Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 21
  2. Negative: 0 out of 21
  1. Reviewed by: Keith Uhlich
    Apr 17, 2012
    100
    Brava, Mia! The exceedingly talented Ms. Hansen-Løve (the writer-director of Father of My Children) is sure to win many more fans with her latest feature, an incisive, exhilaratingly frank examination of l'amour lost.
  2. Reviewed by: Scott Tobias
    Apr 19, 2012
    95
    There are times when the title is more a wish than an action - because just as cocaine addicts are forever chasing that first high, there's always the hunger to recapture a lost feeling again, even for those who have spent years in recovery. Pity those who fall off the wagon.
  3. Reviewed by: Noel Murray
    Apr 18, 2012
    91
    The result is a movie that's poignant, bittersweet, and true.
  4. Reviewed by: Andrew O'Hehir
    Apr 20, 2012
    90
    This is a rigorously crafted film steeped in the French tradition, but it's meant to be a sensual and emotional experience, not a verbal or analytical one. Most of all, it's a spectacular eyeful.
  5. Reviewed by: Kenneth Turan
    Apr 19, 2012
    90
    Nothing is rushed, everything is given its appropriate time and place. When we watch Hansen-Løve's films, we're not only experiencing a life unfolding before us, we're also realizing what a great privilege it is to be able to do that.
  6. Reviewed by: A.O. Scott
    Apr 19, 2012
    90
    Mr. Urzendowsky, with his dark curls, fine cheekbones and sad eyes, is a very credible first love, while Ms. Créton uncannily captures Camille's resolution as well as her almost willful vulnerability.
  7. Reviewed by: Peter Bradshaw
    May 7, 2012
    80
    This is a fluent, confident and deeply felt movie: unmistakably, if not exactly nakedly, autobiographical.
  8. Reviewed by: Tom Dawson
    Apr 30, 2012
    80
    Some will find Camille too self-absorbed, yet writer/director Mia Hansen-Løve (Father Of My Children) conjures poignancy, grace and a feel for symbolic seasonal change that's positively Renoir-esque.
  9. Reviewed by: David Parkinson
    Apr 30, 2012
    80
    Hansen-Løve again shows what a gifted storyteller she is with this tender, realistic portrayal of young love.
  10. 80
    There's nothing like a film about wayward passions to remind you how differently people feel things.
  11. Reviewed by: Jordan Mintzer
    Apr 15, 2012
    80
    Arthouse audiences could drink this down like a glass of Chardonnay.
  12. Reviewed by: Boyd van Hoeij
    Apr 15, 2012
    80
    The present picture, filmed with supreme confidence, offers another unapologetically sentimental story stripped to its emotional core.
  13. Reviewed by: Roger Ebert
    Jun 27, 2012
    75
    We think of first love as sweet and valuable, a blessed if hazardous condition. This film, deeper than it seems, dares to suggest that beyond a certain point, it can represent a tragedy.
  14. Reviewed by: Walter Addiego
    Jun 22, 2012
    75
    Goodbye First Love doesn't badger the viewer into drawing conclusions. It's interested in showing, with great compassion, how Camille comes to a fuller understanding of the world and herself, without the sort of prefab lessons more often found in films than in real life.
  15. Reviewed by: Joe Williams
    May 25, 2012
    75
    Goodbye First Love is like a postcard from a lost Eden, a painfully pure oasis where we're not allowed to linger.
  16. Reviewed by: Wesley Morris
    May 10, 2012
    75
    This is an easy movie to spoil. It's rather plotless. But things happen in precisely the way that life happens.
  17. Reviewed by: V.A. Musetto
    Apr 20, 2012
    75
    Goodbye First Love showcases two young women with bright futures.
  18. Reviewed by: Karina Longworth
    Apr 17, 2012
    70
    Like "Father of My Children," Goodbye First Love loosely fictionalizes lived experience in order to capture the ineffable - in this case, emotional maturation or, as Sullivan phrases it, "becom[ing] a real person."
  19. Reviewed by: Elizabeth Weitzman
    Apr 20, 2012
    60
    Some of this wallowing goes on too long, risking our alienation from characters who are difficult to like. What saves the film is the fact that they are always easy to recognize, both as self-centered teenagers and tentatively maturing young adults.
  20. Reviewed by: Peter Rainer
    Apr 22, 2012
    50
    Hansen-Løve wants us to experience all this as a kind of amour fou, but all I kept thinking was that Sullivan was a prize jerk and Camille would be well rid of him.
  21. Reviewed by: Nick Schager
    Apr 14, 2012
    50
    A poignant sense of time's unyielding forward progress and a mood of deep adolescent sorrow aren't enough to overshadow the insufferable blankness of Goodbye First Love's navel-gazing protagonists.
User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 8 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 3
  2. Negative: 0 out of 3
  1. Oct 10, 2012
    4
    Our unsmiling protagonist pines on and on through bedrooms, country houses, architect school, and late adolescence and early adulthood, unableOur unsmiling protagonist pines on and on through bedrooms, country houses, architect school, and late adolescence and early adulthood, unable to get a real life because she can't get the old boyfriend off her mind. At least she learned to let go of a hat! Full Review »
  2. Aug 17, 2012
    8
    Sweet and harmless, this film evokes emotion and memories. As a viewer who's at the same age as the characters in the film, I can relate toSweet and harmless, this film evokes emotion and memories. As a viewer who's at the same age as the characters in the film, I can relate to some of the things and still learn from how much the characters change and mature themselves, regardless how their relationship evolves. Full Review »
  3. Apr 25, 2012
    5
    Although well-made in terms of direction, photography, and performance, this film cannot escape the maudlin qualities of the traditional loveAlthough well-made in terms of direction, photography, and performance, this film cannot escape the maudlin qualities of the traditional love story. The lovers are callow and perhaps underdeveloped, so it is impossible to care much about them. If you find that the film's title puts you on the verge of allergic reaction, do not go. Full Review »