Warner Bros. Pictures | Release Date: December 12, 2008
7.8
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 688 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
557
Mixed:
57
Negative:
74
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
JettyNJan 14, 2009
This movie painted a perfect picture of how people are nowadays.It was a masterpiece, the slamming on foreign cars especially was great. Anyone giving this movie a low score probably did so because the movie made them realize they fit into This movie painted a perfect picture of how people are nowadays.It was a masterpiece, the slamming on foreign cars especially was great. Anyone giving this movie a low score probably did so because the movie made them realize they fit into one of the groups being heckled the whole time. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
9
GeraldV.Jan 16, 2009
Gran Torino may not be Eastwood's best but it sure ranks in the top 5. While watching the movie you may think the script is all contrived -- until the very ending.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
bobpJan 19, 2009
Naysayers be damned, great movie. The reality, as one poster pointed out, is that spoiled teens and their spoiled parent's would probably not appreciate the calling out that they receive in this movie, everyone else (who has a sense of Naysayers be damned, great movie. The reality, as one poster pointed out, is that spoiled teens and their spoiled parent's would probably not appreciate the calling out that they receive in this movie, everyone else (who has a sense of humor) will love it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LanceA.Jan 8, 2009
An amazing performance by Clint Eastwood, and it astounds me that even as old as he is, he can still make a 20 year old mucle-head piss his pants out of pure bad-assery.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BobbyD.Jan 9, 2009
They stopped makin' movies like this 'round 1977. deeply affecting.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
JenBFeb 15, 2009
I simply cannot understand why this movie has garnered such favorable reviews from both critics and fans. It is one of the most ham-fisted pieces of dreck I've ever seen. Do you find it insulting to have the plot spoonfed to you? Would I simply cannot understand why this movie has garnered such favorable reviews from both critics and fans. It is one of the most ham-fisted pieces of dreck I've ever seen. Do you find it insulting to have the plot spoonfed to you? Would you rather watch actors act, rather than have the character development firehosed down your throat in the first 5 minutes? Did you feel manipulated after you watched 'Million Dollar Baby'? You'll hate this one too. Someone needs to revoke Eastwood's lifetime pass. Expand
1 of 5 users found this helpful
10
UjnFeb 9, 2009
This movie was the Bomb! Clint Eastwood knows how to act... no doubt. Don't miss this movie, it will most likely be the last you see staring the great. A+
1 of 1 users found this helpful
1
PeteMar 1, 2009
Giving this movie a 1 was generous, but I thought they deserved a point for working out how to turn the camera on! The first movie I have ever walked out on; the lack of strength in plot, sceenplay, or acting was cringe-worthy at best.
1 of 5 users found this helpful
10
JimB.Mar 1, 2009
A fantastically worked critique of modern American society. One of the best films i have seen in ages. Eastwood is typically brilliant as both actor and director. There is a reason he came back to acting this film is brilliant.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ScottC.Mar 9, 2009
Classic Eastwood...gritty portrayal of current urban existence.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MargaretS.Jun 20, 2009
I loved Gran Torino...Clint Eastwood was superb in his "last" role...I cried at the end and found it very moving. I agree that the Priest did not do a good acting job. He was very mis-cast.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
8
DHJul 2, 2009
Great performances. Great pace. Classic Eastwood ending, as always.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
TerryCJul 4, 2009
A lot of potential, spoiled by reprehensible acting from everyone except Clint. I was laughing in parts where I really shouldn't have been laughing. But still enjoyable enough to earn a slightly passing grade.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
RicardoC.Aug 25, 2009
It's a shame that most of the people can't realize this is not about "gangster / redemption / retribution ", but well, like Lisa Schwarzbaum said: This is subtle, perceptive stuff.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
0
PaulS.Jan 1, 2009
I just don't understand movies nowadays. The movie was terrible. The story line was horrible. The acting was a joke. This movie was horrendous.
1 of 6 users found this helpful
10
MannyS.Jan 10, 2009
This movie was one of the best yet in the last 3 years that I have seen. The thing of this movie that struck me as memorable is that so many people in the midwest are similar to Mr. Kowalski rough on the surface and so good hearted This movie was one of the best yet in the last 3 years that I have seen. The thing of this movie that struck me as memorable is that so many people in the midwest are similar to Mr. Kowalski rough on the surface and so good hearted underneath. Anyone that wants to know what the midwest is about just watch this movie and it will give you a glimpse of reality. Thank you Clint for your incredible performance and direction. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
TimWJan 13, 2009
The two Asian siblings' acting is a joke. Paris Hilton could probably out-act them. They make the movie very hard to watch.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
5
CDJan 15, 2009
Wow, all these 10's?!? This movie was average at best. It was better than Eastwood's "Blood Work" movie but besides that i was not that good. The acting was terrible (yes, I know all the Hmong's were first-timers) and the Wow, all these 10's?!? This movie was average at best. It was better than Eastwood's "Blood Work" movie but besides that i was not that good. The acting was terrible (yes, I know all the Hmong's were first-timers) and the story was boring. And I've heard from everyone that it had a bunch of laugh's in the film...The only time everyone laughed in the theatre was when he dropped one of his 568 racial slurs in the film. Its just a movie full of the slurs; gooks, fish-heads, swamp-rats, japs, zipperheads...I can't even remember them all. I shook my head coming out of the theatre after seeing caucasians already laughing and repeating those degrading slurs against Asians. ...I was going to give it a 0, to try and even it up but a 5 is what it deserves. Erase all the slurs and it still is only a 5. Overhyped!! Expand
1 of 6 users found this helpful
0
VanceBJan 17, 2009
The grand lesson of this movie is that the way to really defeat evil people is to allow them to kill you. Because maybe, just maybe, they might have to spend a few years in prison--boy that will teach 'em! This movie is the ultimate The grand lesson of this movie is that the way to really defeat evil people is to allow them to kill you. Because maybe, just maybe, they might have to spend a few years in prison--boy that will teach 'em! This movie is the ultimate result of a culture that has become completely pacified and sissy-fied. It was a good movie up to the end. It made some valid commentary on our over-offended society (friends throw ethnic insults at each other without getting offended--unthinkable!). I love Clint Eastwood as an actor, but he has completely sold out to this pacifist mentality--the best way to teach bad people a lesson is to let them hurt you. Expand
0 of 6 users found this helpful
8
MikeMikeJan 18, 2009
Just about the time the joke gets old the movie shifts gears. Overall a respectable movie that deserves a look on the big screen. I was surprised. BTW, Clint gets a 4 for his song during the credits.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
DomoJan 18, 2009
Clint is playing the John Wayne card by doing his Dirty Harry routine. It's tedious to a degree yet nonetheless entertaining if you let go of any expectation of artistry he shows in his non-starring vehicles. He's a great director Clint is playing the John Wayne card by doing his Dirty Harry routine. It's tedious to a degree yet nonetheless entertaining if you let go of any expectation of artistry he shows in his non-starring vehicles. He's a great director but his acting is really stiff. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JohnS.Jan 2, 2009
One of the best movies I have ever seen
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
Quackh.Jan 22, 2009
A really good and heartfelt movie. Even though the acting may seem stiff, it felt real. Not that over dramatic type deal. If the movie was enough to make me tear up then yes what a great movie it is. People who've given bad reviews A really good and heartfelt movie. Even though the acting may seem stiff, it felt real. Not that over dramatic type deal. If the movie was enough to make me tear up then yes what a great movie it is. People who've given bad reviews don't deserve to be critics. They don't even know what a good movie is, even if it smacks em right in the face. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
10
fantasyJan 23, 2009
Clint's in a league of his own. If this was his last movie he went out with his boots on. Certainly deserving of all the praise it is getting. Perhaps Hollywood should take some lessons on acting and directing from Clint. Excellent.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MoS.Jan 25, 2009
Its only shortcoming was the irony of life and a shortage of good young actors.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
frankfJan 28, 2009
I expected this move to be a Dirty Harry retread. I certainly starts that way but becomes something else. There is too many racial slurs and exaggerated "man to man" swearing. This movie is far from perfect but Clint pulls it off. It good to I expected this move to be a Dirty Harry retread. I certainly starts that way but becomes something else. There is too many racial slurs and exaggerated "man to man" swearing. This movie is far from perfect but Clint pulls it off. It good to see Detroit neighborhoods as they truly are. Poor and run down but people keep trying to live there. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
HenryFilmsJan 31, 2009
This typical Clint Eastwood film exceeded my expectations of a horrible"shoot 'em up" movie. Some parts of the movie really made me want to meet Walt (Clint Eastwood). Over all this movie gets a firm 9/10 from me.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JohnMJan 30, 2009
Excellent movie. While there is plenty of "offensive" language, the overall theme of the movie is an old man, set in his ways, who fought asians earlier in his life, and so was unhappy with them moving into his neighborhood. As the movie Excellent movie. While there is plenty of "offensive" language, the overall theme of the movie is an old man, set in his ways, who fought asians earlier in his life, and so was unhappy with them moving into his neighborhood. As the movie progresses, he not only lays down the law to one of the local gangs, brings many laughs to the audience (some so rapid that you miss a second or third joke while still laughing at the first) and leaves you genuinely enjoying your time spent watching, but grows to have an understanding and appreciation for their culture. Unfortunately, the movie's namesake makes hardly an appearance, and doesn't play a significant role in the storyline. A shame, because (while not my favorite classic muscle car) it's a gorgeous machine that does indeed demand a bit of respect and appreciation. Very good movie. An excited 10 rating. Watched it twice so far, and will be buying the DVD as soon as it's out. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
BecquerMFeb 15, 2009
"Gran Torino" is a near-miss for Clint Eastwood: by far his best film of the year, but far from "Letters from Iwo Jima" or "Million Dollar Baby," which not only are more realistic than this surreal and borderline stereotypical representation "Gran Torino" is a near-miss for Clint Eastwood: by far his best film of the year, but far from "Letters from Iwo Jima" or "Million Dollar Baby," which not only are more realistic than this surreal and borderline stereotypical representation of race-relations and family-ties, but also pact a more profound umph - that feeling you get when you've actually learned something - than what is ever revealed of Walt. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
jimNFeb 17, 2009
Not nearly as good as all the hype. Forced dialogue, bad acting, contrived writing
1 of 6 users found this helpful
10
NicholasKFeb 22, 2009
Incredibly powerful, both humorous and moving at the same time. One of the best films I've seen in a long time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChesterCheetahFeb 6, 2009
Was very surprised because the trailer made it look like Deathwish or something. I wasn't ready for how funny it was. Then, the last third of the movie became sort of an urban western. Really great and understated film - 10 of 10!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
bobs.Feb 7, 2009
Eastwood is cool. Movie made me cry.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GregT.Feb 9, 2009
Funny & Spiritual.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
PhilAApr 10, 2009
All the previous comments by "3 or less" pretty much sum it up. I told my wife I wish I could have those 2 hours back. What a waste of time.
1 of 6 users found this helpful
10
JamesMJun 14, 2009
Absolutely amazing film. It's probably my favorite movie this year, if not of all time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JohnH.Jun 24, 2009
Great Movie. I would give it a ten. Great action, plot, acting, etc. I would have nominated this movie for best picture. It is my third favorite film last year. My other two favorites were The Dark Knight and Slumdog Millionaire. The other Great Movie. I would give it a ten. Great action, plot, acting, etc. I would have nominated this movie for best picture. It is my third favorite film last year. My other two favorites were The Dark Knight and Slumdog Millionaire. The other two movies I would have nominated for Best Picture are Iron Man,and the Changeling, followed by Doubt. You have to see this movie. Whoever didn't like this movie, no affence, but flat out, is just an idiot or has very poor taste in movies! See this movie!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
McKinleyTJun 25, 2009
This movie had so much potential; a great storyline, excellent plot development and a dramatic and touching ending. However all of this could not make me overlook the absolutely horrible acting in this film. Clint Eastwood might as well have This movie had so much potential; a great storyline, excellent plot development and a dramatic and touching ending. However all of this could not make me overlook the absolutely horrible acting in this film. Clint Eastwood might as well have played all the parts himself, Eddie Murphy-style. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JayH.Jun 6, 2009
Clint Eastwood's direction makes this film work. It is too overstated, but it's a film that you can't help but admire and like. Great performances all around, and it's well written and very moving.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
KellyM.Jul 23, 2009
Surprisingly thoughtful and hopeful in cracking the fault lines between the races and what people fear they don't like or don't know. Cheers to Mr Eastwood for this great film
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TomAug 7, 2009
The movie is one of the best films I've seen in years. This is plain and simply a masterpiece made out of a plot that a 10 year old could have written. And that, I have learned, is what separates the true moviemakers from the wannabes.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TimHSep 25, 2009
This is definantly in my top 10 of favorite movies. You would think that it would be all about Walt, our hero, being a tough guy, but that isn't the case. While Clint does sport his usual hard outer shell, you also get to see hisThis is definantly in my top 10 of favorite movies. You would think that it would be all about Walt, our hero, being a tough guy, but that isn't the case. While Clint does sport his usual hard outer shell, you also get to see his humerous side and, even more importantly, his soft side. Granted, at the beggining the movie doen't seem like much, the middle and ending is what puts it over the top. The relationships Walt forms and how he deals with a gang troubled young teen is what makes this movie spectacular. The plot twists will have you questioning humanity. Yes it does have some good action but that isn't really the purpose of the movie. And for those of you wary of this movie because of racism, don't worry, Walt insults all the major ethnicities (Asians, Mexicans, Jews, Blacks, etc.) so no one is left out. He hates (almost) everyone equally. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JohnS.Mar 3, 2010
One of the best movies I have ever seen
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
[Anonymous]Dec 12, 2008
Gran Torino is the best film of the year and Eastwood's performance is one of the best of all times.He must win the oscar for best actor this year.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DavidHDec 27, 2008
Very entertaining film, which is the reason I go to the movies. Great dialog, a lot of different emotions from humor to sadness. A subject a lot of people probably can relate to if they live in a large city. Eastwood continues to amaze with Very entertaining film, which is the reason I go to the movies. Great dialog, a lot of different emotions from humor to sadness. A subject a lot of people probably can relate to if they live in a large city. Eastwood continues to amaze with the quality of films he puts out. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RoyDec 29, 2008
Clint Eastwood is excellent in portraying a character you really come to know well and care about.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JamesP.Jan 11, 2009
Best Movie of the Year! A must-see!! I thoroughly enjoyed this film. The racial humor makes you laugh throughout, and the characters have a good on screen rapport that draws you into the story. Very entertaining!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
KimL.Jan 11, 2009
Suprisingly funny, mabey a bit cliched but I enjoyed it! It ends sadly and reminds me that this may be Clints last movie, a sad thing indeed.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MaryN.Jan 11, 2009
My boyfriend & I go see movies all the time. I am hard to please when it comes to movies...and this movie was one of the best movies I have seen in a long time. It has a great plot and well worth the time & money!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BillC.Jan 10, 2009
Great story. Clint still has what it takes. Perfect movie for a 78 year old Dirty Harry.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MartinaA.Jan 10, 2009
Wow...this film made it to my top 10 list of favorite movies, ever! Aside from a bit of bad acting here and there by the newcomers, I absolutely loved it! Gripping, touching and very emotional...a Do Not Miss movie!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JeffJ.Jan 10, 2009
I found this movie experience to be emotionally draining. No one but Clint Eastwood could have played his role as Kowalski. And it wasn't all tense and somber - there were lots of laogh out loud momemts, which made Kowalski even more I found this movie experience to be emotionally draining. No one but Clint Eastwood could have played his role as Kowalski. And it wasn't all tense and somber - there were lots of laogh out loud momemts, which made Kowalski even more endearing. Highly recommended! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
JoeRJan 12, 2009
Quite frankly, I think this film is highly overrated. Eastwood gives a fine performance. But it's another hum-drum tail of aging man who is mad at life miraculously developing an unlikely friendship with Joe Blow. Walt Kowalski goes Quite frankly, I think this film is highly overrated. Eastwood gives a fine performance. But it's another hum-drum tail of aging man who is mad at life miraculously developing an unlikely friendship with Joe Blow. Walt Kowalski goes from Ivan the terrible to Mother Theresa in a matter of days. How many times can you hear the work "gook" and "slope eye" before it just starts to grow old. Not a horrible film, but wait until you can watch it cheaper than $10.50. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
NathanK.Jan 12, 2009
Such and wonderful and powerful movie. Funny and touching all at the same time. Clint gives one of the best performances I've seen in quite a while and he fits the character perfectly.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
GregMJan 13, 2009
I think critics are letting their albeit well-deserved love of Clint Eastwood cloud their opinions. The dialogue felt stiff and some of the acting left much to be desired. Eastwood is excellent and there are funny moments, but this is not in I think critics are letting their albeit well-deserved love of Clint Eastwood cloud their opinions. The dialogue felt stiff and some of the acting left much to be desired. Eastwood is excellent and there are funny moments, but this is not in the same state, much less room, as Slumdog. And his familiar body posture -- that of the Jesus-like crucifixion -- at the very end is over-the-top ridiculous. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
ZackM.Jan 13, 2009
Well-wrought storytelling bogged down by wooden performances and an inflated sense of purpose.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
jessD.Jan 14, 2009
What a marvelous film. More than I could have ever expected. This film is almost perfect from where I sat. The only weak link is the non professional player performing the part of the troubled male teen if only because he was such an What a marvelous film. More than I could have ever expected. This film is almost perfect from where I sat. The only weak link is the non professional player performing the part of the troubled male teen if only because he was such an important part of the story. Everyone else in the film is dead on perfect including the salty and inspiring screenplay. A MUST SEE and a special treat especially for older people. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
DanaM.Jan 14, 2009
I must admit I was hoping for a more believable movie. I thought a few times I was watching Carol O'connor and Archie Bunker. Clints character just wasn't believable with his over the top ethnic comments. Clint probably should have I must admit I was hoping for a more believable movie. I thought a few times I was watching Carol O'connor and Archie Bunker. Clints character just wasn't believable with his over the top ethnic comments. Clint probably should have left the directing to someone else. An OK movie but could have been better. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
hopefJan 14, 2009
Powerful. well acted. great story.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
LukeSJan 16, 2009
I found this movie to be quite good, so I don't see what you haters are complaining about. The acting is cheesey at times by the other actors but Eastwood is still awsome. It has its twists and turns and the only thing I really I found this movie to be quite good, so I don't see what you haters are complaining about. The acting is cheesey at times by the other actors but Eastwood is still awsome. It has its twists and turns and the only thing I really didn't like was Clint Eastwood singing during the end credits (good try though). I still say that any movie fan should give this one a shot. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
Your'reAllIdiotsJan 16, 2009
For all the people trashing this film, you obviously can't see any of the moral of greater idea of this movie. It wasn't poorly written of directed, if you go looking for things to hate you'll find them. This was a great movie.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
TreenaL.Jan 16, 2009
LOVED this movie! I think it's one of those movies that peoople will either love or hate - no in between. But I loved it! Clint Eastwood was classic.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NickSJan 17, 2009
Everything a movie should be and more.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BRizzaJan 17, 2009
Saw it last night with my wife (both of us Asian btw) & we thoroughly enjoyed it. Action, comedy, drama, etc... This movie had it all & Eastwood shined as a retired "Gunny Highway"-like with a touch of "Bill Munny" retired Ford employee. If Saw it last night with my wife (both of us Asian btw) & we thoroughly enjoyed it. Action, comedy, drama, etc... This movie had it all & Eastwood shined as a retired "Gunny Highway"-like with a touch of "Bill Munny" retired Ford employee. If you're wondering why I quoted the fact that we are both Asian, yet we STILL enjoyed it, WATCH THE MOVIE. Awesome flick... Eastwood is the F'n MAN! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BillO.Jan 17, 2009
Can just say wow? I would;ve given this an 8 or nine, but it ticks me off that people give these movies 3's and 0's when they really don't deserve a score that low
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
terrinJan 17, 2009
This was a really good story...you can see how this happens in the neighborhood, and each neighborhood has its own character,like clint, who do not like change. as for his family...this is so true, kids nowhere to be found, neighbors turning This was a really good story...you can see how this happens in the neighborhood, and each neighborhood has its own character,like clint, who do not like change. as for his family...this is so true, kids nowhere to be found, neighbors turning into family...i really liked this story, found it totally believable, could see it happening to immigrants...thank god clint stood up....WE NEED MORE CLINTS IN THIS WORLD. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
stevehJan 17, 2009
The best movie I've seen in a long time. It was reality.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
HenryG.Jan 19, 2009
I thought this movie was fantastic. Last year, when the Dark Knight came out, everybody loved, except for me. I feel about this move the way everybody else felt about the Dark Knight last year. The only bad thing about this movie was the I thought this movie was fantastic. Last year, when the Dark Knight came out, everybody loved, except for me. I feel about this move the way everybody else felt about the Dark Knight last year. The only bad thing about this movie was the ending kind of upset me. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DaveCaldwellJan 21, 2009
A nice film, nice to see Clint still acting rather than just directing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MarkBayerJan 22, 2009
Forget CBS's ill-conceived TV spinoff Archie Bunker's Place; this movie REALLY delivers the scoop on how Archie endured the loss of his beloved Edith. Grizzled, beyond-curmudgeonly, and emotionally haunted Korean War vet and retireeForget CBS's ill-conceived TV spinoff Archie Bunker's Place; this movie REALLY delivers the scoop on how Archie endured the loss of his beloved Edith. Grizzled, beyond-curmudgeonly, and emotionally haunted Korean War vet and retiree Walt (don't call him Wally) Kowalski (Clint Eastwood) deals with his very recent widowerhood by increasing his Pabst Blue Ribbon Beer intake and growling (literally) far more often than his dog Daisy does. With characteristic spareness, efficiency and (mostly) unsentimentality, Eastwood as actor and director shows us how the Asian family next door (and those all down the block) help Walt to...well, if not quite warm up, then at least thaw out. When Thao, a sweet but fatherless and directionless kid is pressured into trying to steal Walt's beloved 1970s title vehicle as part of a gang initiation, Walt gets more involved than he would have normally chosen, learns that Tsingtao may be a tastier brew than Pabst, finds a family that's thicker than the one he's related to by blood, and expands the meaning of the sports and business cliche "taking one for the team". While Walt isn't shy in his use of racial/ethnic slurs (his output rivals that of Norman Wexler's screenplays for Joe, Mandingo and Drum combined!) the guy's impossible to dislike...he's not that far removed from Dirty Harry Callahan, who informed his Hispanic partner that of all the minorities he hated, he ESPECIALLY despised "spics"...but said so with the slightest of winks, and later treated his partner and wife with exceptional kindness when Chico was seriously injured on duty. But then, it's entirely fitting that this hugely entertaining, satisfying tale of a recluse's re-entry into the human race should feature Eastwood's ostensibly final on-screen appearance; while the performance is at times as broad and self-parodistic as John Wayne's Oscar-winning turn as Rooster Cogburn, it also represents the final steps in Eastwood's highly conscious and deliberate re-invention of his movie persona. Pauline Kael (never a fan, or even close) commented in the 1970s that Eastwood's success proved that you didn't have to be a nice guy to be a screen hero, and his early stardom proves it: The Man With No Name in his Leone Westernswas so exclusively self-centered and mercenary that only in the last of them, The Good, the Bad and the Ugly, did he perform his only unselfish act (offering a dying soldier a smoke); in Coogan's Bluff he pushed some poor guy off his motorcycle and stole it; in The Eiger Sanction he remorselessly engineered the deaths of several innocents; in High Plains Drifter he commits rape and near-rape (had roofies been available in the Old West, he would've slipped Verna Bloom one), and the list goes on. Moviegoers and critics trace the beginning of Eastwood's turnaround with 1992's Unforgiven, which seriously examines and questions the violence that Eastwood seemingly perpetuated and stood for in his earlier films, but it went back seven years earlier with Pale Rider, in which Eastwood played a homiletic, Shane-like preacher (!!) who TURNS DOWN two sexual invitations. In Gran Torino's third act, Eastwood's Walt both considers the wisdom (or lack of it) of unrestrained revenge (as opposed to legitimate self-defense) and embraces truly generous behavior, which reflects flatteringly on the star and director; there's something genuinely touching about the sincerity with which Eastwood has been trying in the last half of his career to reinvent the image he created in the first. Then, too, Gran Torino is the perfect film for this time in our political and cultural history: it's been aptly described as "the first Barack Obama movie", and it speaks well for our country's newly-found inclusiveness that it comes to us from a Republican. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
JesseM.Jan 2, 2009
Contrived writing, poor acting and terribly paced. An overall disappointment. Eastwood has consistently been one of the most generous and rewarding directors in Hollywood for some time, but this trite is the sort of stuff that unfortunately Contrived writing, poor acting and terribly paced. An overall disappointment. Eastwood has consistently been one of the most generous and rewarding directors in Hollywood for some time, but this trite is the sort of stuff that unfortunately stains a career. The only clever, endearing, and ultimately redeeming part of this film is its ending, but it can only pack so much punch. And any force it had was totally suffocated by the embarrassing exitlude sung by Eastwood himself. Expand
1 of 5 users found this helpful
10
MarkB.Jan 22, 2009
Another finely crafted Eastwood movie full of meaning where no scene is wasted.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
HamishA.Jan 24, 2009
It's most definitely going to be one of the best movies of 2009. A very heartwarming movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JC.Jan 25, 2009
Am I the only one who thought this movie was completely jokes? like seriously, it was just clint eastwood saying really racist shit all the time. there were scenes where he simply growled and otherrs where he just listed racist terms for Am I the only one who thought this movie was completely jokes? like seriously, it was just clint eastwood saying really racist shit all the time. there were scenes where he simply growled and otherrs where he just listed racist terms for asians. one scene in particular struck me as completely ridiculous, the one where the black guys are talking shit to the asian girl and the white dude, it has no importance to the storyline or advancement of the plot, he just needed to get every race in his rampage of racism. Collapse
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SamuelW.Jan 26, 2009
fitting that the clueless hollywood crowd snubbed this masterpiece about self sacrifice, redemption, what it means to be an American, family, aging, respect, and living a meaningful and good life, and fixing things for eternity.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LindaH.Jan 28, 2009
This movie was like visiting an old friend. Clint Eastwood was great; I wish he could get an Oscar. The Hmong characters were marvelous and moving. Although I guessed the ending before it came, it was the right ending and satisfying to the This movie was like visiting an old friend. Clint Eastwood was great; I wish he could get an Oscar. The Hmong characters were marvelous and moving. Although I guessed the ending before it came, it was the right ending and satisfying to the character development. If you ever loved any Eastwood movie you should go to this one. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JillL.Jan 29, 2009
Although the movie had it's flaws, it gave me a lot to think about. Imagine, a guy whom you think is a racist, really isn't (a guy whose actions speak louder than words). It speaks to the adversity and lack of freedom people face Although the movie had it's flaws, it gave me a lot to think about. Imagine, a guy whom you think is a racist, really isn't (a guy whose actions speak louder than words). It speaks to the adversity and lack of freedom people face because of crime. This movie was charming, funny, suspenseful and smart all at the same time. No wonder Hollywood didn't give it any awards-- it had morality! It spoke of such un-Hollywood themes as the importance of toughness and learning to take care of yourself and others and how to think with your head and not your emotions. Would like to see this movie show in high schools with plenty of discussion time allowed. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DarylP.Jan 31, 2009
Two words "Eastwood Delivers!". Put simply, they dont make superior movies like this anymore. All the bits about racism is a heap of crap. It is a part of the plot, a self-obstacle that the main character has to come to grips with. The whole Two words "Eastwood Delivers!". Put simply, they dont make superior movies like this anymore. All the bits about racism is a heap of crap. It is a part of the plot, a self-obstacle that the main character has to come to grips with. The whole point of the story is to show how the most hated character evolves into the hero! It shows how a man slowly overcomes his fears, and regrets instead of continually using them on others. This movie isn't about an old dog learning new tricks, its about an old dog trying to teach a newer generation an important lesson. This movie conserves a great deal of American values, that the current media and society have long since been trying to do away with. Id give it a higher ranking but 10 is all i have to work with. Clint eastwoods best by far. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChrisP.Jan 4, 2009
Now that was just awesome.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
AlS.Jan 4, 2009
Funniest movie of the year by far, and that's not to take away from the quality of it, all in all a great film, Eastwood is perfect, between him and Ledger, best performances of the year
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JasonM.Jan 5, 2009
Greatest movie ever made.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
KJan 5, 2009
Highly disappointing. Slow and poorly written. Basically a sermon on "kids these days".
0 of 1 users found this helpful
2
DavidCJan 5, 2009
Give me a break, this movie stinks. Probably the most overrated movie I remember seeing in the theaters. What's the worst part about Gran Torino? The acting, story line, script, director, characters...take your pick.
1 of 5 users found this helpful
3
BillyS.Jan 9, 2009
Seriously? A Best Picture contender. You're kidding, right? Really. A Best Actor nomination for Clint. Come on, for Gran Torino? Where he plays that Archie Bunker guy who growls more than Learch and puts the fear of God in every ethnic Seriously? A Best Picture contender. You're kidding, right? Really. A Best Actor nomination for Clint. Come on, for Gran Torino? Where he plays that Archie Bunker guy who growls more than Learch and puts the fear of God in every ethnic gang in Detroit by his mere old white man presence, that Gran Torino? Seriously Clint, it's time to put Dirty Harry to bed. Oscar? Only if they award one for Best Achievement In Cliche! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
NickFeb 10, 2009
This movie has some actual substance to it unlike a lot of modern films. It is funny, and moving at the same time, so all I have to say to the reviewer from the Baltimore Sun is that u wouldnt know a good movie any more than you know ur ass This movie has some actual substance to it unlike a lot of modern films. It is funny, and moving at the same time, so all I have to say to the reviewer from the Baltimore Sun is that u wouldnt know a good movie any more than you know ur ass from a hole in the ground. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
davidlFeb 1, 2009
Fantastic film, powerful and very moving. Incredible how it could have garnered no academy nominations. Just shows hows skewed the academy voting process is. This is one of the best films of the year.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JasonDeatherageFeb 14, 2009
I felt that this was a very powerful film. I was shocked that it was not nominated for best picture or even best actor. I hate the way that the Academy always misses the mark on films. I do not think that it would of won but it should of I felt that this was a very powerful film. I was shocked that it was not nominated for best picture or even best actor. I hate the way that the Academy always misses the mark on films. I do not think that it would of won but it should of been nominated. I like the role that Eastwood played in the film. It was very well directed and the story was well told. All of the actors did a great job. I would recommend this to anyone. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RichardGFeb 2, 2009
Good movie. It is fantastic in every way as it will you a good mark on your life.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JayRFeb 26, 2009
While it was a strong performance from Clint Eastwood as well as a solid direction, the movie just seemed to fall over time. When he begins the interact with his neighbors it starts out well but then leads into a cheeseball movie. The boy While it was a strong performance from Clint Eastwood as well as a solid direction, the movie just seemed to fall over time. When he begins the interact with his neighbors it starts out well but then leads into a cheeseball movie. The boy "toad" acted horribly and was very unconvincing as well as the rest of his family as well as the gangsters and the young preacher. But in entirety the moral of the story is a strong and good one. If only it could have been played out better. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JohnU.Feb 8, 2009
Terrific entertainment. Clint Eastwood deserved recognition from the Academy for this one.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
JeremyBMar 15, 2009
Take Clint Eastwood out of the picture and it crumbles on itself. But ultimately it's really just an update of the Karate Kid in reverse, with a little more violence.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
TerrenceM.Mar 28, 2009
Very well realized and believable characters made this film's portray on er, gangster US enjoyable and not cringe worthy like many other film's pretentious 'dis be real' take on the urban underbelly. Clint Eastwood does a Very well realized and believable characters made this film's portray on er, gangster US enjoyable and not cringe worthy like many other film's pretentious 'dis be real' take on the urban underbelly. Clint Eastwood does a great job of getting across the tough guy persona even at his age of 82! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JohnM.Mar 4, 2009
This film packs the biggest emotional pay-off of the season. The ending is beautiful and deeply satisfying. So are the photography and music. The acting by the amateur cast seems out of kilter at first, but finally it all comes together and This film packs the biggest emotional pay-off of the season. The ending is beautiful and deeply satisfying. So are the photography and music. The acting by the amateur cast seems out of kilter at first, but finally it all comes together and convinces. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BradleyC.Mar 7, 2009
I liked it, but it wasnt worth the hype. he has done a good movie. but the asian actors...AAAARG! thao totally cannot act. what were they thinking
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DanRMay 1, 2009
This is one of the best movies from 2008, a true masterpiece. I went in expecting a where eagles dear like movie but feel in love with this movie. 10 outa 10
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JonathanWMay 16, 2009
Brilliant. Dark and disturbing, but with hope and redemption to turn the tide... Nobody could have played this character like Clint.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BojanaMJun 14, 2009
generally good movie. mr eastwood is basicly in his same mood as beforewith the same style. but hey, it's clint eastwood :) the story itself is very realistic but yet, poorly done- turn out too naive till the end when you acctually generally good movie. mr eastwood is basicly in his same mood as beforewith the same style. but hey, it's clint eastwood :) the story itself is very realistic but yet, poorly done- turn out too naive till the end when you acctually change your mind. I gve it an 8 only couse of the poorly built characters but still, it's a good movie and everyone should watch it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BMJun 15, 2009
Wow, what an impact this movie made. I'm from tehj area where it was filmed, so that made it even more enjoyable. Fantastic film and not one easily forgotten.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ShaneSJun 16, 2009
This movie was really underated by the oscars, Clint Eastwood is at his best here make no mistake. He still, (as though it were a refined art), pulls off being a gritty, hardcore, don't-mess-around-with-me kind of a guy even though This movie was really underated by the oscars, Clint Eastwood is at his best here make no mistake. He still, (as though it were a refined art), pulls off being a gritty, hardcore, don't-mess-around-with-me kind of a guy even though he's like in his eighties. This movie brings the persona, that is Clint Eastwood, to a whole new level, with some smart humor and a great supporting cast. I highly recommend this film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
BrianT.Jun 21, 2009
Not really sure how to rate this movie. clint eastwood was a ten, the plot/script was decent, but many members of the supporting cast were abysmal. bad enough to distract and ruin (?) the movie. i guess i would recommend the movie but only Not really sure how to rate this movie. clint eastwood was a ten, the plot/script was decent, but many members of the supporting cast were abysmal. bad enough to distract and ruin (?) the movie. i guess i would recommend the movie but only to enjoy clint eastwood - he really was that good. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful