Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 24 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 76 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Watch On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 24
  2. Negative: 1 out of 24
  1. Reviewed by: John Semley
    Mar 28, 2012
    91
    Where George Roy Hill's "Slap Shot," the former reigning champ of the narrow hockey-film canon, descends into anticlimactic late-game zaniness, Goon fully commits to its theme of violence for violence's sake. It's "Paper Lion" by way of Sam Peckinpah.
  2. Reviewed by: Marc Savlov
    Apr 25, 2012
    78
    Put on your best Southie accent and say it with me: This film is wicked fahwkin' retahded and I loved it.
  3. Reviewed by: Roger Ebert
    Mar 28, 2012
    75
    The charm of Goon is that Doug Glatt (Scott) is a genial guy from a nice family. Just because he hands out concussions doesn't mean he dislikes anybody. He's just happy to be wearing a uniform.
  4. Reviewed by: Robert Koehler
    Mar 25, 2012
    70
    The picture has a first-rate team of actors who visibly enjoy their roles and the sharp dialogue by Baruchel and Goldberg.
  5. Reviewed by: Elizabeth Weitzman
    Mar 29, 2012
    60
    Aside from Scott, only Liev Schreiber - as an aging competitor - manages to steady the frenetic swirl. Whenever the two of them are together, Goon stops skating around in circles, and matures into the funny, surprisingly touching movie it wants to be.
  6. Reviewed by: Rosie Fletcher
    Mar 25, 2012
    60
    Lionising the pulverising, this is more fun than it has any right to be. The hockey technicalities may alienate, yet the demented, bone-crunching scraps, war-time team mentality and Whip-It style anarchy is addictive.
  7. Reviewed by: Nick Schager
    Mar 25, 2012
    25
    A second-rate dude comedy in which an untalented knucklehead becomes a star through brute violence.

See all 24 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 24
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 24
  3. Negative: 4 out of 24
  1. Dec 20, 2014
    10
    I have to admit it i'm a big fan of hockey and this movie is just perfect.He's funny but sometimes serious and when they show the games it'sI have to admit it i'm a big fan of hockey and this movie is just perfect.He's funny but sometimes serious and when they show the games it's always great.When Seann William Scott is in a fight it's just so prefect.Amazing movie. Expand
  2. May 2, 2012
    10
    Awesome movie. The highlight of this film has to be Seann William Scott's portrayal of the protagonist Doug Glatt. His character is soAwesome movie. The highlight of this film has to be Seann William Scott's portrayal of the protagonist Doug Glatt. His character is so loveable, charming, and honorable that you can't help but root for him. The rest of the supporting cast is hilarious, especially Doug's foul-mouthed teammates. Of special note is Doug's rival, the aging enforcer Ross Rhea who plays his role like an old western gunslinger. Their final showdown is so freaking epic, it had me cheering. I don't even like watching hockey and I still loved this movie. See it! Expand
  3. Aug 4, 2014
    9
    This is one of the smartest, funniest sports films I've seen in a very long time. Its not perfect, but for what it is, and for how little itThis is one of the smartest, funniest sports films I've seen in a very long time. Its not perfect, but for what it is, and for how little it cost to make, it is pretty close. Expand
  4. Mar 30, 2012
    8
    Wow, incredible comedy film, really the performance of Sean William Scott is really funny, the trama is cool, the screenplay is funny. Goon isWow, incredible comedy film, really the performance of Sean William Scott is really funny, the trama is cool, the screenplay is funny. Goon is an incredible and funny film. Expand
  5. Dec 5, 2012
    7
    Why hadn't I heard of this film before? I absolutely loved it. A perfect sports-comedy full of violence, language, raunch, blood, and heart,Why hadn't I heard of this film before? I absolutely loved it. A perfect sports-comedy full of violence, language, raunch, blood, and heart, the film's most important and resonant feature. The characters are great. I loved the cast; Seann Willian Scott is better than ever. Good script by Jay Baruchel. The surprise comedy of the year for me! Expand
  6. Mar 2, 2013
    6
    It's a pretty enjoyable comedy that it definently worth checking out on Netflix. Only bad things I have to say about it is that it's a littleIt's a pretty enjoyable comedy that it definently worth checking out on Netflix. Only bad things I have to say about it is that it's a little predictable at times and Jay Baruchel is incredibly annoying. Aside from that, It's a solid comedy. Expand
  7. Mar 30, 2012
    0
    Passion for the sport? There is no passion for the sport here, unless that passion is based upon hate and violence. I am not a fan of hockey,Passion for the sport? There is no passion for the sport here, unless that passion is based upon hate and violence. I am not a fan of hockey, and if this movie is what hockey is about, I never will be. The movie is just violence. It never "becomes" anything else. Collapse

See all 24 User Reviews

Trailers