User Score
5.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 105 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 44 out of 105
  2. Negative: 38 out of 105

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 6, 2011
    2
    "Godzilla", the remake of the (gasp!) Godzilla movie in Japan, is pure trash. This time not even Roland's broad visuals can't save this clunky film. If you think you were going to watch this, forget it. It's just unbelievably terrible.
  2. Apr 14, 2013
    3
    I was greatly disappointed since I was a huge fan of the many Japanese Godzilla aka Gojira films. This Godzilla just didn't feel right to me. In fact, just about everthing is wrong with it. It has a bad script, bad acting, mediocre special effects, and it's unbelievably cheesy. The biggest problem is that it doesn't even feel like a Godzilla film it just feels like a ripoff of Jurassic Park and King Kong. Expand
  3. Jul 26, 2011
    0
    Godzilla? More like Attack of the Radioactive Iguanas. This isn't a Godzilla film. This movie is disgrace to the name. If you want to watch this movie go ahead. But you know even though its a disgrace to TOHO and the name it isn't that bad of a movie. Its a monster movie at least. It a simple monster movie. Monster attack city people fight its a nothing more than a simple monster movie that ruined the name of GODZILLA. Expand
  4. May 10, 2014
    2
    As Mathew Broderick's character would surely agree, something is rather fishy here. Godzilla is a perfect example of a cash grab. Godzilla is filled with horrible writing, illogical characters, and god awful special effects. And you cant claim that its just 90's cgi, look at Jurassic Park, that was far superior to this garbage. Unfortunately this movie doesn't qualify for the right of being called "so bad its good." Its just nothing but boring all the way through. If you want to have a laugh at a bad movie, don't waste your time and instead watch Troll 2. Expand
  5. Aug 28, 2010
    3
    oh Godzilla what have they done to you. even TOHO company the japanese film complany that makes the godzilla films in japan was disgusted with what was done to godzilla by hollywood. that giant lizard on the big screen was not godzilla and calling it Godzilla felt like a insult . if this was not called godzilla i might be able to squeeze out a 5 or a 6 for this film . the special effects where ver nice but thats about it. the film felt abit to cheesey even for the japanese godzilla films . atleast the japanese saved godzilla abit with Godzilla 2k. Expand
  6. Aug 28, 2011
    4
    Roland Emmerich's movies are some of the worst of all popular movies to be marketed and watches by the masses of uncritically minded morons who are easily entertained by visual effects and who are satisfied with mediocrity. If you were to cut the visual effects from this movie you would be left with shallow uninteresting characters, cliche dialogue, a formulaic story, gaping scientific and historical inaccuracies, and illogical plot development. I actually love special effects but I guess these things bother me more than most as I believe that movies have more potential then the 'popcorn' films Emmerich makes every few years, and it would be easier for me not worry about so much if they werent so popular. Just because a movie is trying to be a 'popcorn flick' and not trying to be intelligent does NOT make it a good one. Expand
  7. Oct 22, 2011
    4
    It was an okay movie. Not my favorite but it was at least okay. Not one of Roland Emmerich's best movies but it wasn't terrible. Okay movie that's all I'm saying.
  8. Jul 31, 2011
    3
    Argh! This movie makes me so mad! I grew up loving Godzilla when I was little, you know, the old Japanese cheesy, yet awesome, adventures of fighting guys in rubber monster suits. the good ol' days. One of my favorite things in the series was how awesome Godzilla looked. A cross between a giant...ummm...and a big...umm...with the-uh-vague appearance of a giant dinosaur! I don't know, but the point is, he was awesome! Now, they finally make a movie in america with the greatest effects, good-named actors, all being filmed in New York City! Sounds pretty epic, until you actually see the movie. The first question I've ever had for this movie is why the heck is Godzilla a T-rex? Seriously? They are finally making a movie about possibly the greatest monster movie franchise of all time (next to King Kong, of coarse) with all the right tools and that's what they came up with? I know there are fans of this movie, and I don't hold a grudge against them in any way, that will debate that Godzilla is a giant iguana and not a T-rex. But really look at him. He looks like something out of Jurassic Park. I can see why some people like this movie, but frankly do not and that's all I've got to say about that. Expand
  9. Dec 22, 2011
    2
    It was ok. The acting was generic at best but the effects were good. It was interesting dont get me wrong but it was just executed poorly. I think if given another shot then they would have knocked it out of the park (or at least made a decent film).
  10. Mar 8, 2014
    3
    The script is weak, the acting is bad in some places, and the only positive feature we're getting here are some cool CGI. "Godzilla" is another example of a bad Roland Emmerich film.
  11. Jun 28, 2014
    3
    The films plot is very thin,the acting is off,and the directing is just terrible.I espicially hate the redisign of Godzilla from the source material. It is so bad I like to pretend this movie never happened. But I will say that the effects animation is outstanding. But other than that the screenplay sucks.
  12. Nov 12, 2012
    2
    Usually, if there's a giant lizard monster walking around destroying s**t I'm in. However, everything else about this movie was so bad that I could not bear it. Truly a feat of inadequacy.
  13. Jul 5, 2014
    2
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I just want to say about this movie that the reasons why I really hate this 1998 one is because that here are lots of reasons I would complain about this bullcrap Godzilla film I ever seen. Ok because first about the design of godzilla it looks like a creature like dinosaur and the worst of all it's the first time it's a female monster of the franchise which I was pissed off about this. Second is that the new casts of this movie are stupid boring performances that ever play in it and which I don't know some of the casts in it. Third is that there are not a lot of sound, and visual effects in it which that yet again pissed me off about and last is that the director Roland emmerich came up with that stupid idea about the design about it. so that's the reasons why I hate this 1998 one I my life. Expand
  14. Oct 5, 2013
    1
    When, oh when, will a remake be worth the watch? Almost no remakes are worth it, and this one falls under that category. It's pure trash, and I has nothing to offer but mindless eye candy and inept acting. Truthfully, I think this movie would've been better if it had been dubbed in Japanese.
  15. Nov 6, 2013
    2
    This is the American remake of the Japanese 'Godzilla' film. To me this remake was just flat-out terrible. The only thing I liked that this movie introduced was the monster "Zilla", that being this American Godzilla. Toho decided to make them separate entities and incorporate him in 'Godzilla: Final Wars'. Outside of that you either like this film, or you don't. I didn't like it at all, but if you're a Godzilla fan just watch it and see what you think. Expand
  16. May 12, 2014
    0
    Godzilla as a goddamn Iguana. Why was this made? This Movie (If you want to even call it that), is so bad, it goes to dinner with superman 4. 0/10 DON'T SEE THIS MOVIE.
  17. Apr 16, 2014
    2
    This American 'Godzilla' was just flat-out terrible. The only thing I liked that this movie introduced was the monster "Zilla", and that Toho decided to make him a separate entity and incorporate him in 'Godzilla: Final Wars'. Outside of that you either like this film, or you don't. I didn't like it at all, but if you're a Godzilla fan just watch it and see what you think.
  18. May 17, 2014
    0
    ok lets see this is like the freaking WORST GODZILLA MOVIE EVER IN EXISTENCE THEY DIDN'T GET A THING RIGHT HE DOES NOT BREATH A ATOMIC LASER HE IS NOT ALMOST IMPOSABLE TO KILL HE LOOKS NOTHING LIKE GODZILLA HE WAS TOOK OUT WITH ROCKETS! GODZILLA GETS HIT WITH ROCKETS EVERY DAY! HE EVEN WAS HIT WITH A BLACK HOLE GUN! AND TOHO CHANGED USA GODZILLA TO ZILLA CAUSE HE DIDN'T DESERVE THE NAME GODZILLA IM NEVER WATCHING THIS MOVIE EVER AGAIN YOU SHOULD NOT EVEN BE THINKING ABOUT WATCHING IT the japanese godzilla was amazing BUT THIS USA GODZILLA IS HORSE CRAP!!!!!! im done Expand
Metascore
32

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 23
  2. Negative: 12 out of 23
  1. 38
    A big, ugly, ungainly device to give teenagers the impression they are seeing a movie.
  2. 10
    Overlong, neither funny nor scary movie about a big lizard.
  3. Reviewed by: David Edelstein
    50
    Size really is about all that this tedious, underpopulated beanbag of an epic has going for it.