User Score
6.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 29 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 29
  2. Negative: 3 out of 29
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JayH.
    Feb 21, 2008
    5
    5.5/10. Forman, Bardem, Portman. What happened?? It's not a bad film by any means, but with this talent, I would expect great. Superb sets and costumes, fine cinematography. The problem lies with the characters that don't involve you in the film. It isn't very deep, and a film of this nature needs that very much.
  2. BV.
    Aug 19, 2007
    4
    A messy film, one that doesn't really know which narrative threads to follow. There are at least three main characters, of which Goya is certainly not the front runner. Very little is actually said about the artist, or how the horror of the Inquisition and its causalities affects his work. It might be worth watching for its few effective scenes, particularly the intense A messy film, one that doesn't really know which narrative threads to follow. There are at least three main characters, of which Goya is certainly not the front runner. Very little is actually said about the artist, or how the horror of the Inquisition and its causalities affects his work. It might be worth watching for its few effective scenes, particularly the intense dinner-meets-torture one. Expand
  3. Daniel
    Sep 8, 2007
    10
    One of the most underrated movies so far this year.. This is Forman at his best. Wonderful cinematography, superb acting. A must seen.
  4. AdamM.
    Dec 18, 2007
    10
    Very good film! It's really great, I remember it still, and I cannot forget about it.
  5. SteveT.
    Oct 31, 2007
    8
    The film doesn't deserve some of the negative reviews. The production design and sound design are Oscar-worthy, and Randy Quaid is delightful as the King.
  6. FredM.
    Aug 22, 2007
    9
    Except for some of the fictional liberties the film takes, this portrait of Goya - and the dark period of Spanish history he lived in - is brilliant. It is as if Goya himself was behind the camera. The acting, the staging, the cinematography, and all aspects of the movie are impeccable presenting the audience an intellectually and emotionally challenging spectacle. The madness of the Except for some of the fictional liberties the film takes, this portrait of Goya - and the dark period of Spanish history he lived in - is brilliant. It is as if Goya himself was behind the camera. The acting, the staging, the cinematography, and all aspects of the movie are impeccable presenting the audience an intellectually and emotionally challenging spectacle. The madness of the Spanish monarchy, the Inquisition, and the Napoleonic Wars all reflected in Goya's art become a haunting and unforgettable cinematic vision. Expand
  7. AllaK.
    Apr 23, 2008
    9
    Great movie, showing a true religious ungodly times.
  8. TonyTony
    Oct 24, 2008
    9
    Superb acting From Skarsgard and Bardem. Some of the best so far from Portman. A very nice period piece.
  9. Apr 5, 2012
    7
    A pretty decent film! Not without flaws, but I have had a great time watching this movie! Perhaps, what doesn't help for people to enjoy it as much as they could is reading too many negative reviews. Personally, I don't think this film was particularly messy, but I do think some people are just unable to follow movies which plot is a bit more complex than the average..(sorry the honesty).A pretty decent film! Not without flaws, but I have had a great time watching this movie! Perhaps, what doesn't help for people to enjoy it as much as they could is reading too many negative reviews. Personally, I don't think this film was particularly messy, but I do think some people are just unable to follow movies which plot is a bit more complex than the average..(sorry the honesty). Well done!...could have been better, but it was well done! Moreover, this film gives you a different perspective of both Napoleon Invasion and the Spanish Inquisition...which one do you think Spaniards thought was worse? (not only what they thought back then, but what they think about those days in present times? This movie, subtlely, brings this question to the surface, although I believe it was always there...) not an easy answer, I bet! Watch the movie and you will understand what I mean! Expand
  10. Jul 5, 2013
    2
    Oh no...not what I expected from Forman. This film was DULL. The acting was good, but there is so much an actor can do when the character they are given to play is not developed properly the characters were more like caricatures, very 2D. You really could not fell for any of them! No feelings of empathy for the tortured innocent, no sense of anger for the evil egomaniac who always getsOh no...not what I expected from Forman. This film was DULL. The acting was good, but there is so much an actor can do when the character they are given to play is not developed properly the characters were more like caricatures, very 2D. You really could not fell for any of them! No feelings of empathy for the tortured innocent, no sense of anger for the evil egomaniac who always gets away with it. Nothing. The only "feeling" you get from this film is from it's ending it's the felling of relief that the film is finally over Expand
  11. Jul 30, 2013
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. A beautiful, unusual film. The real protagonist is the world around Goya, represented in a masterly way. Some characters are anachronistic, but the message is strong: fanaticism exists also behind great ideals. Behind "Libertè, égalitè, fraternitè" are mere men, not so different than their enemies. There are two scenes I liked particularly: one when the hen raise its head after the cannon shot. It's a brilliant idea, I think. And another when three bloody scenes are shown while the narrator says"Libertè, égalitè, fraternitè", to communicate the message I told before. The plot itself is nothing special: Goya is mainly an observer, Ines is always a victim. Lorenzo represents fanaticism and hypocrisy: although he seems a new good man, he doesn't help Ines, in a worse way than how he didn't help her before. Not simply by inaction as before: this communicates that the new man is perhaps worse than before, and strengthens the conviction that people can't change, but only get worse. The plot may seem inconsistent, but it's actually very important: representing the history wouldn't be enough without someone close to the observer. It would be like explaining something without an example. A inattentive observer could look at the mere plot and consider this a bad-done film. But behind a simple plot there's an important message that makes you reflect. Expand
Metascore
52

Mixed or average reviews - based on 25 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 25
  2. Negative: 3 out of 25
  1. 70
    Ambitious script is stranded between entertainment and intellectualism, leaving us with a magnificent folly, thoroughly watchable for its visuals but ultimately hollow.
  2. 50
    The movie is uneven in the extreme, to the extent that it feels like two imperfectly wed pictures. The first, while not extraordinary, at least contains some interesting ideas. The second borders on embarrassing: an overblown melodrama complete with coincidence building upon coincidence and plot threads that are left unresolved.
  3. Reviewed by: Charles Petersen
    50
    The film takes as many plot-twists as "Pirates of the Caribbean"; distinctly Goya in its emphasis on the grotesque, it shows none of the Spaniard's artistic economy.