Miramax Films | Release Date: October 19, 2007
7.7
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 225 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
185
Mixed:
29
Negative:
11
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
FromtheNorthOct 20, 2007
Oscar-worthy.High five to a talented filmmaker.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
KarenW.Oct 22, 2007
Powerful! A mystery that twist and turns, compelling ethical dilemma, and really exciting! The best movie I've seen this year.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JohnB.Oct 24, 2007
Quite powerful and thought provoking. Exactly what a film like this should be.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
jp992751Jan 25, 2011
A gritty down and dirty Boston flick that leaves you pondering questions that you may find you don't have an answer for. If you are the type that doesn't enjoy a movie with a happy ending that don't even put Gone Baby Gone into your DVDA gritty down and dirty Boston flick that leaves you pondering questions that you may find you don't have an answer for. If you are the type that doesn't enjoy a movie with a happy ending that don't even put Gone Baby Gone into your DVD player as it will leave you with an empty feeling inside and will eat away at you logic and ethical viewpoints. If on the other hand you can handle a depressing ending than Gone Baby Gone is a movie that provokes a myriad of question and ethical discussion topics while also providing top notch acting and superb directing by first timer Ben Affleck. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
5
MarcD.Oct 22, 2007
This movie was JUST OK. It had some good moments, but it has a lot of problems. The structure is weak, the story itself aint great, but some of the performances are good. It's great to applaud people when they try new things (Ben This movie was JUST OK. It had some good moments, but it has a lot of problems. The structure is weak, the story itself aint great, but some of the performances are good. It's great to applaud people when they try new things (Ben Affleck directing) but let's not lose sight of the overall picture. As a first time director, he did a great job - kudos - but the movie itself is not better than "We Own The Night" or "Rendition" movies that scored much lower here. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
mscMar 1, 2008
Wow what a HORRIBLE MOVIE!!! Monotone dialogue, cliche story. Embarrassing for both Affleck's!
0 of 2 users found this helpful
3
DianaM.Nov 1, 2007
Exactly one hour into "Gone Baby Gone" a brain-numbing, dog ear-twitching screech sang out across the theater. I looked 'round the seats, and to my left wrist, and realized that film had come to a shocking, sudden halt. Exactly one hour into "Gone Baby Gone" a brain-numbing, dog ear-twitching screech sang out across the theater. I looked 'round the seats, and to my left wrist, and realized that film had come to a shocking, sudden halt. But...no...no...here we go...it slowly started up again, like the T departing Ashmont station, and continued on for a complete second hour, before finally docking in a not-believable, yet still debate-inducing, last few scenes. Now, I'm not prepared to say Ben Affleck's direction is straight bad. In fact, the first half is actually pretty good, combining different cut styles, varied pacing, and a knock-out performance from Amy Madigan (PS. engrave her name on an Oscar). But once the plot starts twisting, it's like a snake in Affleck's hands. Even Casey's performance veers off into boredom. Ultimately, the film's only saving grace is the philosophical question it poses: What is "best" for a child, and who gets to decide? But even that plays out in a kind of surreality which never makes clear why a woman like Helene would get to keep her child, and how the kidnappers thought they'd get away with it. As for the setting, Affleck does a great job at protraying the true grit of Boston's outskirts (an image I hope its residents soon attempt to improve). Based on his name, he's got a long directorial career ahead of him, and based on the first half of "Gone Baby Gone," he's got potential to work with. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
5
DWillyOct 20, 2007
There is some great local color, nifty action, nice moral conflict and a couple credible performances (Affleck and Harris), but this falls short of being the a cool movie it could have been because of its unforgivable performances (the There is some great local color, nifty action, nice moral conflict and a couple credible performances (Affleck and Harris), but this falls short of being the a cool movie it could have been because of its unforgivable performances (the abducted girl's mother), some weak ones, an overall lack of clarity and, guess what, there's a reason there are no detective stories where the guy brings his girlfriend along with him as he solves the crime, it's because she'll RUIN EVERY SCENE SHE'S IN. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
5
PatriciaB.Oct 20, 2007
Really good acting, but.....the story was disjointed. I was disappointed.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
5
normd.Oct 30, 2007
More overrated, predictable tripe. Laughable action scenes in beginning. Cringeworthy, long-winded expository speeches at the end. Affleck shows hack ability as director--film looks good, but inability to coax performances out of anyone but More overrated, predictable tripe. Laughable action scenes in beginning. Cringeworthy, long-winded expository speeches at the end. Affleck shows hack ability as director--film looks good, but inability to coax performances out of anyone but his brother is fatal. Reaction shot after reaction shot---embarrassing. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
GregBJan 6, 2008
This is not an original movie. This is almost an exact copy of "Along Came a Spider." I had to ask myself for a refund cause it bored me and the plot was so obvious.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
1
RobspiS.Jul 17, 2008
Major flaw-if Affleck's character was so morally righteous to expose Freeman and his associates, why does he hide the fact he murdered a man by shooting him in the back of the head?
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
MichelleCJul 20, 2008
This movie is pretty bad. It was slow, drawn out had too many twists that were not really twists and it was just plain boring. The only good part (which earned it a 3) was the end where it forced you to think about your own moral compass and This movie is pretty bad. It was slow, drawn out had too many twists that were not really twists and it was just plain boring. The only good part (which earned it a 3) was the end where it forced you to think about your own moral compass and which way it would have pointed you. It also shows the nature of people thinking they know what's best for other people. I like movies that have a point but I didn't like having to suffer through this movie only to see the point in the last 5 minutes. Collapse
0 of 1 users found this helpful
4
MikeS.Oct 19, 2007
Very disappointing! I wanted to like it, but the story jumped around so much, I could not get into it. I'll admit, I read the book it's based on, which is very good, but they were unable to bring it through clearly onscreen. You Very disappointing! I wanted to like it, but the story jumped around so much, I could not get into it. I'll admit, I read the book it's based on, which is very good, but they were unable to bring it through clearly onscreen. You never get a chance to know the characters at all. Looks like they fooled a lot of critics though. Again, I am so disappointed! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
5
CharlieSOct 26, 2007
Being from Boston, I was really looking forward to this movie. I had heard great things about it, but was really let down. I'm not sure what all the hype is about. Sure, it's pretty authentic to the local flavor and some great Being from Boston, I was really looking forward to this movie. I had heard great things about it, but was really let down. I'm not sure what all the hype is about. Sure, it's pretty authentic to the local flavor and some great Boston accents. Other than that, the plot kind of fell flat. I didn't feel any connection to the characters, was bored for the first 45 minutes, and found myself wondering what I was missing. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
4
SylvioM.Feb 17, 2008
The Affleck's doesn't have so much sympathy on the screen.Casey is bad, he was the perfect guy to be Robert Ford in The Assassination of Jesse James By The Coward Robert Ford though. Anyway, this movie could be the greatest in The Affleck's doesn't have so much sympathy on the screen.Casey is bad, he was the perfect guy to be Robert Ford in The Assassination of Jesse James By The Coward Robert Ford though. Anyway, this movie could be the greatest in 1992, not in 2007. It has so many cliches and the script has so many lacks... I can't imagine how the crictics figures out this movie could be good. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
chriscFeb 25, 2008
This movie is not very good. at all.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
TomOApr 27, 2008
People who reacted negatively to Gone Baby Gone are probably missing the point. It's not about plot twists, or predictability, or the fact that the story is dark. ( Review from Chris ) How can you skip over these points.I thought films People who reacted negatively to Gone Baby Gone are probably missing the point. It's not about plot twists, or predictability, or the fact that the story is dark. ( Review from Chris ) How can you skip over these points.I thought films made you want to watch them not endure them.Gone Baby Gone is predictable, dragged out and has more plot holes than a swiss cheese. Yes it did provoke some thought at the end and for that it get 3 points. The other 90% of the film unfortunately fits into my most hated category. Not quite bad enough to laugh at not good enough to be immersed in or taken somewhere. I would say avoid this film however I am fairly sure my review will not be popular. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
ZorglyFeb 11, 2011
Thoroughly disturbing. Well filmed. Well acted. This is not a movie for the lighthearted. See it and judge for yourself
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
4
CharlottePApr 13, 2011
How did Casey Affleck get a role for which he was quite clearly unsuited? What was the director thinking? Er...Oh.

A strangely-accented Affleck Junior is woefully miscast in this slightly clumsy, over-simplified version of the Dennis Lehane
How did Casey Affleck get a role for which he was quite clearly unsuited? What was the director thinking? Er...Oh.

A strangely-accented Affleck Junior is woefully miscast in this slightly clumsy, over-simplified version of the Dennis Lehane novel. Read the novel, if you like that kind of thing. Don't see the movie. One rare true note is struck by Amy Ryan who plays the conflicted, unsympathetic mother perfectly.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
YoursTrulyJul 22, 2013
It wasn't awful. I didn't find this movie to be boring at all. I enjoyed it because it managed to built suspense and raise curiosity about the resolution. But there are so many things holding Gone Baby Gone back. For one, it was confusing.It wasn't awful. I didn't find this movie to be boring at all. I enjoyed it because it managed to built suspense and raise curiosity about the resolution. But there are so many things holding Gone Baby Gone back. For one, it was confusing. Simple as that. Two, Casey Affleck. Not only was his character flat and uninteresting, but I also didn't buy a word he said, especially when he tried to be a tough guy with his fighting words and his pistol whipping. Every time he started intimidating guys in bars or giving some morally self-righteous speech about why other people are wrong I just said "Please." He was very much a typical protagonist in a Hollywood film and not at all a real person. Three, the scene when Ed Harris is questioning the mother in her house is just awful. It's full of cliches and pointless yelling (ex: Harris sweeping all the bottles off of the kitchen table in a burst of anger and then firmly slamming his palms on the table and demanding answers). And four, it is really a ridiculous plot when you think about it. Just listen to it (Spoiler Alert): A seventy something year old police chief looses his 12 year old daughter. Then he spends decades surrounded by the impoverished and unfortunate youth of the drug and violence ridden neighborhoods of Boston. So, for no reason, all of a sudden he decides to kidnap one random white girl and take her home after forty years of never doing anything like that even though he's seen kids lives go down the drain ever day. Not only that, it wasn't really his idea. It was suggested to him by some other cop (Harris) who also seems to gain this desire to "give a kid a chance" out of nowhere. And the other main cop involved (Affleck) has a seemingly healthy relationship with his girlfriend. But that relationship ends with no discussion or second thoughts when they have a minor ethical disagreement even though they both meant well. Also, for some reason, this also boring and undeveloped character of a girlfriend cries herself to sleep every night when she thinks the little girl is dead, even though she never met this girl and has only been on the case for a few days. The same unrealistic emotion seems to exist with the aforementioned police chief and his wife when they kidnap the "lost" girl. After keeping her for a week, they are all of a sudden unable to be separated form her and the cops have to pry the child from the wife's arms while she breaks down in tears. In the end, it entertained me and made me think...but I didn't buy any of it. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
NathanOct 26, 2007
Awesome flick. Great movie about right and wrong and what one has to go through to make the right choices. Awesome performances from all and Casey Affleck (despite some critics views) is perfect for the lead. Gritty, powerful, and thought Awesome flick. Great movie about right and wrong and what one has to go through to make the right choices. Awesome performances from all and Casey Affleck (despite some critics views) is perfect for the lead. Gritty, powerful, and thought provoking. Well done. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
IanRJan 2, 2008
There is a compelling ethical question raised skillfully that will haunt viewers.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
adamwNov 5, 2007
The Bottom Line here is that the Afflecks bit off more than they could chew. This story needed seasoned craftsman of story-telling, not a couple of novices.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MatthewM.Oct 20, 2007
Duality of man at it's peak... Left me asking questions about the kinds of moral choices we all have to make. Affleck gets a little pretentious in his extra shots like other actors this year, but overall the writing is great, the Duality of man at it's peak... Left me asking questions about the kinds of moral choices we all have to make. Affleck gets a little pretentious in his extra shots like other actors this year, but overall the writing is great, the revelations are surprising, and the acting and characters are so real I felt like I know Boston now. Go see it! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
profBOct 20, 2007
Am a huge fan of Lehane's Kenzie and Gennaro novels and walked into this a bit skeptical that Afflecks and co. could pull of the big screen translation. Happily, I was wrong--though there is little 'happy' in this dark and Am a huge fan of Lehane's Kenzie and Gennaro novels and walked into this a bit skeptical that Afflecks and co. could pull of the big screen translation. Happily, I was wrong--though there is little 'happy' in this dark and morally ambiguous story. One review above notes rightly that Michelle Monaghan's role has been sharply reduced from the book. Since the doe-eyed Monoghan's miscast as the whip-smart Gennaro, that may be just as well. The younger Affleck, who at times looks like he's 17, more than picks up the slack. His seething performance is frequently terrific, as is the direction. A borderline-great but frequently difficult film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
BillyS.Oct 26, 2007
An excellent directorial debut following his under-rated role in Hollywoodland, you don't have Ben Afflect to kick around anymore! Even better is the direction he has given his brother Casey to the top of the actor want-list and a good An excellent directorial debut following his under-rated role in Hollywoodland, you don't have Ben Afflect to kick around anymore! Even better is the direction he has given his brother Casey to the top of the actor want-list and a good shot at an Oscar nomination. Gone Baby Gone is a great suspense thriller with a cast that acts up a storm and a probable Ensemble nomination from the SAG. Welcome back Ben, we knew the wait would be worth it! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
TroyKOct 26, 2007
Go see it. Would like to have seen more about their relationship before this case. Like why such a wimpy guy is perceived as a toughie! Great story, great acting.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
danielwOct 30, 2007
The character-driven scenes are great. Affleck has an ear and an eye for body-language and dialogue, and his cast responds with gusto. But he still has a lot to learn about telling a story. The central ambush scene is almost The character-driven scenes are great. Affleck has an ear and an eye for body-language and dialogue, and his cast responds with gusto. But he still has a lot to learn about telling a story. The central ambush scene is almost incomprehensible, and crucial plot twists are sprung on the viewer with little or no set-up. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
AriK.Jan 31, 2008
This is a solid film with a great conflict at its core. Casey Affleck is great here. Michelle Monaghan is great, though I wish we saw quite a bit more of her character. I'd also say that the editing choices felt just a tad slow at This is a solid film with a great conflict at its core. Casey Affleck is great here. Michelle Monaghan is great, though I wish we saw quite a bit more of her character. I'd also say that the editing choices felt just a tad slow at times, especially the shot at the end with Casey watching TV. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful