User Score
5.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 128 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 51 out of 128
  2. Negative: 49 out of 128

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 14, 2013
    3
    I was greatly disappointed since I was a huge fan of the many Japanese Godzilla aka Gojira films. This Godzilla just didn't feel right to me. In fact, just about everthing is wrong with it. It has a bad script, bad acting, mediocre special effects, and it's unbelievably cheesy. The biggest problem is that it doesn't even feel like a Godzilla film it just feels like a ripoff of JurassicI was greatly disappointed since I was a huge fan of the many Japanese Godzilla aka Gojira films. This Godzilla just didn't feel right to me. In fact, just about everthing is wrong with it. It has a bad script, bad acting, mediocre special effects, and it's unbelievably cheesy. The biggest problem is that it doesn't even feel like a Godzilla film it just feels like a ripoff of Jurassic Park and King Kong. Expand
  2. May 18, 2014
    10
    This movie is beautiful, maybe is not the original japan godzilla, but "original" is not always "better" and this is the case.
    if you are not a stupid fanboy of the original japan godzilla, then watch this.
  3. Jul 26, 2011
    0
    Godzilla? More like Attack of the Radioactive Iguanas. This isn't a Godzilla film. This movie is disgrace to the name. If you want to watch this movie go ahead. But you know even though its a disgrace to TOHO and the name it isn't that bad of a movie. Its a monster movie at least. It a simple monster movie. Monster attack city people fight its a nothing more than a simple monsterGodzilla? More like Attack of the Radioactive Iguanas. This isn't a Godzilla film. This movie is disgrace to the name. If you want to watch this movie go ahead. But you know even though its a disgrace to TOHO and the name it isn't that bad of a movie. Its a monster movie at least. It a simple monster movie. Monster attack city people fight its a nothing more than a simple monster movie that ruined the name of GODZILLA. Expand
  4. Oct 6, 2011
    2
    "Godzilla", the remake of the (gasp!) Godzilla movie in Japan, is pure trash. This time not even Roland's broad visuals can't save this clunky film. If you think you were going to watch this, forget it. It's just unbelievably terrible.
  5. May 10, 2014
    2
    As Mathew Broderick's character would surely agree, something is rather fishy here. Godzilla is a perfect example of a cash grab. Godzilla is filled with horrible writing, illogical characters, and god awful special effects. And you cant claim that its just 90's cgi, look at Jurassic Park, that was far superior to this garbage. Unfortunately this movie doesn't qualify for the right ofAs Mathew Broderick's character would surely agree, something is rather fishy here. Godzilla is a perfect example of a cash grab. Godzilla is filled with horrible writing, illogical characters, and god awful special effects. And you cant claim that its just 90's cgi, look at Jurassic Park, that was far superior to this garbage. Unfortunately this movie doesn't qualify for the right of being called "so bad its good." Its just nothing but boring all the way through. If you want to have a laugh at a bad movie, don't waste your time and instead watch Troll 2. Expand
  6. Jun 11, 2011
    5
    Based on the Godzilla Japanese franchise and a re-imagining of a 1954 movie of the same name (in which I haven't even watched/heard before), it was known for being one of the best movies of 1998 despite it having received Golden Raspberry Awards. Now to get on with the story.

    After a mutation was caused from the lizards by the french in French Polynesia, a deadly reptilian creature was
    Based on the Godzilla Japanese franchise and a re-imagining of a 1954 movie of the same name (in which I haven't even watched/heard before), it was known for being one of the best movies of 1998 despite it having received Golden Raspberry Awards. Now to get on with the story.

    After a mutation was caused from the lizards by the french in French Polynesia, a deadly reptilian creature was created and migrates to New York City, destroying everything in sight. Dr. Nick Tatopoulos is called by the military force to do research on this gigantic creature and to aid them to stop it once and for all.

    Do you think that Action and Science Fiction movies keep you interested on what's going on? Then, frankly, this is one of them.

    The good things that I found to be tolerable was the cinematography, Matthew Broderick's performance, the CGI, the music score and the action scenes.

    The bad things are the plot holes, overused clichés, the scenes, the development, and the scenes in where the hatchlings of Godzilla started to eat the team by ripping off the scenes from Jurassic Park that were very familiar.

    Godzilla isn't good or bad either. It just did okay and it's a very mediocre action/science fiction movie, but at least Roland Emmerich tried. It is worth watching and a guilty pleasure on DVD or VHS only.

    5/10
    Expand
  7. Jun 13, 2013
    8
    The American Godzilla movie seems to be a very divisive film. There is no middle ground, some either like it or they hate it. I am one who actually really enjoys this film despite its flaws. Having grown up on the Toho Godzilla films of the 60s and the 70s it seems that the majority of the complaints about this movie are in how far Rolland Emmerich and Dean Devlin deviated from Godzilla'sThe American Godzilla movie seems to be a very divisive film. There is no middle ground, some either like it or they hate it. I am one who actually really enjoys this film despite its flaws. Having grown up on the Toho Godzilla films of the 60s and the 70s it seems that the majority of the complaints about this movie are in how far Rolland Emmerich and Dean Devlin deviated from Godzilla's original design. I think those who were upset with the design changes do have a valid point. When you change the design of a cultural icon it is bound to upset the core fan base. However, despite the monster being Godzilla in name only, the movie does have many qualities to redeem it.

    Pros: Taking the design of the monster on its own merit, Godzilla, or Zilla, as he is renamed by Toho studios, is a very creatively designed creature. Even if one doesn't consider this creature Godzilla, on his own he is a well designed monster and a welcome addition to the panoply of Toho's Kaiju creatures. He is more animal like than his Japanese counterpart (and less indestructible) and this has been the source of many of the criticisms levied at this incarnation of Godzilla. But from my perspective the CGI effects are much more superior to a guy walking around in a latex suit and that adds to the sense of realism. Rolland Emmerich and Dean Devlin have unapologetically stated that they make fun lighthearted popcorn movies. That is exemplary with this movie and that is where the enjoyment comes. All of the Toho Godzilla movies are covered with a healthy slice of cheese or two and the American version is no exception. This is a light hearted movie which doesn't take itself too seriously and is enjoyable despite its flaws.

    Cons: Sure the movie does have its cheesy moments but in my opinion all of Toho's Godzilla movies (with the exception of the 1954 Japanese original) are covered with more Velveeta than this American version. I believe Matthew Broderick does an excellent job in the lead role as well as much of the supporting cast. My only major complaint and big flaw as far as the characters are concerned is with Mayor Ebert. He spends the majority of the movie just whining and complaining and worried how this will affect his popularity. Even when the military is doing things to protect the city Mayor Ebert really doesn't seem to care about the welfare of the citizens at all. The other complaint is that the time spent in Madison Square Gardens with the baby Zilla's is the part of the movie which seems to slow down and drag a bit too much. Other than that I really do enjoy this movie and wished Zilla could get another chance to star in his own feature length movie.
    Expand
  8. May 17, 2014
    0
    ok lets see this is like the freaking WORST GODZILLA MOVIE EVER IN EXISTENCE THEY DIDN'T GET A THING RIGHT HE DOES NOT BREATH A ATOMIC LASER HE IS NOT ALMOST IMPOSABLE TO KILL HE LOOKS NOTHING LIKE GODZILLA HE WAS TOOK OUT WITH ROCKETS! GODZILLA GETS HIT WITH ROCKETS EVERY DAY! HE EVEN WAS HIT WITH A BLACK HOLE GUN! AND TOHO CHANGED USA GODZILLA TO ZILLA CAUSE HE DIDN'T DESERVE THE NAMEok lets see this is like the freaking WORST GODZILLA MOVIE EVER IN EXISTENCE THEY DIDN'T GET A THING RIGHT HE DOES NOT BREATH A ATOMIC LASER HE IS NOT ALMOST IMPOSABLE TO KILL HE LOOKS NOTHING LIKE GODZILLA HE WAS TOOK OUT WITH ROCKETS! GODZILLA GETS HIT WITH ROCKETS EVERY DAY! HE EVEN WAS HIT WITH A BLACK HOLE GUN! AND TOHO CHANGED USA GODZILLA TO ZILLA CAUSE HE DIDN'T DESERVE THE NAME GODZILLA IM NEVER WATCHING THIS MOVIE EVER AGAIN YOU SHOULD NOT EVEN BE THINKING ABOUT WATCHING IT the japanese godzilla was amazing BUT THIS USA GODZILLA IS HORSE CRAP!!!!!! im done Expand
  9. May 21, 2014
    10
    Recently saw the 2014 Godzilla, and I gotta say, Zilla '98 is about 5 million times better. '98 starts out showing off the power of Zilla and lets you know just why we should fear her. The script does a superb job of explaining why things have turned out the way they have, and the explanations are realistically conceivable. The entire script was fun and action packed, with plenty ofRecently saw the 2014 Godzilla, and I gotta say, Zilla '98 is about 5 million times better. '98 starts out showing off the power of Zilla and lets you know just why we should fear her. The script does a superb job of explaining why things have turned out the way they have, and the explanations are realistically conceivable. The entire script was fun and action packed, with plenty of screen time for The Lizard. And just when you think the movie is over - BAM! More excitement! The acting was fantastic, and the actors fit the parts and played them expertly (with the exception of one bad crying scene). The nerds were nerdy and quirky, the bad A** camera guy was friggin cool, the wanna-be reporter was unconfident, the wife was caring/compassionate/protective, the military head guy was determined, and the politician was a sleaz-bag. For 1998, the graphics were spectacular, and the rebooted monster was sleek and beautiful. Warning to hard core old school fans, this ain’t your grandma’s Godzilla, this is a reboot with its own timeline, universe, and dimension. This is America’s Godzilla. She is not THE Godzilla, but it was the closest name they could find to describe her. And if this happened in reality – no matter what it looked like, I believe the world would call a giant dinosaur/lizard/any non-mammal “Godzilla”. Graphics – good for the time. Acting – Great for the script that was written. Script – did exactly what it was meant to do with action, adventure, comedy, and character development. Excellent movie. Watch this instead of Godzilla 2014. Fun times. Expand
  10. Aug 28, 2010
    3
    oh Godzilla what have they done to you. even TOHO company the japanese film complany that makes the godzilla films in japan was disgusted with what was done to godzilla by hollywood. that giant lizard on the big screen was not godzilla and calling it Godzilla felt like a insult . if this was not called godzilla i might be able to squeeze out a 5 or a 6 for this film . the special effectsoh Godzilla what have they done to you. even TOHO company the japanese film complany that makes the godzilla films in japan was disgusted with what was done to godzilla by hollywood. that giant lizard on the big screen was not godzilla and calling it Godzilla felt like a insult . if this was not called godzilla i might be able to squeeze out a 5 or a 6 for this film . the special effects where ver nice but thats about it. the film felt abit to cheesey even for the japanese godzilla films . atleast the japanese saved godzilla abit with Godzilla 2k. Expand
  11. Apr 3, 2011
    6
    I'm curious why this flick pan by critics. OK cheesy CGI and plot, but this flick still entertaining than Roland Emerich's **** blockbuster 2012
  12. Aug 28, 2011
    4
    Roland Emmerich's movies are some of the worst of all popular movies to be marketed and watches by the masses of uncritically minded morons who are easily entertained by visual effects and who are satisfied with mediocrity. If you were to cut the visual effects from this movie you would be left with shallow uninteresting characters, cliche dialogue, a formulaic story, gaping scientific andRoland Emmerich's movies are some of the worst of all popular movies to be marketed and watches by the masses of uncritically minded morons who are easily entertained by visual effects and who are satisfied with mediocrity. If you were to cut the visual effects from this movie you would be left with shallow uninteresting characters, cliche dialogue, a formulaic story, gaping scientific and historical inaccuracies, and illogical plot development. I actually love special effects but I guess these things bother me more than most as I believe that movies have more potential then the 'popcorn' films Emmerich makes every few years, and it would be easier for me not worry about so much if they werent so popular. Just because a movie is trying to be a 'popcorn flick' and not trying to be intelligent does NOT make it a good one. Expand
  13. Oct 22, 2011
    4
    It was an okay movie. Not my favorite but it was at least okay. Not one of Roland Emmerich's best movies but it wasn't terrible. Okay movie that's all I'm saying.
  14. Jul 31, 2011
    3
    Argh! This movie makes me so mad! I grew up loving Godzilla when I was little, you know, the old Japanese cheesy, yet awesome, adventures of fighting guys in rubber monster suits. the good ol' days. One of my favorite things in the series was how awesome Godzilla looked. A cross between a giant...ummm...and a big...umm...with the-uh-vague appearance of a giant dinosaur! I don't know, butArgh! This movie makes me so mad! I grew up loving Godzilla when I was little, you know, the old Japanese cheesy, yet awesome, adventures of fighting guys in rubber monster suits. the good ol' days. One of my favorite things in the series was how awesome Godzilla looked. A cross between a giant...ummm...and a big...umm...with the-uh-vague appearance of a giant dinosaur! I don't know, but the point is, he was awesome! Now, they finally make a movie in america with the greatest effects, good-named actors, all being filmed in New York City! Sounds pretty epic, until you actually see the movie. The first question I've ever had for this movie is why the heck is Godzilla a T-rex? Seriously? They are finally making a movie about possibly the greatest monster movie franchise of all time (next to King Kong, of coarse) with all the right tools and that's what they came up with? I know there are fans of this movie, and I don't hold a grudge against them in any way, that will debate that Godzilla is a giant iguana and not a T-rex. But really look at him. He looks like something out of Jurassic Park. I can see why some people like this movie, but frankly do not and that's all I've got to say about that. Expand
  15. Dec 20, 2012
    7
    Damn that time flies so fast...
    I remember the 1998 when I was just 8 years old and watched it alongside same-name cartoon anyway it was good film for that time...

    But today, its only nostalgia of thing which never comes back - childhood...
  16. Dec 22, 2011
    2
    It was ok. The acting was generic at best but the effects were good. It was interesting dont get me wrong but it was just executed poorly. I think if given another shot then they would have knocked it out of the park (or at least made a decent film).
  17. May 17, 2014
    8
    OK so don't get me wrong Godzilla is no Best Picture winner and it is not the Citizen Kane of monster movies but it is not as terrible as everyone says it is. Then again this is coming from a kid who has not seen any Gojira films and does have much knowledge of the subject. Yet while today this film would be criticized for bad special effects back in 1998 those effects were probably prettyOK so don't get me wrong Godzilla is no Best Picture winner and it is not the Citizen Kane of monster movies but it is not as terrible as everyone says it is. Then again this is coming from a kid who has not seen any Gojira films and does have much knowledge of the subject. Yet while today this film would be criticized for bad special effects back in 1998 those effects were probably pretty good. Also while the acting is not top of the line Matthew Broderick gives it good effort and makes his character pretty interesting. Unfortunately Godzilla is weighted down by the poor design of the creature (which looks like an over sized iguana and from what I heard couldn't even scratch the real Godzilla in Final Wars.) In conclusion, while Godzilla is not perfect it has some decent performances and some good special effects. A decent movie from start to finish. Expand
  18. Mar 8, 2014
    3
    The script is weak, the acting is bad in some places, and the only positive feature we're getting here are some cool CGI. "Godzilla" is another example of a bad Roland Emmerich film.
  19. Jun 28, 2014
    3
    The films plot is very thin,the acting is off,and the directing is just terrible.I espicially hate the redisign of Godzilla from the source material. It is so bad I like to pretend this movie never happened. But I will say that the effects animation is outstanding. But other than that the screenplay sucks.
  20. Nov 12, 2012
    2
    Usually, if there's a giant lizard monster walking around destroying s**t I'm in. However, everything else about this movie was so bad that I could not bear it. Truly a feat of inadequacy.
  21. Aug 2, 2014
    5
    Sighs* Okay I thought with the new (and way superior) American Godzilla movie out, I should say some stuff about this film. Firstly this is NOT a Godzilla movie. The creature in this film is not Godzilla, he is Zilla. Toho renamed him, that's a fact. He doesn't look like Godzilla, act like Godzilla, or have atomic breath, and the films rips a lot off of Jurassic Park....That being said,Sighs* Okay I thought with the new (and way superior) American Godzilla movie out, I should say some stuff about this film. Firstly this is NOT a Godzilla movie. The creature in this film is not Godzilla, he is Zilla. Toho renamed him, that's a fact. He doesn't look like Godzilla, act like Godzilla, or have atomic breath, and the films rips a lot off of Jurassic Park....That being said, the film is an okay monster movie and while not great is a fairly entertaining film if you can get over the fact it's meant to be a Godzilla movie. It was my very first giant monster movie and for a long time, THIS was Godzilla to me. Hell I even felt genuinely sad (and cried as a kid) when Zilla dies at the end. But I've seen the real thing (figuratively speaking) and can't turn back. Still I do have a bit of a nostalgic attachment to this film that wont let me fully hate it. Expand
  22. Apr 20, 2013
    10
    one of my favorite monster movies of all time i really don't care about all the negative reviews this is a fun, cool, and imaginative monster flick and I have watched a million times and will watch it a million more :D
  23. May 31, 2013
    8
    I freaking loved this movie when I was kid. It came out in the year I was born. I've seen this movie a million times as a kid. Sure, the effects were cheesy, but the monster was really cool. I felt really sorry for it at the end.
  24. Jul 5, 2014
    2
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I just want to say about this movie that the reasons why I really hate this 1998 one is because that here are lots of reasons I would complain about this bullcrap Godzilla film I ever seen. Ok because first about the design of godzilla it looks like a creature like dinosaur and the worst of all it's the first time it's a female monster of the franchise which I was pissed off about this. Second is that the new casts of this movie are stupid boring performances that ever play in it and which I don't know some of the casts in it. Third is that there are not a lot of sound, and visual effects in it which that yet again pissed me off about and last is that the director Roland emmerich came up with that stupid idea about the design about it. so that's the reasons why I hate this 1998 one I my life. Expand
  25. Oct 5, 2013
    1
    When, oh when, will a remake be worth the watch? Almost no remakes are worth it, and this one falls under that category. It's pure trash, and I has nothing to offer but mindless eye candy and inept acting. Truthfully, I think this movie would've been better if it had been dubbed in Japanese.
  26. Nov 6, 2013
    2
    This is the American remake of the Japanese 'Godzilla' film. To me this remake was just flat-out terrible. The only thing I liked that this movie introduced was the monster "Zilla", that being this American Godzilla. Toho decided to make them separate entities and incorporate him in 'Godzilla: Final Wars'. Outside of that you either like this film, or you don't. I didn't like it at all,This is the American remake of the Japanese 'Godzilla' film. To me this remake was just flat-out terrible. The only thing I liked that this movie introduced was the monster "Zilla", that being this American Godzilla. Toho decided to make them separate entities and incorporate him in 'Godzilla: Final Wars'. Outside of that you either like this film, or you don't. I didn't like it at all, but if you're a Godzilla fan just watch it and see what you think. Expand
  27. May 12, 2014
    0
    Godzilla as a goddamn Iguana. Why was this made? This Movie (If you want to even call it that), is so bad, it goes to dinner with superman 4. 0/10 DON'T SEE THIS MOVIE.
  28. Aug 29, 2014
    0
    With daft special effects, listless acting and a tedious script, "Godzilla (the bad one)" is ultimately horrible, ugly Jurassic Park rip-off that could be a complete nightmare for some people.
  29. Apr 16, 2014
    2
    This American 'Godzilla' was just flat-out terrible. The only thing I liked that this movie introduced was the monster "Zilla", and that Toho decided to make him a separate entity and incorporate him in 'Godzilla: Final Wars'. Outside of that you either like this film, or you don't. I didn't like it at all, but if you're a Godzilla fan just watch it and see what you think.
  30. May 11, 2014
    8
    I dont't care about the people's opinion, this was one of my favourite movies of my childhood. Seriously, a movie with a big dinosaur would be a miracle not to entertain me. I really enjoyed the animalistic side of Zilla. Overall, if this movie was named Zilla, i would give it a 10. And what's up with the cgi, it was 1998........ don't expect too much...
  31. Aug 30, 2014
    3
    Its a GREAT action movie of giant monsters vs the Humans.
    Music is great too even though its is hugely taken from Jurassic Park.
    I still find this film enjoyable. But HOWEVER the movie ROTS as a Godzilla film, It does not have the spirit of Godzilla, This monster does stuff that Godzilla doesn't, It would have been better received if it was retitled to ZILLA as many people prefer.
    Its a GREAT action movie of giant monsters vs the Humans.
    Music is great too even though its is hugely taken from Jurassic Park.
    I still find this film enjoyable.
    But HOWEVER the movie ROTS as a Godzilla film, It does not have the spirit of Godzilla, This monster does stuff that Godzilla doesn't, It would have been better received if it was retitled to ZILLA as many people prefer.
    Butom line if you want a movie with creativity don't watch it but if you only want to see action Youll find it enjoyable.
    Expand
  32. May 17, 2014
    6
    Godzilla (1998) is not a good movie, but in my opinion it is a guilty pleasure movie. I think it is entertaining, but I know its not good. The characters are like stick toys. The monster looks like an iguana and the baby godzilla's :, but it is still just fun to watch. Hate if you wish :'(
  33. May 24, 2014
    10
    This is a masterpiece, very realistic, gripping, terrifying movie about what could happen as a result of nuclear tests. Godzilla looks very lifelike and behaves like a really smart animal. This movie is a milestone of action films, it's on the level of Jurassic Park. And I don't like how the Japanese plagiarized the ideas of the brilliant Roland Emmerich and made a bunch of their crappy,This is a masterpiece, very realistic, gripping, terrifying movie about what could happen as a result of nuclear tests. Godzilla looks very lifelike and behaves like a really smart animal. This movie is a milestone of action films, it's on the level of Jurassic Park. And I don't like how the Japanese plagiarized the ideas of the brilliant Roland Emmerich and made a bunch of their crappy, trashy, low-budget remakes. This movie was a serious drama, and Japan turned it into a laughing stock of badly designed puppets. Expand
  34. Sep 21, 2014
    10
    GODZILLA 1998 is a good action flick Its Roland Emmerich he is good he has a unique way to show it was a box office hit and i also purchased DVD of this film. Forget about negative reviews first you have a look then decide until that dont hold any negative comments or reviews OK.
Metascore
32

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 23
  2. Negative: 12 out of 23
  1. 38
    A big, ugly, ungainly device to give teenagers the impression they are seeing a movie.
  2. 10
    Overlong, neither funny nor scary movie about a big lizard.
  3. Reviewed by: David Edelstein
    50
    Size really is about all that this tedious, underpopulated beanbag of an epic has going for it.