User Score
7.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 87 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 69 out of 87
  2. Negative: 8 out of 87

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 25, 2014
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. God bless America is easily, in my opinion, one of the best combinations of Dark Comedy and Drama I have seen in Years. Watching this film was a great Experience, and it was easily one of the best independent films I have ever seen. The Plot is a dark spiral of Hilarious Insanity and Turmoil, filled with some of the best Social and Political Commentary, Exquisitely handled Themes, and Ridiculously dark (And Funny) Shock Humor, a good example being in a fantasy scene where the Protagonist imagines killing his neighbors, and shoots their baby with a 12 Gauge shotgun when The Mother tries to use it as a Human Shield. In my opinion, there are two major selling points to this film. One is the Social Commentary, and overarching theme. Which portrays a man seeking to rid the world of Stupidity and, seeing how he thinks he is dying, develops a sort of Jigsaw Complex, which drives him to make a difference by eradicating the source of it, albeit in a very Morally Ambiguous way. While i don't Condone the actions, it is something that could be debated if this sort of action could be considered something that could be a step in the right direction or not, which is one of the highlights of the Film. The other reason why this Movie is worth watching is the Female Protagonist. This is easily one of the best Characters I have ever seen, which is also eloquently portrayed by the Actress's skill to emote, and convey with subtlety. She's Independent, Insane, and wants to see idiocy destroyed, and she's the best Driving Force to help Frank find the strength to stand up for his cause. The Ending is exquisite, being reminiscent of Bonnie and Clyde, combining with them going out in an absolute blaze of glory, being the rebels against stupidity. Also, the plot has a great way of connecting all the events in a relatively seamless way, and does a great job at keeping everything coherent for a Comedy. Naturally, though, there are a few problems. The Dialogue can be a little stilted, some of the jokes don't hit bulls-eyes, and the Social Commentary, to some, will be offensive, but honestly, it needs to be. This is a great statement about where we are headed, and how we need someone to stand up for intelligence and decency, albeit in a more...... diplomatic way. But honestly, if Frank and Rory came through, and asked me to join with them, I would. It might not be the most ethical thing, but at least someone would be trying. Over all, this Film is exquisite, and honestly, I love every second of it, and easily gets my Seal of Approval.

    God Bless America is My Pick for the Best Modern Dramatic Comedy Ever Made.
    Expand
  2. Dec 8, 2013
    0
    I know there is a lot of trash around us all the time but that does not means that we start killing every such person we don't like. No two persons can ever be same, that is what defines being human and not machines. The leads are terrorists and if you are rooting for them then God bless You.
  3. Nov 3, 2013
    8
    A good movie for present the american mentality. Main story is a bit strange but funny. I realy enjoyed this movie and laugh at some parts but the ending could be better
  4. Jul 14, 2013
    6
    I laughed a good amount and the dialogue is witty and acerbic throughout and the story works, but only for the first 35-40 minutes. The two leads are very good with what they have and the two main characters are likable for who they are and how psychotic they are portrayed as, the main girl is specifically great. The thing is that after a while, it actually gets to be too much. If the audience is actually rooting for the two main characters past the two-thirds point, then the audience is essentially rooting for Eric Harris, Dylan Klebold, James Holmes, Adam Lanza, Seung-Hui Cho and terrorists. The film succeeded in what it set out to do but it left me upside-down due to how incredibly amoral and dark it gets. Seriously, this movie is dark as hell, way darker than any drama or horror film I've ever seen. 6.3/10, one thumb down, meh, okay, etc. Expand
  5. Jun 9, 2013
    2
    This a shallow preachy attempt to denounce everything that is supposedly wrong with America. The characters are completely unlikable and in the end, the movie isn't funny or engaging. This movie is pathetic.
  6. Jan 27, 2013
    7
    God Bless America is one of the most unrealistic movies I have ever seen. The movie has its ups and downs but when you strip away everything, the movie has a profound and true statement; that this country is completely screwed up today.
  7. Sep 25, 2012
    5
    Where the film falls short is in its lack of character and plot development, both are strong at the beginning but neither go anywhere. This results in what seems like a sermon on the state of affairs without offering hope or a solution, leaving the audience fairly depressed and uninterested. I was far more amused by the trailer, which offered the whole story with all the funniest bits in under five minutes. Perhaps it would have worked better as a short film, but as is, Sorkin Expand
  8. Sep 24, 2012
    7
    Funny, sad and twisted , brought up some very valid points with today's society. Although I cannot condone murder I understand the point of the movie.
  9. Jul 21, 2012
    8
    Just finished watching the DVD after picking it up at my local Blockbuster. I admit I feel a bit guilty watching this just two days after the latest tragedy in Colorado. But I don't believe Goldthwait's intention was to turn his audience into homicidal maniacs. I think his intention was to express frustration and discontent with the malaise that is our current American culture, albeit in an exaggerated manner. Nonetheless, I can empathize with said frustration of the film's antiheroes. Now the hard part for me isn't resisting the urge to go on a killing spree, with America's most conceited, bigoted, self-absorbed idiots out there as targets. The hard part is willingness to throw my Android phone off a bridge into the water below. Either way, I find God Bless America to be the most entertaining film of 2012 so far. Expand
  10. Jul 8, 2012
    8
    This film is a satirical **** You' to American mainstream media, their intollerant right-wing patriotic society and the general retarded simple-mindedness of people. It does this without being too preachy or without coming of as left wing propaganda. You could call it a road movie, and the pace isn't very high but the acting of the 2 main characters is simply exellent. And the scenes where the **** of the world' get gunned down are just so much fun they alone almost make watching this little gem worthwhile. Highly recommended! Expand
  11. Jul 8, 2012
    8
    I personally enjoyed this one...

    It kinda reminded me of Falling Dawn with Michael Douglas (if you haven't seen it, and liked this one, I seriously advise you to watch it :), only that the main characters where pretty much sane through the whole part of the movie, and what they where doing was the right thing to do in a decaying materialistic brainwashed society like America...Overall
    it could have been written somewhat better, but the package still delivers till the end which by the way was also IMHO rightfully inevitable. Expand
  12. Jul 8, 2012
    2
    I'd gone into this movie with high hopes thinking that it would be generally funny, and for the first half hour it was. After you get through the intro of the movie, including the first killing, it goes down hill from there. The movie then takes a turn to twenty minute monologues before anything important actually happens, all the while it is incredibly obvious that the writer is only trying to push a political agenda. The movie turns from being genuinely funny, to just being plain pathetic by trying to force comedy through their sad "political jokes" that stereotype people as much as you can. The characters are extremely unlikable and make it very hard to relate to them. Especially the girl, she swears up a storm, typically for no reason, by saying things, like **** you frank" just to reply to the him. Frank the main character, brings no life to his role whatsoever. He is supposed to be a man dying from a brain tumor, but really all he is, is a poor actor that can't show any emotion, and always talks in a monologue voice. The story, could have easily been written by a middle school student. It is poorly written, and extremely shallow. This is why I've given the movie a two out of ten. Expand
  13. Jun 30, 2012
    4
    God Bless America, a dark comedy involving a depressed middle-aged man who goes on a killing rampage on those who 'deserve it' with a teenage girl has its morals all twisted up. The film attempts to make statements about what's wrong with pop culture and America and, while some of the declarations are affecting, it is mostly just wrung out with hypocrisy, as the characters enacting the killings are no better themselves. It starts out with promise, making some good points, but then we begin to realize that about every scene contains a drawn out monologue of, not so much nihilism, but hating everything for no backed up insightful reason. While the plot is self-aware and ridiculous, the character of the teenage girl is absolutely unlikable, foul-mouthed, mean, and with no background to suppport her behavior. Enjoy God Bless America for its dark/funny massacres but not its moral. I don't think we are meant to anyway. Expand
  14. Jun 23, 2012
    10
    This movie is hilarious. Killing the ones who deserve it. Just perfect.
  15. May 27, 2012
    4
    Ultimately a snuff fantasy for the kind of people who spend their evening watching Jon Stewart and Rachel Maddow. Sure is fun to imagine yourself going on a killing spree to wipe out FOX news commentators, reality TV show stars, and insulting judges on American Idol. But ultimately, the film's ccharacters are no better than the targets of their wrath. The is one way I could givev this movie a 10. If you interpret it as a condemnation of the people who will get off on it. In a way, the ending reminds me of the ending of Inglourious Bastards, where the audience is watching a film in which the heros massacre an audience full of Nazis trapped in a theater watching a film in which the hero kills their enemies. I'm not sure the film is really smart enough to have that double edge to it, though. There are numerous occasions when the protagonists rant and rave about the vulgarity of the culture, before immediately revealing themselves to be nothing but the flip side, another example of the vulgarity they condemn. As if going on a killing spree to protest incivility isn't sufficiently ironic. Expand
  16. May 17, 2012
    10
    One of the best movies of the year in my opinion. While the story is not easy to take seriously, its not meant to. The plot relays a message that needs to be said about todays society. The break out performance by Tara Lynne Barr is phenomenal. I enjoyed every second of this movie. *note this movie will not go over with you as well if you are 1) a Santorum style republican 2) A member of the Real housewives show 3) a member of the Westboro Baptist church. Im Commander Shepherd and this is my favorite movie on the citadel. Expand
  17. May 15, 2012
    10
    A searing indictment of current American culture that is at times funny, sad, and terrifying. The action in God Bless America is almost cartoonish in its presentation, but the message is serious and clear - America is becoming an angry nation where bigotry, sensationalism and selfishness rule. This film is a call for kindness, albeit delivered with a sledgehammer. See it with someone you love.
  18. May 14, 2012
    6
    Idiocracy meets Super, without the good writing. Flip-flops between unfunny parody of tv shows and scenes with characters complaining about modern culture for a few minutes at a time.

    Overall entertaining and generally satisfying, but not a particularly well made, profound movie or especially funny movie.
  19. May 11, 2012
    4
    Not ridiculous enough to justify the running time, the film is an overlong rant that has validity in some of its points, but isn't ridiculous enough to survive the bad indie filmmaking and a story that tries too hard to create a story when there really isn't one. Don't bother watching this before midnight.
Metascore
56

Mixed or average reviews - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 24
  2. Negative: 1 out of 24
  1. Reviewed by: Philip Wilding
    Jul 2, 2012
    80
    Part road trip, part revenge movie, this is a tentative tale of a man who's not going to take it anymore, sharp on the fallibility of human foibles and sometimes stingingly funny, too.
  2. Reviewed by: Marjorie Baumgarten
    May 31, 2012
    50
    Although several great speeches and hilarious one-liners goose the film, God Bless America nevertheless peaks too early and becomes rather one-note.
  3. Reviewed by: Mike Scott
    May 18, 2012
    60
    The good news: This is Goldthwait the writer-director, not Goldthwait the actor -- so there's no schticky voice to endure. But his exceedingly black comedy does speak loudly -- and it turns out he's actually got something worthwhile to say.