Warner Bros. Pictures | Release Date: December 12, 2008
7.8
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 696 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
564
Mixed:
58
Negative:
74
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
6
sjwilkinSep 26, 2016
Quite similar to Unforgiven in the sense that a man with a dark past tries to make amends by delving into his past and doing what does best. However, this is not on any level similar to Unforgiven. Eastwood aside, every other actor in thisQuite similar to Unforgiven in the sense that a man with a dark past tries to make amends by delving into his past and doing what does best. However, this is not on any level similar to Unforgiven. Eastwood aside, every other actor in this movie is terrible, appalling to a degree. Funny in a 'old racist man' sort of way, the movie highlights how the world has changed and men are no longer men. Perhaps the world has changed to a point where this movie is quite dated. A slight disappointment. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Compi24May 14, 2017
This old school, slow-burning drama manages to spin a delicate, quiet, and respectable yarn for its first two-thirds, offering up a slew of complicated characters, solid dramatic intrigue, and several healthy doses of irreverent humor in theThis old school, slow-burning drama manages to spin a delicate, quiet, and respectable yarn for its first two-thirds, offering up a slew of complicated characters, solid dramatic intrigue, and several healthy doses of irreverent humor in the process. But what first starts out as a seemingly basic, "going-of-age" mood piece eventually twists beautifully into a searing and poignant ethical study of redemption, sacrifice, and simply doing the right thing. In fact, get this - I actually had the unfortunate pleasure of having this movie's ending spoiled for me before finally seeing it. But, sure enough, even though I knew full well how things were going to come to a close, "Gran Torino's" emotional climax still got me. Right, square in "the feels," as they say. Just another one of the many reasons why Eastwood's eye for crowd-pleasing narratives ranks amongst the keenest in the biz. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
BroyaxJan 13, 2017
Papy Clint nous délivre un film à sa gloire dont il a le secret, du sur-mesure pour lui et il s'y connaît le bougre ! sa mise en scène posée et réfléchie, efficace, alterne l'humour, une dérision certaine et la corde sensible(ment) violoneusePapy Clint nous délivre un film à sa gloire dont il a le secret, du sur-mesure pour lui et il s'y connaît le bougre ! sa mise en scène posée et réfléchie, efficace, alterne l'humour, une dérision certaine et la corde sensible(ment) violoneuse et nostalgique de l'ancien combattant retraité. Les tics de cet avatar de l'inspecteur Harry qui compte ses jours sont autant de clins d'oeil de l'acteur à l'égard de son rôle à succès, maintes fois décliné tout au long de sa carrière.

Ainsi, le début et grosso merdo le premier tiers du film est des plus comiques mais cela ne suffit naturellement pas pour tenir la rampe ou la distance. Papy Clint nous sort alors pour le restant du film toute la panoplie de clichés dont il dispose : et il en a plein son sac, lui, le pépé-cliché ambulant, bougon, raciste, aigri et râleur.

Le jeune tocard dont il finit par s'occuper à plein temps est un gogol pénible, une tête à claques irrécupérable ; la famille de "niakoués" dont il se fait le prince-justicier sauveur ; les gangs que Papy se fait un devoir de corriger ; la propre famille de Pépé, une pauvre bande d'idiots directement transposée d'une "situation comedy" ; le jeune prêtre niaiseux dont il remonte les bretelles à chaque occasion ; les leçons de vie enfin qu'il inculque au jeune gogol, tout droit sorties d'un Kinder Surprise.

Même la fin que Papy a voulue grandiose et héroïque fait "pschiit" puisqu'il a cru bon d'en rajouter avec sa maladie (en plus d'avoir perdu sa femme, cela va de soi) ce qui réduit considérablement l'impact de son baroud d'honneur.

Tout cela est donc un peu trop facile et paresseux bien que pas totalement désagréable... c'est le problème avec les clichés : il faut en user avec parcimonie ou les déguiser avec application, ce que Papy Clint n'a certainement pas réussi à faire, englué qu'il est dans cette soupe dont il ne peut se défaire à notre grand dam.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
shiftworkerAug 22, 2016
Clint Eastwood's bigoted old man is exposed to an immigrant family next door. You'll go on a little emotional roller-coaster through tragic circumstances. Violence ensues and some people learn a lot. You'll have mixed feelings, but that oldClint Eastwood's bigoted old man is exposed to an immigrant family next door. You'll go on a little emotional roller-coaster through tragic circumstances. Violence ensues and some people learn a lot. You'll have mixed feelings, but that old heart-warming one will probably win out. By the end you'll like nearly everyone more than you did at the start and you might even want to watch it again sometime. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
CalibMcBoltsMay 30, 2016
''Gran Torino'' proved audiences and critics all of the world yet again why Hollywood legend and veteran Clint Eastwood should still be IN FRONT of the camera and not just behind it directing. Mr. Eastwood gives a pitch-perfect performance''Gran Torino'' proved audiences and critics all of the world yet again why Hollywood legend and veteran Clint Eastwood should still be IN FRONT of the camera and not just behind it directing. Mr. Eastwood gives a pitch-perfect performance whilst he's also masterfully directing.

''Gran Torino'' is a heartwarming and charming, yet heavy and emotional movie, with oddly enough a lot of satirical laugh-out-loud moments, about an improbable friendship.

''Gran Torino'' is simply put a great film, one of the best of the 2000's, and up there with ''Harald and Maude'', ''Intouchables'', ''E.T'', ''Cinema Paradiso'', ''Lost in Translation'' (just to name a few) in the list of unlikely friendships in great movies.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
ghaphorMar 11, 2016
A very insightful film about family, friendship and commitment. Clint Eastwood's performance was excellent as always, but the film was too slow-pace and gave time for character development.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
jelenabiebs31Jan 13, 2016
Gran film, gran Clint. A must see. A movie hymn to Bravery and Sacrifice. Beautiful.

Watch it online for free: https://www.primewire.ag/watch-320-Gran-Torino-online-free
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
JumpmanJan 4, 2016
This movie is unbelievably terrible i wish i had never seen it. I shouldn't have even started reviewing it since i have to say other than it is terrible
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
MadMaxFuryRoadOct 19, 2015
Gran Torino is pretty much Eastwood's greatest movie still today! He does excellent work and amazing acting as the main role. This isn't much of an action, but rather a sometimes humorous, touching drama. His son is really hot in this film,Gran Torino is pretty much Eastwood's greatest movie still today! He does excellent work and amazing acting as the main role. This isn't much of an action, but rather a sometimes humorous, touching drama. His son is really hot in this film, and though the ending wasn't really what I was expecting or wanting, I still enjoyed it a lot more than American Sniper. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
BigOakley02Aug 23, 2015
This is literally the best movie I have ever seen. I think we have a Green Mile beater here. If you haven't seen this you must watch it within 48 hours of reading this.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Epik_NinnjaMay 23, 2015
Something about this movie really clicked with me. I understand why some think it's average but I thouroughly enjoyed it. I thought the acting was good and the story was interesting and made me wonder what was going to happen next. It's aboutSomething about this movie really clicked with me. I understand why some think it's average but I thouroughly enjoyed it. I thought the acting was good and the story was interesting and made me wonder what was going to happen next. It's about a racist old man who fought in the Korean war and has a Korean family living in the house next to his. He gets to know a Korean boy, though, and theydevelop a grandfather/grandson relationship. The old man helps the boy as he struggles with the local gang. As dark as it is, I laughed numerous times throughout. I guess it can deliver on more than one front. Anyways, this is definitely a movie you should watch. I personally found it to be quite excellent. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
solomsApr 17, 2015
That's a good story and a very good movie. I can watch this movie again and again because this story is wonderful. That's a movie that everybody should see it. really!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
homer4presidentMar 28, 2015
"Get off my lawn". Loved the message of this film. Loved to see Clint Eastwood be a hard head, then soften up and finally show some love. Good movie. f theirs something to say about Eastwood is that he is truly amazing and this movie truly rocks.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
referee40Mar 11, 2015
This movie is about coming of age. Clint Eastwood, despite his advanced age, doesn't know his grown children, and Tao is mired in the traditional practices of his heritage while growing up in the US. They unwittingly help each other toThis movie is about coming of age. Clint Eastwood, despite his advanced age, doesn't know his grown children, and Tao is mired in the traditional practices of his heritage while growing up in the US. They unwittingly help each other to overcome their personal inadequacies, despite some challenging circumstances. After the death of his wife, Eastwood's character, Walt Kowalski is lost, subsisting on beef jerky and Pabst beer. His pride and joy is a 1972 Ford Gran Turino. He is a capital B bigot, chaffing under the changing complexion of his neighbourhood. The constant use of racist names he calls his neighbours seems at times affected, but as the movie progresses, we are not as easily offended. In fact, we come to see these diatribes as Kowalski's true colours. In fact, there is humour in his rantings. Tao, a teenage neighbour, is being recruited by a local Hmong gang but fails the initiation, failing to steal the Gran Turino. Kowalski and Tao, together with Tao's sister Sue, become unlikely friends. The climax of the movie sees Kowalski morph into a Dirty Harry caricature, with bittersweet results. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
SchnitzelPoofFeb 8, 2015
I didn't know what to expect when Gran Torino started, and it managed to surprise me several times throughout the film. The characters were interesting, likable, and show the writers know people quite well. Clint Eastwood's acting is superb,I didn't know what to expect when Gran Torino started, and it managed to surprise me several times throughout the film. The characters were interesting, likable, and show the writers know people quite well. Clint Eastwood's acting is superb, and manages to make you laugh even when the situation is very grim.
I didn't care much for the ending, but it's understandable, considering where they were going with the story.
Most importantly, though, it swims against the current, and manages to challenge some prevailing taboos of today's PC culture, showing that human relationships are more than skin deep.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Potarto72Dec 21, 2014
Gran Torino isn't all that groundbreaking or revolutionary, but it does offer a very gritty and uplifting story, with plenty of morals and character development to entertain Eastwood fans.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
HaithamBSep 2, 2014
Gran Torino is honestly one of the most touching movies I have ever seen. The best characters in any movie are those who lived long before the movie's setting, those are deep and fully experienced life. Clint Eastwood is great in this movie,Gran Torino is honestly one of the most touching movies I have ever seen. The best characters in any movie are those who lived long before the movie's setting, those are deep and fully experienced life. Clint Eastwood is great in this movie, he is honestly my favorite part of the movie and my favorite actor of all time. Despite, I can't give the movie a full rating because some of the acting is off, especially Walt's friend and the some of the gang, they pulled me out of the moment which was unfortunate. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
beingryanjudeAug 27, 2014
An interesting turn for Clint Eastwood, but a worthy, fresh film. Eastwood reminds us that he has not entirely abandoned his skills in acting (& apparently, singing, too). Gran Torino cuts deep--just as Clint wished.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
chwJul 20, 2014
Gran Torino was such a great movie! Even though it's a Clint Eastwood directed film (meaning he usually directs the boring ones like J. Edgar and Jersey Boys), it should have been nominated Best Picture because it came out during the range ofGran Torino was such a great movie! Even though it's a Clint Eastwood directed film (meaning he usually directs the boring ones like J. Edgar and Jersey Boys), it should have been nominated Best Picture because it came out during the range of time Oscar nominated movies usually come out. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Meth-dudeJun 15, 2014
Gran Torino is my favourite movie of the year.Incredible acting, good story and good fight scenes.Clint Eastwood is absolutely brilliant in his role.I highly recommend it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
JacobApr 21, 2014
Eastwood's performance and character are excellent. I love the relationship between his character and the boy. Well shot good morals. Just a well made film. Should have higher critical praise than it does.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
Longo12Feb 13, 2014
I found Clints acting to be good but a lot of the supporting characters not so good. I liked the movie but I did feel it starting to get slow in the middle. The ending was great and genuinely made me sad. Not his best but far from his worst.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
ThegodfathersonDec 7, 2013
Gran Torino is a movie you must see. The PC police will almost certainly lambaste it, attempt to dismiss it as clumsy and cry out in shock at Eastwood’s willingness to portray a man so filled with hate and intolerance. Spike Lee, afterGran Torino is a movie you must see. The PC police will almost certainly lambaste it, attempt to dismiss it as clumsy and cry out in shock at Eastwood’s willingness to portray a man so filled with hate and intolerance. Spike Lee, after publicly calling out Clint for leaving black men out of Flags of our Fathers, may have an actual coronary. Hey Spike, this time he’s surrounded himself with brown people and decided to scream ethnic slurs. Ignore the naysayers, they won’t be able to see past their own prejudices to what lies beneath. Gran Torino is smarter than it seems and it’s broader, funnier, and more straightforward than you’d expect. This is the Clint Eastwood we all remember in a perfect final performance. He’s riding off into the sunset scowling, snarling, and spitting blood. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
willkulkaNov 24, 2013
There comes a point when actors are too old to play even their signature roles. Unfortunately, Eastwood falls under the category, resulting in a somewhat cheesy and slow-moving plot line, yet satisfying ending.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
RayzorMooseNov 13, 2013
Gran Torino is gritty and gratuitous.
A great script with a well paced plot. The believability is essential and it elevates the movie. A really good picture all around.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
KozySauceAug 29, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Great film. Well acted and very powerful.

I read a user review on this site saying that the message this movie is sending is that the only way to defeat evil people is to let them kill you, and then they'll only spend a few years in prison. To the guy who wrote that review, all I have to say is... what? You do realize that all those guys are going to be found guilty of second degree murder right? That's life in prison, no exceptions. What did you expect to happen? Walt and Thao waltz on up to that house, go on an epic shooting rampage, kill everyone and then get away with it scot-free and everyone lives happily ever after? Clearly you've been watching too many Michael Bay films and also have no clue how the criminal justice system works. They shot Walt in cold blood, in clear view of neighbours. Even if nobody in the neighbourhood actually saw it, they all surely heard the gunshots. and Walt had no gun. Leaving Spider and his Gang the only ones who could have done the shooting. I think you need to look at the bigger picture here. Walt was nearing the end of his life. Over the course of the movie, he grew to care for Thao and his family. Once he found out that there were no witnesses to Sue's kidnapping and the members of the community refused to talk about anything related to Spider's gang, he knew it was the only way to ensure that Spider's gang would never harm Thao and his family ever again. So he spent his last moment doing something very courageous that not only saved Thao and his family but that whole community as well.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
sinadoomJul 18, 2013
Gran Torino is a decent film for watching if you're bored, but if you're expecting something completely immersive and gripping, you will be disappointed. There's no action or significant events really, and the entire plot can be summarised inGran Torino is a decent film for watching if you're bored, but if you're expecting something completely immersive and gripping, you will be disappointed. There's no action or significant events really, and the entire plot can be summarised in about 20 seconds. There aren't any unnecessary parts in the film which are unrelated or pointless, but character development isn't as good as it could be and overall the film is a bit too long and thin on content. The whole film takes place within a few meters, as just bout the entire film is all in one house and a street. The problem with Gran Torino is that there's no real emotion during the film. No excitement. The entire film is quite bland; although it does manage to keep you watching it all the way through. Its only redeeming feature is the occasional comical scenes. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
M9kiJun 19, 2013
One of his best movies yet.We need more movies like this its action and a few funny parts.As of always eastwood is a perfect actor he always gets the job done.
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
8
FesLatif1984Jun 17, 2013
cracking film, Clint Eastwood at his magnificent best. very emotional story and although i personally feel the ending could have been different the film will not fail to move you emotionally
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
KivaJun 11, 2013
That film was extraordinary. Drama and action combined perfectly. Clint Eastwood was magnificent. The plot perfect and what was going was crazy. Really liked the ending, was too moving for me.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
RikiegeJan 24, 2013
This movie made ​​me very long, but when finished I thought about what he had seen, and I find it a great movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Mad_Hatter91Jan 17, 2013
Gran Torino is a dramatic film of 2008 directed by Clint Eastwood. The plot is about Walt Kowalski, Polish veteran of the Vietnam War and retired worker in a car factory, who lives in a neighborhood inhabited by Eastern that he did not lookGran Torino is a dramatic film of 2008 directed by Clint Eastwood. The plot is about Walt Kowalski, Polish veteran of the Vietnam War and retired worker in a car factory, who lives in a neighborhood inhabited by Eastern that he did not look kindly on. Especially his neighbors who have immigrated Hmong of Southeast Asia. But when a young group will begin to take it against them, Walt will have to come to their defense. The film manages to have a huge emotional impact on the viewer and also manages to make you laugh and cry at the same time. Fantastic interpretation of Clint Eastwood manages to make us know his character, grotesque but never overdo it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
YoursTrulyNov 21, 2012
Has Clint Eastwood played similar characters before? Yes. But with such mesmerizing abilities as a director, and a powerful hand at story telling...who cares? Underrated film. Great.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
cameronmorewoodNov 17, 2012
Eastwood's bracing and heart-wrenching human drama will get to you. The effect is overwhelming.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
imthenoobSep 30, 2012
Critics got thsi film totally wrong. It was frecking amazin. Clint Eastwood gives an untouchable performance. This is one film that is definently worth watching.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
ZilcellJun 14, 2012
Clint Eastwood's performance was very memorable here. With a great story and a fantastic moral that comes with it, its a tragic but very entertaining film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Jedi_JettsonApr 12, 2012
Clint Eastwood's work on imaging Asian culture and overcoming racism is surprisingly amusing. Its also surprisingly captivating on entering and overcoming racism against Asians and their cultures. The dialogue was also very impressive betweenClint Eastwood's work on imaging Asian culture and overcoming racism is surprisingly amusing. Its also surprisingly captivating on entering and overcoming racism against Asians and their cultures. The dialogue was also very impressive between protagonists and antagonists. Honestly, this should have received Academy Award-nominations for best picture and best director; Clint Eastwood. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
RegOzApr 7, 2012
There is beauty in this movie, there is soul, and feeling. Clint Eastwood's performance is formidable! For those who argue that he is better as a director than an actor, I think here he proves that he can be great as both. I too, believe thatThere is beauty in this movie, there is soul, and feeling. Clint Eastwood's performance is formidable! For those who argue that he is better as a director than an actor, I think here he proves that he can be great as both. I too, believe that this movie is a solid 9, and I am disappointed about the fact that many didn't grasp the message of this movie. It is not a presumptuos film; on the opposite, it is simple, pleasurable, touching. It has character. It is not pompous; it is real, it is human, It is life. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
csw12Mar 31, 2012
Grand Torino is a wonderful movie. It is a film that speaks to the tensions humans face in the most significant way, and does so with such poise and audacity that the viewer can't help but adore.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Trev29Mar 31, 2012
A very good film, that evolves wonderfully with its story. It enticing to watch and is fearless in its script. Everybody was very good. I thought Clint should have won some kind of an award.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
PetrovitaFeb 24, 2012
A 6 for being decently good. Eastwood lives up to his acting aswell, he still has it in him (Atleast that time).
Story itself is slow at times, don't watch it for it's "action" as there hardly is any.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
bigbosslunaJan 30, 2012
One great street gang film. It's funny. It's sad. It got great character. Clint is such a fascinating actor and his role is one of the best I have seen.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
MetallicCriticDec 13, 2011
One of the most overrated films by audiences. I can see that this is going to be a favorite by males which is also one of my favorites. I don't think it's horrible I just think it's not as good as "ordinary" people make it out to be. It hasOne of the most overrated films by audiences. I can see that this is going to be a favorite by males which is also one of my favorites. I don't think it's horrible I just think it's not as good as "ordinary" people make it out to be. It has some of the worst acting I ever seen by Bee Vang. It's his first role ever and possibly his last. He would never show emotion or pronounce his words correctly. Clint Eastwood should have seen that his performance was lacking. That being said this was not Eastwood's best. The writing was good especially with all the bad language. The writing benefited the plot build up leading to Walt giving his life for the family to be at peace. He also had to realize that wrong in his own racism. He basically had to leave all the haunted memories from the war by realizing what is wrong and right. He had to confess his sins which is what his wife wanted before he died. For all the guys that loved this film, it's seriously not as good as you think. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
asylumspadezNov 24, 2011
I thought it was a really good film. Eastwood has shown us all once again why he is still relivent in acting by giving a great performance that is a typical style that Eastwood has given us in the past.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
2
Delta_AssaultSep 28, 2011
Well, this left me disappointed. The Hmong actors were **** terrible. Specially that Toad guy, him screaming to get out of the basement at the end was laughable. "Walt! Waaaaaaaalllllt!" Cmon, that was just the worst scene in the movie. AndWell, this left me disappointed. The Hmong actors were **** terrible. Specially that Toad guy, him screaming to get out of the basement at the end was laughable. "Walt! Waaaaaaaalllllt!" Cmon, that was just the worst scene in the movie. And how the hell could a **** like him even have a driver's license to drive the Gran Torino? It was inexplicable.

It was strange, this film was trying to show us to be nicer to our neighbors and more accepting of foreign cultures... but then they go out of their way to show us that the Hmong are really weird and freaky. Like... no touching the tops of people's heads? An actual **** voodoo witch doctor? Cranky old woman spitting out a bunch of weird brown fluid? But hey, it's all good cause their food's really tasty, right? Right? Heh...

The padre was just annoying me throughout the entire film. Not badly acted, but his character just came off as a sanctimonious prick. Mission accomplished if that was what they were aiming for.

Clint was good as usual. But that ending... just didn't work for me. I know they were setting us up for a more traditional ending and then went for an unorthodox approach, but still... I wanted that traditional ending. Instead, they gave us Walt committing suicide, essentially. Very disappointing ending.
Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
9
Khunter4382Jun 2, 2011
An Eastwood Tour de Force! The best performance of his career, followed closely by Unforgiven. This film is completely driven by Eastwood's performance, but unfortunately the supporting cast is especially weak, even bad at times. However,An Eastwood Tour de Force! The best performance of his career, followed closely by Unforgiven. This film is completely driven by Eastwood's performance, but unfortunately the supporting cast is especially weak, even bad at times. However, with such a robust character like Walt, you can't help but love this film only for his contribution. Too bad he was completely and utterly overlooked by the Academy. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
BobaFett666May 28, 2011
I love this movie. It's direct, simple and old fashioned. I don't even want to waste time writing about "Oh I liked this and that and blah blah". Just watch the film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
THE_BLOBMay 12, 2011
dude. whoever the hell gave this movie a bad review must be the dumbest **** i have may ever know. this movie was perfect in every way. and pete, **** u!! u have no idea wut ur talking about. u should walk right up to clint eastwood anddude. whoever the hell gave this movie a bad review must be the dumbest **** i have may ever know. this movie was perfect in every way. and pete, **** u!! u have no idea wut ur talking about. u should walk right up to clint eastwood and tell him what u just said,. and he will be sure to **** u up, u **** Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
4
CharlottePApr 13, 2011
Clint starts off in fine acerbic form as Walt, a malcontented Korean War vet with neighbour problems, but regrettably the film rapidly descends into homily, cliche and downright implausibility. Gasp as Walt discovers his softer side! ChuckleClint starts off in fine acerbic form as Walt, a malcontented Korean War vet with neighbour problems, but regrettably the film rapidly descends into homily, cliche and downright implausibility. Gasp as Walt discovers his softer side! Chuckle at the chutzpah of the young girl confronting three would-be rapists with wisecracks and her irascible neighbour with cheeky repartee! Marvel as the impossibly baby-faced priest becomes Walt's confidante in a last minute schmaltzy reconciliation between Walt and his long-lost faith!

Extra half a star for "Click Clack, Ding Dong and Charlie Chan", though. Funny when he was being mean, saccharine when he wasn't, and impossible to reconcile the two.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
KarthXLRApr 2, 2011
A fantastic and surprisingly emotional tale of a bitter old war-veteran and his Korean neighbors. Very well acted and surprisingly down-to-earth. It's got too much language in it for my preference, but it doesn't effect any of the emotionalA fantastic and surprisingly emotional tale of a bitter old war-veteran and his Korean neighbors. Very well acted and surprisingly down-to-earth. It's got too much language in it for my preference, but it doesn't effect any of the emotional merits of the film. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
TheQuietGamerMar 9, 2011
While a great movie with a deep emotional story and awesome characters, my only complaint is that it tries to be realistic but fails, in real life if an old man tried to act tough around anyone they would kick his ass and leave him for dead,While a great movie with a deep emotional story and awesome characters, my only complaint is that it tries to be realistic but fails, in real life if an old man tried to act tough around anyone they would kick his ass and leave him for dead, that aside it's a great movie that must be watched. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
FDT44Jan 8, 2011
A film that speaks to the perceptual tensions humans face in the most significant of facets, and does so with such poise and audacity that the viewer can't help but adore. What compels "Gran Torino" to its bold of state is the lingeringA film that speaks to the perceptual tensions humans face in the most significant of facets, and does so with such poise and audacity that the viewer can't help but adore. What compels "Gran Torino" to its bold of state is the lingering emotive responses we feel from Eastwood, who merely from a glance, tells the story of life through the aged, piercing eyes that burrows inside of you, and demands of your notice. Visually, "Gran Torino" may appear to be an "out-of-it's-prime," vintage piece of work, but the engine thrives and subdues its supposed insipidity to its previously prime state where its gritty demeanor flourishes. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
6
ERG1008Dec 17, 2010
Ex-war veteran, wife dies, hates everyone & everything, Korean neighbours, son in with gang, son tries to steal war veteran's prize car, takes young Korean under his wing.
Nicely played out but very predictable affair & with Clint as good as
Ex-war veteran, wife dies, hates everyone & everything, Korean neighbours, son in with gang, son tries to steal war veteran's prize car, takes young Korean under his wing.
Nicely played out but very predictable affair & with Clint as good as ever.
It very much follows a formula with the master/pupil route & is quite heart warming but also very brutal along the way.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
bobbsywNov 13, 2010
Slow pacing, poor acting and an unbelievable script make this film bad enough, but the continued suggestion that casual racism is acceptable if the other person accepts it "good natured banter" beggars belief.
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
6
FlapjackOct 22, 2010
I get the impression that this would be Dirty Harry if he was older. Which is brilliant, because it's funny, simple, short and sweet. Great movie watching.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
KastianOct 17, 2010
The acting was forced. The only natural sounding actor in the movie was Clint Eastwood. The message was ham-fisted and flat out handed to audiences at the end. The script was incredibly contrived.

Overall, I felt that movie suffered from an
The acting was forced. The only natural sounding actor in the movie was Clint Eastwood. The message was ham-fisted and flat out handed to audiences at the end. The script was incredibly contrived.

Overall, I felt that movie suffered from an unfortunates messiah complex and was unintentionally racist. An white, angry, growling old man has to save everyone else because they can't take care of themselves.
Expand
1 of 8 users found this helpful17
All this user's reviews
9
DeVr33zSep 4, 2010
This movie has one of the most interesting main characters I have seen in a very long time, and if it didn't have that it would have gotten a much lower score from me. Eastwood's performance is amazing.
13 of 13 users found this helpful130
All this user's reviews
8
ryancarroll88Aug 27, 2010
It seems age has been a blessing for Clint Eastwood, giving him a marked perspective on life, which somehow seems to resonate with everyone (There is virtually no one I've talked to who hasn't liked the story in this movie). Combining thatIt seems age has been a blessing for Clint Eastwood, giving him a marked perspective on life, which somehow seems to resonate with everyone (There is virtually no one I've talked to who hasn't liked the story in this movie). Combining that with his talent as both a director and lifelong actor, he gives us one of his most powerful works - what he capitulates in poignant subtlety (Mystic River, Million Dollar Baby), he makes up for with dramatic bravado. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
JKBPPAug 22, 2010
Gran Torino is maybe the best movie I have ever seen. It is full of everything to pleasure both genders. I watched at my father's apartment with my sister. We all had a great time with this awesome movie. 10 out of 10 is not enough, so IGran Torino is maybe the best movie I have ever seen. It is full of everything to pleasure both genders. I watched at my father's apartment with my sister. We all had a great time with this awesome movie. 10 out of 10 is not enough, so I will cheat and say 12 out of 10 :P Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
10
JohnS.Mar 3, 2010
One of the best movies I have ever seen
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TimHSep 25, 2009
This is definantly in my top 10 of favorite movies. You would think that it would be all about Walt, our hero, being a tough guy, but that isn't the case. While Clint does sport his usual hard outer shell, you also get to see hisThis is definantly in my top 10 of favorite movies. You would think that it would be all about Walt, our hero, being a tough guy, but that isn't the case. While Clint does sport his usual hard outer shell, you also get to see his humerous side and, even more importantly, his soft side. Granted, at the beggining the movie doen't seem like much, the middle and ending is what puts it over the top. The relationships Walt forms and how he deals with a gang troubled young teen is what makes this movie spectacular. The plot twists will have you questioning humanity. Yes it does have some good action but that isn't really the purpose of the movie. And for those of you wary of this movie because of racism, don't worry, Walt insults all the major ethnicities (Asians, Mexicans, Jews, Blacks, etc.) so no one is left out. He hates (almost) everyone equally. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RicardoC.Aug 25, 2009
It's a shame that most of the people can't realize this is not about "gangster / redemption / retribution ", but well, like Lisa Schwarzbaum said: This is subtle, perceptive stuff.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
TomAug 7, 2009
The movie is one of the best films I've seen in years. This is plain and simply a masterpiece made out of a plot that a 10 year old could have written. And that, I have learned, is what separates the true moviemakers from the wannabes.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
VinayJul 26, 2009
Decent performance from Eastwood but really nothing new at all in the gangster / redemption / retribution themes the movie throws up.
2 of 4 users found this helpful
8
KellyM.Jul 23, 2009
Surprisingly thoughtful and hopeful in cracking the fault lines between the races and what people fear they don't like or don't know. Cheers to Mr Eastwood for this great film
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JohnTJul 21, 2009
I'm having a hard time deciding on how I feel about this movie. Eastwood did an incredible job on many fronts. But, as a lot of people have said, the supporting cast was very weak. Their acting was nearly cringe-worthy at times. I'm having a hard time deciding on how I feel about this movie. Eastwood did an incredible job on many fronts. But, as a lot of people have said, the supporting cast was very weak. Their acting was nearly cringe-worthy at times. I'm a huge stickler for bad acting/dialogue but this movie was strange for the very reason that I actually sat through the whole thing and thoroughly enjoyed it despite all the awkward acting.. it was still, in many ways, very affecting and compelling... somehow. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PhilipFJul 8, 2009
I would be surprised if this is not Film of the Year. Superb story and acting with Eastwood getting better in old age, both as actor and director.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
TerryCJul 4, 2009
A lot of potential, spoiled by reprehensible acting from everyone except Clint. I was laughing in parts where I really shouldn't have been laughing. But still enjoyable enough to earn a slightly passing grade.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
DHJul 2, 2009
Great performances. Great pace. Classic Eastwood ending, as always.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
McKinleyTJun 25, 2009
This movie had so much potential; a great storyline, excellent plot development and a dramatic and touching ending. However all of this could not make me overlook the absolutely horrible acting in this film. Clint Eastwood might as well have This movie had so much potential; a great storyline, excellent plot development and a dramatic and touching ending. However all of this could not make me overlook the absolutely horrible acting in this film. Clint Eastwood might as well have played all the parts himself, Eddie Murphy-style. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
StuartW.Jun 24, 2009
Clint Eastwood isn't getting any younger and maybe it's this reason why he has directd and starred in four films in two years. All of which have been excellent and have won numerous awards. I have to admit that i am a softy, in Clint Eastwood isn't getting any younger and maybe it's this reason why he has directd and starred in four films in two years. All of which have been excellent and have won numerous awards. I have to admit that i am a softy, in this film i was howling with laughter one moment and in tears the next. Surely this must be Eastwood's finest acting moment. It's intriging and heartbraking at the same time. Eastwood acts a certain way and he does it very well and at times Dirty Harry rears his head. But the passion of his character shines through every minute he is on film. I wanted to tell people to ignore the Scandalous review of the baltimore sun. That reviewer deserves the immediate sack. Whether you are sentimental or not the film easily merits at least an 8. For me, it's one of the best films i've seen in years and i hope it goes down as a classic. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JohnH.Jun 24, 2009
Great Movie. I would give it a ten. Great action, plot, acting, etc. I would have nominated this movie for best picture. It is my third favorite film last year. My other two favorites were The Dark Knight and Slumdog Millionaire. The other Great Movie. I would give it a ten. Great action, plot, acting, etc. I would have nominated this movie for best picture. It is my third favorite film last year. My other two favorites were The Dark Knight and Slumdog Millionaire. The other two movies I would have nominated for Best Picture are Iron Man,and the Changeling, followed by Doubt. You have to see this movie. Whoever didn't like this movie, no affence, but flat out, is just an idiot or has very poor taste in movies! See this movie!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RichR.Jun 21, 2009
Very interesting movie, and the end was a real shock to me. The only thing that keeps me from giving in a ten is Clint's portrayal of that mean old man: nobody is that mean and full of dieased, racist blather. He carries on that bit for Very interesting movie, and the end was a real shock to me. The only thing that keeps me from giving in a ten is Clint's portrayal of that mean old man: nobody is that mean and full of dieased, racist blather. He carries on that bit for way too long, and should have dropped it the minute the Hmong girl (the best character in the film, for me) got in his truck. And it's unlikely that anyone would carry war atrocity guilt for so long. Otherwise, it was a fine film, and it was fun to see the Hmong families together. We really did mess up the lives of so many people over in SE Asia; the least we can do is show them some respect. Hey, I know, I know, this is just a movie, but you know what I mean. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
7
BrianT.Jun 21, 2009
Not really sure how to rate this movie. clint eastwood was a ten, the plot/script was decent, but many members of the supporting cast were abysmal. bad enough to distract and ruin (?) the movie. i guess i would recommend the movie but only Not really sure how to rate this movie. clint eastwood was a ten, the plot/script was decent, but many members of the supporting cast were abysmal. bad enough to distract and ruin (?) the movie. i guess i would recommend the movie but only to enjoy clint eastwood - he really was that good. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MargaretS.Jun 20, 2009
I loved Gran Torino...Clint Eastwood was superb in his "last" role...I cried at the end and found it very moving. I agree that the Priest did not do a good acting job. He was very mis-cast.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
ShaneSJun 16, 2009
This movie was really underated by the oscars, Clint Eastwood is at his best here make no mistake. He still, (as though it were a refined art), pulls off being a gritty, hardcore, don't-mess-around-with-me kind of a guy even though This movie was really underated by the oscars, Clint Eastwood is at his best here make no mistake. He still, (as though it were a refined art), pulls off being a gritty, hardcore, don't-mess-around-with-me kind of a guy even though he's like in his eighties. This movie brings the persona, that is Clint Eastwood, to a whole new level, with some smart humor and a great supporting cast. I highly recommend this film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BMJun 15, 2009
Wow, what an impact this movie made. I'm from tehj area where it was filmed, so that made it even more enjoyable. Fantastic film and not one easily forgotten.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BojanaMJun 14, 2009
generally good movie. mr eastwood is basicly in his same mood as beforewith the same style. but hey, it's clint eastwood :) the story itself is very realistic but yet, poorly done- turn out too naive till the end when you acctually generally good movie. mr eastwood is basicly in his same mood as beforewith the same style. but hey, it's clint eastwood :) the story itself is very realistic but yet, poorly done- turn out too naive till the end when you acctually change your mind. I gve it an 8 only couse of the poorly built characters but still, it's a good movie and everyone should watch it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JamesMJun 14, 2009
Absolutely amazing film. It's probably my favorite movie this year, if not of all time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
EldonJun 13, 2009
The subtleties crafted in this film are profoundly complex and with out the ability to see them this will seem like a "waste of time". But with the proper amount of intelligence, chances are you may find yourself moved and challenged in the The subtleties crafted in this film are profoundly complex and with out the ability to see them this will seem like a "waste of time". But with the proper amount of intelligence, chances are you may find yourself moved and challenged in the most sincere ways. When movies like this come around, I think they should be celebrated. And if not by the Academy, by those who matter... us. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
JosephineBJun 12, 2009
Good message. Like how the aging Clint Eastwood's character develops and changers his out-moded perceptions about minorities. We're all human. Most of us are decent, hard-working, intelligent people while a few of us just plain old Good message. Like how the aging Clint Eastwood's character develops and changers his out-moded perceptions about minorities. We're all human. Most of us are decent, hard-working, intelligent people while a few of us just plain old suck and do nothing but reflect badly on the human race. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
EliasCJun 11, 2009
It is amusing that a film about ethnic differences and acceptance is promoted in recent TV spots as an elderly version of 'Dirty Harry'. Perhaps that was what was wrong with the reception of this film when it was first released. A It is amusing that a film about ethnic differences and acceptance is promoted in recent TV spots as an elderly version of 'Dirty Harry'. Perhaps that was what was wrong with the reception of this film when it was first released. A thoughtful and superior effort by Clint Eastwood proves once again what a great director he is. It is criminal that this film was passed up for Academy recognition in favor of a few lesser nominated works. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JayH.Jun 6, 2009
Clint Eastwood's direction makes this film work. It is too overstated, but it's a film that you can't help but admire and like. Great performances all around, and it's well written and very moving.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JonathanWMay 16, 2009
Brilliant. Dark and disturbing, but with hope and redemption to turn the tide... Nobody could have played this character like Clint.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DanRMay 1, 2009
This is one of the best movies from 2008, a true masterpiece. I went in expecting a where eagles dear like movie but feel in love with this movie. 10 outa 10
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
judybApr 22, 2009
I agree with one critic; it felt like a farewell performance. And a memorable one! Fortunately, we have enough incarnations of Eastwood on film that we'll never have to do without. I commend Eastwood's time to educate the public, I agree with one critic; it felt like a farewell performance. And a memorable one! Fortunately, we have enough incarnations of Eastwood on film that we'll never have to do without. I commend Eastwood's time to educate the public, as always, this time about a complex and misunderstood minority culture. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
PhilAApr 10, 2009
All the previous comments by "3 or less" pretty much sum it up. I told my wife I wish I could have those 2 hours back. What a waste of time.
1 of 6 users found this helpful
8
TerrenceM.Mar 28, 2009
Very well realized and believable characters made this film's portray on er, gangster US enjoyable and not cringe worthy like many other film's pretentious 'dis be real' take on the urban underbelly. Clint Eastwood does a Very well realized and believable characters made this film's portray on er, gangster US enjoyable and not cringe worthy like many other film's pretentious 'dis be real' take on the urban underbelly. Clint Eastwood does a great job of getting across the tough guy persona even at his age of 82! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
LyleSMar 15, 2009
Besides Eastwood's own performance, the acting in the movie was pretty forced.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
JeremyBMar 15, 2009
Take Clint Eastwood out of the picture and it crumbles on itself. But ultimately it's really just an update of the Karate Kid in reverse, with a little more violence.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ScottC.Mar 9, 2009
Classic Eastwood...gritty portrayal of current urban existence.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BradleyC.Mar 7, 2009
I liked it, but it wasnt worth the hype. he has done a good movie. but the asian actors...AAAARG! thao totally cannot act. what were they thinking
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JohnM.Mar 4, 2009
This film packs the biggest emotional pay-off of the season. The ending is beautiful and deeply satisfying. So are the photography and music. The acting by the amateur cast seems out of kilter at first, but finally it all comes together and This film packs the biggest emotional pay-off of the season. The ending is beautiful and deeply satisfying. So are the photography and music. The acting by the amateur cast seems out of kilter at first, but finally it all comes together and convinces. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JimB.Mar 1, 2009
A fantastically worked critique of modern American society. One of the best films i have seen in ages. Eastwood is typically brilliant as both actor and director. There is a reason he came back to acting this film is brilliant.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
PeteMar 1, 2009
Giving this movie a 1 was generous, but I thought they deserved a point for working out how to turn the camera on! The first movie I have ever walked out on; the lack of strength in plot, sceenplay, or acting was cringe-worthy at best.
1 of 5 users found this helpful
7
JayRFeb 26, 2009
While it was a strong performance from Clint Eastwood as well as a solid direction, the movie just seemed to fall over time. When he begins the interact with his neighbors it starts out well but then leads into a cheeseball movie. The boy While it was a strong performance from Clint Eastwood as well as a solid direction, the movie just seemed to fall over time. When he begins the interact with his neighbors it starts out well but then leads into a cheeseball movie. The boy "toad" acted horribly and was very unconvincing as well as the rest of his family as well as the gangsters and the young preacher. But in entirety the moral of the story is a strong and good one. If only it could have been played out better. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
WBFeb 24, 2009
Just echoing the sentiments of some other voters: poor acting by the young cast members; unbelievably fast bonding between ardent racist Walt and his Hmong neighbors; cliched situations used to create conflict; blatant exposition at times Just echoing the sentiments of some other voters: poor acting by the young cast members; unbelievably fast bonding between ardent racist Walt and his Hmong neighbors; cliched situations used to create conflict; blatant exposition at times (such as when Walt talks to himself in the mirror about how much he has in common with the Hmong--he may as well just turned to the camera and spoke the line to the audience). And his singing at the end seals this raw deal. Don't believe the hype, as they say. It's just average at best. Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful
10
NicholasKFeb 22, 2009
Incredibly powerful, both humorous and moving at the same time. One of the best films I've seen in a long time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MrMeFeb 21, 2009
This was the funniest film I've seen in ages, though perhaps for the wrong reasons. There's a lot of excellent acting in this film. Clint Eastwood plays the role of a racist old fart perfectly. Really enjoyable film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
jimNFeb 17, 2009
Not nearly as good as all the hype. Forced dialogue, bad acting, contrived writing
1 of 6 users found this helpful