Miramax Films | Release Date: October 19, 2007
7.7
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 231 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
191
Mixed:
29
Negative:
11
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Expand
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
9
SpangleJul 13, 2013
Awesome film. Ben Affleck did great as director and then Casey Affleck kicked a** and took names in the lead role. Not much to criticize here. Overall, a thought provoking film that certainly leaves you wanting more.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
beingryanjudeAug 31, 2014
As far as directorial debuts go, this is the type of film new directors would kill to be a part of. Ben Affleck creates a moving tale set in Boston, with several award-worthy performances from Casey Affleck and Amy Ryan.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
imthenoobNov 17, 2016
The directorial debut of Ben Affleck in a film staring his young brother. Both kill it. Ben did a great job directing and co-writing a rather interesting noir style film while Casey proved his chops as an actor and more than manged his ownThe directorial debut of Ben Affleck in a film staring his young brother. Both kill it. Ben did a great job directing and co-writing a rather interesting noir style film while Casey proved his chops as an actor and more than manged his own against the likes of Morgan Freeman and Ed Harris. Really well done movie and definitely worth the watch. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
choomtabi31Jun 1, 2016
Good film. When you think you know what's going on, they give you another situation and then another. Multiple possibilities in this gritty drama/suspense.

Watch it online for free: https://www.primewire.ag/watch-1441-Gone-Baby-Gone
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
StevenFJun 5, 2013
Questions of moral and doing the right thing are all brought up in this wonderfully twisted and surprising tale from Director and co-writer Ben Affleck. Perhaps it was unfortunate that the UK audience wouldn't have fully appreciated thisQuestions of moral and doing the right thing are all brought up in this wonderfully twisted and surprising tale from Director and co-writer Ben Affleck. Perhaps it was unfortunate that the UK audience wouldn't have fully appreciated this excellent and thoughtful film due to the disappearance of Madeline McCann in the same year of the film's release, a girl around the same age and appearance of the the girl this film centres around.
Little Amanda has been abducted from her home in Boston, desperate for her return, the family hire outside help in the form of PI Patrick (Casey Affleck) and Angie (Michelle Monaghan), much to the displeasure of local law enforcement.
But as the two dig deeper into the case, a case involving drug lords, family members and even corrupt cops, Patrick begins to realise there is something much bigger going on than a standard abduction, with every hour ticking past looking less likely that the young girl will be found alive, or found at all.
The film works to open the eyes of close-minded and one shot people who perceive everything at first glance, as the film takes viewers hopes and expectations and dashes or turns them upside down when each corner is turned, twist after twist has made this wonderful filmmaking impossible to call first time.
Not to say it was made to surprise, it was made to broaden your scope, ask people just where you may call home and just who exactly you may be better off with, but also bringing in the other side of maintaining the law, even if the law itself doesn't.
Casey Affleck is truly on top of his game, he delivers an unforgettable turn as Patrick, a man dedicated to finding the truth, even when he is frowned upon for his age, style and his apparent lack of experience. Morgan Freeman plays a cop who is unfortunately reliving something that he himself had to go through, and we are immediately drawn in to his insistence and promise that this girl will be found.
Amy Ryan puts in the most surprising and best performances, she has us convinced that her daughter was indeed kidnapped and she wants her back, but her actions and life make it questionable whether this young girl should be with her or not.
Easily one of the best and most intriguing films of 2007, an emotional journey of morality and disbelief will come along with Gone Baby Gone, it will leave many questioning its decisions but ultimately prove a wonderful story in slow-paced style has been told.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
ERG1008Aug 23, 2010
Child gets kidnapped, Aunt & Uncle hire detectives to find her, Police already investigating, things go wrong.
Ben Affleck's directing debut which is a very real story based in the Boston area.
Some of the accents are quite hard to understand
Child gets kidnapped, Aunt & Uncle hire detectives to find her, Police already investigating, things go wrong.
Ben Affleck's directing debut which is a very real story based in the Boston area.
Some of the accents are quite hard to understand at times but the acting is good & the twists & turns in the story work well.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
chidimeSep 22, 2017
Great movie. Really gets you.!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
heeldavidJul 26, 2014
I am very suprised of the user score, because this is a very well done film, a great Boston flick from Ben Affleck, Casey Affleck puts on a very great performance, nice work by the talented cast as well. The question that i had in my head atI am very suprised of the user score, because this is a very well done film, a great Boston flick from Ben Affleck, Casey Affleck puts on a very great performance, nice work by the talented cast as well. The question that i had in my head at the end of the movie was "what is home ?" Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
ExKingMay 27, 2013
gone baby gone is a unique movie and diffidently my favorite movie by Ben Affleck.
it's provided a solid story with a little bit of mystery not knowing what's the next scene is going to be.
and i love the fact that Casey Affleck was casted
gone baby gone is a unique movie and diffidently my favorite movie by Ben Affleck.
it's provided a solid story with a little bit of mystery not knowing what's the next scene is going to be.
and i love the fact that Casey Affleck was casted as the leading actor he's not that great of an actor he missed few spots but he fit in the character it's like the movie was written about him.
his personality in the movie looks like it's taken from him as a real person and that's what i love about the movie.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
jp992751Jan 25, 2011
A gritty down and dirty Boston flick that leaves you pondering questions that you may find you don't have an answer for. If you are the type that doesn't enjoy a movie with a happy ending that don't even put Gone Baby Gone into your DVDA gritty down and dirty Boston flick that leaves you pondering questions that you may find you don't have an answer for. If you are the type that doesn't enjoy a movie with a happy ending that don't even put Gone Baby Gone into your DVD player as it will leave you with an empty feeling inside and will eat away at you logic and ethical viewpoints. If on the other hand you can handle a depressing ending than Gone Baby Gone is a movie that provokes a myriad of question and ethical discussion topics while also providing top notch acting and superb directing by first timer Ben Affleck. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
thelordoffilmAug 14, 2010
Gone Baby Gone is a scary and haunting film with great performances and intense suspense and tension. Who would know Ben Affleck could direct a film.

A movie dealing with child abduction and how it surrounds the people involved. A child is
Gone Baby Gone is a scary and haunting film with great performances and intense suspense and tension. Who would know Ben Affleck could direct a film.

A movie dealing with child abduction and how it surrounds the people involved. A child is kidnapped and the family hires two private detectives because they can talk to people in the neighborhood that won't talk to the cops. Things start going out of the ordinary when multiple secretes are reveled. It leads more to dangerous situations.

One of my favorite movies and a big surprise from Affleck.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
pesho_oneFeb 7, 2015
What goes quite well in-here is the pacing. Also all the mains are doing fine jobs. And while interesting throughout, it never feels too forced or artificial. The story is very well developed and goes all the way to the finish line (which isWhat goes quite well in-here is the pacing. Also all the mains are doing fine jobs. And while interesting throughout, it never feels too forced or artificial. The story is very well developed and goes all the way to the finish line (which is not that common with many pretentious movies these days). Anther thing that stood out for me, was the camera angles and scene arrangements - they were done noticeably well.
Bottom line: highly recommended, as it is one quality piece of cinema which is well worth your movie-watching time.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
ZorglyFeb 11, 2011
Thoroughly disturbing. Well filmed. Well acted. This is not a movie for the lighthearted. See it and judge for yourself
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
Jefflyn90Jan 29, 2012
This is a great thriller. It never stops, very smart, psychological and complex. Although the story gets a bit clumsy it is expertly told and coherent. Loved it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
LukehatJun 29, 2017
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I enjoyed the gritty conversations and the setting. The plot was engaging. The conclusion thought provoking (which is incredibly rare in films).
Casey Affleck was brilliant.
It would be a 10 but I thought Michelle Monaghan was either cast badly or acted weak which decreased my engagement slightly, and when one thinks about it in more depth the conclusion to the plot seems kind of wierd as well. There are so many children in probably worse situations, that could be adopted legally, so why would any person with any sense, risk everything to abduct that specific girl. There are probably another 10 girls on the block in a similar situation. Still the film, presented moral issues that I found interesting, and that is so rare in filmaking, that this film deserves high praise.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
AwsafDec 4, 2013
This is a remarkable film.This proposition of every single detail is stunning.By the rule of the movie was going sometimes they missed some emotion and Technics.And the acting was great
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
ellaroseAug 15, 2014
Casey Affleck needs much more credit than he has to his name. His acting was both believable and really challenges the viewer to walk in his shoes for the 2 hours. Without offering any spoilers if you are a fan of the crime genre and like aCasey Affleck needs much more credit than he has to his name. His acting was both believable and really challenges the viewer to walk in his shoes for the 2 hours. Without offering any spoilers if you are a fan of the crime genre and like a good detective drama, this is one for the screen! The language isn't that great, but for the time and place they are in, it fits. It isn't used for 'humor' or 'entertainment' which can make it easier to deal with. I love it's challenge on morality. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
RQstormJun 27, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Brutally honest. Those two words sum up this movie from the gritty locations, using local talent for the fill in roles, the characters interaction, the length of time the movie indicates passes, to the dialogue and the daily moral dilemmas that unravel throughout the movie from the nearly the first to the very last scene. Bravo.Having read the book "Gone Baby Gone" by Dennis Lehane, this is one of the few times where I felt the movie adaption was superior in streamlining or updating the subject matters from the source and I liked the the book. My one complaint was the role of Angie wasn't used to her fullest in the movie...otherwise this was phenomenal directorial debut by Ben Affleck and an outstanding job by the notable cast of actors and actresses. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
NathanOct 26, 2007
Awesome flick. Great movie about right and wrong and what one has to go through to make the right choices. Awesome performances from all and Casey Affleck (despite some critics views) is perfect for the lead. Gritty, powerful, and thought Awesome flick. Great movie about right and wrong and what one has to go through to make the right choices. Awesome performances from all and Casey Affleck (despite some critics views) is perfect for the lead. Gritty, powerful, and thought provoking. Well done. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
IanRJan 2, 2008
There is a compelling ethical question raised skillfully that will haunt viewers.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MatthewM.Oct 20, 2007
Duality of man at it's peak... Left me asking questions about the kinds of moral choices we all have to make. Affleck gets a little pretentious in his extra shots like other actors this year, but overall the writing is great, the Duality of man at it's peak... Left me asking questions about the kinds of moral choices we all have to make. Affleck gets a little pretentious in his extra shots like other actors this year, but overall the writing is great, the revelations are surprising, and the acting and characters are so real I felt like I know Boston now. Go see it! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
profBOct 20, 2007
Am a huge fan of Lehane's Kenzie and Gennaro novels and walked into this a bit skeptical that Afflecks and co. could pull of the big screen translation. Happily, I was wrong--though there is little 'happy' in this dark and Am a huge fan of Lehane's Kenzie and Gennaro novels and walked into this a bit skeptical that Afflecks and co. could pull of the big screen translation. Happily, I was wrong--though there is little 'happy' in this dark and morally ambiguous story. One review above notes rightly that Michelle Monaghan's role has been sharply reduced from the book. Since the doe-eyed Monoghan's miscast as the whip-smart Gennaro, that may be just as well. The younger Affleck, who at times looks like he's 17, more than picks up the slack. His seething performance is frequently terrific, as is the direction. A borderline-great but frequently difficult film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
FromtheNorthOct 20, 2007
Oscar-worthy.High five to a talented filmmaker.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
KarenW.Oct 22, 2007
Powerful! A mystery that twist and turns, compelling ethical dilemma, and really exciting! The best movie I've seen this year.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JohnB.Oct 24, 2007
Quite powerful and thought provoking. Exactly what a film like this should be.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
7
BillyS.Oct 26, 2007
An excellent directorial debut following his under-rated role in Hollywoodland, you don't have Ben Afflect to kick around anymore! Even better is the direction he has given his brother Casey to the top of the actor want-list and a good An excellent directorial debut following his under-rated role in Hollywoodland, you don't have Ben Afflect to kick around anymore! Even better is the direction he has given his brother Casey to the top of the actor want-list and a good shot at an Oscar nomination. Gone Baby Gone is a great suspense thriller with a cast that acts up a storm and a probable Ensemble nomination from the SAG. Welcome back Ben, we knew the wait would be worth it! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
TroyKOct 26, 2007
Go see it. Would like to have seen more about their relationship before this case. Like why such a wimpy guy is perceived as a toughie! Great story, great acting.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
danielwOct 30, 2007
The character-driven scenes are great. Affleck has an ear and an eye for body-language and dialogue, and his cast responds with gusto. But he still has a lot to learn about telling a story. The central ambush scene is almost The character-driven scenes are great. Affleck has an ear and an eye for body-language and dialogue, and his cast responds with gusto. But he still has a lot to learn about telling a story. The central ambush scene is almost incomprehensible, and crucial plot twists are sprung on the viewer with little or no set-up. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
AriK.Jan 31, 2008
This is a solid film with a great conflict at its core. Casey Affleck is great here. Michelle Monaghan is great, though I wish we saw quite a bit more of her character. I'd also say that the editing choices felt just a tad slow at This is a solid film with a great conflict at its core. Casey Affleck is great here. Michelle Monaghan is great, though I wish we saw quite a bit more of her character. I'd also say that the editing choices felt just a tad slow at times, especially the shot at the end with Casey watching TV. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
CharlesG.Feb 13, 2008
Thought-provoking with an excellent cast even down to the extras who looked 100% authentic -probably because they were. This movie deserves more credit than the critics have given it. Ben Affleck has more than made up for Gigli.
0 of 0 users found this helpful