Warner Bros. Pictures | Release Date: December 12, 2008
7.8
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 682 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
552
Mixed:
56
Negative:
74
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
9
I.M.MorgusJan 31, 2009
Good, sad and somber.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MrMeFeb 21, 2009
This was the funniest film I've seen in ages, though perhaps for the wrong reasons. There's a lot of excellent acting in this film. Clint Eastwood plays the role of a racist old fart perfectly. Really enjoyable film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
judybApr 22, 2009
I agree with one critic; it felt like a farewell performance. And a memorable one! Fortunately, we have enough incarnations of Eastwood on film that we'll never have to do without. I commend Eastwood's time to educate the public, I agree with one critic; it felt like a farewell performance. And a memorable one! Fortunately, we have enough incarnations of Eastwood on film that we'll never have to do without. I commend Eastwood's time to educate the public, as always, this time about a complex and misunderstood minority culture. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
EliasCJun 11, 2009
It is amusing that a film about ethnic differences and acceptance is promoted in recent TV spots as an elderly version of 'Dirty Harry'. Perhaps that was what was wrong with the reception of this film when it was first released. A It is amusing that a film about ethnic differences and acceptance is promoted in recent TV spots as an elderly version of 'Dirty Harry'. Perhaps that was what was wrong with the reception of this film when it was first released. A thoughtful and superior effort by Clint Eastwood proves once again what a great director he is. It is criminal that this film was passed up for Academy recognition in favor of a few lesser nominated works. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JosephineBJun 12, 2009
Good message. Like how the aging Clint Eastwood's character develops and changers his out-moded perceptions about minorities. We're all human. Most of us are decent, hard-working, intelligent people while a few of us just plain old Good message. Like how the aging Clint Eastwood's character develops and changers his out-moded perceptions about minorities. We're all human. Most of us are decent, hard-working, intelligent people while a few of us just plain old suck and do nothing but reflect badly on the human race. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
EldonJun 13, 2009
The subtleties crafted in this film are profoundly complex and with out the ability to see them this will seem like a "waste of time". But with the proper amount of intelligence, chances are you may find yourself moved and challenged in the The subtleties crafted in this film are profoundly complex and with out the ability to see them this will seem like a "waste of time". But with the proper amount of intelligence, chances are you may find yourself moved and challenged in the most sincere ways. When movies like this come around, I think they should be celebrated. And if not by the Academy, by those who matter... us. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
StuartW.Jun 24, 2009
Clint Eastwood isn't getting any younger and maybe it's this reason why he has directd and starred in four films in two years. All of which have been excellent and have won numerous awards. I have to admit that i am a softy, in Clint Eastwood isn't getting any younger and maybe it's this reason why he has directd and starred in four films in two years. All of which have been excellent and have won numerous awards. I have to admit that i am a softy, in this film i was howling with laughter one moment and in tears the next. Surely this must be Eastwood's finest acting moment. It's intriging and heartbraking at the same time. Eastwood acts a certain way and he does it very well and at times Dirty Harry rears his head. But the passion of his character shines through every minute he is on film. I wanted to tell people to ignore the Scandalous review of the baltimore sun. That reviewer deserves the immediate sack. Whether you are sentimental or not the film easily merits at least an 8. For me, it's one of the best films i've seen in years and i hope it goes down as a classic. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
IanDec 29, 2008
Unforgiven was a fabulous Eastwood film. Gran Torino is different but another of Clint's masterpieces. Poignant, funny, raw, emotional.. it has it all and so well.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
9
DeVr33zSep 4, 2010
This movie has one of the most interesting main characters I have seen in a very long time, and if it didn't have that it would have gotten a much lower score from me. Eastwood's performance is amazing.
13 of 13 users found this helpful130
All this user's reviews
9
asylumspadezNov 24, 2011
I thought it was a really good film. Eastwood has shown us all once again why he is still relivent in acting by giving a great performance that is a typical style that Eastwood has given us in the past.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
Khunter4382Jun 2, 2011
An Eastwood Tour de Force! The best performance of his career, followed closely by Unforgiven. This film is completely driven by Eastwood's performance, but unfortunately the supporting cast is especially weak, even bad at times. However,An Eastwood Tour de Force! The best performance of his career, followed closely by Unforgiven. This film is completely driven by Eastwood's performance, but unfortunately the supporting cast is especially weak, even bad at times. However, with such a robust character like Walt, you can't help but love this film only for his contribution. Too bad he was completely and utterly overlooked by the Academy. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
BobaFett666May 28, 2011
I love this movie. It's direct, simple and old fashioned. I don't even want to waste time writing about "Oh I liked this and that and blah blah". Just watch the film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Jedi_JettsonApr 12, 2012
Clint Eastwood's work on imaging Asian culture and overcoming racism is surprisingly amusing. Its also surprisingly captivating on entering and overcoming racism against Asians and their cultures. The dialogue was also very impressive betweenClint Eastwood's work on imaging Asian culture and overcoming racism is surprisingly amusing. Its also surprisingly captivating on entering and overcoming racism against Asians and their cultures. The dialogue was also very impressive between protagonists and antagonists. Honestly, this should have received Academy Award-nominations for best picture and best director; Clint Eastwood. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
RegOzApr 7, 2012
There is beauty in this movie, there is soul, and feeling. Clint Eastwood's performance is formidable! For those who argue that he is better as a director than an actor, I think here he proves that he can be great as both. I too, believe thatThere is beauty in this movie, there is soul, and feeling. Clint Eastwood's performance is formidable! For those who argue that he is better as a director than an actor, I think here he proves that he can be great as both. I too, believe that this movie is a solid 9, and I am disappointed about the fact that many didn't grasp the message of this movie. It is not a presumptuos film; on the opposite, it is simple, pleasurable, touching. It has character. It is not pompous; it is real, it is human, It is life. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
imthenoobSep 30, 2012
Critics got thsi film totally wrong. It was frecking amazin. Clint Eastwood gives an untouchable performance. This is one film that is definently worth watching.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
csw12Mar 31, 2012
Grand Torino is a wonderful movie. It is a film that speaks to the tensions humans face in the most significant way, and does so with such poise and audacity that the viewer can't help but adore.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Trev29Mar 31, 2012
A very good film, that evolves wonderfully with its story. It enticing to watch and is fearless in its script. Everybody was very good. I thought Clint should have won some kind of an award.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
cameronmorewoodNov 17, 2012
Eastwood's bracing and heart-wrenching human drama will get to you. The effect is overwhelming.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
YoursTrulyNov 21, 2012
Has Clint Eastwood played similar characters before? Yes. But with such mesmerizing abilities as a director, and a powerful hand at story telling...who cares? Underrated film. Great.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
M9kiJun 19, 2013
One of his best movies yet.We need more movies like this its action and a few funny parts.As of always eastwood is a perfect actor he always gets the job done.
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
9
HaithamBSep 2, 2014
Gran Torino is honestly one of the most touching movies I have ever seen. The best characters in any movie are those who lived long before the movie's setting, those are deep and fully experienced life. Clint Eastwood is great in this movie,Gran Torino is honestly one of the most touching movies I have ever seen. The best characters in any movie are those who lived long before the movie's setting, those are deep and fully experienced life. Clint Eastwood is great in this movie, he is honestly my favorite part of the movie and my favorite actor of all time. Despite, I can't give the movie a full rating because some of the acting is off, especially Walt's friend and the some of the gang, they pulled me out of the moment which was unfortunate. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
referee40Mar 11, 2015
This movie is about coming of age. Clint Eastwood, despite his advanced age, doesn't know his grown children, and Tao is mired in the traditional practices of his heritage while growing up in the US. They unwittingly help each other toThis movie is about coming of age. Clint Eastwood, despite his advanced age, doesn't know his grown children, and Tao is mired in the traditional practices of his heritage while growing up in the US. They unwittingly help each other to overcome their personal inadequacies, despite some challenging circumstances. After the death of his wife, Eastwood's character, Walt Kowalski is lost, subsisting on beef jerky and Pabst beer. His pride and joy is a 1972 Ford Gran Turino. He is a capital B bigot, chaffing under the changing complexion of his neighbourhood. The constant use of racist names he calls his neighbours seems at times affected, but as the movie progresses, we are not as easily offended. In fact, we come to see these diatribes as Kowalski's true colours. In fact, there is humour in his rantings. Tao, a teenage neighbour, is being recruited by a local Hmong gang but fails the initiation, failing to steal the Gran Turino. Kowalski and Tao, together with Tao's sister Sue, become unlikely friends. The climax of the movie sees Kowalski morph into a Dirty Harry caricature, with bittersweet results. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Epik_NinnjaMay 23, 2015
Something about this movie really clicked with me. I understand why some think it's average but I thouroughly enjoyed it. I thought the acting was good and the story was interesting and made me wonder what was going to happen next. It's aboutSomething about this movie really clicked with me. I understand why some think it's average but I thouroughly enjoyed it. I thought the acting was good and the story was interesting and made me wonder what was going to happen next. It's about a racist old man who fought in the Korean war and has a Korean family living in the house next to his. He gets to know a Korean boy, though, and theydevelop a grandfather/grandson relationship. The old man helps the boy as he struggles with the local gang. As dark as it is, I laughed numerous times throughout. I guess it can deliver on more than one front. Anyways, this is definitely a movie you should watch. I personally found it to be quite excellent. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
jelenabiebs31Jan 13, 2016
Gran film, gran Clint. A must see. A movie hymn to Bravery and Sacrifice. Beautiful.

Watch it online for free: https://www.primewire.ag/watch-320-Gran-Torino-online-free
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
choomtabi31Jan 25, 2016
Incredible movie! The acting was fantastic, and the story was very interesting. I was surprised by how entertaining this film was.

Watch it online for free: https://www.primewire.ag/watch-320-Gran-Torino-online-free
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
DHJul 2, 2009
Great performances. Great pace. Classic Eastwood ending, as always.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MikeMikeJan 18, 2009
Just about the time the joke gets old the movie shifts gears. Overall a respectable movie that deserves a look on the big screen. I was surprised. BTW, Clint gets a 4 for his song during the credits.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JayH.Jun 6, 2009
Clint Eastwood's direction makes this film work. It is too overstated, but it's a film that you can't help but admire and like. Great performances all around, and it's well written and very moving.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
KellyM.Jul 23, 2009
Surprisingly thoughtful and hopeful in cracking the fault lines between the races and what people fear they don't like or don't know. Cheers to Mr Eastwood for this great film
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DaveCaldwellJan 21, 2009
A nice film, nice to see Clint still acting rather than just directing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MarkBayerJan 22, 2009
Forget CBS's ill-conceived TV spinoff Archie Bunker's Place; this movie REALLY delivers the scoop on how Archie endured the loss of his beloved Edith. Grizzled, beyond-curmudgeonly, and emotionally haunted Korean War vet and retireeForget CBS's ill-conceived TV spinoff Archie Bunker's Place; this movie REALLY delivers the scoop on how Archie endured the loss of his beloved Edith. Grizzled, beyond-curmudgeonly, and emotionally haunted Korean War vet and retiree Walt (don't call him Wally) Kowalski (Clint Eastwood) deals with his very recent widowerhood by increasing his Pabst Blue Ribbon Beer intake and growling (literally) far more often than his dog Daisy does. With characteristic spareness, efficiency and (mostly) unsentimentality, Eastwood as actor and director shows us how the Asian family next door (and those all down the block) help Walt to...well, if not quite warm up, then at least thaw out. When Thao, a sweet but fatherless and directionless kid is pressured into trying to steal Walt's beloved 1970s title vehicle as part of a gang initiation, Walt gets more involved than he would have normally chosen, learns that Tsingtao may be a tastier brew than Pabst, finds a family that's thicker than the one he's related to by blood, and expands the meaning of the sports and business cliche "taking one for the team". While Walt isn't shy in his use of racial/ethnic slurs (his output rivals that of Norman Wexler's screenplays for Joe, Mandingo and Drum combined!) the guy's impossible to dislike...he's not that far removed from Dirty Harry Callahan, who informed his Hispanic partner that of all the minorities he hated, he ESPECIALLY despised "spics"...but said so with the slightest of winks, and later treated his partner and wife with exceptional kindness when Chico was seriously injured on duty. But then, it's entirely fitting that this hugely entertaining, satisfying tale of a recluse's re-entry into the human race should feature Eastwood's ostensibly final on-screen appearance; while the performance is at times as broad and self-parodistic as John Wayne's Oscar-winning turn as Rooster Cogburn, it also represents the final steps in Eastwood's highly conscious and deliberate re-invention of his movie persona. Pauline Kael (never a fan, or even close) commented in the 1970s that Eastwood's success proved that you didn't have to be a nice guy to be a screen hero, and his early stardom proves it: The Man With No Name in his Leone Westernswas so exclusively self-centered and mercenary that only in the last of them, The Good, the Bad and the Ugly, did he perform his only unselfish act (offering a dying soldier a smoke); in Coogan's Bluff he pushed some poor guy off his motorcycle and stole it; in The Eiger Sanction he remorselessly engineered the deaths of several innocents; in High Plains Drifter he commits rape and near-rape (had roofies been available in the Old West, he would've slipped Verna Bloom one), and the list goes on. Moviegoers and critics trace the beginning of Eastwood's turnaround with 1992's Unforgiven, which seriously examines and questions the violence that Eastwood seemingly perpetuated and stood for in his earlier films, but it went back seven years earlier with Pale Rider, in which Eastwood played a homiletic, Shane-like preacher (!!) who TURNS DOWN two sexual invitations. In Gran Torino's third act, Eastwood's Walt both considers the wisdom (or lack of it) of unrestrained revenge (as opposed to legitimate self-defense) and embraces truly generous behavior, which reflects flatteringly on the star and director; there's something genuinely touching about the sincerity with which Eastwood has been trying in the last half of his career to reinvent the image he created in the first. Then, too, Gran Torino is the perfect film for this time in our political and cultural history: it's been aptly described as "the first Barack Obama movie", and it speaks well for our country's newly-found inclusiveness that it comes to us from a Republican. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JillL.Jan 29, 2009
Although the movie had it's flaws, it gave me a lot to think about. Imagine, a guy whom you think is a racist, really isn't (a guy whose actions speak louder than words). It speaks to the adversity and lack of freedom people face Although the movie had it's flaws, it gave me a lot to think about. Imagine, a guy whom you think is a racist, really isn't (a guy whose actions speak louder than words). It speaks to the adversity and lack of freedom people face because of crime. This movie was charming, funny, suspenseful and smart all at the same time. No wonder Hollywood didn't give it any awards-- it had morality! It spoke of such un-Hollywood themes as the importance of toughness and learning to take care of yourself and others and how to think with your head and not your emotions. Would like to see this movie show in high schools with plenty of discussion time allowed. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
TerrenceM.Mar 28, 2009
Very well realized and believable characters made this film's portray on er, gangster US enjoyable and not cringe worthy like many other film's pretentious 'dis be real' take on the urban underbelly. Clint Eastwood does a Very well realized and believable characters made this film's portray on er, gangster US enjoyable and not cringe worthy like many other film's pretentious 'dis be real' take on the urban underbelly. Clint Eastwood does a great job of getting across the tough guy persona even at his age of 82! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BradleyC.Mar 7, 2009
I liked it, but it wasnt worth the hype. he has done a good movie. but the asian actors...AAAARG! thao totally cannot act. what were they thinking
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JonathanWMay 16, 2009
Brilliant. Dark and disturbing, but with hope and redemption to turn the tide... Nobody could have played this character like Clint.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BojanaMJun 14, 2009
generally good movie. mr eastwood is basicly in his same mood as beforewith the same style. but hey, it's clint eastwood :) the story itself is very realistic but yet, poorly done- turn out too naive till the end when you acctually generally good movie. mr eastwood is basicly in his same mood as beforewith the same style. but hey, it's clint eastwood :) the story itself is very realistic but yet, poorly done- turn out too naive till the end when you acctually change your mind. I gve it an 8 only couse of the poorly built characters but still, it's a good movie and everyone should watch it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BitBurnJan 11, 2009
This is Eastwood at his best; proves he still has it. It's not Dirty Harry but still worthy of an Oscar!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
EmilioD.Dec 17, 2008
Surprisingly funny. I really enjoyed it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ryancarroll88Aug 27, 2010
It seems age has been a blessing for Clint Eastwood, giving him a marked perspective on life, which somehow seems to resonate with everyone (There is virtually no one I've talked to who hasn't liked the story in this movie). Combining thatIt seems age has been a blessing for Clint Eastwood, giving him a marked perspective on life, which somehow seems to resonate with everyone (There is virtually no one I've talked to who hasn't liked the story in this movie). Combining that with his talent as both a director and lifelong actor, he gives us one of his most powerful works - what he capitulates in poignant subtlety (Mystic River, Million Dollar Baby), he makes up for with dramatic bravado. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
JacobApr 21, 2014
Eastwood's performance and character are excellent. I love the relationship between his character and the boy. Well shot good morals. Just a well made film. Should have higher critical praise than it does.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
TheQuietGamerMar 9, 2011
While a great movie with a deep emotional story and awesome characters, my only complaint is that it tries to be realistic but fails, in real life if an old man tried to act tough around anyone they would kick his ass and leave him for dead,While a great movie with a deep emotional story and awesome characters, my only complaint is that it tries to be realistic but fails, in real life if an old man tried to act tough around anyone they would kick his ass and leave him for dead, that aside it's a great movie that must be watched. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
FDT44Jan 8, 2011
A film that speaks to the perceptual tensions humans face in the most significant of facets, and does so with such poise and audacity that the viewer can't help but adore. What compels "Gran Torino" to its bold of state is the lingeringA film that speaks to the perceptual tensions humans face in the most significant of facets, and does so with such poise and audacity that the viewer can't help but adore. What compels "Gran Torino" to its bold of state is the lingering emotive responses we feel from Eastwood, who merely from a glance, tells the story of life through the aged, piercing eyes that burrows inside of you, and demands of your notice. Visually, "Gran Torino" may appear to be an "out-of-it's-prime," vintage piece of work, but the engine thrives and subdues its supposed insipidity to its previously prime state where its gritty demeanor flourishes. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
8
RikiegeJan 24, 2013
This movie made ​​me very long, but when finished I thought about what he had seen, and I find it a great movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
KozySauceAug 29, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Great film. Well acted and very powerful.

I read a user review on this site saying that the message this movie is sending is that the only way to defeat evil people is to let them kill you, and then they'll only spend a few years in prison. To the guy who wrote that review, all I have to say is... what? You do realize that all those guys are going to be found guilty of second degree murder right? That's life in prison, no exceptions. What did you expect to happen? Walt and Thao waltz on up to that house, go on an epic shooting rampage, kill everyone and then get away with it scot-free and everyone lives happily ever after? Clearly you've been watching too many Michael Bay films and also have no clue how the criminal justice system works. They shot Walt in cold blood, in clear view of neighbours. Even if nobody in the neighbourhood actually saw it, they all surely heard the gunshots. and Walt had no gun. Leaving Spider and his Gang the only ones who could have done the shooting. I think you need to look at the bigger picture here. Walt was nearing the end of his life. Over the course of the movie, he grew to care for Thao and his family. Once he found out that there were no witnesses to Sue's kidnapping and the members of the community refused to talk about anything related to Spider's gang, he knew it was the only way to ensure that Spider's gang would never harm Thao and his family ever again. So he spent his last moment doing something very courageous that not only saved Thao and his family but that whole community as well.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
KivaJun 11, 2013
That film was extraordinary. Drama and action combined perfectly. Clint Eastwood was magnificent. The plot perfect and what was going was crazy. Really liked the ending, was too moving for me.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
FesLatif1984Jun 17, 2013
cracking film, Clint Eastwood at his magnificent best. very emotional story and although i personally feel the ending could have been different the film will not fail to move you emotionally
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
SchnitzelPoofFeb 8, 2015
I didn't know what to expect when Gran Torino started, and it managed to surprise me several times throughout the film. The characters were interesting, likable, and show the writers know people quite well. Clint Eastwood's acting is superb,I didn't know what to expect when Gran Torino started, and it managed to surprise me several times throughout the film. The characters were interesting, likable, and show the writers know people quite well. Clint Eastwood's acting is superb, and manages to make you laugh even when the situation is very grim.
I didn't care much for the ending, but it's understandable, considering where they were going with the story.
Most importantly, though, it swims against the current, and manages to challenge some prevailing taboos of today's PC culture, showing that human relationships are more than skin deep.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Potarto72Dec 21, 2014
Gran Torino isn't all that groundbreaking or revolutionary, but it does offer a very gritty and uplifting story, with plenty of morals and character development to entertain Eastwood fans.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
homer4presidentMar 28, 2015
"Get off my lawn". Loved the message of this film. Loved to see Clint Eastwood be a hard head, then soften up and finally show some love. Good movie. f theirs something to say about Eastwood is that he is truly amazing and this movie truly rocks.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
ghaphorMar 11, 2016
A very insightful film about family, friendship and commitment. Clint Eastwood's performance was excellent as always, but the film was too slow-pace and gave time for character development.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
shiftworkerAug 22, 2016
Clint Eastwood's bigoted old man is exposed to an immigrant family next door. You'll go on a little emotional roller-coaster through tragic circumstances. Violence ensues and some people learn a lot. You'll have mixed feelings, but that oldClint Eastwood's bigoted old man is exposed to an immigrant family next door. You'll go on a little emotional roller-coaster through tragic circumstances. Violence ensues and some people learn a lot. You'll have mixed feelings, but that old heart-warming one will probably win out. By the end you'll like nearly everyone more than you did at the start and you might even want to watch it again sometime. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
DanaM.Jan 14, 2009
I must admit I was hoping for a more believable movie. I thought a few times I was watching Carol O'connor and Archie Bunker. Clints character just wasn't believable with his over the top ethnic comments. Clint probably should have I must admit I was hoping for a more believable movie. I thought a few times I was watching Carol O'connor and Archie Bunker. Clints character just wasn't believable with his over the top ethnic comments. Clint probably should have left the directing to someone else. An OK movie but could have been better. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JayRFeb 26, 2009
While it was a strong performance from Clint Eastwood as well as a solid direction, the movie just seemed to fall over time. When he begins the interact with his neighbors it starts out well but then leads into a cheeseball movie. The boy While it was a strong performance from Clint Eastwood as well as a solid direction, the movie just seemed to fall over time. When he begins the interact with his neighbors it starts out well but then leads into a cheeseball movie. The boy "toad" acted horribly and was very unconvincing as well as the rest of his family as well as the gangsters and the young preacher. But in entirety the moral of the story is a strong and good one. If only it could have been played out better. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
BrianT.Jun 21, 2009
Not really sure how to rate this movie. clint eastwood was a ten, the plot/script was decent, but many members of the supporting cast were abysmal. bad enough to distract and ruin (?) the movie. i guess i would recommend the movie but only Not really sure how to rate this movie. clint eastwood was a ten, the plot/script was decent, but many members of the supporting cast were abysmal. bad enough to distract and ruin (?) the movie. i guess i would recommend the movie but only to enjoy clint eastwood - he really was that good. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JohnTJul 21, 2009
I'm having a hard time deciding on how I feel about this movie. Eastwood did an incredible job on many fronts. But, as a lot of people have said, the supporting cast was very weak. Their acting was nearly cringe-worthy at times. I'm having a hard time deciding on how I feel about this movie. Eastwood did an incredible job on many fronts. But, as a lot of people have said, the supporting cast was very weak. Their acting was nearly cringe-worthy at times. I'm a huge stickler for bad acting/dialogue but this movie was strange for the very reason that I actually sat through the whole thing and thoroughly enjoyed it despite all the awkward acting.. it was still, in many ways, very affecting and compelling... somehow. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
FilmloverDec 18, 2008
Solid comedy/drama, if a bit corny and stilted at times.
3 of 5 users found this helpful
7
williamCJan 16, 2009
Very watchable, but I kept seeing parallels between this film and John Waynes final film The Shootist.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
KarthXLRApr 2, 2011
A fantastic and surprisingly emotional tale of a bitter old war-veteran and his Korean neighbors. Very well acted and surprisingly down-to-earth. It's got too much language in it for my preference, but it doesn't effect any of the emotionalA fantastic and surprisingly emotional tale of a bitter old war-veteran and his Korean neighbors. Very well acted and surprisingly down-to-earth. It's got too much language in it for my preference, but it doesn't effect any of the emotional merits of the film. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
MetallicCriticDec 13, 2011
One of the most overrated films by audiences. I can see that this is going to be a favorite by males which is also one of my favorites. I don't think it's horrible I just think it's not as good as "ordinary" people make it out to be. It hasOne of the most overrated films by audiences. I can see that this is going to be a favorite by males which is also one of my favorites. I don't think it's horrible I just think it's not as good as "ordinary" people make it out to be. It has some of the worst acting I ever seen by Bee Vang. It's his first role ever and possibly his last. He would never show emotion or pronounce his words correctly. Clint Eastwood should have seen that his performance was lacking. That being said this was not Eastwood's best. The writing was good especially with all the bad language. The writing benefited the plot build up leading to Walt giving his life for the family to be at peace. He also had to realize that wrong in his own racism. He basically had to leave all the haunted memories from the war by realizing what is wrong and right. He had to confess his sins which is what his wife wanted before he died. For all the guys that loved this film, it's seriously not as good as you think. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
beingryanjudeAug 27, 2014
An interesting turn for Clint Eastwood, but a worthy, fresh film. Eastwood reminds us that he has not entirely abandoned his skills in acting (& apparently, singing, too). Gran Torino cuts deep--just as Clint wished.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
RayzorMooseNov 13, 2013
Gran Torino is gritty and gratuitous.
A great script with a well paced plot. The believability is essential and it elevates the movie. A really good picture all around.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
solomsApr 17, 2015
That's a good story and a very good movie. I can watch this movie again and again because this story is wonderful. That's a movie that everybody should see it. really!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
sjwilkinSep 26, 2016
Quite similar to Unforgiven in the sense that a man with a dark past tries to make amends by delving into his past and doing what does best. However, this is not on any level similar to Unforgiven. Eastwood aside, every other actor in thisQuite similar to Unforgiven in the sense that a man with a dark past tries to make amends by delving into his past and doing what does best. However, this is not on any level similar to Unforgiven. Eastwood aside, every other actor in this movie is terrible, appalling to a degree. Funny in a 'old racist man' sort of way, the movie highlights how the world has changed and men are no longer men. Perhaps the world has changed to a point where this movie is quite dated. A slight disappointment. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
TerryCJul 4, 2009
A lot of potential, spoiled by reprehensible acting from everyone except Clint. I was laughing in parts where I really shouldn't have been laughing. But still enjoyable enough to earn a slightly passing grade.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
6
McKinleyTJun 25, 2009
This movie had so much potential; a great storyline, excellent plot development and a dramatic and touching ending. However all of this could not make me overlook the absolutely horrible acting in this film. Clint Eastwood might as well have This movie had so much potential; a great storyline, excellent plot development and a dramatic and touching ending. However all of this could not make me overlook the absolutely horrible acting in this film. Clint Eastwood might as well have played all the parts himself, Eddie Murphy-style. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
JoeRJan 12, 2009
Quite frankly, I think this film is highly overrated. Eastwood gives a fine performance. But it's another hum-drum tail of aging man who is mad at life miraculously developing an unlikely friendship with Joe Blow. Walt Kowalski goes Quite frankly, I think this film is highly overrated. Eastwood gives a fine performance. But it's another hum-drum tail of aging man who is mad at life miraculously developing an unlikely friendship with Joe Blow. Walt Kowalski goes from Ivan the terrible to Mother Theresa in a matter of days. How many times can you hear the work "gook" and "slope eye" before it just starts to grow old. Not a horrible film, but wait until you can watch it cheaper than $10.50. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
GregMJan 13, 2009
I think critics are letting their albeit well-deserved love of Clint Eastwood cloud their opinions. The dialogue felt stiff and some of the acting left much to be desired. Eastwood is excellent and there are funny moments, but this is not in I think critics are letting their albeit well-deserved love of Clint Eastwood cloud their opinions. The dialogue felt stiff and some of the acting left much to be desired. Eastwood is excellent and there are funny moments, but this is not in the same state, much less room, as Slumdog. And his familiar body posture -- that of the Jesus-like crucifixion -- at the very end is over-the-top ridiculous. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
ZackM.Jan 13, 2009
Well-wrought storytelling bogged down by wooden performances and an inflated sense of purpose.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
JeremyBMar 15, 2009
Take Clint Eastwood out of the picture and it crumbles on itself. But ultimately it's really just an update of the Karate Kid in reverse, with a little more violence.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
MartinS.Jan 11, 2009
I found it sappy and unrealistic. Eastwood makes a great crumudgeon but the dialogue simply didn't ring true. Also Bee Vang (Thao) could use a few acting lessons. Audible laughter could be heard during his attempts anger and outrage.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
PaulT.Jan 12, 2009
Very funny at times, very strange and over acted at others. Not Eastwood's best.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
DavidVJan 14, 2009
This is a good movie to watch from blockbuster or PPV, but I wouldn't pay for it at the theater. The story and the movie is solid, but the problem is that we see this time and time again. It is the same movie where you get the racist This is a good movie to watch from blockbuster or PPV, but I wouldn't pay for it at the theater. The story and the movie is solid, but the problem is that we see this time and time again. It is the same movie where you get the racist guy. Something happens in his life. He stops being racist. Then he does wonderful things for the people he once hated. Who didn't see that coming? This is nothing new. Everything that people expected to happen, happens. We've seen this same thing repackaged year after year. This is how Crash got to be best picture. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
LukeTheDukeJan 14, 2009
Should have been better. This was a weak plot, with weak writing and weak casting. What could have been a great film ended up only mediocre. Lots of continuity drift and unfocused story telling and editing. I expected more, especially from Should have been better. This was a weak plot, with weak writing and weak casting. What could have been a great film ended up only mediocre. Lots of continuity drift and unfocused story telling and editing. I expected more, especially from all the strong reviews. 8.5?? Hardly. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
LyleSMar 15, 2009
Besides Eastwood's own performance, the acting in the movie was pretty forced.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
VinayJul 26, 2009
Decent performance from Eastwood but really nothing new at all in the gangster / redemption / retribution themes the movie throws up.
2 of 4 users found this helpful
6
ERG1008Dec 17, 2010
Ex-war veteran, wife dies, hates everyone & everything, Korean neighbours, son in with gang, son tries to steal war veteran's prize car, takes young Korean under his wing.
Nicely played out but very predictable affair & with Clint as good as
Ex-war veteran, wife dies, hates everyone & everything, Korean neighbours, son in with gang, son tries to steal war veteran's prize car, takes young Korean under his wing.
Nicely played out but very predictable affair & with Clint as good as ever.
It very much follows a formula with the master/pupil route & is quite heart warming but also very brutal along the way.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
FlapjackOct 22, 2010
I get the impression that this would be Dirty Harry if he was older. Which is brilliant, because it's funny, simple, short and sweet. Great movie watching.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
PetrovitaFeb 24, 2012
A 6 for being decently good. Eastwood lives up to his acting aswell, he still has it in him (Atleast that time).
Story itself is slow at times, don't watch it for it's "action" as there hardly is any.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
willkulkaNov 24, 2013
There comes a point when actors are too old to play even their signature roles. Unfortunately, Eastwood falls under the category, resulting in a somewhat cheesy and slow-moving plot line, yet satisfying ending.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
Longo12Feb 13, 2014
I found Clints acting to be good but a lot of the supporting characters not so good. I liked the movie but I did feel it starting to get slow in the middle. The ending was great and genuinely made me sad. Not his best but far from his worst.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
TimWJan 13, 2009
The two Asian siblings' acting is a joke. Paris Hilton could probably out-act them. They make the movie very hard to watch.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
5
CDJan 15, 2009
Wow, all these 10's?!? This movie was average at best. It was better than Eastwood's "Blood Work" movie but besides that i was not that good. The acting was terrible (yes, I know all the Hmong's were first-timers) and the Wow, all these 10's?!? This movie was average at best. It was better than Eastwood's "Blood Work" movie but besides that i was not that good. The acting was terrible (yes, I know all the Hmong's were first-timers) and the story was boring. And I've heard from everyone that it had a bunch of laugh's in the film...The only time everyone laughed in the theatre was when he dropped one of his 568 racial slurs in the film. Its just a movie full of the slurs; gooks, fish-heads, swamp-rats, japs, zipperheads...I can't even remember them all. I shook my head coming out of the theatre after seeing caucasians already laughing and repeating those degrading slurs against Asians. ...I was going to give it a 0, to try and even it up but a 5 is what it deserves. Erase all the slurs and it still is only a 5. Overhyped!! Expand
1 of 6 users found this helpful
5
DomoJan 18, 2009
Clint is playing the John Wayne card by doing his Dirty Harry routine. It's tedious to a degree yet nonetheless entertaining if you let go of any expectation of artistry he shows in his non-starring vehicles. He's a great director Clint is playing the John Wayne card by doing his Dirty Harry routine. It's tedious to a degree yet nonetheless entertaining if you let go of any expectation of artistry he shows in his non-starring vehicles. He's a great director but his acting is really stiff. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
5
BecquerMFeb 15, 2009
"Gran Torino" is a near-miss for Clint Eastwood: by far his best film of the year, but far from "Letters from Iwo Jima" or "Million Dollar Baby," which not only are more realistic than this surreal and borderline stereotypical representation "Gran Torino" is a near-miss for Clint Eastwood: by far his best film of the year, but far from "Letters from Iwo Jima" or "Million Dollar Baby," which not only are more realistic than this surreal and borderline stereotypical representation of race-relations and family-ties, but also pact a more profound umph - that feeling you get when you've actually learned something - than what is ever revealed of Walt. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
jimNFeb 17, 2009
Not nearly as good as all the hype. Forced dialogue, bad acting, contrived writing
1 of 6 users found this helpful
4
LawrenceP.Jan 12, 2009
A gruff but good-hearted member of the "great generation" lives next door to a plucky girl, her low self esteem brother, her comedic grandmother and invisible mother. Clint Eastwood has outdone himself - I thought "Heartbreak Ridge" had the A gruff but good-hearted member of the "great generation" lives next door to a plucky girl, her low self esteem brother, her comedic grandmother and invisible mother. Clint Eastwood has outdone himself - I thought "Heartbreak Ridge" had the maximum of two dimensional characters acting or speaking more time worn cliches - I was wrong. Actually there really weren't any characters only broadly drawn caricatures. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
arbieJan 22, 2009
It's Eastwood direction, but it's no Eastwood film that I want to own, or even recommend. The Hmong theme is utterly replaceable with any struggling race in terms of gang violence and identity, and does very little to highlight It's Eastwood direction, but it's no Eastwood film that I want to own, or even recommend. The Hmong theme is utterly replaceable with any struggling race in terms of gang violence and identity, and does very little to highlight Hmong cultural value -- in fact, one of the film's unintentional jokes is that it summarily dismisses the Hmong as "just more Asians", and even fails during its expositional scenes to convince anyone of more than what's already commonly known: the Hmong fought with us more than 30 years ago, and were supplanted to places like Wisconsin in following decades as refugees. So, anyone under 30 might walk away with some new superficial knowledge, but don't expect them to swallow the tired race theme -- political correctness and inverseness have BOTH been declared dead by succeeding generations. Audiences over 30 might laugh longer and harder at the endless racism, but what's the value there? And why has nobody attacked the appallingly poor acting in the younger actors? This would be summarily thrown out if it had been directed by anyone else -- even anyone known. Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful
4
WBFeb 24, 2009
Just echoing the sentiments of some other voters: poor acting by the young cast members; unbelievably fast bonding between ardent racist Walt and his Hmong neighbors; cliched situations used to create conflict; blatant exposition at times Just echoing the sentiments of some other voters: poor acting by the young cast members; unbelievably fast bonding between ardent racist Walt and his Hmong neighbors; cliched situations used to create conflict; blatant exposition at times (such as when Walt talks to himself in the mirror about how much he has in common with the Hmong--he may as well just turned to the camera and spoke the line to the audience). And his singing at the end seals this raw deal. Don't believe the hype, as they say. It's just average at best. Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful
4
LanceR.Dec 31, 2008
All I can say is Clint Eastwood is a legend but legends can make make mediocre movies too. Case in point, Gan Torino, only wish the reviewers had the guts to admit this, instead of acting like fanboys and praising everything Clint Eastwood does.
1 of 4 users found this helpful
4
CharlottePApr 13, 2011
Clint starts off in fine acerbic form as Walt, a malcontented Korean War vet with neighbour problems, but regrettably the film rapidly descends into homily, cliche and downright implausibility. Gasp as Walt discovers his softer side! ChuckleClint starts off in fine acerbic form as Walt, a malcontented Korean War vet with neighbour problems, but regrettably the film rapidly descends into homily, cliche and downright implausibility. Gasp as Walt discovers his softer side! Chuckle at the chutzpah of the young girl confronting three would-be rapists with wisecracks and her irascible neighbour with cheeky repartee! Marvel as the impossibly baby-faced priest becomes Walt's confidante in a last minute schmaltzy reconciliation between Walt and his long-lost faith!

Extra half a star for "Click Clack, Ding Dong and Charlie Chan", though. Funny when he was being mean, saccharine when he wasn't, and impossible to reconcile the two.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
4
sinadoomJul 18, 2013
Gran Torino is a decent film for watching if you're bored, but if you're expecting something completely immersive and gripping, you will be disappointed. There's no action or significant events really, and the entire plot can be summarised inGran Torino is a decent film for watching if you're bored, but if you're expecting something completely immersive and gripping, you will be disappointed. There's no action or significant events really, and the entire plot can be summarised in about 20 seconds. There aren't any unnecessary parts in the film which are unrelated or pointless, but character development isn't as good as it could be and overall the film is a bit too long and thin on content. The whole film takes place within a few meters, as just bout the entire film is all in one house and a street. The problem with Gran Torino is that there's no real emotion during the film. No excitement. The entire film is quite bland; although it does manage to keep you watching it all the way through. Its only redeeming feature is the occasional comical scenes. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
4
BroyaxJan 13, 2017
Papy Clint nous délivre un film à sa gloire dont il a le secret, du sur-mesure pour lui et il s'y connaît le bougre ! sa mise en scène posée et réfléchie, efficace, alterne l'humour, une dérision certaine et la corde sensible(ment) violoneusePapy Clint nous délivre un film à sa gloire dont il a le secret, du sur-mesure pour lui et il s'y connaît le bougre ! sa mise en scène posée et réfléchie, efficace, alterne l'humour, une dérision certaine et la corde sensible(ment) violoneuse et nostalgique de l'ancien combattant retraité. Les tics de cet avatar de l'inspecteur Harry qui compte ses jours sont autant de clins d'oeil de l'acteur à l'égard de son rôle à succès, maintes fois décliné tout au long de sa carrière.

Ainsi, le début et grosso merdo le premier tiers du film est des plus comiques mais cela ne suffit naturellement pas pour tenir la rampe ou la distance. Papy Clint nous sort alors pour le restant du film toute la panoplie de clichés dont il dispose : et il en a plein son sac, lui, le pépé-cliché ambulant, bougon, raciste, aigri et râleur.

Le jeune tocard dont il finit par s'occuper à plein temps est un gogol pénible, une tête à claques irrécupérable ; la famille de "niakoués" dont il se fait le prince-justicier sauveur ; les gangs que Papy se fait un devoir de corriger ; la propre famille de Pépé, une pauvre bande d'idiots directement transposée d'une "situation comedy" ; le jeune prêtre niaiseux dont il remonte les bretelles à chaque occasion ; les leçons de vie enfin qu'il inculque au jeune gogol, tout droit sorties d'un Kinder Surprise.

Même la fin que Papy a voulue grandiose et héroïque fait "pschiit" puisqu'il a cru bon d'en rajouter avec sa maladie (en plus d'avoir perdu sa femme, cela va de soi) ce qui réduit considérablement l'impact de son baroud d'honneur.

Tout cela est donc un peu trop facile et paresseux bien que pas totalement désagréable... c'est le problème avec les clichés : il faut en user avec parcimonie ou les déguiser avec application, ce que Papy Clint n'a certainement pas réussi à faire, englué qu'il est dans cette soupe dont il ne peut se défaire à notre grand dam.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
PhilAApr 10, 2009
All the previous comments by "3 or less" pretty much sum it up. I told my wife I wish I could have those 2 hours back. What a waste of time.
1 of 6 users found this helpful
3
KJan 5, 2009
Highly disappointing. Slow and poorly written. Basically a sermon on "kids these days".
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
BillyS.Jan 9, 2009
Seriously? A Best Picture contender. You're kidding, right? Really. A Best Actor nomination for Clint. Come on, for Gran Torino? Where he plays that Archie Bunker guy who growls more than Learch and puts the fear of God in every ethnic Seriously? A Best Picture contender. You're kidding, right? Really. A Best Actor nomination for Clint. Come on, for Gran Torino? Where he plays that Archie Bunker guy who growls more than Learch and puts the fear of God in every ethnic gang in Detroit by his mere old white man presence, that Gran Torino? Seriously Clint, it's time to put Dirty Harry to bed. Oscar? Only if they award one for Best Achievement In Cliche! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
JimmyB.Jan 26, 2009
Someone ought to file a lawsuit for plagiarism. The whole film was practically copied from Alan Smithee's collective works, the Ultimate Anthology of Prosthetic Plot Points. If you like your drama spoon fed to you with a predictability Someone ought to file a lawsuit for plagiarism. The whole film was practically copied from Alan Smithee's collective works, the Ultimate Anthology of Prosthetic Plot Points. If you like your drama spoon fed to you with a predictability factor running off the scale and if you can stand Eastwood doing a poor grizzly imitation while impersonating a fossilized plank of wood throughout the entire film, I guess this movie is for you. I guess the joke's on the fan boys again. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
PatG.Dec 12, 2008
We all love Clint, but he should have made a better choice to showcase his acting skills. This movie is the work of a first-time screenwriter, and it shows. It is often amateurish, cliched, and sentimental. I've seen better made-for-TV We all love Clint, but he should have made a better choice to showcase his acting skills. This movie is the work of a first-time screenwriter, and it shows. It is often amateurish, cliched, and sentimental. I've seen better made-for-TV movies. Some good moments, yes, but overall it is a big disappointment. Clint--you can do better!!! Expand
1 of 6 users found this helpful
3
DeanD.Dec 26, 2008
Eastwood playing Eastwood......and not very well. His facial expressions limited to a scowl and and grrr. The supporting cast, ostensibly Hmong natives, would have made most high school theatricals look good. All the Hollywood tropes are Eastwood playing Eastwood......and not very well. His facial expressions limited to a scowl and and grrr. The supporting cast, ostensibly Hmong natives, would have made most high school theatricals look good. All the Hollywood tropes are dragged out: an embittered veteran lovable enough for neighbors and priests to seek his redemption, despite being constantly insulted by his racial and religious slurs. The ending everyone expects in an Eastwood movie has a twist, which some may find moving but I thought was contrived and implausible. The best laughs came out of the racial slurs....the audience howled....which makes me wonder about us in this age of Obama. Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful
3
bobbsywNov 13, 2010
Slow pacing, poor acting and an unbelievable script make this film bad enough, but the continued suggestion that casual racism is acceptable if the other person accepts it "good natured banter" beggars belief.
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
3
JumpmanJan 4, 2016
This movie is unbelievably terrible i wish i had never seen it. I shouldn't have even started reviewing it since i have to say other than it is terrible
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews