    May 10, 2006
    9
    Great music, funny in parts but badly written.
  8. Abbyl
    Jun 29, 2007
    5
    For someone to suggest such an extreme such as death instead of watching a movie are seriously out of their minds. No movie is too bad, including this poorly written but fairly enjoyable piece, to such an extent that one must make the decision of whether they'd rather die or watch cinema.
  9. olivial
    Oct 24, 2007
    10
    Whoever thought this movie was that bad, or thinks Mariah Carey is that bad of an actress, just doesn't like Mariah Carey, period.
  10. BrandonH.
    May 4, 2004
    10
    I loved it and i am the most honest fan of mariah carey i love all her music not one song i have heard i didn't like and this movie was very touching to me and to who ever watches it. It's a good family movie and mariah carey i love you you're great and keep it up. brandon henchey merrill wisconsin.
  11. D.Diddy
    Jan 15, 2002
    0
    The people who gave this movie 10's just did it because they like Mirah Carey. Do yourself a favor and see ANY other movie but this one, it's horrid!
  12. PaulR.
    Sep 14, 2002
    6
    I'm amazed some of the critics were so unduly harsh with this movie..what were they expecting? An Oscar performance? Good first effort for Mariah, and some of the old music brought back fond memories. Mariah isn't there yet as an actress, but she does have potential. With some acting lessons and a better script, she could do well.
  13. KhalidA.
    Sep 28, 2001
    10
    The movie is the kind that makes you wonder about your life.. The importance of friends, family, love etc.. people have been looking at Mariah with hate in their hearts which is very sad because they are expecting Mariah to do miracles. I support her and what she does because being creative is what it's all about and not looking at critics who want something out of someone who The movie is the kind that makes you wonder about your life.. The importance of friends, family, love etc.. people have been looking at Mariah with hate in their hearts which is very sad because they are expecting Mariah to do miracles. I support her and what she does because being creative is what it's all about and not looking at critics who want something out of someone who doesn't want to be that way. Make sense? Well for me it does and I'm sure for many people who use their heads. Expand
  14. RaulG.
    Oct 3, 2001
    10
    Mariah is a convincing actress, and apparently the critics couldn't see that. But like she said 'This movie is for the people who really care...THE FANS'. And Mariah, it doesn't matter what everybody says, I won't stop believing in you.
  15. L.Markthen
    Jan 1, 2002
    9
    Critics never get it right ignore them. Mariah is great and I hope she makes a great comeback. The soundtrack is v. good.
  16. SeanJ.
    Aug 18, 2002
    10
    This movie was OFFF THAAAAAA HOOK! dun listen to what critics have to say...watch the movie your self!
  17. Lauren
    Mar 30, 2002
    10
    I used to listen to those little rummors and think Mariah wasn't all that, but I watched her movie and that totally changed, the NY Post must be really out of their minds if they think it wasn't worth it. I think the movie was really cute, made me cry at the end. I now can say that after watching, Mariah Carey is on my top list. She has an incredible voice. I don't know I used to listen to those little rummors and think Mariah wasn't all that, but I watched her movie and that totally changed, the NY Post must be really out of their minds if they think it wasn't worth it. I think the movie was really cute, made me cry at the end. I now can say that after watching, Mariah Carey is on my top list. She has an incredible voice. I don't know what "Austin Chronicle / Steve Davis" was talking about J.Lo being better. I can't remember the last time Jenifer pulled such a voice. I give props to Mariah, In my opinion we should start seing more of her acting, it was great! All those negative comments are just based on simple ENVIOUSNESS....Mariah w/o a doubt now has a new fan here~*~ Expand
  18. WilliamC.
    Sep 29, 2001
    8
    I can't believe I'm saying that I actually LIKED Glitter, but I did. From the reviews and bad press, I was expecting something along the lines of campiness on the scale of "Valley of the Dolls" or "Showgirls." Much of the film is just that, but Ms. Carey does a convincing and fine job as a singer struggling to make a name for herself. The real problem with the film is the actor I can't believe I'm saying that I actually LIKED Glitter, but I did. From the reviews and bad press, I was expecting something along the lines of campiness on the scale of "Valley of the Dolls" or "Showgirls." Much of the film is just that, but Ms. Carey does a convincing and fine job as a singer struggling to make a name for herself. The real problem with the film is the actor that plays the character of Dice (Max Beesley); I've seen PORNO STARS that could act circles around him. But, in my opinion, the film works on a campy level for both the positive and negative aspects and makes for an enjoyable film experience either way. Expand
  19. Jenn
    Sep 29, 2001
    10
    Critics are mean. Mariah has talent and I hope she makes a great comeback.
  20. Nikki
    Jan 20, 2002
    9
    This movie is really good. At least I liked it and so did all of my friends....Critics need to stop putting singers down ! They are human too and need praising and encouraging not being bullied.
  21. Byg
    Oct 7, 2001
    9
    This movie captures an essence not seen since the "Godfather" Part 1 and 2. This film simply is magnificent, the only thing holding it back from a perfect 10 was the lack of male genitalia shown by the star of the film.
  22. MarjorieP.
    Apr 15, 2002
    10
    I absolutely loved this movie. Max Beesley is totally awesome as Ace and Mariah did a great job too. Give her a break it was her first movie & I thought she did great. The whole movie was a pleasure to watch, the Soundtrack is really great too. I don't understand, this movie was totally AWESOME!!! I am going to buy it!!!
  23. SethB.
    Jan 19, 2002
    2
    I knew this movie was bad but I bought it-let me tell you why. It is so incoceiveably awful that when I make myself watch more than a half hour, it forces my brain to make psychoanylytical leaps and bounds and I'm able to think much clearer and efficiently. Not unlike being on a street obtianed pharmacutical.
  24. VigettesL.
    Oct 3, 2001
    10
    I think it's a good movie. And the soundtrack is good.
  25. TifinieH.
    Apr 20, 2002
    10
    I think it was a good movie, and it gave everybody a break from the "happily ever after" ending. It had a realistic feel to it and directed people from fantasy back to everyday life.
  26. [Anonymous]
    Nov 4, 2001
    0
    Really sucked.
  27. VickyM.
    Mar 16, 2002
    7
    I loved it!!!:)
  28. BeccaStar
    Sep 29, 2001
    0
    Sure Mariah has a great voice. Some of her tracks are untouchable. This movie was bad. She spent most of the time giggling throughout the whole movie. First of all she never wears clothes anymore and she is trying much too hard to fit in. That is to the teeny bop scene. Not to mention the story line lacked quite a bit. I saw the trailer which actually summed up this very predictable Sure Mariah has a great voice. Some of her tracks are untouchable. This movie was bad. She spent most of the time giggling throughout the whole movie. First of all she never wears clothes anymore and she is trying much too hard to fit in. That is to the teeny bop scene. Not to mention the story line lacked quite a bit. I saw the trailer which actually summed up this very predictable movie. Mariah you are like 31...put some clothes on and quit acting. BE YOURSELF! Expand
  29. PhatGrrrl
    Jan 31, 2002
    10
    Critics are mean! Mariah is sensitive and needs everyone's support to pull these trying times. She is kind to the poor.
  30. DarrylP.
    Oct 3, 2001
    10
    It is really a great movie. Mariah was incredible in it. She is such a good actrees/singer. It is incredible.
  31. TomJ.
    Sep 29, 2001
    0
    All that glitters is not good.
  32. PalleJ.
    Sep 25, 2003
    0
    This movie was the worst crap ive ever seen. AND who writes good things about this movie??? Is this a central for crazy ppl with bad taste??? Maria has a great voice but is is boring. She never does anything new exept take her cloths of... and thats getting old too. But worse of all was the giggly expresions of the movie. I watched the movie just to get a good laugh, ended up depressed This movie was the worst crap ive ever seen. AND who writes good things about this movie??? Is this a central for crazy ppl with bad taste??? Maria has a great voice but is is boring. She never does anything new exept take her cloths of... and thats getting old too. But worse of all was the giggly expresions of the movie. I watched the movie just to get a good laugh, ended up depressed asking preasy for my sister to mercy kill me. Please, Mariah... Stick to making boring ppl happy with your music. Release the same CD agian. (all songs sound alike) BUT dont ever do acting again. Collapse
  33. Yong-WooK.
    Apr 5, 2003
    0
    What a waste of time to see Mariah acting very badly. The song don't save it either. Crap.
  34. L.Y.
    Jun 30, 2003
    10
    I liked the movie and it made me a fan. Mariah has a wonderful voice. I think the critics went overboard, the movie was not that bad...Mariah keep up the good work.
  35. IsabellaG.
    Sep 9, 2002
    7
    The critics did not give Mariah credit for making a film that didn't have a lot of sex and violence in it. Not only that "Glitter" was actually ended on a good note. Not like some of the films that you see lately where they just up and decide to end the film without giving you a followup . Yes, Mariah is not the best actress but she worked hard on this film and it shows. I look The critics did not give Mariah credit for making a film that didn't have a lot of sex and violence in it. Not only that "Glitter" was actually ended on a good note. Not like some of the films that you see lately where they just up and decide to end the film without giving you a followup . Yes, Mariah is not the best actress but she worked hard on this film and it shows. I look forward to seeing her next film and I hope she continues to improve. Expand
  36. MelissaF.
    Jul 31, 2003
    9
    Mariah it was great j.lo is just into the money how many times she had gotten divorce please. you're great.
  37. DonaldD.
    Oct 12, 2001
    10
    Mariah is the best singer and can act well also, why are the critics being mean to her?
  38. NatX
    Oct 1, 2001
    0
    I feel like I should admit myself to a psychiatric ward for being crazy enough to go and see this steaming pile of crap. I suggest Mariah stick with her day job, especially now that it too appears to be going down the toilet.
  39. VigettesL.
    Oct 3, 2001
    10
    I think it's a good movie. And the soundtrack is good.
  40. ChrisT.
    Oct 11, 2003
    10
    This movie was so incredibly bad, that I have to give it a ten; I don't think anyone could even try and make a movie so devoid of any redeeming qualities. The plot was so bland and rushed, the characters were so lacking and acting was worse than a school play; the mere fact that someone greenlighted this movie makes it worth a 10. Even the soundtrack was pretty bad (with the This movie was so incredibly bad, that I have to give it a ten; I don't think anyone could even try and make a movie so devoid of any redeeming qualities. The plot was so bland and rushed, the characters were so lacking and acting was worse than a school play; the mere fact that someone greenlighted this movie makes it worth a 10. Even the soundtrack was pretty bad (with the exception of "all my life", which just happened to get stuck in my head). Congrats Mariah! A masterpiece of crap! Expand
  41. John
    Oct 21, 2003
    0
    WARNING! Can cause brain damage. This is easily most pathetic excuse for a film ever made (and I've seen Santa Claus Conquers the Martians). Just when you thought there was nothing worse than Carey singing, this comes along. Death itself would be a kinder punishment.
  42. Aug 11, 2013
    10
    I've watch it, and thats very good, the soundtrack, emotional buidings, all are great....... I'm very proud of her, the one who gets everything.......
Metascore
14

Overwhelming dislike - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 23
  2. Negative: 20 out of 23
  1. 0
    Assure Patient, who has paranoid delusions about Jennifer Lopez being molded into the new M______ C_____, to rest easy because Lopez has never made a film as bad as Glitter.
  2. "Zis is not verking! Zee glitter cannot overpower zee artist!" That, in a sentence, sums up what is wrong with this picture.
  3. A heart-wrenching debacle from the starting gun.