Warner Bros. Pictures | Release Date: September 3, 2010
6.5
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 78 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
42
Mixed:
25
Negative:
11
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
4
MarcDoyleSep 10, 2010
Call me sexist, but as I was watching this movie, the apparent age difference between Justin Long and Drew B. bothered me. I mean, he looks much younger than he is, and Drew is just more "together", "mature" - but not at all in a bad way.Call me sexist, but as I was watching this movie, the apparent age difference between Justin Long and Drew B. bothered me. I mean, he looks much younger than he is, and Drew is just more "together", "mature" - but not at all in a bad way. She just seemed like his babysitter whenever they were hanging out. Perhaps if he acted like he did in "He's Just Not That Into You," they wouldn't have seemed so awkward together. And how is it that I knew her favorite movie would be (spoiler omitted). Is that everyone's favorite movie?? I mean, I loved it, but it's becoming a cliche. Now, I'll say that Christina Applegate and Charlie Day are both excellent in this movie. They salvaged what did get a little boring and stressful. If you've ever been in a long-distance relationship, the film does represent the feelings and the stress pretty accurately, but I don't necessarily want to relive them for FUN! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
perry1607Sep 5, 2010
I saw this movie this afternoon (instead of judging it by the trailer) It was very funny, edgier than I thought it would be. The writing was good, acting was good (supporting cast was great, especially Christina Applegate).
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
0
elaineabSep 5, 2010
Saw the movie based on a couple of positive reviews, but found it disappointing. Drew Barrymore was cute and believable, and there were some good lines, but the plot was thin and needed more pizzazz. Although I don't mind the occasional rawSaw the movie based on a couple of positive reviews, but found it disappointing. Drew Barrymore was cute and believable, and there were some good lines, but the plot was thin and needed more pizzazz. Although I don't mind the occasional raw language, the overuse of the f-word became tedious. I found myself agreeing with the "Village Voice" reviewer who wrote, "While the explicitness is more verbal than visual, it more than earns its R rating by having characters rattle on and on about subjects like masturbation, auto-fellatio and dry humping, for no reason at all. Far from seeming candid or provocative, all this dirty talk feels leering and self-conscious. . ." I wish someone would make a decent rom-com, but maybe that's not possible any more. For now, I may stick to reading. I agree with perry1607 that anyone writing a "review" should do more than watch the trailer. Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
7
carlamudpieSep 7, 2010
Meant to give it a 7, not a 10...sorry about that people...how can I edit my review after I am done? Is this one of those sites where I can't? Is this 150 words yet, am I getting close?
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
0
breakyoudownSep 5, 2010
I'm sorry I just watched the trailer it looks completely generic and awful. This movie emphasizes your struggles during tough times and amplifies them.
0 of 5 users found this helpful05
All this user's reviews
0
DavidPSep 9, 2010
Why all the sex talk? I'n not a prude (really!) but this one made me squirm! It was pointless, unnecessary and gratuitous! I must be getting old. Perhaps romantic comedy is the wrong label and sex comedy would work better even if it wasn'tWhy all the sex talk? I'n not a prude (really!) but this one made me squirm! It was pointless, unnecessary and gratuitous! I must be getting old. Perhaps romantic comedy is the wrong label and sex comedy would work better even if it wasn't very funny (though it had it's moments). I went based on on rave review. I should have waited to see the meta score here and saved my money. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
0
LJLSep 10, 2010
I have always loved Drew Barrymore and thought she had a lot of class. I hope that this is the result of her owing someone something because if this is her new idea of a good script, well, she has sunk very, very low. The general principalI have always loved Drew Barrymore and thought she had a lot of class. I hope that this is the result of her owing someone something because if this is her new idea of a good script, well, she has sunk very, very low. The general principal of the story was great and, for the most part, if the whole movie had been on "mute" it probably would have played out ok. If you took out the "f" word and the bathroom humor, it would have been about sixty minutes shorter. There were three of us who went to see it together and we were all extremely disappointed. To think that we chose this movie over others available (based on the previews and her talk show appearances), what a waste of time and hard-earned money. If you had a "minus star" category, I would put this movie in it. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
0
ghartwigSep 15, 2010
One of the most vile, disgusting movies that I've seen (and I've seen Super Bad). It contains crude imagery that will take some time to beat out of my head. And boring, to boot. I like all the cast but this was just horrible. I shouldOne of the most vile, disgusting movies that I've seen (and I've seen Super Bad). It contains crude imagery that will take some time to beat out of my head. And boring, to boot. I like all the cast but this was just horrible. I should have walked out. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
0
chotzyJan 17, 2011
i litterally turned this off after 70 minutes because i just didnt care about the story there was 1 funny bit of comedy in the entire moive and thats it. its a joke of a film and a waste of time
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
2
Critic_PleaseFeb 12, 2011
Going the Distance falls halfway between an uncommitted romance and a limp slapstick comedy. Drew is sultry and beauty as always, but like regurgitated food - this character was better the first few times. A long distance relationship is aGoing the Distance falls halfway between an uncommitted romance and a limp slapstick comedy. Drew is sultry and beauty as always, but like regurgitated food - this character was better the first few times. A long distance relationship is a full heart that is lonely. And somehow, that was missed. The couple falls in love while Drew is working the tail end of a summer internship in NYC. Jason Long just 'clicks' with Drew and they spend the next six lustful weeks together. Both agree that long-distance is not possible. As Drew is boarding to leave, Jason professes to her that perhaps, just maybe, long distance could work for them. After all, they have something deeper, something special, something...that can go the distance? The script, unfortunately does not develop much beyond this. The director, Nanette Burstein, seems to have taken the stance that "romance is awkward", and not the cute awkward, but the the mouth-breather panting down my neck kind of awkward. Romance needs connection. And not the cold, clammy awkwardness of a one-sided phone sex conversation. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
4
ShiiraSep 6, 2010
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Sexually frank talk behooves Kevin Smith films; talk that was sorely missed in last year's "Cop-Out", but is alive and well in the surprisingly foul-mouthed(and Smith-like) "Going the Distance", a film which could have been written by the zaftig poet of crass himself, who delivered "snowballing" and "ass-to-mouth" into the sex lexicon of polite mixed company. In "Chasing Amy", a sexual orientation mind**** of a comedy, "Finger Cuffs", the nickname that Allysa Jones(Joey Lauren Adams) was anointed with in high school, describes a sexual position involving two other participants in the chamber; by comparison, Corrine's fetish is somewhat tame, but nevertheless, "Going the Distance" corners the market on "dry-humping". Erin(Drew Barrymoore), a thirty-something newspaper intern/grad student never gets around to taking her sister's recommendation, preferring instead the real thing with her bi-coastal boyfriend Garrett(Justin Long), an A&R man for a record company, on the dining room table; and phone sex, a ribald imagining that never coalesces in their like minds because they're both control freaks. While mutual masturbation can't begin to compete with fist-f******, "Going the Distance" has more things in common with the brilliant 1997 contemporary classic(starring Ben Affleck as Holden McNeil) than a dirty mind; it stokes the male ego, initially anyway, through the reactionary actions of the female lead. (Also, Dan, Garrett's roommate, played by Charlie Day, bears a passing resemblance to Banky(Jason Lee), in regard to the unresolved feelings he has for Garrett that the "Bluntman & Chronic" co-creator owns, likewise, toward his buddy Holden.) Even though Erin makes it perfectly clear that she regrets having chosen love over a career, the late-blooming journalist is willing to reject a job offer(the Metro desk at the San Francisco Chronicle) for Garrett, just because he asked her to. The same male worship that distinguishes "Chasing Amy", in which Holden's ego is flattered when Allysa falls for him, despite being a card-carrying lesbian. Because of the times, with print journalism jobs(newspaper and magazine) in such short supply, Erin's sudden loss of ambition is galling, and perhaps, offensive to people who harbor dreams about owning a byline. She should recognize her schoolgirl-aged mistake before Garrett does, but "Going the Distance" is the sort of retrogressive film where the man sets the woman straight, like Michael Curtiz's "Casablanca", in which Humphrey Bogart orders Ingrid Bergman onto that plane, because she's a "kid"(as in "Here's looking at you, kid."). Surprisingly enough, a woman was behind the helm of the patriarchal "Going the Distance"; she's like the Kathryn Bigelow of romantic comedies. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
echonnSep 12, 2010
Maybe not that good for normal audiences but you will definitely familiarized if you had a distance relationship. Drew B got the sames "gags attitudes" from previous movies when she tries to be "sexy in a cute way" which can be sort ofMaybe not that good for normal audiences but you will definitely familiarized if you had a distance relationship. Drew B got the sames "gags attitudes" from previous movies when she tries to be "sexy in a cute way" which can be sort of annoying sometimes. Justin always does a convincing job though. So, if you are or was in a distant relationship this movie is for you, you will find lots in common. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
bamf226Sep 6, 2010
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Romantic comedies have gotten stale. Typically, the male and female leads hate each other and then end up together. How many times do we have to watch that? Thankfully, Going the Distance isn't anything like the stereotypical romantic comedy. Garrett (Justin Long) falls in love with Erin (Drew Barrymore) while she is interning at a newspaper in New York. Knowing that she will be going back to California after her internship, the two of them decide not to get too serious. However, it ends up more serious than either expected and the two of them struggle to keep a long distance relationship going.

The flow of the movie follows along with the sentiment of the movie. In the beginning while the relationship is new and fun, the tone of the movie is very light-hearted and laugh out loud hilarious. Seriously, Going the Distance is one of the funniest movies this year and had me laughing heartily over the first hour. As the relationship takes on a more serious note while Garrett and Erin try to figure out how to handle this long distance relationship, so does the whole mood of the movie; the jokes basically disappear, much to my chagrin.

My biggest disappointment is the ending. Let me put a *SPOILER ALERT* here for those that might be completely oblivious to how romantic comedies work. Yes, Garrett and Erin get together in the end, but the ending isn't satisfying. Although the two of them end up together, there is an uneasy vibe between the two characters. After being apart for so long, the movie doesn't give the characters a chance to reconnect before the credits roll, as if the script was yanked out from the writer before he (or she) penned the epilogue.

Going the Distance is one of my favorite romantic comedies ever. It strays from the norm and it is hilarious, at least for the majority of the movie. People who have gone through long distance relationships are likely to connect with the characters while watching the joy expressed when seeing that loved one after months apart as well as feel the heartache as the characters deal with the distance. This is a great date movie that will entertain male and female alike, totally worth the price of admission.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
subletheartSep 7, 2010
Wait for it to be on cable. Not even worth renting on Red Box.

As a fan of bad romantic comedies, this movie was a surprising disappointment since my expectations were so low. There are some great laughs but the distance between them is
Wait for it to be on cable. Not even worth renting on Red Box.

As a fan of bad romantic comedies, this movie was a surprising disappointment since my expectations were so low. There are some great laughs but the distance between them is enough to make a run to the concession stand and still have time for the bathroom.

However, the real problem is that there is no heart to this movie. Neither is there any conflict or even chemistry. The run time of 97 minutes may reveal the source of the problem - all of the drama was left on the cutting room floor in an attempt to make a slow plodder into a lighthearted romp.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
CanucksgirlSep 12, 2010
Just came from seeing this movie in a true stadium seating theatre...Thank you Ciniplex! This movie was great, I did not find it to be your typical romance (Like Pretty Woman or the Lake House) but it will definitely have itself a cultJust came from seeing this movie in a true stadium seating theatre...Thank you Ciniplex! This movie was great, I did not find it to be your typical romance (Like Pretty Woman or the Lake House) but it will definitely have itself a cult following. Drew Barrymore's character was raw and straight forward (Don't we wish that as women we could be forward like that). Justin Long's character played what I hear is typical of NY men, a very superficial man in the beginning of the movie. This movie is about the success of going to University, meeting a man/woman and finding your dream job. That's it...tons of satirical sexual innuendos...The movie is rated 14A for it's content...Good see, and I would see it again! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
mrcriticSep 24, 2010
Definately a romantic comedy worth seeing. "Maya, Statue!" will definately be remembered in history after this wonderful movie. It's worth your money.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Forrestgump1Dec 5, 2010
â
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
nutterjrJan 13, 2011
Mostly fueled by the flat performance of Drew Barrymore but also supported by the largely disjointed script, this romcom leaves you with the same side-effects as a jet-lag.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
TonyOct 12, 2010
Winning performances from Barrymore and Long and featuring a great film debut for Charlie Day ("It's Always Sunny in Philadelphia"), but the tone of the film is really uneven. Aiming for a mix of Apatowian vulgarity and sentimentality, butWinning performances from Barrymore and Long and featuring a great film debut for Charlie Day ("It's Always Sunny in Philadelphia"), but the tone of the film is really uneven. Aiming for a mix of Apatowian vulgarity and sentimentality, but not quite finding the right balance. An admirable attempt though saved by the actors. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
OscarPicks2010Dec 23, 2010
Hollywood has successfully produced many crappy romantic comedies and made most people bored of rom-coms. I personally hates romantic comedies and doesn't care much for watching them. But given this is R-rated and Justin Long is the lead, IHollywood has successfully produced many crappy romantic comedies and made most people bored of rom-coms. I personally hates romantic comedies and doesn't care much for watching them. But given this is R-rated and Justin Long is the lead, I figured I'd give it a chance. Plus, it is my job to watch and review all the films. Going the Distance does a have plot that Hollywood overused, but the likable lead and the supporting cast is irresistably funny that you have to forgive/forget the cliche plot. Drew Barrymore and Justin Long undeniably have great chemistry with one another and they should definitely do more work together. Accompanied by scene-stealer Christina Applegate, Going the Distance's cast couldn't have been better. Sometimes the pacing is off but it was made up by the fast-moving parts of the film. Whenever the director felt that there was a weak spot, he put in some ridiculous jokes or make the cast do something funny to make up for it. At times I felt like the movie is going off somewhere else and not focusing much on the plot. It was helped by the pacing and unoriginal materials, but Going the Distance managed to do certain things that most rom-coms never do, thoroughly entertain its audience. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
thecurberFeb 2, 2011
A surprisingly raunchy romantic comedy that has an agreeably equal balance of tender and heartfelt moments and plenty of raunchy and occasionally funny scenes too top it off
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
aryanruleMar 17, 2011
Definitely not expected this type of movie, Hilarious as a movie can be, great performance by justin long. excellent romantic comedy with strong language and no moral preaching...
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
filmtrashreviewJun 23, 2011
I am a complete sucker for these cheesy romantic comedies. Did I say cheesy that must of slipped the tong because I am shockingly surprised that this one is not. Overall great supporting cast performances from Jason Sudeikis and Charlie DayI am a complete sucker for these cheesy romantic comedies. Did I say cheesy that must of slipped the tong because I am shockingly surprised that this one is not. Overall great supporting cast performances from Jason Sudeikis and Charlie Day allow the story to go the distance of a feature length film without boring the audience at all. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
JAM123Dec 31, 2011
It was a good movie, but could be better. the cast was great with Justin long, Drew Barrymore, Jason Sudekis, and Charlie Day. Charlie day (as usual) was hilarious and so was Jason Sudekis. Charlie Day should really get more movie deals, butIt was a good movie, but could be better. the cast was great with Justin long, Drew Barrymore, Jason Sudekis, and Charlie Day. Charlie day (as usual) was hilarious and so was Jason Sudekis. Charlie Day should really get more movie deals, but that's a different topic. This movie also had a good storyline about two people trying to kep their relationship going after they separate from each other and begin going long distance. But, it mostly focused on the bad things and the negatives instead of focusing on the positives of the whole situation. It made me mad and I ended up not enjoying it as much. But, it was a warmhearted comedy and an okay movie. Collapse
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
Luke_McLaughlinAug 2, 2013
Going the Distance focuses on a tough subject (Long Distance Relationships), but does it in a way that is both charming and funny. It does however lack a proper balance of romance to comedy for the entirety of the film. A goodGoing the Distance focuses on a tough subject (Long Distance Relationships), but does it in a way that is both charming and funny. It does however lack a proper balance of romance to comedy for the entirety of the film. A good romantic-comedy needs the proper balance of crude humor and actually touching moments. Going the Distance is full to the brim with inappropriate visuals and language, and because of this fact the touching moments are lost amongst the muck. Long delivers his usual awkward performance, and Barrymore does nothing out of the ordinary. Applegate and Day are highlights, but nothing on the acting front is truly something to ride home about. This is not an award winner, but it is a decent enough film to be watched a second time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews