Goon

Goon Image
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 24 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 87 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 24
  2. Negative: 1 out of 24
  1. Reviewed by: John Semley
    Mar 28, 2012
    91
    Where George Roy Hill's "Slap Shot," the former reigning champ of the narrow hockey-film canon, descends into anticlimactic late-game zaniness, Goon fully commits to its theme of violence for violence's sake. It's "Paper Lion" by way of Sam Peckinpah.
  2. Reviewed by: Marc Savlov
    Apr 25, 2012
    78
    Put on your best Southie accent and say it with me: This film is wicked fahwkin' retahded and I loved it.
  3. Reviewed by: Roger Ebert
    Mar 28, 2012
    75
    The charm of Goon is that Doug Glatt (Scott) is a genial guy from a nice family. Just because he hands out concussions doesn't mean he dislikes anybody. He's just happy to be wearing a uniform.
  4. Reviewed by: Robert Koehler
    Mar 25, 2012
    70
    The picture has a first-rate team of actors who visibly enjoy their roles and the sharp dialogue by Baruchel and Goldberg.
  5. Reviewed by: Elizabeth Weitzman
    Mar 29, 2012
    60
    Aside from Scott, only Liev Schreiber - as an aging competitor - manages to steady the frenetic swirl. Whenever the two of them are together, Goon stops skating around in circles, and matures into the funny, surprisingly touching movie it wants to be.
  6. Reviewed by: Rosie Fletcher
    Mar 25, 2012
    60
    Lionising the pulverising, this is more fun than it has any right to be. The hockey technicalities may alienate, yet the demented, bone-crunching scraps, war-time team mentality and Whip-It style anarchy is addictive.
  7. Reviewed by: Nick Schager
    Mar 25, 2012
    25
    A second-rate dude comedy in which an untalented knucklehead becomes a star through brute violence.

See all 24 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 26
  2. Negative: 4 out of 26
  1. Dec 20, 2014
    10
    I have to admit it i'm a big fan of hockey and this movie is just perfect.He's funny but sometimes serious and when they show the games it'sI have to admit it i'm a big fan of hockey and this movie is just perfect.He's funny but sometimes serious and when they show the games it's always great.When Seann William Scott is in a fight it's just so prefect.Amazing movie. Expand
  2. Jun 12, 2015
    9
    I love this movie. Comedic gold. They did well stretching out the story for what it was... a true story... but obviously not all completelyI love this movie. Comedic gold. They did well stretching out the story for what it was... a true story... but obviously not all completely true... but I just god damn loved this movie lol. I don't have much else to say. Funny, romantic, drama filled. Expand
  3. May 26, 2016
    9
    Loved it, could have been longer as far as I am concerned. Sean William Scott with another great performance!

    Watch it online for free:
    Loved it, could have been longer as far as I am concerned. Sean William Scott with another great performance!

    Watch it online for free: http://www.watchfree.to/watch-242015-Goon-movie-online-free-putlocker.html
    Expand
  4. Aug 14, 2012
    8
    The films success comes from the attachment and likeability of Doug Glatt. Those going into the film expecting a couple of cheap laughs may beThe films success comes from the attachment and likeability of Doug Glatt. Those going into the film expecting a couple of cheap laughs may be surprised. Although the film has it's share of slapstick humour it also delivers well written dialogue and even a little suspense. Doug Glatt may not have to much of a brain but this film sure does. I haven't had this much fun in this type of movie since kick ass. Expand
  5. Mar 12, 2014
    7
    Lots of comedy added with brutal hockey violence turned out to be way better than I expected. I may not be the only one. It was a riot. A big,Lots of comedy added with brutal hockey violence turned out to be way better than I expected. I may not be the only one. It was a riot. A big, fat, hilarious, violent, sporty comedy for any fan of sports, even those that are not fans of sports are sure to find the humor Goon carries right in front of itself. Expand
  6. Aug 10, 2012
    6
    A violent ode to the hockey goon from Apatow writers Evan Goldberg and Jay Baruchel, this film is funny, with some surprising heart for aA violent ode to the hockey goon from Apatow writers Evan Goldberg and Jay Baruchel, this film is funny, with some surprising heart for a sports movie. Expand
  7. Mar 30, 2012
    0
    Passion for the sport? There is no passion for the sport here, unless that passion is based upon hate and violence. I am not a fan of hockey,Passion for the sport? There is no passion for the sport here, unless that passion is based upon hate and violence. I am not a fan of hockey, and if this movie is what hockey is about, I never will be. The movie is just violence. It never "becomes" anything else. Expand

See all 26 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. The 21 Best Sports Movies of the Century, Ranked

    The 21 Best Sports Movies of the Century, Ranked Image
    Published: June 9, 2016
    We use rank the top sports films from the 21st century based on Metascores.
  2. DVD/Blu-ray Release Calendar: August 2016

    DVD/Blu-ray Release Calendar: August 2016 Image
    Published: July 28, 2016
    Find a complete guide to TV and movie titles heading to Blu-ray and DVD throughout the month of August, including The Nice Guys, Keanu, The Jungle Book, The Lobster, Weiner, and more.
  3. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: July 27, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Jason Bourne, Nerve, Bad Moms, Indignation, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.
  4. 23 Buddy Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best

    23 Buddy Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best Image
    Published: July 25, 2016
    We rank some of cinema's most notable buddy films by Metascore.
  5. What to Watch Now on Netflix

    What to Watch Now on Netflix Image
    Published: July 25, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Netflix streaming, updated frequently. You can also find a list of titles expiring soon.