Warner Bros. Pictures | Release Date: December 12, 2008
7.8
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 695 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
563
Mixed:
58
Negative:
74
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
9
DeVr33zSep 4, 2010
This movie has one of the most interesting main characters I have seen in a very long time, and if it didn't have that it would have gotten a much lower score from me. Eastwood's performance is amazing.
13 of 13 users found this helpful130
All this user's reviews
9
M9kiJun 19, 2013
One of his best movies yet.We need more movies like this its action and a few funny parts.As of always eastwood is a perfect actor he always gets the job done.
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
8
FDT44Jan 8, 2011
A film that speaks to the perceptual tensions humans face in the most significant of facets, and does so with such poise and audacity that the viewer can't help but adore. What compels "Gran Torino" to its bold of state is the lingeringA film that speaks to the perceptual tensions humans face in the most significant of facets, and does so with such poise and audacity that the viewer can't help but adore. What compels "Gran Torino" to its bold of state is the lingering emotive responses we feel from Eastwood, who merely from a glance, tells the story of life through the aged, piercing eyes that burrows inside of you, and demands of your notice. Visually, "Gran Torino" may appear to be an "out-of-it's-prime," vintage piece of work, but the engine thrives and subdues its supposed insipidity to its previously prime state where its gritty demeanor flourishes. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
9
MargaretS.Jun 20, 2009
I loved Gran Torino...Clint Eastwood was superb in his "last" role...I cried at the end and found it very moving. I agree that the Priest did not do a good acting job. He was very mis-cast.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
9
RicardoC.Aug 25, 2009
It's a shame that most of the people can't realize this is not about "gangster / redemption / retribution ", but well, like Lisa Schwarzbaum said: This is subtle, perceptive stuff.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
9
IanDec 29, 2008
Unforgiven was a fabulous Eastwood film. Gran Torino is different but another of Clint's masterpieces. Poignant, funny, raw, emotional.. it has it all and so well.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
8
ryancarroll88Aug 27, 2010
It seems age has been a blessing for Clint Eastwood, giving him a marked perspective on life, which somehow seems to resonate with everyone (There is virtually no one I've talked to who hasn't liked the story in this movie). Combining thatIt seems age has been a blessing for Clint Eastwood, giving him a marked perspective on life, which somehow seems to resonate with everyone (There is virtually no one I've talked to who hasn't liked the story in this movie). Combining that with his talent as both a director and lifelong actor, he gives us one of his most powerful works - what he capitulates in poignant subtlety (Mystic River, Million Dollar Baby), he makes up for with dramatic bravado. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
9
GeraldV.Jan 16, 2009
Gran Torino may not be Eastwood's best but it sure ranks in the top 5. While watching the movie you may think the script is all contrived -- until the very ending.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
UjnFeb 9, 2009
This movie was the Bomb! Clint Eastwood knows how to act... no doubt. Don't miss this movie, it will most likely be the last you see staring the great. A+
1 of 1 users found this helpful
7
KarthXLRApr 2, 2011
A fantastic and surprisingly emotional tale of a bitter old war-veteran and his Korean neighbors. Very well acted and surprisingly down-to-earth. It's got too much language in it for my preference, but it doesn't effect any of the emotionalA fantastic and surprisingly emotional tale of a bitter old war-veteran and his Korean neighbors. Very well acted and surprisingly down-to-earth. It's got too much language in it for my preference, but it doesn't effect any of the emotional merits of the film. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
asylumspadezNov 24, 2011
I thought it was a really good film. Eastwood has shown us all once again why he is still relivent in acting by giving a great performance that is a typical style that Eastwood has given us in the past.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
THE_BLOBMay 12, 2011
dude. whoever the hell gave this movie a bad review must be the dumbest **** i have may ever know. this movie was perfect in every way. and pete, **** u!! u have no idea wut ur talking about. u should walk right up to clint eastwood anddude. whoever the hell gave this movie a bad review must be the dumbest **** i have may ever know. this movie was perfect in every way. and pete, **** u!! u have no idea wut ur talking about. u should walk right up to clint eastwood and tell him what u just said,. and he will be sure to **** u up, u **** Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
HaithamBSep 2, 2014
Gran Torino is honestly one of the most touching movies I have ever seen. The best characters in any movie are those who lived long before the movie's setting, those are deep and fully experienced life. Clint Eastwood is great in this movie,Gran Torino is honestly one of the most touching movies I have ever seen. The best characters in any movie are those who lived long before the movie's setting, those are deep and fully experienced life. Clint Eastwood is great in this movie, he is honestly my favorite part of the movie and my favorite actor of all time. Despite, I can't give the movie a full rating because some of the acting is off, especially Walt's friend and the some of the gang, they pulled me out of the moment which was unfortunate. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
FilmloverDec 18, 2008
Solid comedy/drama, if a bit corny and stilted at times.
3 of 5 users found this helpful
10
JKBPPAug 22, 2010
Gran Torino is maybe the best movie I have ever seen. It is full of everything to pleasure both genders. I watched at my father's apartment with my sister. We all had a great time with this awesome movie. 10 out of 10 is not enough, so IGran Torino is maybe the best movie I have ever seen. It is full of everything to pleasure both genders. I watched at my father's apartment with my sister. We all had a great time with this awesome movie. 10 out of 10 is not enough, so I will cheat and say 12 out of 10 :P Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
10
JettyNJan 14, 2009
This movie painted a perfect picture of how people are nowadays.It was a masterpiece, the slamming on foreign cars especially was great. Anyone giving this movie a low score probably did so because the movie made them realize they fit into This movie painted a perfect picture of how people are nowadays.It was a masterpiece, the slamming on foreign cars especially was great. Anyone giving this movie a low score probably did so because the movie made them realize they fit into one of the groups being heckled the whole time. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
10
Quackh.Jan 22, 2009
A really good and heartfelt movie. Even though the acting may seem stiff, it felt real. Not that over dramatic type deal. If the movie was enough to make me tear up then yes what a great movie it is. People who've given bad reviews A really good and heartfelt movie. Even though the acting may seem stiff, it felt real. Not that over dramatic type deal. If the movie was enough to make me tear up then yes what a great movie it is. People who've given bad reviews don't deserve to be critics. They don't even know what a good movie is, even if it smacks em right in the face. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
10
JohnS.Jan 2, 2009
One of the best movies I have ever seen
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
Your'reAllIdiotsJan 16, 2009
For all the people trashing this film, you obviously can't see any of the moral of greater idea of this movie. It wasn't poorly written of directed, if you go looking for things to hate you'll find them. This was a great movie.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
BillO.Jan 17, 2009
Can just say wow? I would;ve given this an 8 or nine, but it ticks me off that people give these movies 3's and 0's when they really don't deserve a score that low
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
ChrisP.Jan 4, 2009
Now that was just awesome.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JasonM.Jan 5, 2009
Greatest movie ever made.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
RichR.Jun 21, 2009
Very interesting movie, and the end was a real shock to me. The only thing that keeps me from giving in a ten is Clint's portrayal of that mean old man: nobody is that mean and full of dieased, racist blather. He carries on that bit for Very interesting movie, and the end was a real shock to me. The only thing that keeps me from giving in a ten is Clint's portrayal of that mean old man: nobody is that mean and full of dieased, racist blather. He carries on that bit for way too long, and should have dropped it the minute the Hmong girl (the best character in the film, for me) got in his truck. And it's unlikely that anyone would carry war atrocity guilt for so long. Otherwise, it was a fine film, and it was fun to see the Hmong families together. We really did mess up the lives of so many people over in SE Asia; the least we can do is show them some respect. Hey, I know, I know, this is just a movie, but you know what I mean. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JeffK.Dec 15, 2008
This is one of the best movies I have seen in a long time.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
VickiF.Jan 22, 2009
Excellent entertainment value. Timely theme, well-directed, humorous yet with some sober universal values -- kind of like President Obama's Inaugural speech.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MHFeb 16, 2009
Best Movie of the year. Awesome movie, with some of the best character development I have seen in some time.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
EldonJun 13, 2009
The subtleties crafted in this film are profoundly complex and with out the ability to see them this will seem like a "waste of time". But with the proper amount of intelligence, chances are you may find yourself moved and challenged in the The subtleties crafted in this film are profoundly complex and with out the ability to see them this will seem like a "waste of time". But with the proper amount of intelligence, chances are you may find yourself moved and challenged in the most sincere ways. When movies like this come around, I think they should be celebrated. And if not by the Academy, by those who matter... us. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
bobpJan 19, 2009
Naysayers be damned, great movie. The reality, as one poster pointed out, is that spoiled teens and their spoiled parent's would probably not appreciate the calling out that they receive in this movie, everyone else (who has a sense of Naysayers be damned, great movie. The reality, as one poster pointed out, is that spoiled teens and their spoiled parent's would probably not appreciate the calling out that they receive in this movie, everyone else (who has a sense of humor) will love it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LanceA.Jan 8, 2009
An amazing performance by Clint Eastwood, and it astounds me that even as old as he is, he can still make a 20 year old mucle-head piss his pants out of pure bad-assery.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BobbyD.Jan 9, 2009
They stopped makin' movies like this 'round 1977. deeply affecting.
0 of 0 users found this helpful