Warner Bros. Pictures | Release Date: September 3, 2010
6.5
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 78 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
42
Mixed:
25
Negative:
11
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
0
elaineabSep 5, 2010
Saw the movie based on a couple of positive reviews, but found it disappointing. Drew Barrymore was cute and believable, and there were some good lines, but the plot was thin and needed more pizzazz. Although I don't mind the occasional rawSaw the movie based on a couple of positive reviews, but found it disappointing. Drew Barrymore was cute and believable, and there were some good lines, but the plot was thin and needed more pizzazz. Although I don't mind the occasional raw language, the overuse of the f-word became tedious. I found myself agreeing with the "Village Voice" reviewer who wrote, "While the explicitness is more verbal than visual, it more than earns its R rating by having characters rattle on and on about subjects like masturbation, auto-fellatio and dry humping, for no reason at all. Far from seeming candid or provocative, all this dirty talk feels leering and self-conscious. . ." I wish someone would make a decent rom-com, but maybe that's not possible any more. For now, I may stick to reading. I agree with perry1607 that anyone writing a "review" should do more than watch the trailer. Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
0
breakyoudownSep 5, 2010
I'm sorry I just watched the trailer it looks completely generic and awful. This movie emphasizes your struggles during tough times and amplifies them.
0 of 5 users found this helpful05
All this user's reviews
0
DavidPSep 9, 2010
Why all the sex talk? I'n not a prude (really!) but this one made me squirm! It was pointless, unnecessary and gratuitous! I must be getting old. Perhaps romantic comedy is the wrong label and sex comedy would work better even if it wasn'tWhy all the sex talk? I'n not a prude (really!) but this one made me squirm! It was pointless, unnecessary and gratuitous! I must be getting old. Perhaps romantic comedy is the wrong label and sex comedy would work better even if it wasn't very funny (though it had it's moments). I went based on on rave review. I should have waited to see the meta score here and saved my money. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
0
LJLSep 10, 2010
I have always loved Drew Barrymore and thought she had a lot of class. I hope that this is the result of her owing someone something because if this is her new idea of a good script, well, she has sunk very, very low. The general principalI have always loved Drew Barrymore and thought she had a lot of class. I hope that this is the result of her owing someone something because if this is her new idea of a good script, well, she has sunk very, very low. The general principal of the story was great and, for the most part, if the whole movie had been on "mute" it probably would have played out ok. If you took out the "f" word and the bathroom humor, it would have been about sixty minutes shorter. There were three of us who went to see it together and we were all extremely disappointed. To think that we chose this movie over others available (based on the previews and her talk show appearances), what a waste of time and hard-earned money. If you had a "minus star" category, I would put this movie in it. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
0
ghartwigSep 15, 2010
One of the most vile, disgusting movies that I've seen (and I've seen Super Bad). It contains crude imagery that will take some time to beat out of my head. And boring, to boot. I like all the cast but this was just horrible. I shouldOne of the most vile, disgusting movies that I've seen (and I've seen Super Bad). It contains crude imagery that will take some time to beat out of my head. And boring, to boot. I like all the cast but this was just horrible. I should have walked out. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
0
chotzyJan 17, 2011
i litterally turned this off after 70 minutes because i just didnt care about the story there was 1 funny bit of comedy in the entire moive and thats it. its a joke of a film and a waste of time
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
2
Critic_PleaseFeb 12, 2011
Going the Distance falls halfway between an uncommitted romance and a limp slapstick comedy. Drew is sultry and beauty as always, but like regurgitated food - this character was better the first few times. A long distance relationship is aGoing the Distance falls halfway between an uncommitted romance and a limp slapstick comedy. Drew is sultry and beauty as always, but like regurgitated food - this character was better the first few times. A long distance relationship is a full heart that is lonely. And somehow, that was missed. The couple falls in love while Drew is working the tail end of a summer internship in NYC. Jason Long just 'clicks' with Drew and they spend the next six lustful weeks together. Both agree that long-distance is not possible. As Drew is boarding to leave, Jason professes to her that perhaps, just maybe, long distance could work for them. After all, they have something deeper, something special, something...that can go the distance? The script, unfortunately does not develop much beyond this. The director, Nanette Burstein, seems to have taken the stance that "romance is awkward", and not the cute awkward, but the the mouth-breather panting down my neck kind of awkward. Romance needs connection. And not the cold, clammy awkwardness of a one-sided phone sex conversation. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews