TriStar Pictures | Release Date: May 19, 1998
4.7
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 189 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
51
Mixed:
59
Negative:
79
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
0
KurtC.Jul 13, 2008
A stubid, lamebrain boring film. Godzilla looks more like a 100-foot reptilian rat for pete's sake. A disgrace to the original Japanese Godzilla.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
GeoffSDec 27, 2005
My main problem with this film can be summed up in two words: Matthew Broderick.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
ArkonBladeAug 28, 2010
oh Godzilla what have they done to you. even TOHO company the japanese film complany that makes the godzilla films in japan was disgusted with what was done to godzilla by hollywood. that giant lizard on the big screen was not godzilla andoh Godzilla what have they done to you. even TOHO company the japanese film complany that makes the godzilla films in japan was disgusted with what was done to godzilla by hollywood. that giant lizard on the big screen was not godzilla and calling it Godzilla felt like a insult . if this was not called godzilla i might be able to squeeze out a 5 or a 6 for this film . the special effects where ver nice but thats about it. the film felt abit to cheesey even for the japanese godzilla films . atleast the japanese saved godzilla abit with Godzilla 2k. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
CameronPowellXJul 26, 2011
Godzilla? More like Attack of the Radioactive Iguanas. This isn't a Godzilla film. This movie is disgrace to the name. If you want to watch this movie go ahead. But you know even though its a disgrace to TOHO and the name it isn't thatGodzilla? More like Attack of the Radioactive Iguanas. This isn't a Godzilla film. This movie is disgrace to the name. If you want to watch this movie go ahead. But you know even though its a disgrace to TOHO and the name it isn't that bad of a movie. Its a monster movie at least. It a simple monster movie. Monster attack city people fight its a nothing more than a simple monster movie that ruined the name of GODZILLA. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
3
LegotwinJul 31, 2011
Argh! This movie makes me so mad! I grew up loving Godzilla when I was little, you know, the old Japanese cheesy, yet awesome, adventures of fighting guys in rubber monster suits. the good ol' days. One of my favorite things in the series wasArgh! This movie makes me so mad! I grew up loving Godzilla when I was little, you know, the old Japanese cheesy, yet awesome, adventures of fighting guys in rubber monster suits. the good ol' days. One of my favorite things in the series was how awesome Godzilla looked. A cross between a giant...ummm...and a big...umm...with the-uh-vague appearance of a giant dinosaur! I don't know, but the point is, he was awesome! Now, they finally make a movie in america with the greatest effects, good-named actors, all being filmed in New York City! Sounds pretty epic, until you actually see the movie. The first question I've ever had for this movie is why the heck is Godzilla a T-rex? Seriously? They are finally making a movie about possibly the greatest monster movie franchise of all time (next to King Kong, of coarse) with all the right tools and that's what they came up with? I know there are fans of this movie, and I don't hold a grudge against them in any way, that will debate that Godzilla is a giant iguana and not a T-rex. But really look at him. He looks like something out of Jurassic Park. I can see why some people like this movie, but frankly do not and that's all I've got to say about that. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
grandpajoe6191Oct 6, 2011
"Godzilla", the remake of the (gasp!) Godzilla movie in Japan, is pure trash. This time not even Roland's broad visuals can't save this clunky film. If you think you were going to watch this, forget it. It's just unbelievably terrible.
2 of 6 users found this helpful24
All this user's reviews
2
spadenxDec 22, 2011
It was ok. The acting was generic at best but the effects were good. It was interesting dont get me wrong but it was just executed poorly. I think if given another shot then they would have knocked it out of the park (or at least made a decent film).
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
OfficialMar 8, 2014
The script is weak, the acting is bad in some places, and the only positive feature we're getting here are some cool CGI. "Godzilla" is another example of a bad Roland Emmerich film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
dante_finnJun 28, 2014
The films plot is very thin,the acting is off,and the directing is just terrible.I espicially hate the redisign of Godzilla from the source material. It is so bad I like to pretend this movie never happened. But I will say that the effectsThe films plot is very thin,the acting is off,and the directing is just terrible.I espicially hate the redisign of Godzilla from the source material. It is so bad I like to pretend this movie never happened. But I will say that the effects animation is outstanding. But other than that the screenplay sucks. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
YoursTrulyNov 12, 2012
Usually, if there's a giant lizard monster walking around destroying s**t I'm in. However, everything else about this movie was so bad that I could not bear it. Truly a feat of inadequacy.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
mds03Apr 14, 2013
I was greatly disappointed since I was a huge fan of the many Japanese Godzilla aka Gojira films. This Godzilla just didn't feel right to me. In fact, just about everthing is wrong with it. It has a bad script, bad acting, mediocre specialI was greatly disappointed since I was a huge fan of the many Japanese Godzilla aka Gojira films. This Godzilla just didn't feel right to me. In fact, just about everthing is wrong with it. It has a bad script, bad acting, mediocre special effects, and it's unbelievably cheesy. The biggest problem is that it doesn't even feel like a Godzilla film it just feels like a ripoff of Jurassic Park and King Kong. Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
2
mariotoadrabbitJul 5, 2014
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I just want to say about this movie that the reasons why I really hate this 1998 one is because that here are lots of reasons I would complain about this bullcrap Godzilla film I ever seen. Ok because first about the design of godzilla it looks like a creature like dinosaur and the worst of all it's the first time it's a female monster of the franchise which I was pissed off about this. Second is that the new casts of this movie are stupid boring performances that ever play in it and which I don't know some of the casts in it. Third is that there are not a lot of sound, and visual effects in it which that yet again pissed me off about and last is that the director Roland emmerich came up with that stupid idea about the design about it. so that's the reasons why I hate this 1998 one I my life. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
MovieGuysOct 5, 2013
When, oh when, will a remake be worth the watch? Almost no remakes are worth it, and this one falls under that category. It's pure trash, and I has nothing to offer but mindless eye candy and inept acting. Truthfully, I think this movieWhen, oh when, will a remake be worth the watch? Almost no remakes are worth it, and this one falls under that category. It's pure trash, and I has nothing to offer but mindless eye candy and inept acting. Truthfully, I think this movie would've been better if it had been dubbed in Japanese. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
MrJurgensNov 6, 2013
This is the American remake of the Japanese 'Godzilla' film. To me this remake was just flat-out terrible. The only thing I liked that this movie introduced was the monster "Zilla", that being this American Godzilla. Toho decided to make themThis is the American remake of the Japanese 'Godzilla' film. To me this remake was just flat-out terrible. The only thing I liked that this movie introduced was the monster "Zilla", that being this American Godzilla. Toho decided to make them separate entities and incorporate him in 'Godzilla: Final Wars'. Outside of that you either like this film, or you don't. I didn't like it at all, but if you're a Godzilla fan just watch it and see what you think. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
Vegeta586May 12, 2014
Godzilla as a goddamn Iguana. Why was this made? This Movie (If you want to even call it that), is so bad, it goes to dinner with superman 4. 0/10 DON'T SEE THIS MOVIE.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
InspectorJavertMay 10, 2014
As Mathew Broderick's character would surely agree, something is rather fishy here. Godzilla is a perfect example of a cash grab. Godzilla is filled with horrible writing, illogical characters, and god awful special effects. And you cantAs Mathew Broderick's character would surely agree, something is rather fishy here. Godzilla is a perfect example of a cash grab. Godzilla is filled with horrible writing, illogical characters, and god awful special effects. And you cant claim that its just 90's cgi, look at Jurassic Park, that was far superior to this garbage. Unfortunately this movie doesn't qualify for the right of being called "so bad its good." Its just nothing but boring all the way through. If you want to have a laugh at a bad movie, don't waste your time and instead watch Troll 2. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
0
diogomendesAug 29, 2014
With daft special effects, listless acting and a tedious script, "Godzilla (the bad one)" is ultimately horrible, ugly Jurassic Park rip-off that could be a complete nightmare for some people.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
SirMartyApr 16, 2014
This American 'Godzilla' was just flat-out terrible. The only thing I liked that this movie introduced was the monster "Zilla", and that Toho decided to make him a separate entity and incorporate him in 'Godzilla: Final Wars'. Outside of thatThis American 'Godzilla' was just flat-out terrible. The only thing I liked that this movie introduced was the monster "Zilla", and that Toho decided to make him a separate entity and incorporate him in 'Godzilla: Final Wars'. Outside of that you either like this film, or you don't. I didn't like it at all, but if you're a Godzilla fan just watch it and see what you think. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
KameronAug 30, 2014
Its a GREAT action movie of giant monsters vs the Humans.
Music is great too even though its is hugely taken from Jurassic Park.
I still find this film enjoyable. But HOWEVER the movie ROTS as a Godzilla film, It does not have the spirit
Its a GREAT action movie of giant monsters vs the Humans.
Music is great too even though its is hugely taken from Jurassic Park.
I still find this film enjoyable.
But HOWEVER the movie ROTS as a Godzilla film, It does not have the spirit of Godzilla, This monster does stuff that Godzilla doesn't, It would have been better received if it was retitled to ZILLA as many people prefer.
Butom line if you want a movie with creativity don't watch it but if you only want to see action Youll find it enjoyable.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
aheadsonic22May 17, 2014
ok lets see this is like the freaking WORST GODZILLA MOVIE EVER IN EXISTENCE THEY DIDN'T GET A THING RIGHT HE DOES NOT BREATH A ATOMIC LASER HE IS NOT ALMOST IMPOSABLE TO KILL HE LOOKS NOTHING LIKE GODZILLA HE WAS TOOK OUT WITH ROCKETS!ok lets see this is like the freaking WORST GODZILLA MOVIE EVER IN EXISTENCE THEY DIDN'T GET A THING RIGHT HE DOES NOT BREATH A ATOMIC LASER HE IS NOT ALMOST IMPOSABLE TO KILL HE LOOKS NOTHING LIKE GODZILLA HE WAS TOOK OUT WITH ROCKETS! GODZILLA GETS HIT WITH ROCKETS EVERY DAY! HE EVEN WAS HIT WITH A BLACK HOLE GUN! AND TOHO CHANGED USA GODZILLA TO ZILLA CAUSE HE DIDN'T DESERVE THE NAME GODZILLA IM NEVER WATCHING THIS MOVIE EVER AGAIN YOU SHOULD NOT EVEN BE THINKING ABOUT WATCHING IT the japanese godzilla was amazing BUT THIS USA GODZILLA IS HORSE CRAP!!!!!! im done Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
0
jacobshoffDec 21, 2014
i absolutely hated this Godzilla. It's not even Godzilla. It's this huge, sad-looking iguana. I give congratulations for an american studio trying to take a Japanese property and give it to us Americans. But it just did not work whatsoever. Ii absolutely hated this Godzilla. It's not even Godzilla. It's this huge, sad-looking iguana. I give congratulations for an american studio trying to take a Japanese property and give it to us Americans. But it just did not work whatsoever. I just did not like this movie. Hated it!!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
russiangamerMar 10, 2017
Тупой блокбастер с кучей ляпов, плохо играющими актёрами, весьма средними даже для того времен спец-эффектами, плохим сценарием.
Итог: Не смотрите эту ленту, лучше оригинал 50-х годов или фильм 2015 года.
Тупой блокбастер с кучей ляпов, плохо играющими актёрами, весьма средними даже для того времен спец-эффектами, плохим сценарием.
Итог: Не смотрите эту ленту, лучше оригинал 50-х годов или фильм 2015 года.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
TheDude-Jun 1, 2015
this film has nothing redeeming the acting is bad the characters are poorly written and quite unlikable the design of Godzilla is awful he looks like a freaking dinosaur not to mention the countless scenes that try to rip off Jurassic parkthis film has nothing redeeming the acting is bad the characters are poorly written and quite unlikable the design of Godzilla is awful he looks like a freaking dinosaur not to mention the countless scenes that try to rip off Jurassic park BTW the attempt at comedy in this movie is cringe worthy Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
3
CineAutoctonoDec 25, 2015
Godzilla, the best-looking Roland Emmerich worsened , and much about the script , visual effects and CGI for my lamejor Godzilla film is that of 2014, Gareth Edwards , because the Emmerich lost all the necessary pace , Godzilla also appearsGodzilla, the best-looking Roland Emmerich worsened , and much about the script , visual effects and CGI for my lamejor Godzilla film is that of 2014, Gareth Edwards , because the Emmerich lost all the necessary pace , Godzilla also appears that a Tyrannosaurus Rex. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
YT_TheHaloFreakJul 29, 2015
I don't understand how my mother can like this movie. The new Godzilla in this movie would be an awesome creature... if it wasn't called Godzilla. The dialogue: clunky. The action: mindless. The monster: cool, but disappointing. How the hellI don't understand how my mother can like this movie. The new Godzilla in this movie would be an awesome creature... if it wasn't called Godzilla. The dialogue: clunky. The action: mindless. The monster: cool, but disappointing. How the hell a twenty-plus story dinosaur can hide in Manhattan is beyond me. The movie is really something to behold, but for all the wrong reasons. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
EpicLadySpongeJan 12, 2016
Size does matter? Oh boy, time to go flame on this movie for making a tagline so dumb it gets stuck on my head after seeing it a bunch of times in this movie's poster.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews