Metascore
43

Mixed or average reviews - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 15
  2. Negative: 2 out of 15
  1. Reviewed by: Rob Humanick
    Feb 25, 2012
    75
    Simultaneously both archetypal Tyler Perry and another step in the direction of nuance and thoughtfulness for the filmmaker.
  2. Reviewed by: Alison Willmore
    Feb 24, 2012
    70
    While Wesley is both too good to be true and an absence of a charisma on screen, Good Deeds is very fair to its two main female characters even as they're both entangled with the same man.
  3. Reviewed by: Owen Gleiberman
    Feb 24, 2012
    67
    Perry holds back on the finger-wagging, eye-bulging tantrums. There were moments when I was grateful for that. There were others, like the kissy scenes between Perry and Newton, when I began to miss them.
  4. Reviewed by: Bilge Ebiri
    Feb 24, 2012
    50
    Watching the impossibly dry and somnambulant Good Deeds, you actually miss that crazy side of Perry. It's sort of ironic: Here's a film about a guy who's being false to his true self, and you realize the director might be doing the same.
  5. Reviewed by: Joe Leydon
    Feb 24, 2012
    50
    Good Deeds is relentlessly unsurprising in its plotting and borderline comical in its melodramatic flourishes.
  6. Reviewed by: Sam Adams
    Feb 24, 2012
    50
    As Wesley Deeds - get it? - Perry is stripped of Madea's fat suit and fright wig, but his performance is so muted, he might as well be swaddled in cloth.
  7. Reviewed by: Frank Scheck
    Feb 24, 2012
    50
    This soapy effort about a prosperous businessman having a midlife crisis finds Perry working in the heavily melodramatic mode that marks his weakest efforts.
  8. 50
    What the film needs more than anything is Perry's alter ego, Medea – a rampaging bowling ball who might knock all these stiff, upright characters spinning.
  9. Reviewed by: Marjorie Baumgarten
    Feb 29, 2012
    40
    The melodramatic film has numerous light and comical touches, and the performances are uniformly good. The film's pace, however, has the consistency of molasses, and there's hardly a scene that wouldn't be improved by judicial trimming.
  10. Reviewed by: Keith Uhlich
    Feb 24, 2012
    40
    Much cut-rate melodrama ensues, none of it particularly painful to watch, until a ridiculously redemptive finale negates almost all of the preceding dramatic tension and resurrects a cloying Richard Marx chestnut to boot.
  11. Reviewed by: David DeWitt
    Feb 24, 2012
    40
    Good Deeds honors goodness, which isn't at all a bad thing, and it's not without moments of genuine feeling. But by the film's end, after watching a seemingly infinite number of dour close-ups of sober self-evaluation, I felt bludgeoned by thesis-driven dialogue and noble intentions.
  12. Reviewed by: Bill Goodykoontz
    Feb 24, 2012
    40
    Newton's character is the only one we really become invested in. At least that's something. But Good Deeds leaves you wanting much more.
  13. Reviewed by: Elizabeth Weitzman
    Feb 24, 2012
    40
    This film - like all the Madea-free dramas - could use more humor. Still, every Perry movie has its highs and lows. This time, the highs are a little higher, and the lows not quite so low. There is no faith-based message, but the moral is obvious: persistence pays off.
  14. Reviewed by: Wesley Morris
    Feb 27, 2012
    38
    Good Deeds is the first of the 11 movies he's written and directed to try a one-tone-fits-all approach. Sadly, that tone is funereal, and it's always a beat out of step with the rhythms of both real life and most movies.
  15. Reviewed by: Todd Gilchrist
    Feb 24, 2012
    30
    Tyler Perry has finally achieved an odd kind of equality that heretofore eluded him: he's now just as mediocre and middle of the road as any other reliable hitmaker in Hollywood.
User Score
5.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 20 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 9
  2. Negative: 2 out of 9
  1. Feb 28, 2012
    7
    Angels:
    This is a romance-drama, without Tyler's usual comedic interludes. The characters are believable, indeed likable, their interplay is
    Angels:
    This is a romance-drama, without Tyler's usual comedic interludes. The characters are believable, indeed likable, their interplay is realistic, and the plot lines, for the most part, are believable. Unlike some of Tyler Perry's movies, there was no character who was obviously a contemptible evil creature as in "Daddy's little girls". (O.k. there was one.) Also, there was no character who has such an outsized personality that he could only exist on the screen not in real life. (Well, maybe there was one of those also.) But my point is, the characters were well drawn and multi-faceted. And the story was quite touching. Indeed, when my date and I looked at each other during the movie, we both had tears in our eyes. Alright, I am not the strong silent type, although my date is. The movie was entertaining. I would give it a higher score, but even though the acting was good, the production values were frugal. Look, Tyler Perry is a national treasure. His movies are profitable because he keeps his costs low. As my date said, if you write, direct, produce and star in your own movie you pay one salary for 4 jobs. And Tyler spreads the wealth. He gives work to talented actresses who are not recruited for the high production cost movies; beautiful, and accomplished actresses like Gabrielle Union, and Taraji P. Henson. So thank you Tyler, and God Bless you. And Angels, keep smiling at me.
    Full Review »
  2. Apr 30, 2014
    10
    "Tyler Perry's good deeds is touching , inspiring and better then his dumb comedies". So far Perry made dumb comedies like diary of a mad"Tyler Perry's good deeds is touching , inspiring and better then his dumb comedies". So far Perry made dumb comedies like diary of a mad black woman , Tempation . But he created his inspiring movie of his career . Grade A. Full Review »
  3. May 9, 2013
    2
    I believe that this could be one of the worst Tyler Perry movies I've ever watched. The scenarios are so consciously fabricated that itI believe that this could be one of the worst Tyler Perry movies I've ever watched. The scenarios are so consciously fabricated that it becomes very difficult to accept the premise. One just becomes so aware of it's implausibility and you, therefore, are unable to emotionally invest yourself into the characters. I am also personally uncomfortable with the portrayal of very stereotypical character back-stories. The entire formula of the movie was too predictable and not unheard of. I think that a lot more depth could have also been given to the characters. Did not enjoy this film in the least especially because it felt as if it was perpetuating some social stereotypes that I was very uncomfortable with. I found it rather unpleasant. Full Review »