Samuel Goldwyn Company, The | Release Date: July 20, 2007
6.7
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 35 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
21
Mixed:
11
Negative:
3
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Expand
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
DanielSep 8, 2007
One of the most underrated movies so far this year.. This is Forman at his best. Wonderful cinematography, superb acting. A must seen.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AdamM.Dec 18, 2007
Very good film! It's really great, I remember it still, and I cannot forget about it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
SteveT.Oct 31, 2007
The film doesn't deserve some of the negative reviews. The production design and sound design are Oscar-worthy, and Randy Quaid is delightful as the King.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
FredM.Aug 22, 2007
Except for some of the fictional liberties the film takes, this portrait of Goya - and the dark period of Spanish history he lived in - is brilliant. It is as if Goya himself was behind the camera. The acting, the staging, the Except for some of the fictional liberties the film takes, this portrait of Goya - and the dark period of Spanish history he lived in - is brilliant. It is as if Goya himself was behind the camera. The acting, the staging, the cinematography, and all aspects of the movie are impeccable presenting the audience an intellectually and emotionally challenging spectacle. The madness of the Spanish monarchy, the Inquisition, and the Napoleonic Wars all reflected in Goya's art become a haunting and unforgettable cinematic vision. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AllaK.Apr 23, 2008
Great movie, showing a true religious ungodly times.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TonyTonyOct 24, 2008
Superb acting From Skarsgard and Bardem. Some of the best so far from Portman. A very nice period piece.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
RegOzApr 5, 2012
A pretty decent film! Not without flaws, but I have had a great time watching this movie! Perhaps, what doesn't help for people to enjoy it as much as they could is reading too many negative reviews. Personally, I don't think this film wasA pretty decent film! Not without flaws, but I have had a great time watching this movie! Perhaps, what doesn't help for people to enjoy it as much as they could is reading too many negative reviews. Personally, I don't think this film was particularly messy, but I do think some people are just unable to follow movies which plot is a bit more complex than the average..(sorry the honesty). Well done!...could have been better, but it was well done! Moreover, this film gives you a different perspective of both Napoleon Invasion and the Spanish Inquisition...which one do you think Spaniards thought was worse? (not only what they thought back then, but what they think about those days in present times? This movie, subtlely, brings this question to the surface, although I believe it was always there...) not an easy answer, I bet! Watch the movie and you will understand what I mean! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
PhenorJul 30, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. A beautiful, unusual film. The real protagonist is the world around Goya, represented in a masterly way. Some characters are anachronistic, but the message is strong: fanaticism exists also behind great ideals. Behind "Libertè, égalitè, fraternitè" are mere men, not so different than their enemies. There are two scenes I liked particularly: one when the hen raise its head after the cannon shot. It's a brilliant idea, I think. And another when three bloody scenes are shown while the narrator says"Libertè, égalitè, fraternitè", to communicate the message I told before. The plot itself is nothing special: Goya is mainly an observer, Ines is always a victim. Lorenzo represents fanaticism and hypocrisy: although he seems a new good man, he doesn't help Ines, in a worse way than how he didn't help her before. Not simply by inaction as before: this communicates that the new man is perhaps worse than before, and strengthens the conviction that people can't change, but only get worse. The plot may seem inconsistent, but it's actually very important: representing the history wouldn't be enough without someone close to the observer. It would be like explaining something without an example. A inattentive observer could look at the mere plot and consider this a bad-done film. But behind a simple plot there's an important message that makes you reflect. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews