Warner Bros. Pictures | Release Date: December 12, 2008
7.8
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 694 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
562
Mixed:
58
Negative:
74
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
6
sjwilkinSep 26, 2016
Quite similar to Unforgiven in the sense that a man with a dark past tries to make amends by delving into his past and doing what does best. However, this is not on any level similar to Unforgiven. Eastwood aside, every other actor in thisQuite similar to Unforgiven in the sense that a man with a dark past tries to make amends by delving into his past and doing what does best. However, this is not on any level similar to Unforgiven. Eastwood aside, every other actor in this movie is terrible, appalling to a degree. Funny in a 'old racist man' sort of way, the movie highlights how the world has changed and men are no longer men. Perhaps the world has changed to a point where this movie is quite dated. A slight disappointment. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Compi24May 14, 2017
This old school, slow-burning drama manages to spin a delicate, quiet, and respectable yarn for its first two-thirds, offering up a slew of complicated characters, solid dramatic intrigue, and several healthy doses of irreverent humor in theThis old school, slow-burning drama manages to spin a delicate, quiet, and respectable yarn for its first two-thirds, offering up a slew of complicated characters, solid dramatic intrigue, and several healthy doses of irreverent humor in the process. But what first starts out as a seemingly basic, "going-of-age" mood piece eventually twists beautifully into a searing and poignant ethical study of redemption, sacrifice, and simply doing the right thing. In fact, get this - I actually had the unfortunate pleasure of having this movie's ending spoiled for me before finally seeing it. But, sure enough, even though I knew full well how things were going to come to a close, "Gran Torino's" emotional climax still got me. Right, square in "the feels," as they say. Just another one of the many reasons why Eastwood's eye for crowd-pleasing narratives ranks amongst the keenest in the biz. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
BroyaxJan 13, 2017
Papy Clint nous délivre un film à sa gloire dont il a le secret, du sur-mesure pour lui et il s'y connaît le bougre ! sa mise en scène posée et réfléchie, efficace, alterne l'humour, une dérision certaine et la corde sensible(ment) violoneusePapy Clint nous délivre un film à sa gloire dont il a le secret, du sur-mesure pour lui et il s'y connaît le bougre ! sa mise en scène posée et réfléchie, efficace, alterne l'humour, une dérision certaine et la corde sensible(ment) violoneuse et nostalgique de l'ancien combattant retraité. Les tics de cet avatar de l'inspecteur Harry qui compte ses jours sont autant de clins d'oeil de l'acteur à l'égard de son rôle à succès, maintes fois décliné tout au long de sa carrière.

Ainsi, le début et grosso merdo le premier tiers du film est des plus comiques mais cela ne suffit naturellement pas pour tenir la rampe ou la distance. Papy Clint nous sort alors pour le restant du film toute la panoplie de clichés dont il dispose : et il en a plein son sac, lui, le pépé-cliché ambulant, bougon, raciste, aigri et râleur.

Le jeune tocard dont il finit par s'occuper à plein temps est un gogol pénible, une tête à claques irrécupérable ; la famille de "niakoués" dont il se fait le prince-justicier sauveur ; les gangs que Papy se fait un devoir de corriger ; la propre famille de Pépé, une pauvre bande d'idiots directement transposée d'une "situation comedy" ; le jeune prêtre niaiseux dont il remonte les bretelles à chaque occasion ; les leçons de vie enfin qu'il inculque au jeune gogol, tout droit sorties d'un Kinder Surprise.

Même la fin que Papy a voulue grandiose et héroïque fait "pschiit" puisqu'il a cru bon d'en rajouter avec sa maladie (en plus d'avoir perdu sa femme, cela va de soi) ce qui réduit considérablement l'impact de son baroud d'honneur.

Tout cela est donc un peu trop facile et paresseux bien que pas totalement désagréable... c'est le problème avec les clichés : il faut en user avec parcimonie ou les déguiser avec application, ce que Papy Clint n'a certainement pas réussi à faire, englué qu'il est dans cette soupe dont il ne peut se défaire à notre grand dam.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
shiftworkerAug 22, 2016
Clint Eastwood's bigoted old man is exposed to an immigrant family next door. You'll go on a little emotional roller-coaster through tragic circumstances. Violence ensues and some people learn a lot. You'll have mixed feelings, but that oldClint Eastwood's bigoted old man is exposed to an immigrant family next door. You'll go on a little emotional roller-coaster through tragic circumstances. Violence ensues and some people learn a lot. You'll have mixed feelings, but that old heart-warming one will probably win out. By the end you'll like nearly everyone more than you did at the start and you might even want to watch it again sometime. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
CalibMcBoltsMay 30, 2016
''Gran Torino'' proved audiences and critics all of the world yet again why Hollywood legend and veteran Clint Eastwood should still be IN FRONT of the camera and not just behind it directing. Mr. Eastwood gives a pitch-perfect performance''Gran Torino'' proved audiences and critics all of the world yet again why Hollywood legend and veteran Clint Eastwood should still be IN FRONT of the camera and not just behind it directing. Mr. Eastwood gives a pitch-perfect performance whilst he's also masterfully directing.

''Gran Torino'' is a heartwarming and charming, yet heavy and emotional movie, with oddly enough a lot of satirical laugh-out-loud moments, about an improbable friendship.

''Gran Torino'' is simply put a great film, one of the best of the 2000's, and up there with ''Harald and Maude'', ''Intouchables'', ''E.T'', ''Cinema Paradiso'', ''Lost in Translation'' (just to name a few) in the list of unlikely friendships in great movies.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
ghaphorMar 11, 2016
A very insightful film about family, friendship and commitment. Clint Eastwood's performance was excellent as always, but the film was too slow-pace and gave time for character development.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
choomtabi31Jan 25, 2016
Incredible movie! The acting was fantastic, and the story was very interesting. I was surprised by how entertaining this film was.

Watch it online for free: https://www.primewire.ag/watch-320-Gran-Torino-online-free
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
jelenabiebs31Jan 13, 2016
Gran film, gran Clint. A must see. A movie hymn to Bravery and Sacrifice. Beautiful.

Watch it online for free: https://www.primewire.ag/watch-320-Gran-Torino-online-free
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
JumpmanJan 4, 2016
This movie is unbelievably terrible i wish i had never seen it. I shouldn't have even started reviewing it since i have to say other than it is terrible
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
MadMaxFuryRoadOct 19, 2015
Gran Torino is pretty much Eastwood's greatest movie still today! He does excellent work and amazing acting as the main role. This isn't much of an action, but rather a sometimes humorous, touching drama. His son is really hot in this film,Gran Torino is pretty much Eastwood's greatest movie still today! He does excellent work and amazing acting as the main role. This isn't much of an action, but rather a sometimes humorous, touching drama. His son is really hot in this film, and though the ending wasn't really what I was expecting or wanting, I still enjoyed it a lot more than American Sniper. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
BigOakley02Aug 23, 2015
This is literally the best movie I have ever seen. I think we have a Green Mile beater here. If you haven't seen this you must watch it within 48 hours of reading this.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Epik_NinnjaMay 23, 2015
Something about this movie really clicked with me. I understand why some think it's average but I thouroughly enjoyed it. I thought the acting was good and the story was interesting and made me wonder what was going to happen next. It's aboutSomething about this movie really clicked with me. I understand why some think it's average but I thouroughly enjoyed it. I thought the acting was good and the story was interesting and made me wonder what was going to happen next. It's about a racist old man who fought in the Korean war and has a Korean family living in the house next to his. He gets to know a Korean boy, though, and theydevelop a grandfather/grandson relationship. The old man helps the boy as he struggles with the local gang. As dark as it is, I laughed numerous times throughout. I guess it can deliver on more than one front. Anyways, this is definitely a movie you should watch. I personally found it to be quite excellent. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
solomsApr 17, 2015
That's a good story and a very good movie. I can watch this movie again and again because this story is wonderful. That's a movie that everybody should see it. really!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
homer4presidentMar 28, 2015
"Get off my lawn". Loved the message of this film. Loved to see Clint Eastwood be a hard head, then soften up and finally show some love. Good movie. f theirs something to say about Eastwood is that he is truly amazing and this movie truly rocks.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
referee40Mar 11, 2015
This movie is about coming of age. Clint Eastwood, despite his advanced age, doesn't know his grown children, and Tao is mired in the traditional practices of his heritage while growing up in the US. They unwittingly help each other toThis movie is about coming of age. Clint Eastwood, despite his advanced age, doesn't know his grown children, and Tao is mired in the traditional practices of his heritage while growing up in the US. They unwittingly help each other to overcome their personal inadequacies, despite some challenging circumstances. After the death of his wife, Eastwood's character, Walt Kowalski is lost, subsisting on beef jerky and Pabst beer. His pride and joy is a 1972 Ford Gran Turino. He is a capital B bigot, chaffing under the changing complexion of his neighbourhood. The constant use of racist names he calls his neighbours seems at times affected, but as the movie progresses, we are not as easily offended. In fact, we come to see these diatribes as Kowalski's true colours. In fact, there is humour in his rantings. Tao, a teenage neighbour, is being recruited by a local Hmong gang but fails the initiation, failing to steal the Gran Turino. Kowalski and Tao, together with Tao's sister Sue, become unlikely friends. The climax of the movie sees Kowalski morph into a Dirty Harry caricature, with bittersweet results. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
SchnitzelPoofFeb 8, 2015
I didn't know what to expect when Gran Torino started, and it managed to surprise me several times throughout the film. The characters were interesting, likable, and show the writers know people quite well. Clint Eastwood's acting is superb,I didn't know what to expect when Gran Torino started, and it managed to surprise me several times throughout the film. The characters were interesting, likable, and show the writers know people quite well. Clint Eastwood's acting is superb, and manages to make you laugh even when the situation is very grim.
I didn't care much for the ending, but it's understandable, considering where they were going with the story.
Most importantly, though, it swims against the current, and manages to challenge some prevailing taboos of today's PC culture, showing that human relationships are more than skin deep.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Potarto72Dec 21, 2014
Gran Torino isn't all that groundbreaking or revolutionary, but it does offer a very gritty and uplifting story, with plenty of morals and character development to entertain Eastwood fans.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
HaithamBSep 2, 2014
Gran Torino is honestly one of the most touching movies I have ever seen. The best characters in any movie are those who lived long before the movie's setting, those are deep and fully experienced life. Clint Eastwood is great in this movie,Gran Torino is honestly one of the most touching movies I have ever seen. The best characters in any movie are those who lived long before the movie's setting, those are deep and fully experienced life. Clint Eastwood is great in this movie, he is honestly my favorite part of the movie and my favorite actor of all time. Despite, I can't give the movie a full rating because some of the acting is off, especially Walt's friend and the some of the gang, they pulled me out of the moment which was unfortunate. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
beingryanjudeAug 27, 2014
An interesting turn for Clint Eastwood, but a worthy, fresh film. Eastwood reminds us that he has not entirely abandoned his skills in acting (& apparently, singing, too). Gran Torino cuts deep--just as Clint wished.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
chwJul 20, 2014
Gran Torino was such a great movie! Even though it's a Clint Eastwood directed film (meaning he usually directs the boring ones like J. Edgar and Jersey Boys), it should have been nominated Best Picture because it came out during the range ofGran Torino was such a great movie! Even though it's a Clint Eastwood directed film (meaning he usually directs the boring ones like J. Edgar and Jersey Boys), it should have been nominated Best Picture because it came out during the range of time Oscar nominated movies usually come out. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Meth-dudeJun 15, 2014
Gran Torino is my favourite movie of the year.Incredible acting, good story and good fight scenes.Clint Eastwood is absolutely brilliant in his role.I highly recommend it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
JacobApr 21, 2014
Eastwood's performance and character are excellent. I love the relationship between his character and the boy. Well shot good morals. Just a well made film. Should have higher critical praise than it does.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
Longo12Feb 13, 2014
I found Clints acting to be good but a lot of the supporting characters not so good. I liked the movie but I did feel it starting to get slow in the middle. The ending was great and genuinely made me sad. Not his best but far from his worst.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
ThegodfathersonDec 7, 2013
Gran Torino is a movie you must see. The PC police will almost certainly lambaste it, attempt to dismiss it as clumsy and cry out in shock at Eastwood’s willingness to portray a man so filled with hate and intolerance. Spike Lee, afterGran Torino is a movie you must see. The PC police will almost certainly lambaste it, attempt to dismiss it as clumsy and cry out in shock at Eastwood’s willingness to portray a man so filled with hate and intolerance. Spike Lee, after publicly calling out Clint for leaving black men out of Flags of our Fathers, may have an actual coronary. Hey Spike, this time he’s surrounded himself with brown people and decided to scream ethnic slurs. Ignore the naysayers, they won’t be able to see past their own prejudices to what lies beneath. Gran Torino is smarter than it seems and it’s broader, funnier, and more straightforward than you’d expect. This is the Clint Eastwood we all remember in a perfect final performance. He’s riding off into the sunset scowling, snarling, and spitting blood. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
willkulkaNov 24, 2013
There comes a point when actors are too old to play even their signature roles. Unfortunately, Eastwood falls under the category, resulting in a somewhat cheesy and slow-moving plot line, yet satisfying ending.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
RayzorMooseNov 13, 2013
Gran Torino is gritty and gratuitous.
A great script with a well paced plot. The believability is essential and it elevates the movie. A really good picture all around.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
KozySauceAug 29, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Great film. Well acted and very powerful.

I read a user review on this site saying that the message this movie is sending is that the only way to defeat evil people is to let them kill you, and then they'll only spend a few years in prison. To the guy who wrote that review, all I have to say is... what? You do realize that all those guys are going to be found guilty of second degree murder right? That's life in prison, no exceptions. What did you expect to happen? Walt and Thao waltz on up to that house, go on an epic shooting rampage, kill everyone and then get away with it scot-free and everyone lives happily ever after? Clearly you've been watching too many Michael Bay films and also have no clue how the criminal justice system works. They shot Walt in cold blood, in clear view of neighbours. Even if nobody in the neighbourhood actually saw it, they all surely heard the gunshots. and Walt had no gun. Leaving Spider and his Gang the only ones who could have done the shooting. I think you need to look at the bigger picture here. Walt was nearing the end of his life. Over the course of the movie, he grew to care for Thao and his family. Once he found out that there were no witnesses to Sue's kidnapping and the members of the community refused to talk about anything related to Spider's gang, he knew it was the only way to ensure that Spider's gang would never harm Thao and his family ever again. So he spent his last moment doing something very courageous that not only saved Thao and his family but that whole community as well.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
sinadoomJul 18, 2013
Gran Torino is a decent film for watching if you're bored, but if you're expecting something completely immersive and gripping, you will be disappointed. There's no action or significant events really, and the entire plot can be summarised inGran Torino is a decent film for watching if you're bored, but if you're expecting something completely immersive and gripping, you will be disappointed. There's no action or significant events really, and the entire plot can be summarised in about 20 seconds. There aren't any unnecessary parts in the film which are unrelated or pointless, but character development isn't as good as it could be and overall the film is a bit too long and thin on content. The whole film takes place within a few meters, as just bout the entire film is all in one house and a street. The problem with Gran Torino is that there's no real emotion during the film. No excitement. The entire film is quite bland; although it does manage to keep you watching it all the way through. Its only redeeming feature is the occasional comical scenes. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
M9kiJun 19, 2013
One of his best movies yet.We need more movies like this its action and a few funny parts.As of always eastwood is a perfect actor he always gets the job done.
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
8
FesLatif1984Jun 17, 2013
cracking film, Clint Eastwood at his magnificent best. very emotional story and although i personally feel the ending could have been different the film will not fail to move you emotionally
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews