Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 13 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 8 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Watch On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. Reviewed by: Gary Goldstein
    Apr 25, 2013
    90
    Graceland is a tense, twisty cinematic artichoke brimming with moral complexity and intriguing shades of gray.
  2. Reviewed by: Jeannette Catsoulis
    Apr 25, 2013
    90
    Even while embracing the breathless beats of the crime thriller, Graceland holds tight to its concern for exploited children.
  3. Reviewed by: Farran Smith Nehme
    Apr 26, 2013
    88
    Morales’ spin on the old ransom plot is fresher and more gripping than most big-budget Hollywood products.
  4. Reviewed by: Justin Lowe
    Apr 30, 2013
    80
    The spare, tightly wound narrative ultimately turns on the hard-eyed, relentless efficacy of the plot, as well as the certainty of Reyes’ performance.
  5. Reviewed by: Adam Nayman
    May 10, 2013
    75
    The overwhelming sense of physical and moral decay could be taken for social commentary, and if Graceland has a flaw, it’s that Morales gradually starts to overstate his case as the movie goes on.
  6. Reviewed by: Bill Stamets
    May 2, 2013
    75
    Morales trafficks in familiar formulas of an everyman in a bind with evil men. What sets Graceland apart are the conflicted values of its characters.
  7. Reviewed by: Ernest Hardy
    Apr 23, 2013
    40
    Striking the right balance between interior and exterior can mean the difference between compelling drama and accidental melodrama. Writer-director Ron Morales just misses equilibrium in the visually arresting Filipino thriller Graceland.

See all 13 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 3
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 3
  3. Negative: 1 out of 3
  1. May 23, 2013
    9
    Finally, a Filipino movie that doesn't glorify gangsters with cheesy action sequences using 1970s camera technology; where the hero is notFinally, a Filipino movie that doesn't glorify gangsters with cheesy action sequences using 1970s camera technology; where the hero is not some guy with nice hair, a lit cigarette, and a couple of side arms; where drama is not expressed by the level of shrieking dialogue performed by actresses playing the part of grieving mothers and wives. No. The drama is revealed in the character expressions more than their scripted lines. The setting is as dark as the story being told, and points to a REAL PROBLEM in the human trafficking underworld. This movie delivers a solid plot with unexpected twists and keeps you guessing until the end. Plus, it's always nice to have new or upcoming actors to help us Pinoys get out of the dark ages of movie-making, and start competing on an international scale. Expand
  2. May 28, 2013
    3
    Terrible acting. I really thought this was a Mexican film, but I guess I really don't know my Spanish like I used to. Nothing in this isTerrible acting. I really thought this was a Mexican film, but I guess I really don't know my Spanish like I used to. Nothing in this is believable and it reads like a student film from a country just discovering motion pictures. Collapse

See all 3 User Reviews

Trailers