Metascore
53

Mixed or average reviews - based on 28 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 28
  2. Negative: 3 out of 28
Watch On
  1. Reviewed by: Stephen Holden
    Feb 10, 2011
    60
    There is some fun to be found in this goofy riff on Shakespeare.
  2. Reviewed by: David Hughes
    Feb 7, 2011
    60
    Totally crackers but it gets powered by pure invention and eccentricity alone.
  3. Reviewed by: Tasha Robinson
    Feb 10, 2011
    58
    Far too much of the film is devoted to eye-rolling pop-culture gags and long montages set to recycled Elton John songs.
  4. Reviewed by: Andrea Gronvall
    Feb 12, 2011
    50
    Terra-cotta gnomes, the sort that decorate people's lawns, are the characters of this bizarre feature animation, which lampoons the British obsession with gardening and upholds a long tradition of cartoons pitched to tots and stoners.
  5. Reviewed by: Mike Scott
    Feb 11, 2011
    50
    It's not really a Disney film. Rather, this is a product of Starz Animation. It's a key distinction, because -- well, because Starz Animation is no Disney, and it's certainly no Pixar. It proves that here.
  6. Reviewed by: Liam Lacey
    Feb 11, 2011
    50
    The movie is nothing if not anxious to please. There's a big, diverse, celebrity voice cast – Maggie Smith, Hulk Hogan and Dolly Parton as well as Caine and Osbourne.
  7. Reviewed by: Claudia Puig
    Feb 10, 2011
    50
    A ceramic gnome by any other name is still a kitschy little figure.
  8. Reviewed by: Steven Rea
    Feb 10, 2011
    50
    It's a sorry spectacle, watching garden gnomes being robbed of their dignity.
  9. Reviewed by: Aaron Hillis
    Feb 10, 2011
    50
    The script feels workshopped to death yet still hits only a single broad note of irony-drenched whimsy, but the voice-work sparkles and the action-heavy animation clips along fluidly. There's charm in the backyard, but it's still of a garden variety.
  10. Reviewed by: Richard Corliss
    Feb 10, 2011
    50
    The result is a knockoff cinematic ceramic.
  11. 50
    The movie comes up short on inspiration despite a stellar voice cast that includes James McAvoy and Emily Blunt and a toe-tapping songbook by Elton John and Bernie Taupin.
  12. Reviewed by: Nick Schager
    Feb 9, 2011
    40
    The movie's overall lack of imagination is the real tragedy.
  13. Reviewed by: Stephanie Zacharek
    Feb 9, 2011
    40
    What a dud of a story! You know what it needs to dress it up? Garden gnomes.
User Score
5.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 113 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 37
  2. Negative: 10 out of 37
  1. Mar 5, 2011
    6
    I was excited to Gnomeo and juilet I was expecting it to be funny.

    It was ok. I wasn't what i was expecting well, kind of. It was sort
    I was excited to Gnomeo and juilet I was expecting it to be funny.

    It was ok. I wasn't what i was expecting well, kind of.

    It was sort of funny.

    Some parts in it were sort of lame.

    All and all i thought it was ok.
    Full Review »
  2. Mar 23, 2015
    0
    This is a very silly movie. Silly as JB. A love story, about garden gnomes, SERIOUSLY?!?! The storyline was bad. The characters sucked. TheThis is a very silly movie. Silly as JB. A love story, about garden gnomes, SERIOUSLY?!?! The storyline was bad. The characters sucked. The dialogue was silly. Gnomeo and Julliet is a movie that everyone except Beliebers should avoid. Watch Shrek instead of this thing. I think it's an insult to call this a movie. Full Review »
  3. Mar 18, 2015
    0
    Awfully crappy. Silly as JB. Avoid!!!!! IT AT ALL COSTS!!!Awfully crappy. Silly as JB. Avoid!!!!! IT AT ALL COSTS!!! jdjdjdjjdjdndjdnndjdmdjdjdmdjdmdcjfjndnfdbdmdjdndndjdmndmdjdmdmdjdmdmdjdmdjdmdjdndmdjdmdmdndmdmdndndndndmd!!!!!!!!!!! Full Review »