Metascore
38

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 13 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 4 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In Goats, Ellis is the most adult member of his eccentric family at 15 years old. His mom is a New Age hippie that spends all of her time working on self-help rituals with her hustler boyfriend. His dad left home years ago and is more focused on his new wife and family. And then there’s Goat Man, the goat-herding sage who has lived in their pool house since Ellis was a child, teaching him the meaning of stability, commitment, and expanding one's mind. (Image Entertainment) Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 13
  2. Negative: 2 out of 13
  1. Reviewed by: Eric Hynes
    Aug 7, 2012
    60
    Farmiga persuades as a kooky monster of a matriarch, while Javier is an ideal vessel for Duchovny's laconic line readings (he's grown into an even more deadpan Bill Murray). Goats may cover an all-too-familiar terrain, but at least it grazes it well.
  2. Reviewed by: Todd Gilchrist
    Jul 28, 2012
    58
    Overall, it's not that Neil's directorial debut is boring or even disappointing, it's that it's just unexceptional – almost exactly the sort of dime-a-dozen growing-up story that's become a Sundance/ independent film world cliché.
  3. Reviewed by: Lisa Schwarzbaum
    Aug 8, 2012
    58
    Ellis (The Good Wife's Graham Phillips), an alienated teen, smokes weed and hangs out with a goat-obsessed, pot-cultivating surrogate father (David Duchovny, hidden by hair). New Age details aside, though, Ellis is easily identifiable as a distant cousin-by-genre to J.D. Salinger's Holden Caulfield.
  4. Reviewed by: Rex Reed
    Aug 8, 2012
    50
    Ms. Farmiga is the only one who seems to be having any fun, as an aging flower child stuck in an earlier decade and addicted to healing vortex workshops and primal screams. Mellow, but very much a work in progress, Goats has a bland but overcrowded menu that could benefit from a little feta.
  5. Reviewed by: Kalvin Henely
    Aug 9, 2012
    50
    Christopher Neil's film is more location-scouted and photographed than directed and acted.
  6. Reviewed by: Alison Willmore
    Aug 8, 2012
    50
    It's a strange stunt of a role for Duchovny, who even when playing characters indulging in sex, drugs, or conspiracy theories, has the air of a savvy urbanite, a quality he can't submerge while trying to act as a perpetually high mystic.
  7. Reviewed by: Joe Neumaier
    Aug 9, 2012
    0
    Goats is just b-a-a-a-aad.

See all 13 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 1
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 1
  3. Negative: 0 out of 1
  1. Sep 2, 2012
    6
    I think you have to be a fan of he book to really enjoy the movie, since the author of the book wrote the screen play. And I got that feeling when I watched the movie, there were parts that didn't really make sense to me, things happened that seemed pretty important but were no explanation as to why they happened (mainly near the end). That being said I did enjoy the movie, it wasn't great, but Graham Phillips (Ellis) was an interesting and well acted character that kept me interested. I really liked the scenes with him at the school interacting with his roommate (Nicholas Lobue) and scenes with his father (Ty Burrell) and his girlfriend (Keri Russell), all of whom acted really well. I would have liked to see more scenes with them. I didn't really care for the parts of the movie that took place in Arizona, but the parts also David Duchovny enjoyable. In all it's a good movie, well acted, directed and really good dialogue but I would have probable liked the movie more if there won't as many loose ends as there were and if it had a better ending. By the way this is not a comedy like the trailer makes it seem, its more of a light drama. 6.5/10 Collapse

Trailers