User Score
5.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 19 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 19
  2. Negative: 8 out of 19

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 28, 2012
    7
    Angels:
    This is a romance-drama, without Tyler's usual comedic interludes. The characters are believable, indeed likable, their interplay is realistic, and the plot lines, for the most part, are believable. Unlike some of Tyler Perry's movies, there was no character who was obviously a contemptible evil creature as in "Daddy's little girls". (O.k. there was one.) Also, there was no
    character who has such an outsized personality that he could only exist on the screen not in real life. (Well, maybe there was one of those also.) But my point is, the characters were well drawn and multi-faceted. And the story was quite touching. Indeed, when my date and I looked at each other during the movie, we both had tears in our eyes. Alright, I am not the strong silent type, although my date is. The movie was entertaining. I would give it a higher score, but even though the acting was good, the production values were frugal. Look, Tyler Perry is a national treasure. His movies are profitable because he keeps his costs low. As my date said, if you write, direct, produce and star in your own movie you pay one salary for 4 jobs. And Tyler spreads the wealth. He gives work to talented actresses who are not recruited for the high production cost movies; beautiful, and accomplished actresses like Gabrielle Union, and Taraji P. Henson. So thank you Tyler, and God Bless you. And Angels, keep smiling at me. Expand
  2. Feb 27, 2012
    10
    Tyler Perry is a national treasure. He'll definitely be nominated for Oscar for best Actress next year. *sorry, sort of stole that joke from Billy Crystal*
  3. Feb 27, 2012
    5
    I saw the new Good Deeds movie on Friday, and I was thought it was gonna be a great non-Madea movie in the series, but I'm really disappointed. This is not exactly what Tyler meant to star in, but the cast looks decent. It's more of the same movies like Meet The Browns and Why Did I Get Married? without the schlock jokes and I think Good Deeds is a mere melodrama than All My Children. I still can't believe they still didn't bring a new Madea trailer for her new movie "Witness Protection" coming soon. But nothing new this weekend and probably I'll wait for Good Deeds to rent on DVD. Collapse
  4. Mar 29, 2012
    10
    Tyler perry never makes and stars in a horrible movie. From Madea to being a educated business man he always has a great morale in all his movies. There is a reason why he makes great movies, because he has lived the life, and found god.
  5. Mar 6, 2012
    2
    One of the worst movies I have seen in a long time, don`t get sucked in to watching it! Any awards Tyler Perry received for Precious should be given to the writer and his license to direct should be revoked!
  6. Mar 22, 2012
    10
    I saw the movie on opening night in my home town. I think it shows Mr. Perry's growth as a director, producer, screenwriter, and actor in the arena of major movie releases of the dramatic level, and shows that he's not just limited to plays and comedies. He still has some areas in which to improve, but he's heading in the right direction. Overall the movie was enjoyable and one of his best ones to date. Expand
  7. Apr 27, 2013
    9
    I really liked this movie. It`s about real people, and those living in a made up world, that seems great on the outside looking in, but have problems of their own. You can really feel for the characters. I thought it could be a mistake going for a movie like this, but I`m glad I chose it.
  8. May 9, 2013
    2
    I believe that this could be one of the worst Tyler Perry movies I've ever watched. The scenarios are so consciously fabricated that it becomes very difficult to accept the premise. One just becomes so aware of it's implausibility and you, therefore, are unable to emotionally invest yourself into the characters. I am also personally uncomfortable with the portrayal of very stereotypical character back-stories. The entire formula of the movie was too predictable and not unheard of. I think that a lot more depth could have also been given to the characters. Did not enjoy this film in the least especially because it felt as if it was perpetuating some social stereotypes that I was very uncomfortable with. I found it rather unpleasant. Expand
  9. Apr 30, 2014
    10
    "Tyler Perry's good deeds is touching , inspiring and better then his dumb comedies". So far Perry made dumb comedies like diary of a mad black woman , Tempation . But he created his inspiring movie of his career . Grade A.
Metascore
43

Mixed or average reviews - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 15
  2. Negative: 2 out of 15
  1. Reviewed by: Marjorie Baumgarten
    Feb 29, 2012
    40
    The melodramatic film has numerous light and comical touches, and the performances are uniformly good. The film's pace, however, has the consistency of molasses, and there's hardly a scene that wouldn't be improved by judicial trimming.
  2. Reviewed by: Wesley Morris
    Feb 27, 2012
    38
    Good Deeds is the first of the 11 movies he's written and directed to try a one-tone-fits-all approach. Sadly, that tone is funereal, and it's always a beat out of step with the rhythms of both real life and most movies.
  3. Reviewed by: Rob Humanick
    Feb 25, 2012
    75
    Simultaneously both archetypal Tyler Perry and another step in the direction of nuance and thoughtfulness for the filmmaker.