Metascore
53

Mixed or average reviews - based on 28 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 28
  2. Negative: 3 out of 28
  1. Reviewed by: Joe Morgenstern
    Feb 10, 2011
    80
    This lively little film, a comic take on Shakespeare's tragedy, is really entertaining.
  2. Reviewed by: Kenneth Turan
    Feb 10, 2011
    80
    This gently amusing, genuinely sweet animated film makes you smile from start to finish?
  3. Reviewed by: Pete Hammond
    Feb 9, 2011
    80
    Kids will fall in love with it as a movie treat full of heart, laughs and fantastic songs, and it could have crossover appeal as a Valentine date night treat thanks to all its pointy-hatted romance.
  4. Reviewed by: Sean O\\\\\\\'Connell
    Feb 11, 2011
    75
    Any film that dares to cast the bat-chewing heavy-metal legend as a gentle, ceramic reindeer named Fawn is okay in my Bard book.
  5. Reviewed by: Joe Williams
    Feb 11, 2011
    75
    Stays too low to the ground to become an animated classic, but if there's a fairer midwinter's tale, wherefore art thou?
  6. Reviewed by: Ty Burr
    Feb 10, 2011
    75
    It has its own bizarre charms and a breezy confidence that renders it the very definition of a simple pleasure.
  7. Reviewed by: Justin Chang
    Feb 9, 2011
    70
    A welcome dose of honest silliness at a time when most family-oriented toons settle for smart-alecky.
  8. Reviewed by: Bill Goodykoontz
    Feb 9, 2011
    70
    The voices are outstanding; the story demands British accents, and with such people as Caine and Smith providing them, so much the better.
  9. Reviewed by: Owen Gleiberman
    Feb 9, 2011
    67
    Every movie about cuddly dwarf statues in an English garden should have music this big.
  10. Reviewed by: Bob Mondello
    Feb 15, 2011
    65
    Theatrically inclined parents will also appreciate a passing reference to the Rosencrantz and Guildenstern Moving Co.
  11. Reviewed by: Lou Lumenick
    Feb 11, 2011
    63
    The clever screenplay, co-written by director Kelly Asbury (who co-helmed "Shrek 2"), follows the DreamWorks template of combining pop culture references, sight gags and action for the kids, and more sophisticated humor for adults.
  12. Reviewed by: Roger Moore
    Feb 9, 2011
    63
    If it's not an unerringly faithful adaptation of Shakespeare's play, it still manages enough wit and charm to come off.
  13. Reviewed by: Stephen Holden
    Feb 10, 2011
    60
    There is some fun to be found in this goofy riff on Shakespeare.
  14. Reviewed by: David Hughes
    Feb 7, 2011
    60
    Totally crackers but it gets powered by pure invention and eccentricity alone.
  15. Reviewed by: Tasha Robinson
    Feb 10, 2011
    58
    Far too much of the film is devoted to eye-rolling pop-culture gags and long montages set to recycled Elton John songs.
  16. Reviewed by: Andrea Gronvall
    Feb 12, 2011
    50
    Terra-cotta gnomes, the sort that decorate people's lawns, are the characters of this bizarre feature animation, which lampoons the British obsession with gardening and upholds a long tradition of cartoons pitched to tots and stoners.
  17. Reviewed by: Mike Scott
    Feb 11, 2011
    50
    It's not really a Disney film. Rather, this is a product of Starz Animation. It's a key distinction, because -- well, because Starz Animation is no Disney, and it's certainly no Pixar. It proves that here.
  18. Reviewed by: Liam Lacey
    Feb 11, 2011
    50
    The movie is nothing if not anxious to please. There's a big, diverse, celebrity voice cast – Maggie Smith, Hulk Hogan and Dolly Parton as well as Caine and Osbourne.
  19. Reviewed by: Claudia Puig
    Feb 10, 2011
    50
    A ceramic gnome by any other name is still a kitschy little figure.
  20. Reviewed by: Steven Rea
    Feb 10, 2011
    50
    It's a sorry spectacle, watching garden gnomes being robbed of their dignity.
  21. Reviewed by: Aaron Hillis
    Feb 10, 2011
    50
    The script feels workshopped to death yet still hits only a single broad note of irony-drenched whimsy, but the voice-work sparkles and the action-heavy animation clips along fluidly. There's charm in the backyard, but it's still of a garden variety.
  22. Reviewed by: Richard Corliss
    Feb 10, 2011
    50
    The result is a knockoff cinematic ceramic.
  23. 50
    The movie comes up short on inspiration despite a stellar voice cast that includes James McAvoy and Emily Blunt and a toe-tapping songbook by Elton John and Bernie Taupin.
  24. Reviewed by: Nick Schager
    Feb 9, 2011
    40
    The movie's overall lack of imagination is the real tragedy.
  25. Reviewed by: Stephanie Zacharek
    Feb 9, 2011
    40
    What a dud of a story! You know what it needs to dress it up? Garden gnomes.
  26. Reviewed by: Amy Biancolli
    Feb 10, 2011
    25
    As weird as it sounds.
  27. Reviewed by: Joe Neumaier
    Feb 11, 2011
    20
    This is perhaps for Shakespeare completists only.
  28. Reviewed by: Kimberley Jones
    Feb 10, 2011
    11
    Novelty alone does not a good idea make, and in the case of Gnomeo and Juliet, it's rather a disturbing, even fetishy one.
User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 107 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 34
  2. Negative: 8 out of 34
  1. Mar 5, 2011
    6
    I was excited to Gnomeo and juilet I was expecting it to be funny.

    It was ok. I wasn't what i was expecting well, kind of. It was sort
    I was excited to Gnomeo and juilet I was expecting it to be funny.

    It was ok. I wasn't what i was expecting well, kind of.

    It was sort of funny.

    Some parts in it were sort of lame.

    All and all i thought it was ok.
    Full Review »
  2. Aug 24, 2011
    2
    Forgettable and snooze worthy. Kids didn't like it much either. Very young kids might enjoy because of all the pretty colors--but that is whatForgettable and snooze worthy. Kids didn't like it much either. Very young kids might enjoy because of all the pretty colors--but that is what a kaleidoscope is for. Full Review »
  3. Jun 4, 2011
    2
    At first this movie looked like it was going to be alot of fun but then it got bad........REALLY BAD!! This is the only movie I have everAt first this movie looked like it was going to be alot of fun but then it got bad........REALLY BAD!! This is the only movie I have ever stopped watching in a very long time. I usually love these kinds of movies but this one wasn't even worth the $1 rental in my book! Full Review »