User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 97 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 92 out of 97
  2. Negative: 1 out of 97

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 11, 2010
    9
    This is one of my favorite Bond films. It does everything right: The storyline is fast-paced, the action is well shot and smart, the villain(s) is interesting, and there were of course some hot babes. Brosnan is really good in this one as he acts arrogant but not overtly cold like Daniel Craig. There's a perfect blend of action/serious moments and some more comical moments.
  2. Nov 21, 2012
    9
    Goldeneye is one of the best, if not THE best 007 movie in existence. Brosnin makes a strong entry into the franchise (one that he never came close to topping) and the cast is padded out with ultra-memorable villains (Alec Trevelyan & Xenia Onatopp). Who could ever forget James Bond romping around the streets of St. Petersberg in a hulking tank?! Of course, sometimes it's hard to divorce the delights of Goldeneye the movie and the Goldeneye N64 game but they actually support one another in tandem. A memory of either would be incomplete without the other. Excellent stuff all around. Expand
  3. Oct 9, 2011
    9
    I'm going to try not to sound like a fan boy despite the fact I am a huge Bond fan and Goldeneye is my favourite of the Bonds. So without further ado, here it is.
    Goldeneye isn't flawless but it comes pretty close with it being a great restart of a franchise that had been unfortunately damaged by some truly terrible movies (The Living Daylights and License to Kill). The film chooses to
    introduce Bond to the modern world complete with post Cold War ideals and some great action sequences. If anything the main draw of Goldeneye is that following a rather dull revenge story (License to Kill) it manages to bring the fun back to the series with a new Bond (Pierce Brosnan) who clearly understands the character more than Moore, Lazenby and Dalton ever did. Goldeneye while reverting Bond back to his fun loving self also allows Brosnan room to breath with him showing a vulnerable if not scarred character that was conveyed in the books despite the fact Goldeneye is the first film not adapted from a Ian Fleming story although the title does allude to Fleming.
    The main flaw with Goldeneye is that it shoehorns the characters of Jack Wade and Valentin Zukovsky in for some light comic relief that really does fall flat which is a shame as Robbie Coltrane is a great actor.
    However despite this Goldeneye has some entertaining characters such as Alec 'Janus' Travelyan (Sean Bean) and Boris Grishenko (Alan Cummings) who are not only fun but well acted. If anything this film feels fantastically tense with the finale being especially good thanks to some skillful direction by Martin Campbell and a ball point pen.
    Expand
  4. Oct 14, 2012
    10
    Best Bond movie ever! In the cloud of the best movies ever. The only Pierce Brosnan movie that came in, killed, and went home, thus causing a thunderstorm that lasted for a decade from this one event. You just don't overtop this movie. It is a monument to the endurance of the essence of Bond, and Ian Flemming's ghost that keeps its heart pumping. James Bond will Return.
  5. Jul 16, 2013
    10
    This is the BEST James Bond film ever made as it is full of style, amazing action pieces that really dazzle and entertain, Pierce Brosnan is an excellent Bond (wit, humor, action, style, brutality), Xenia Onatopp is the greatest creation of a villain and Bond girl (because her weapon is Bond' worst nightmare), the villain is truly threatening and played very well by Sean Bean, the title song is awesome and classic Bond, the script for this film is VERY well written and witty, etc. Everything about this film screams classic Bond and it is by far the greatest spy film ever made and has yet to be topped. Amazing film. Expand
  6. Aug 28, 2010
    10
    GoldenEye is one my favorite Bond films ever! Pierce Brosnan is the best James Bond character ever. The action scenes are too great. Two of my favorite Bond girls is Natalya Simonova (played by Isabella Scorpuco) and Xenia Onatopp (played by Famke Janssen). My coolest villians that I really love is Alec Trevelyan 006,Boris Grishenko,and General Ouromov. The music was so great that it make me chills to listen to it. Martin Campbell directed this movie,but I put my first spot is Casino Royale. Even I love to play the original GoldenEye for the N64 and also I saw this movie since I was 10,after I played the game. But I love them both. Expand
  7. Apr 20, 2012
    9
    While not a classic or the most authentic bond film, I enjoyed it immensely. This is the bond film of my childhood and along with the Golden Eye game on the n64, is very memorable. There is the usual great cheesy monologue. Boris: "Speak to me!" ... priceless
  8. Oct 25, 2012
    10
    I believe this was Pierce Brosnan's best Bond film. If this is your first Bond movie and you liked it, watch the older ones first, they are more like this. The newer bond films, with Daniel Craig, are good movies, but they are not the same as the older Bond movies, the older movies center more on action and comedy while the ones with Craig focus on Action. Golden Eye was a great movie with both comedy and action, and a crazy sadist chick, which I found was pretty funny. PS. oo7 is awesome. Expand
Metascore
65

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. 75
    This is the first Bond film that is self-aware, that has lost its innocence and the simplicity of its world view, and has some understanding of the absurdity and sadness of its hero.
  2. 75
    Also, there's more action in Goldeneye than in previous 007 entries -- enough to keep a ninety-minute film moving at a frantic pace. Unfortunately, this movie isn't ninety-minutes long -- it's one-hundred thirty, which means that fully one-quarter of Goldeneye is momentum-killing padding.
  3. When the action is extreme, GoldenEye is supercharged with spectacular, thundering, brain-numbing fun.