Warner Bros. Pictures | Release Date: December 12, 2008
7.8
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 695 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
563
Mixed:
58
Negative:
74
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
BRizzaJan 17, 2009
Saw it last night with my wife (both of us Asian btw) & we thoroughly enjoyed it. Action, comedy, drama, etc... This movie had it all & Eastwood shined as a retired "Gunny Highway"-like with a touch of "Bill Munny" retired Ford employee. If Saw it last night with my wife (both of us Asian btw) & we thoroughly enjoyed it. Action, comedy, drama, etc... This movie had it all & Eastwood shined as a retired "Gunny Highway"-like with a touch of "Bill Munny" retired Ford employee. If you're wondering why I quoted the fact that we are both Asian, yet we STILL enjoyed it, WATCH THE MOVIE. Awesome flick... Eastwood is the F'n MAN! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
terrinJan 17, 2009
This was a really good story...you can see how this happens in the neighborhood, and each neighborhood has its own character,like clint, who do not like change. as for his family...this is so true, kids nowhere to be found, neighbors turning This was a really good story...you can see how this happens in the neighborhood, and each neighborhood has its own character,like clint, who do not like change. as for his family...this is so true, kids nowhere to be found, neighbors turning into family...i really liked this story, found it totally believable, could see it happening to immigrants...thank god clint stood up....WE NEED MORE CLINTS IN THIS WORLD. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
stevehJan 17, 2009
The best movie I've seen in a long time. It was reality.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
HenryG.Jan 19, 2009
I thought this movie was fantastic. Last year, when the Dark Knight came out, everybody loved, except for me. I feel about this move the way everybody else felt about the Dark Knight last year. The only bad thing about this movie was the I thought this movie was fantastic. Last year, when the Dark Knight came out, everybody loved, except for me. I feel about this move the way everybody else felt about the Dark Knight last year. The only bad thing about this movie was the ending kind of upset me. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DaveCaldwellJan 21, 2009
A nice film, nice to see Clint still acting rather than just directing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MarkBayerJan 22, 2009
Forget CBS's ill-conceived TV spinoff Archie Bunker's Place; this movie REALLY delivers the scoop on how Archie endured the loss of his beloved Edith. Grizzled, beyond-curmudgeonly, and emotionally haunted Korean War vet and retireeForget CBS's ill-conceived TV spinoff Archie Bunker's Place; this movie REALLY delivers the scoop on how Archie endured the loss of his beloved Edith. Grizzled, beyond-curmudgeonly, and emotionally haunted Korean War vet and retiree Walt (don't call him Wally) Kowalski (Clint Eastwood) deals with his very recent widowerhood by increasing his Pabst Blue Ribbon Beer intake and growling (literally) far more often than his dog Daisy does. With characteristic spareness, efficiency and (mostly) unsentimentality, Eastwood as actor and director shows us how the Asian family next door (and those all down the block) help Walt to...well, if not quite warm up, then at least thaw out. When Thao, a sweet but fatherless and directionless kid is pressured into trying to steal Walt's beloved 1970s title vehicle as part of a gang initiation, Walt gets more involved than he would have normally chosen, learns that Tsingtao may be a tastier brew than Pabst, finds a family that's thicker than the one he's related to by blood, and expands the meaning of the sports and business cliche "taking one for the team". While Walt isn't shy in his use of racial/ethnic slurs (his output rivals that of Norman Wexler's screenplays for Joe, Mandingo and Drum combined!) the guy's impossible to dislike...he's not that far removed from Dirty Harry Callahan, who informed his Hispanic partner that of all the minorities he hated, he ESPECIALLY despised "spics"...but said so with the slightest of winks, and later treated his partner and wife with exceptional kindness when Chico was seriously injured on duty. But then, it's entirely fitting that this hugely entertaining, satisfying tale of a recluse's re-entry into the human race should feature Eastwood's ostensibly final on-screen appearance; while the performance is at times as broad and self-parodistic as John Wayne's Oscar-winning turn as Rooster Cogburn, it also represents the final steps in Eastwood's highly conscious and deliberate re-invention of his movie persona. Pauline Kael (never a fan, or even close) commented in the 1970s that Eastwood's success proved that you didn't have to be a nice guy to be a screen hero, and his early stardom proves it: The Man With No Name in his Leone Westernswas so exclusively self-centered and mercenary that only in the last of them, The Good, the Bad and the Ugly, did he perform his only unselfish act (offering a dying soldier a smoke); in Coogan's Bluff he pushed some poor guy off his motorcycle and stole it; in The Eiger Sanction he remorselessly engineered the deaths of several innocents; in High Plains Drifter he commits rape and near-rape (had roofies been available in the Old West, he would've slipped Verna Bloom one), and the list goes on. Moviegoers and critics trace the beginning of Eastwood's turnaround with 1992's Unforgiven, which seriously examines and questions the violence that Eastwood seemingly perpetuated and stood for in his earlier films, but it went back seven years earlier with Pale Rider, in which Eastwood played a homiletic, Shane-like preacher (!!) who TURNS DOWN two sexual invitations. In Gran Torino's third act, Eastwood's Walt both considers the wisdom (or lack of it) of unrestrained revenge (as opposed to legitimate self-defense) and embraces truly generous behavior, which reflects flatteringly on the star and director; there's something genuinely touching about the sincerity with which Eastwood has been trying in the last half of his career to reinvent the image he created in the first. Then, too, Gran Torino is the perfect film for this time in our political and cultural history: it's been aptly described as "the first Barack Obama movie", and it speaks well for our country's newly-found inclusiveness that it comes to us from a Republican. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MarkB.Jan 22, 2009
Another finely crafted Eastwood movie full of meaning where no scene is wasted.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
HamishA.Jan 24, 2009
It's most definitely going to be one of the best movies of 2009. A very heartwarming movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JC.Jan 25, 2009
Am I the only one who thought this movie was completely jokes? like seriously, it was just clint eastwood saying really racist shit all the time. there were scenes where he simply growled and otherrs where he just listed racist terms for Am I the only one who thought this movie was completely jokes? like seriously, it was just clint eastwood saying really racist shit all the time. there were scenes where he simply growled and otherrs where he just listed racist terms for asians. one scene in particular struck me as completely ridiculous, the one where the black guys are talking shit to the asian girl and the white dude, it has no importance to the storyline or advancement of the plot, he just needed to get every race in his rampage of racism. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SamuelW.Jan 26, 2009
fitting that the clueless hollywood crowd snubbed this masterpiece about self sacrifice, redemption, what it means to be an American, family, aging, respect, and living a meaningful and good life, and fixing things for eternity.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LindaH.Jan 28, 2009
This movie was like visiting an old friend. Clint Eastwood was great; I wish he could get an Oscar. The Hmong characters were marvelous and moving. Although I guessed the ending before it came, it was the right ending and satisfying to the This movie was like visiting an old friend. Clint Eastwood was great; I wish he could get an Oscar. The Hmong characters were marvelous and moving. Although I guessed the ending before it came, it was the right ending and satisfying to the character development. If you ever loved any Eastwood movie you should go to this one. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JillL.Jan 29, 2009
Although the movie had it's flaws, it gave me a lot to think about. Imagine, a guy whom you think is a racist, really isn't (a guy whose actions speak louder than words). It speaks to the adversity and lack of freedom people face Although the movie had it's flaws, it gave me a lot to think about. Imagine, a guy whom you think is a racist, really isn't (a guy whose actions speak louder than words). It speaks to the adversity and lack of freedom people face because of crime. This movie was charming, funny, suspenseful and smart all at the same time. No wonder Hollywood didn't give it any awards-- it had morality! It spoke of such un-Hollywood themes as the importance of toughness and learning to take care of yourself and others and how to think with your head and not your emotions. Would like to see this movie show in high schools with plenty of discussion time allowed. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DarylP.Jan 31, 2009
Two words "Eastwood Delivers!". Put simply, they dont make superior movies like this anymore. All the bits about racism is a heap of crap. It is a part of the plot, a self-obstacle that the main character has to come to grips with. The whole Two words "Eastwood Delivers!". Put simply, they dont make superior movies like this anymore. All the bits about racism is a heap of crap. It is a part of the plot, a self-obstacle that the main character has to come to grips with. The whole point of the story is to show how the most hated character evolves into the hero! It shows how a man slowly overcomes his fears, and regrets instead of continually using them on others. This movie isn't about an old dog learning new tricks, its about an old dog trying to teach a newer generation an important lesson. This movie conserves a great deal of American values, that the current media and society have long since been trying to do away with. Id give it a higher ranking but 10 is all i have to work with. Clint eastwoods best by far. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AlS.Jan 4, 2009
Funniest movie of the year by far, and that's not to take away from the quality of it, all in all a great film, Eastwood is perfect, between him and Ledger, best performances of the year
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NickFeb 10, 2009
This movie has some actual substance to it unlike a lot of modern films. It is funny, and moving at the same time, so all I have to say to the reviewer from the Baltimore Sun is that u wouldnt know a good movie any more than you know ur ass This movie has some actual substance to it unlike a lot of modern films. It is funny, and moving at the same time, so all I have to say to the reviewer from the Baltimore Sun is that u wouldnt know a good movie any more than you know ur ass from a hole in the ground. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
davidlFeb 1, 2009
Fantastic film, powerful and very moving. Incredible how it could have garnered no academy nominations. Just shows hows skewed the academy voting process is. This is one of the best films of the year.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JasonDeatherageFeb 14, 2009
I felt that this was a very powerful film. I was shocked that it was not nominated for best picture or even best actor. I hate the way that the Academy always misses the mark on films. I do not think that it would of won but it should of I felt that this was a very powerful film. I was shocked that it was not nominated for best picture or even best actor. I hate the way that the Academy always misses the mark on films. I do not think that it would of won but it should of been nominated. I like the role that Eastwood played in the film. It was very well directed and the story was well told. All of the actors did a great job. I would recommend this to anyone. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RichardGFeb 2, 2009
Good movie. It is fantastic in every way as it will you a good mark on your life.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JayRFeb 26, 2009
While it was a strong performance from Clint Eastwood as well as a solid direction, the movie just seemed to fall over time. When he begins the interact with his neighbors it starts out well but then leads into a cheeseball movie. The boy While it was a strong performance from Clint Eastwood as well as a solid direction, the movie just seemed to fall over time. When he begins the interact with his neighbors it starts out well but then leads into a cheeseball movie. The boy "toad" acted horribly and was very unconvincing as well as the rest of his family as well as the gangsters and the young preacher. But in entirety the moral of the story is a strong and good one. If only it could have been played out better. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JohnU.Feb 8, 2009
Terrific entertainment. Clint Eastwood deserved recognition from the Academy for this one.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
JeremyBMar 15, 2009
Take Clint Eastwood out of the picture and it crumbles on itself. But ultimately it's really just an update of the Karate Kid in reverse, with a little more violence.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
TerrenceM.Mar 28, 2009
Very well realized and believable characters made this film's portray on er, gangster US enjoyable and not cringe worthy like many other film's pretentious 'dis be real' take on the urban underbelly. Clint Eastwood does a Very well realized and believable characters made this film's portray on er, gangster US enjoyable and not cringe worthy like many other film's pretentious 'dis be real' take on the urban underbelly. Clint Eastwood does a great job of getting across the tough guy persona even at his age of 82! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JohnM.Mar 4, 2009
This film packs the biggest emotional pay-off of the season. The ending is beautiful and deeply satisfying. So are the photography and music. The acting by the amateur cast seems out of kilter at first, but finally it all comes together and This film packs the biggest emotional pay-off of the season. The ending is beautiful and deeply satisfying. So are the photography and music. The acting by the amateur cast seems out of kilter at first, but finally it all comes together and convinces. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BradleyC.Mar 7, 2009
I liked it, but it wasnt worth the hype. he has done a good movie. but the asian actors...AAAARG! thao totally cannot act. what were they thinking
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DanRMay 1, 2009
This is one of the best movies from 2008, a true masterpiece. I went in expecting a where eagles dear like movie but feel in love with this movie. 10 outa 10
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JonathanWMay 16, 2009
Brilliant. Dark and disturbing, but with hope and redemption to turn the tide... Nobody could have played this character like Clint.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BojanaMJun 14, 2009
generally good movie. mr eastwood is basicly in his same mood as beforewith the same style. but hey, it's clint eastwood :) the story itself is very realistic but yet, poorly done- turn out too naive till the end when you acctually generally good movie. mr eastwood is basicly in his same mood as beforewith the same style. but hey, it's clint eastwood :) the story itself is very realistic but yet, poorly done- turn out too naive till the end when you acctually change your mind. I gve it an 8 only couse of the poorly built characters but still, it's a good movie and everyone should watch it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BMJun 15, 2009
Wow, what an impact this movie made. I'm from tehj area where it was filmed, so that made it even more enjoyable. Fantastic film and not one easily forgotten.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ShaneSJun 16, 2009
This movie was really underated by the oscars, Clint Eastwood is at his best here make no mistake. He still, (as though it were a refined art), pulls off being a gritty, hardcore, don't-mess-around-with-me kind of a guy even though This movie was really underated by the oscars, Clint Eastwood is at his best here make no mistake. He still, (as though it were a refined art), pulls off being a gritty, hardcore, don't-mess-around-with-me kind of a guy even though he's like in his eighties. This movie brings the persona, that is Clint Eastwood, to a whole new level, with some smart humor and a great supporting cast. I highly recommend this film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
BrianT.Jun 21, 2009
Not really sure how to rate this movie. clint eastwood was a ten, the plot/script was decent, but many members of the supporting cast were abysmal. bad enough to distract and ruin (?) the movie. i guess i would recommend the movie but only Not really sure how to rate this movie. clint eastwood was a ten, the plot/script was decent, but many members of the supporting cast were abysmal. bad enough to distract and ruin (?) the movie. i guess i would recommend the movie but only to enjoy clint eastwood - he really was that good. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JohnTJul 21, 2009
I'm having a hard time deciding on how I feel about this movie. Eastwood did an incredible job on many fronts. But, as a lot of people have said, the supporting cast was very weak. Their acting was nearly cringe-worthy at times. I'm having a hard time deciding on how I feel about this movie. Eastwood did an incredible job on many fronts. But, as a lot of people have said, the supporting cast was very weak. Their acting was nearly cringe-worthy at times. I'm a huge stickler for bad acting/dialogue but this movie was strange for the very reason that I actually sat through the whole thing and thoroughly enjoyed it despite all the awkward acting.. it was still, in many ways, very affecting and compelling... somehow. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PhilipFJul 8, 2009
I would be surprised if this is not Film of the Year. Superb story and acting with Eastwood getting better in old age, both as actor and director.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JohnT.Dec 12, 2008
Finally Eastwood has make his masterpiece, funny, gritty and loving
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ArnoldP.Dec 12, 2008
A perfect old fashioned tale of morality told beautifully with wit and wisdom by Eastwood. Terrific dialogue, tugs at the funny bone and your heart. It is a story for America today and the changing face of this country. The Hmong cast is up A perfect old fashioned tale of morality told beautifully with wit and wisdom by Eastwood. Terrific dialogue, tugs at the funny bone and your heart. It is a story for America today and the changing face of this country. The Hmong cast is up to the task to match the great Eastwood performance. A must see. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MarkF.Dec 13, 2008
I expected another good Eastwood film. I also expected perhaps a little more from him on screen as likely he knows this is his last time as a leading actor. Yet I was blown away. I will see this film again. The ending has to be seen, it is I expected another good Eastwood film. I also expected perhaps a little more from him on screen as likely he knows this is his last time as a leading actor. Yet I was blown away. I will see this film again. The ending has to be seen, it is amazing as cinema. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ColinG.Dec 15, 2008
This is the kind of film that gets better with repeated viewings. That's not to say it wasn't great the first time I watched it. There's just a subtlety in the pacing to this film that is deceptive. You almost don't This is the kind of film that gets better with repeated viewings. That's not to say it wasn't great the first time I watched it. There's just a subtlety in the pacing to this film that is deceptive. You almost don't realize how much is really going on in a scene until you take a step back. This is Eastwood's gift as a director. I hope he does a lot more before he actually means it when he says "retired." Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PhilDec 18, 2008
Once again Clint Eastwood has delivered a great movie. Emotional and sometimes funny but Gran Torino is a film you won't soon forget.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JohnW.Dec 22, 2008
The story is nothing shy of cliche, but the direction, and Eastwood's grunting performance are remarkable.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RichardW.Dec 26, 2008
A movie of stratling clarity, Eastwood at his absolute best -- as actor, director and as part of an unique ensemble. Top 10 2008 for sure.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
Steve-ODec 29, 2008
A solid, in your face look at how the ills of modern society can turn an otherwise respecting person into monsters. The film was real from both the perspective of Eastwood and the Hmong actors. It takes on the cultural divide and gives it a A solid, in your face look at how the ills of modern society can turn an otherwise respecting person into monsters. The film was real from both the perspective of Eastwood and the Hmong actors. It takes on the cultural divide and gives it a harmony to Eastwood's being at peace with himself. Pay attention though because the subtle clues to the film's climax are worth catching to complete this touching yet realistic views of life's cultures, and divisions, as well as a celebration of its unity. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DennisF.Jan 11, 2009
Clint Eastwood never fails to suprise me. He has turned into one of the finest actor/director of my lifetime. True the movie is at times over the top, but I loved it and will see it again.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
MartinS.Jan 11, 2009
I found it sappy and unrealistic. Eastwood makes a great crumudgeon but the dialogue simply didn't ring true. Also Bee Vang (Thao) could use a few acting lessons. Audible laughter could be heard during his attempts anger and outrage.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BitBurnJan 11, 2009
This is Eastwood at his best; proves he still has it. It's not Dirty Harry but still worthy of an Oscar!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
HyperSJan 12, 2009
Background: I was hesitant going into the film because I'm more of a pointless action/special effects junkie when it comes to movies. I also haven't watched many if any Clint Eastwood movies so I'm not bias in any way. That Background: I was hesitant going into the film because I'm more of a pointless action/special effects junkie when it comes to movies. I also haven't watched many if any Clint Eastwood movies so I'm not bias in any way. That said I greatly enjoyed this film. I laughed in a Grumpy Old Men sort of way, I felt for Clint as a lonely war vet, and even *cough* cried at the unusual ending. I thought all the acting was great except for some parts of the young boy, especially when he was locked in the basement screaming unconvincingly. I'll gladly watch this movie again. Solid 9. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
CharlieR.Jan 12, 2009
Very Good.... One of the Best, Eastwood at his best. A believable story without all the special effects that are so common these days that are not at all real, this was real in today's modern American life. With a very surprising ending.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
PaulT.Jan 12, 2009
Very funny at times, very strange and over acted at others. Not Eastwood's best.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
christianWJan 12, 2009
Amazing film. I cried for half an hour which surprised people because Im 6 foot 1 and 95kg. Also the highest score Ive ever given in a review (4 and a half stars). Eastwood = God.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PisethLJan 12, 2009
One of the best movies for a long time! Everyone can relate to it!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
LawrenceP.Jan 12, 2009
A gruff but good-hearted member of the "great generation" lives next door to a plucky girl, her low self esteem brother, her comedic grandmother and invisible mother. Clint Eastwood has outdone himself - I thought "Heartbreak Ridge" had the A gruff but good-hearted member of the "great generation" lives next door to a plucky girl, her low self esteem brother, her comedic grandmother and invisible mother. Clint Eastwood has outdone himself - I thought "Heartbreak Ridge" had the maximum of two dimensional characters acting or speaking more time worn cliches - I was wrong. Actually there really weren't any characters only broadly drawn caricatures. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
DavidVJan 14, 2009
This is a good movie to watch from blockbuster or PPV, but I wouldn't pay for it at the theater. The story and the movie is solid, but the problem is that we see this time and time again. It is the same movie where you get the racist This is a good movie to watch from blockbuster or PPV, but I wouldn't pay for it at the theater. The story and the movie is solid, but the problem is that we see this time and time again. It is the same movie where you get the racist guy. Something happens in his life. He stops being racist. Then he does wonderful things for the people he once hated. Who didn't see that coming? This is nothing new. Everything that people expected to happen, happens. We've seen this same thing repackaged year after year. This is how Crash got to be best picture. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
LukeTheDukeJan 14, 2009
Should have been better. This was a weak plot, with weak writing and weak casting. What could have been a great film ended up only mediocre. Lots of continuity drift and unfocused story telling and editing. I expected more, especially from Should have been better. This was a weak plot, with weak writing and weak casting. What could have been a great film ended up only mediocre. Lots of continuity drift and unfocused story telling and editing. I expected more, especially from all the strong reviews. 8.5?? Hardly. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
williamCJan 16, 2009
Very watchable, but I kept seeing parallels between this film and John Waynes final film The Shootist.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AaronJan 19, 2009
I went to this not knowing anything about the movie. I was captivated from beginning to end. This movie makes you feel every emotion. Yes the young Hmong actor's performance leaves something to be desired. Clint was amazing. Best movie I went to this not knowing anything about the movie. I was captivated from beginning to end. This movie makes you feel every emotion. Yes the young Hmong actor's performance leaves something to be desired. Clint was amazing. Best movie I have seen in a decade! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DanesG.Jan 29, 2009
A great encore to, "Million Dollar Baby." It's difficult to create real characters, real life scenarios, real conflict, and real suspension of disbelief in the 90 minutes Hollywood allows. But Eastwood does without car crashes, car A great encore to, "Million Dollar Baby." It's difficult to create real characters, real life scenarios, real conflict, and real suspension of disbelief in the 90 minutes Hollywood allows. But Eastwood does without car crashes, car chases, explosions or gratuitios violence. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
I.M.MorgusJan 31, 2009
Good, sad and somber.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MattBFeb 15, 2009
Normally I do not use the 10 rating, but I make an exception for this movie. The trailer had me skeptical, but the movie was superb. There was a stunning performance by Clint Eastwood, who made his character come to life, not like your Normally I do not use the 10 rating, but I make an exception for this movie. The trailer had me skeptical, but the movie was superb. There was a stunning performance by Clint Eastwood, who made his character come to life, not like your average run of the mill holywood acting. And the other actors did very good as well. The movie touches up on a lot of humor, most of it racially based, which made the movie that much funnier. The director sure as hell wasn't worried about politically correct crap for sure. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SCFeb 15, 2009
Haven't even seen this one yet, but I will tomorrow (my first chance for a crowd-free monday afternoon flick in a while). If Michael Sragow says "no", I say "YES"! Always. Jeez, Mike, don't you have any friends to remind you that Haven't even seen this one yet, but I will tomorrow (my first chance for a crowd-free monday afternoon flick in a while). If Michael Sragow says "no", I say "YES"! Always. Jeez, Mike, don't you have any friends to remind you that cynicism and self-absorbed vocabulary are no substitute for intelligence and good taste? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MrMeFeb 21, 2009
This was the funniest film I've seen in ages, though perhaps for the wrong reasons. There's a lot of excellent acting in this film. Clint Eastwood plays the role of a racist old fart perfectly. Really enjoyable film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
LyleSMar 15, 2009
Besides Eastwood's own performance, the acting in the movie was pretty forced.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
judybApr 22, 2009
I agree with one critic; it felt like a farewell performance. And a memorable one! Fortunately, we have enough incarnations of Eastwood on film that we'll never have to do without. I commend Eastwood's time to educate the public, I agree with one critic; it felt like a farewell performance. And a memorable one! Fortunately, we have enough incarnations of Eastwood on film that we'll never have to do without. I commend Eastwood's time to educate the public, as always, this time about a complex and misunderstood minority culture. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
EliasCJun 11, 2009
It is amusing that a film about ethnic differences and acceptance is promoted in recent TV spots as an elderly version of 'Dirty Harry'. Perhaps that was what was wrong with the reception of this film when it was first released. A It is amusing that a film about ethnic differences and acceptance is promoted in recent TV spots as an elderly version of 'Dirty Harry'. Perhaps that was what was wrong with the reception of this film when it was first released. A thoughtful and superior effort by Clint Eastwood proves once again what a great director he is. It is criminal that this film was passed up for Academy recognition in favor of a few lesser nominated works. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JosephineBJun 12, 2009
Good message. Like how the aging Clint Eastwood's character develops and changers his out-moded perceptions about minorities. We're all human. Most of us are decent, hard-working, intelligent people while a few of us just plain old Good message. Like how the aging Clint Eastwood's character develops and changers his out-moded perceptions about minorities. We're all human. Most of us are decent, hard-working, intelligent people while a few of us just plain old suck and do nothing but reflect badly on the human race. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
StuartW.Jun 24, 2009
Clint Eastwood isn't getting any younger and maybe it's this reason why he has directd and starred in four films in two years. All of which have been excellent and have won numerous awards. I have to admit that i am a softy, in Clint Eastwood isn't getting any younger and maybe it's this reason why he has directd and starred in four films in two years. All of which have been excellent and have won numerous awards. I have to admit that i am a softy, in this film i was howling with laughter one moment and in tears the next. Surely this must be Eastwood's finest acting moment. It's intriging and heartbraking at the same time. Eastwood acts a certain way and he does it very well and at times Dirty Harry rears his head. But the passion of his character shines through every minute he is on film. I wanted to tell people to ignore the Scandalous review of the baltimore sun. That reviewer deserves the immediate sack. Whether you are sentimental or not the film easily merits at least an 8. For me, it's one of the best films i've seen in years and i hope it goes down as a classic. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DouglasL.Dec 13, 2008
Just Great... Clint's Best
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
EmilioD.Dec 17, 2008
Surprisingly funny. I really enjoyed it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
ERG1008Dec 17, 2010
Ex-war veteran, wife dies, hates everyone & everything, Korean neighbours, son in with gang, son tries to steal war veteran's prize car, takes young Korean under his wing.
Nicely played out but very predictable affair & with Clint as good as
Ex-war veteran, wife dies, hates everyone & everything, Korean neighbours, son in with gang, son tries to steal war veteran's prize car, takes young Korean under his wing.
Nicely played out but very predictable affair & with Clint as good as ever.
It very much follows a formula with the master/pupil route & is quite heart warming but also very brutal along the way.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
JacobApr 21, 2014
Eastwood's performance and character are excellent. I love the relationship between his character and the boy. Well shot good morals. Just a well made film. Should have higher critical praise than it does.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
FlapjackOct 22, 2010
I get the impression that this would be Dirty Harry if he was older. Which is brilliant, because it's funny, simple, short and sweet. Great movie watching.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
TheQuietGamerMar 9, 2011
While a great movie with a deep emotional story and awesome characters, my only complaint is that it tries to be realistic but fails, in real life if an old man tried to act tough around anyone they would kick his ass and leave him for dead,While a great movie with a deep emotional story and awesome characters, my only complaint is that it tries to be realistic but fails, in real life if an old man tried to act tough around anyone they would kick his ass and leave him for dead, that aside it's a great movie that must be watched. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
PetrovitaFeb 24, 2012
A 6 for being decently good. Eastwood lives up to his acting aswell, he still has it in him (Atleast that time).
Story itself is slow at times, don't watch it for it's "action" as there hardly is any.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Khunter4382Jun 2, 2011
An Eastwood Tour de Force! The best performance of his career, followed closely by Unforgiven. This film is completely driven by Eastwood's performance, but unfortunately the supporting cast is especially weak, even bad at times. However,An Eastwood Tour de Force! The best performance of his career, followed closely by Unforgiven. This film is completely driven by Eastwood's performance, but unfortunately the supporting cast is especially weak, even bad at times. However, with such a robust character like Walt, you can't help but love this film only for his contribution. Too bad he was completely and utterly overlooked by the Academy. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
BobaFett666May 28, 2011
I love this movie. It's direct, simple and old fashioned. I don't even want to waste time writing about "Oh I liked this and that and blah blah". Just watch the film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
bigbosslunaJan 30, 2012
One great street gang film. It's funny. It's sad. It got great character. Clint is such a fascinating actor and his role is one of the best I have seen.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
ZilcellJun 14, 2012
Clint Eastwood's performance was very memorable here. With a great story and a fantastic moral that comes with it, its a tragic but very entertaining film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Jedi_JettsonApr 12, 2012
Clint Eastwood's work on imaging Asian culture and overcoming racism is surprisingly amusing. Its also surprisingly captivating on entering and overcoming racism against Asians and their cultures. The dialogue was also very impressive betweenClint Eastwood's work on imaging Asian culture and overcoming racism is surprisingly amusing. Its also surprisingly captivating on entering and overcoming racism against Asians and their cultures. The dialogue was also very impressive between protagonists and antagonists. Honestly, this should have received Academy Award-nominations for best picture and best director; Clint Eastwood. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
MetallicCriticDec 13, 2011
One of the most overrated films by audiences. I can see that this is going to be a favorite by males which is also one of my favorites. I don't think it's horrible I just think it's not as good as "ordinary" people make it out to be. It hasOne of the most overrated films by audiences. I can see that this is going to be a favorite by males which is also one of my favorites. I don't think it's horrible I just think it's not as good as "ordinary" people make it out to be. It has some of the worst acting I ever seen by Bee Vang. It's his first role ever and possibly his last. He would never show emotion or pronounce his words correctly. Clint Eastwood should have seen that his performance was lacking. That being said this was not Eastwood's best. The writing was good especially with all the bad language. The writing benefited the plot build up leading to Walt giving his life for the family to be at peace. He also had to realize that wrong in his own racism. He basically had to leave all the haunted memories from the war by realizing what is wrong and right. He had to confess his sins which is what his wife wanted before he died. For all the guys that loved this film, it's seriously not as good as you think. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Mad_Hatter91Jan 17, 2013
Gran Torino is a dramatic film of 2008 directed by Clint Eastwood. The plot is about Walt Kowalski, Polish veteran of the Vietnam War and retired worker in a car factory, who lives in a neighborhood inhabited by Eastern that he did not lookGran Torino is a dramatic film of 2008 directed by Clint Eastwood. The plot is about Walt Kowalski, Polish veteran of the Vietnam War and retired worker in a car factory, who lives in a neighborhood inhabited by Eastern that he did not look kindly on. Especially his neighbors who have immigrated Hmong of Southeast Asia. But when a young group will begin to take it against them, Walt will have to come to their defense. The film manages to have a huge emotional impact on the viewer and also manages to make you laugh and cry at the same time. Fantastic interpretation of Clint Eastwood manages to make us know his character, grotesque but never overdo it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
RegOzApr 7, 2012
There is beauty in this movie, there is soul, and feeling. Clint Eastwood's performance is formidable! For those who argue that he is better as a director than an actor, I think here he proves that he can be great as both. I too, believe thatThere is beauty in this movie, there is soul, and feeling. Clint Eastwood's performance is formidable! For those who argue that he is better as a director than an actor, I think here he proves that he can be great as both. I too, believe that this movie is a solid 9, and I am disappointed about the fact that many didn't grasp the message of this movie. It is not a presumptuos film; on the opposite, it is simple, pleasurable, touching. It has character. It is not pompous; it is real, it is human, It is life. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
imthenoobSep 30, 2012
Critics got thsi film totally wrong. It was frecking amazin. Clint Eastwood gives an untouchable performance. This is one film that is definently worth watching.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
beingryanjudeAug 27, 2014
An interesting turn for Clint Eastwood, but a worthy, fresh film. Eastwood reminds us that he has not entirely abandoned his skills in acting (& apparently, singing, too). Gran Torino cuts deep--just as Clint wished.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
csw12Mar 31, 2012
Grand Torino is a wonderful movie. It is a film that speaks to the tensions humans face in the most significant way, and does so with such poise and audacity that the viewer can't help but adore.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Trev29Mar 31, 2012
A very good film, that evolves wonderfully with its story. It enticing to watch and is fearless in its script. Everybody was very good. I thought Clint should have won some kind of an award.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
RikiegeJan 24, 2013
This movie made ​​me very long, but when finished I thought about what he had seen, and I find it a great movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
cameronmorewoodNov 17, 2012
Eastwood's bracing and heart-wrenching human drama will get to you. The effect is overwhelming.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
YoursTrulyNov 21, 2012
Has Clint Eastwood played similar characters before? Yes. But with such mesmerizing abilities as a director, and a powerful hand at story telling...who cares? Underrated film. Great.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Compi24May 14, 2017
This old school, slow-burning drama manages to spin a delicate, quiet, and respectable yarn for its first two-thirds, offering up a slew of complicated characters, solid dramatic intrigue, and several healthy doses of irreverent humor in theThis old school, slow-burning drama manages to spin a delicate, quiet, and respectable yarn for its first two-thirds, offering up a slew of complicated characters, solid dramatic intrigue, and several healthy doses of irreverent humor in the process. But what first starts out as a seemingly basic, "going-of-age" mood piece eventually twists beautifully into a searing and poignant ethical study of redemption, sacrifice, and simply doing the right thing. In fact, get this - I actually had the unfortunate pleasure of having this movie's ending spoiled for me before finally seeing it. But, sure enough, even though I knew full well how things were going to come to a close, "Gran Torino's" emotional climax still got me. Right, square in "the feels," as they say. Just another one of the many reasons why Eastwood's eye for crowd-pleasing narratives ranks amongst the keenest in the biz. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
ThegodfathersonDec 7, 2013
Gran Torino is a movie you must see. The PC police will almost certainly lambaste it, attempt to dismiss it as clumsy and cry out in shock at Eastwood’s willingness to portray a man so filled with hate and intolerance. Spike Lee, afterGran Torino is a movie you must see. The PC police will almost certainly lambaste it, attempt to dismiss it as clumsy and cry out in shock at Eastwood’s willingness to portray a man so filled with hate and intolerance. Spike Lee, after publicly calling out Clint for leaving black men out of Flags of our Fathers, may have an actual coronary. Hey Spike, this time he’s surrounded himself with brown people and decided to scream ethnic slurs. Ignore the naysayers, they won’t be able to see past their own prejudices to what lies beneath. Gran Torino is smarter than it seems and it’s broader, funnier, and more straightforward than you’d expect. This is the Clint Eastwood we all remember in a perfect final performance. He’s riding off into the sunset scowling, snarling, and spitting blood. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
KozySauceAug 29, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Great film. Well acted and very powerful.

I read a user review on this site saying that the message this movie is sending is that the only way to defeat evil people is to let them kill you, and then they'll only spend a few years in prison. To the guy who wrote that review, all I have to say is... what? You do realize that all those guys are going to be found guilty of second degree murder right? That's life in prison, no exceptions. What did you expect to happen? Walt and Thao waltz on up to that house, go on an epic shooting rampage, kill everyone and then get away with it scot-free and everyone lives happily ever after? Clearly you've been watching too many Michael Bay films and also have no clue how the criminal justice system works. They shot Walt in cold blood, in clear view of neighbours. Even if nobody in the neighbourhood actually saw it, they all surely heard the gunshots. and Walt had no gun. Leaving Spider and his Gang the only ones who could have done the shooting. I think you need to look at the bigger picture here. Walt was nearing the end of his life. Over the course of the movie, he grew to care for Thao and his family. Once he found out that there were no witnesses to Sue's kidnapping and the members of the community refused to talk about anything related to Spider's gang, he knew it was the only way to ensure that Spider's gang would never harm Thao and his family ever again. So he spent his last moment doing something very courageous that not only saved Thao and his family but that whole community as well.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
KivaJun 11, 2013
That film was extraordinary. Drama and action combined perfectly. Clint Eastwood was magnificent. The plot perfect and what was going was crazy. Really liked the ending, was too moving for me.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
FesLatif1984Jun 17, 2013
cracking film, Clint Eastwood at his magnificent best. very emotional story and although i personally feel the ending could have been different the film will not fail to move you emotionally
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
SchnitzelPoofFeb 8, 2015
I didn't know what to expect when Gran Torino started, and it managed to surprise me several times throughout the film. The characters were interesting, likable, and show the writers know people quite well. Clint Eastwood's acting is superb,I didn't know what to expect when Gran Torino started, and it managed to surprise me several times throughout the film. The characters were interesting, likable, and show the writers know people quite well. Clint Eastwood's acting is superb, and manages to make you laugh even when the situation is very grim.
I didn't care much for the ending, but it's understandable, considering where they were going with the story.
Most importantly, though, it swims against the current, and manages to challenge some prevailing taboos of today's PC culture, showing that human relationships are more than skin deep.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
RayzorMooseNov 13, 2013
Gran Torino is gritty and gratuitous.
A great script with a well paced plot. The believability is essential and it elevates the movie. A really good picture all around.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
willkulkaNov 24, 2013
There comes a point when actors are too old to play even their signature roles. Unfortunately, Eastwood falls under the category, resulting in a somewhat cheesy and slow-moving plot line, yet satisfying ending.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
Longo12Feb 13, 2014
I found Clints acting to be good but a lot of the supporting characters not so good. I liked the movie but I did feel it starting to get slow in the middle. The ending was great and genuinely made me sad. Not his best but far from his worst.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Potarto72Dec 21, 2014
Gran Torino isn't all that groundbreaking or revolutionary, but it does offer a very gritty and uplifting story, with plenty of morals and character development to entertain Eastwood fans.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
chwJul 20, 2014
Gran Torino was such a great movie! Even though it's a Clint Eastwood directed film (meaning he usually directs the boring ones like J. Edgar and Jersey Boys), it should have been nominated Best Picture because it came out during the range ofGran Torino was such a great movie! Even though it's a Clint Eastwood directed film (meaning he usually directs the boring ones like J. Edgar and Jersey Boys), it should have been nominated Best Picture because it came out during the range of time Oscar nominated movies usually come out. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Meth-dudeJun 15, 2014
Gran Torino is my favourite movie of the year.Incredible acting, good story and good fight scenes.Clint Eastwood is absolutely brilliant in his role.I highly recommend it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
homer4presidentMar 28, 2015
"Get off my lawn". Loved the message of this film. Loved to see Clint Eastwood be a hard head, then soften up and finally show some love. Good movie. f theirs something to say about Eastwood is that he is truly amazing and this movie truly rocks.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
referee40Mar 11, 2015
This movie is about coming of age. Clint Eastwood, despite his advanced age, doesn't know his grown children, and Tao is mired in the traditional practices of his heritage while growing up in the US. They unwittingly help each other toThis movie is about coming of age. Clint Eastwood, despite his advanced age, doesn't know his grown children, and Tao is mired in the traditional practices of his heritage while growing up in the US. They unwittingly help each other to overcome their personal inadequacies, despite some challenging circumstances. After the death of his wife, Eastwood's character, Walt Kowalski is lost, subsisting on beef jerky and Pabst beer. His pride and joy is a 1972 Ford Gran Turino. He is a capital B bigot, chaffing under the changing complexion of his neighbourhood. The constant use of racist names he calls his neighbours seems at times affected, but as the movie progresses, we are not as easily offended. In fact, we come to see these diatribes as Kowalski's true colours. In fact, there is humour in his rantings. Tao, a teenage neighbour, is being recruited by a local Hmong gang but fails the initiation, failing to steal the Gran Turino. Kowalski and Tao, together with Tao's sister Sue, become unlikely friends. The climax of the movie sees Kowalski morph into a Dirty Harry caricature, with bittersweet results. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
solomsApr 17, 2015
That's a good story and a very good movie. I can watch this movie again and again because this story is wonderful. That's a movie that everybody should see it. really!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews