Metascore
53

Mixed or average reviews - based on 28 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 28
  2. Negative: 3 out of 28

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Critic Reviews

  1. Reviewed by: Joe Morgenstern
    Feb 10, 2011
    80
    This lively little film, a comic take on Shakespeare's tragedy, is really entertaining.
  2. Reviewed by: Kenneth Turan
    Feb 10, 2011
    80
    This gently amusing, genuinely sweet animated film makes you smile from start to finish?
  3. Reviewed by: Pete Hammond
    Feb 9, 2011
    80
    Kids will fall in love with it as a movie treat full of heart, laughs and fantastic songs, and it could have crossover appeal as a Valentine date night treat thanks to all its pointy-hatted romance.
  4. Reviewed by: Sean O\\\\\\\'Connell
    Feb 11, 2011
    75
    Any film that dares to cast the bat-chewing heavy-metal legend as a gentle, ceramic reindeer named Fawn is okay in my Bard book.
  5. Reviewed by: Joe Williams
    Feb 11, 2011
    75
    Stays too low to the ground to become an animated classic, but if there's a fairer midwinter's tale, wherefore art thou?
  6. Reviewed by: Ty Burr
    Feb 10, 2011
    75
    It has its own bizarre charms and a breezy confidence that renders it the very definition of a simple pleasure.
  7. Reviewed by: Justin Chang
    Feb 9, 2011
    70
    A welcome dose of honest silliness at a time when most family-oriented toons settle for smart-alecky.
  8. Reviewed by: Bill Goodykoontz
    Feb 9, 2011
    70
    The voices are outstanding; the story demands British accents, and with such people as Caine and Smith providing them, so much the better.
  9. Reviewed by: Owen Gleiberman
    Feb 9, 2011
    67
    Every movie about cuddly dwarf statues in an English garden should have music this big.
  10. Reviewed by: Bob Mondello
    Feb 15, 2011
    65
    Theatrically inclined parents will also appreciate a passing reference to the Rosencrantz and Guildenstern Moving Co.
  11. Reviewed by: Lou Lumenick
    Feb 11, 2011
    63
    The clever screenplay, co-written by director Kelly Asbury (who co-helmed "Shrek 2"), follows the DreamWorks template of combining pop culture references, sight gags and action for the kids, and more sophisticated humor for adults.
  12. Reviewed by: Roger Moore
    Feb 9, 2011
    63
    If it's not an unerringly faithful adaptation of Shakespeare's play, it still manages enough wit and charm to come off.
User Score
5.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 117 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 39
  2. Negative: 10 out of 39
  1. Mar 5, 2011
    6
    I was excited to Gnomeo and juilet I was expecting it to be funny.

    It was ok. I wasn't what i was expecting well, kind of. It was sort
    I was excited to Gnomeo and juilet I was expecting it to be funny.

    It was ok. I wasn't what i was expecting well, kind of.

    It was sort of funny.

    Some parts in it were sort of lame.

    All and all i thought it was ok.
    Full Review »
  2. Mar 23, 2015
    0
    This is a very silly movie. Silly as JB. A love story, about garden gnomes, SERIOUSLY?!?! The storyline was bad. The characters sucked. TheThis is a very silly movie. Silly as JB. A love story, about garden gnomes, SERIOUSLY?!?! The storyline was bad. The characters sucked. The dialogue was silly. Gnomeo and Julliet is a movie that everyone except Beliebers should avoid. Watch Shrek instead of this thing. I think it's an insult to call this a movie. Full Review »
  3. Mar 18, 2015
    0
    Awfully crappy. Silly as JB. Avoid!!!!! IT AT ALL COSTS!!!Awfully crappy. Silly as JB. Avoid!!!!! IT AT ALL COSTS!!! jdjdjdjjdjdndjdnndjdmdjdjdmdjdmdcjfjndnfdbdmdjdndndjdmndmdjdmdmdjdmdmdjdmdjdmdjdndmdjdmdmdndmdmdndndndndmd!!!!!!!!!!! Full Review »