Gone Baby Gone

Gone Baby Gone Image
Metascore
72

Generally favorable reviews - based on 34 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 203 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Gone Baby Gone follows the explosive case of just one missing little girl. But inside this investigation lie secrets and a labyrinthine maze of class and corruption, evil and innocence...all leading up to one man's extraordinary choice in a world where right and wrong have become blurred. (Miramax)

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 34
  2. Negative: 0 out of 34
  1. 91
    Though its procedural goes a little soft in the middle, Gone Baby Gone quietly accumulates in power, leading to one of the more subtly devastating final shots in recent memory.
  2. 88
    The result is a superior police procedural, and something more -- a study in devious human nature.
  3. 83
    It's a fine debut, far more grounded, plausible and engrossing than most Hollywood thrillers.
  4. 75
    The only real casualty of Lehane's novel is Angie, here reduced to a supporting player who bears no resemblance to the original character, who is every bit as smart and tough and interesting as her boyfriend. It's a regrettable loss in a film that otherwise indicates its first-time director knows what he's doing.
  5. Casey Affleck has never had a pedestal like the one his brother provides him, and he earns it. His Patrick is pale and raspy, with a slight grogginess that gives him an astounding vulnerability--and makes his bursts of temper shocking.
  6. Affleck the director shows excellent instincts, not least of which is letting his younger brother, Casey, hold the center as a young guy not as smaht as he thinks he is.
  7. Storytelling problems surface toward the overwrought climax, but the worst problem is the unrelenting grimness. It's hard to like a movie that leaves you with no hope.

See all 34 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 61 out of 86
  2. Negative: 9 out of 86
  1. JohnB.
    Oct 24, 2007
    10
    Quite powerful and thought provoking. Exactly what a film like this should be.
  2. BillB
    Feb 20, 2008
    10
    Being from the Boston area, I can truly say that Gone Baby Gone really captures the true essence of the city and it's slums.
  3. Dec 4, 2013
    9
    This is a remarkable film.This proposition of every single detail is stunning.By the rule of the movie was going sometimes they missed someThis is a remarkable film.This proposition of every single detail is stunning.By the rule of the movie was going sometimes they missed some emotion and Technics.And the acting was great Expand
  4. AriK.
    Jan 31, 2008
    8
    This is a solid film with a great conflict at its core. Casey Affleck is great here. Michelle Monaghan is great, though I wish we saw quite a This is a solid film with a great conflict at its core. Casey Affleck is great here. Michelle Monaghan is great, though I wish we saw quite a bit more of her character. I'd also say that the editing choices felt just a tad slow at times, especially the shot at the end with Casey watching TV. Expand
  5. MarlaC.
    Jul 16, 2009
    7
    I thought this was interesting. lots of twists and turns. i missed some of the dialogue with the heavy punk and Boston accents. rent it definitely!
  6. Rutter
    Oct 28, 2007
    6
    Starts our pretty well... Then it goes downhill in a hurry. Guess Casey wanted to amp up his action-man credentials because some of the Starts our pretty well... Then it goes downhill in a hurry. Guess Casey wanted to amp up his action-man credentials because some of the gunfight scenes are goofy and suddenly all sense of realism gets lost and hard to recapture. Particularly didn't understand how he got away murdering a guy (the pedophile) without any apparent issues. As far as the sorta shock at the end, I for one saw it all coming miles away. From a guy who sorta starts our just a shlub who sees a chance to make a difference, all the sudden he becomes this hard-boiled streetwise tough guy ready to take on the cops and anyone else who gets in his way....bad choice in character direction Anyways, starts out as a good movie, but sort of takes a wrong turn halfway through. Expand
  7. GregB
    Jan 6, 2008
    0
    This is not an original movie. This is almost an exact copy of "Along Came a Spider." I had to ask myself for a refund cause it bored me and This is not an original movie. This is almost an exact copy of "Along Came a Spider." I had to ask myself for a refund cause it bored me and the plot was so obvious. Expand

See all 86 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Film Friday (7/22): This Week's New Movie Trailers

    Film Friday (7/22): This Week's New Movie Trailers Image
    Published: July 22, 2016
    Watch all of this week's new film trailers, including new looks at The Magnificent Seven, Sausage Party, xXx: Return of Xander Cage, Snowden, The Girl on the Train, and more. Plus, get a quick update on the latest movie news and release date announcements.
  2. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: July 20, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Star Trek Beyond, Lights Out, Don't Think Twice, Ice Age: Collision Course, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.
  3. What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video

    What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video Image
    Published: July 20, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Amazon Instant Video and Prime Instant Video, updated frequently.
  4. 25 Can't-Miss Movies About Bad Guys, Ranked

    25 Can't-Miss Movies About Bad Guys, Ranked Image
    Published: July 15, 2016
    We rank over two dozen very good movies featuring very bad protagonists.