Twentieth Century Fox Film Corporation | Release Date: January 6, 2006
7.2
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 136 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
92
Mixed:
24
Negative:
20
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
AlexG.Jul 4, 2006
This movie was great (And i was sober!) But you have to like Adam Sandler's movie.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
9
sMay 6, 2006
For any adam sandler/office space fan.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
ReneH.Aug 19, 2006
it was awsome and i dont know why more people dont know about it.
2 of 3 users found this helpful
10
CMoodyJan 10, 2006
This is one of the funniest movies I have ever seen
1 of 1 users found this helpful
7
LaurieM.Jan 7, 2006
It is worth seeing, NIck Swardson if very funny, the dance scene is hilarious.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
7
MarcD.Jan 8, 2006
I wish some of these critics would pull the sticks out of their collective asses and just have some fun with movies like these. (Hello, BioDome: a "1"???) It was great seeing Linda Cardellini back in action after her run on "Freaks & Geeks". I wish some of these critics would pull the sticks out of their collective asses and just have some fun with movies like these. (Hello, BioDome: a "1"???) It was great seeing Linda Cardellini back in action after her run on "Freaks & Geeks". Shirley Jones is hilarious. And Dante almost made me piss my pants. It's a guaranteed laugh, especially if you're young and male (and a gamer), I suppose. For a minor movie, this sucker did have a lot of product placement though -- Game Informer, did you actually pay for those spots? Just check it out if you're in the mood to giggle. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
RyencokeJun 29, 2006
Hilarious. I'd love to see another movie with those guys in it.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
CoachCarterJul 10, 2006
Man, I was getting really sick of overly stupid "comedies" and that is what kept me from this movie for so long. I totally laughed my ass off, probably the most laughs from a movie I
1 of 1 users found this helpful
7
StevenSDec 4, 2007
This movie had no story, but it actually WAS funny. You just have to get it, seriously.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
GlenH.Mar 8, 2008
Fantastic comedy that in NO WAY DESERVES a 32/100 metascore. Hilarious add-libs by the character J.P. make this movie one of the greatest comedies in the last number of years. Look past the jokes that fall flat and you'll love the Fantastic comedy that in NO WAY DESERVES a 32/100 metascore. Hilarious add-libs by the character J.P. make this movie one of the greatest comedies in the last number of years. Look past the jokes that fall flat and you'll love the subtlies of the great supporting cast. "I am JP I like robots I have a robot vagina." Genius. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JohnD.Feb 11, 2009
One of my favorite movies. Any one bashing it as NO funny side. 10/10 for the best comedy movie out there.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
7
VinceH.Jan 7, 2006
A pretty funny stoner comedy. Not even nearly as funny as Harold and Kumar of Half-Baked, but it is in that vein and has similar sense of humor (random sick jokes, sex stuff, language, etc.). It's like a mix between The 40-Year Old A pretty funny stoner comedy. Not even nearly as funny as Harold and Kumar of Half-Baked, but it is in that vein and has similar sense of humor (random sick jokes, sex stuff, language, etc.). It's like a mix between The 40-Year Old Virgin and How High, if that makes any sense. I see it becoming a stoner classic in the future, but it will undoubtedly be trashed by critics when it is released. Personally, I thought it was funny and I think fellow canibus-enthusiasts will enjoy the movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
OneresolveJan 7, 2006
I love this movie. absolutely hilarious. its my favorite comedy. i guess its the stoner and gamer humor that grabbed me. there were only 8 people in the theatre when i saw this movie, only 6 after the older couple walked out in the first 10 I love this movie. absolutely hilarious. its my favorite comedy. i guess its the stoner and gamer humor that grabbed me. there were only 8 people in the theatre when i saw this movie, only 6 after the older couple walked out in the first 10 mins, one of the earlier scenes was just too much for them. This movie is definitely not for everyone and especially kids, but i honestly loved it. stoners, gamers, and fans of dirty humor see it this instant! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RobbieBJan 8, 2006
Everyone, young and old in the movie theater was cracking up in this movie. Now, I consider myself rather critical of movies and I thought there was no way this movie could be good after seeing its score on metacritic. But, I had nothing to Everyone, young and old in the movie theater was cracking up in this movie. Now, I consider myself rather critical of movies and I thought there was no way this movie could be good after seeing its score on metacritic. But, I had nothing to do, so I rolled up a fat one and went to see it since it's labeled as a "stoner comedy" and I am a "stoner". Let's just say that if the critics had taken the time to get themselves in the proper state of mind to watch this movie...we'd all be seeing 70's to 100's. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
RhandenL.Jun 2, 2006
Yeah, this movie is not perfect. Far from it. If your'e looking for plot, or acting, or Anything that a socially decent movie should have, why are you watching a stoner movie anyway? But the ambling path the movie takes is entertaining Yeah, this movie is not perfect. Far from it. If your'e looking for plot, or acting, or Anything that a socially decent movie should have, why are you watching a stoner movie anyway? But the ambling path the movie takes is entertaining and it takes a black heart to not to at least like the character. Sure, this is a misrepresentation of the video game industry, but aren't you supposed to suspend belief and step into another world? Only the ending is a real let down, like they didnt know how to end it, or ran out of time. This movie is good for (quite) a few cheap, raunchy laughs, just dont expect a Morgan Freeman calibur performance. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PierreC.Dec 3, 2007
I really do not understand what the big fuss over this movie is. When I first saw this movie about a year ago, I laughed harder than I've ever laughed watching a movie. Since then, I've seen it on numerous occasions among friends, I really do not understand what the big fuss over this movie is. When I first saw this movie about a year ago, I laughed harder than I've ever laughed watching a movie. Since then, I've seen it on numerous occasions among friends, and I have yet to get tired of it. That's the essence of a good film. I could not imagine it done differently! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TD.Dec 4, 2007
Very funny the story of my life videogames and weed / does it get any better.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
CaseyM.May 12, 2007
I've much to offer in the sense of giving a fair/unbiased review, but am limited to few words. Simply put, the critiques provided by the more popular sites/magazines have absolutely no flexibility in expanding mental prowess to I've much to offer in the sense of giving a fair/unbiased review, but am limited to few words. Simply put, the critiques provided by the more popular sites/magazines have absolutely no flexibility in expanding mental prowess to accommodate the comedy used, so you can forget about rating accuracy. Theres definitely some intelligence built into the creation of this movie, but if you can't seem to grasp the moments, thats unfortunately your own lack of creativity. Don't bother watching and providing the world a negative review if you don't understand this movie. And for the record, this movie never attempted to have a historically altering plot attached. Its unreasonable, for example, to compare Shaun of the Dead to Dawn of the Dead. (Also, you can't say J.P. was a "hollow" character) -CM Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GregC.Jul 4, 2007
Anyone who doesn't like this movie needs to open the sense of humor and stop disliking movies just because their stupid and have raunchy humor with lots of drugs, sex and swearing. This is one of the all time funniest movies made. Just Anyone who doesn't like this movie needs to open the sense of humor and stop disliking movies just because their stupid and have raunchy humor with lots of drugs, sex and swearing. This is one of the all time funniest movies made. Just because it is R rated and not as smart as the 40 year old virgin doesn't mean its not good or not funny. Open up your sense of humor and people. I mean common any movie with pot heads, Filipino hookers, video games, hot girls, a dude who thinks hes a robot, and a tai-kwon-do chimpanzee is a good movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AaronD.Feb 4, 2008
So this movie definitely isn't highbrow. The plot is practically non-existant and is just a mechanism to go from gag to joke to gag. Sure, at times it was crude, or a bit shocking. If you are easily offended, I can see not liking this So this movie definitely isn't highbrow. The plot is practically non-existant and is just a mechanism to go from gag to joke to gag. Sure, at times it was crude, or a bit shocking. If you are easily offended, I can see not liking this movie... but then why are you going to a Happy Madison production anyway. I'm giving this movie a 9 because it was FUNNY. I laughed long, and hard, all my friends I have shown it to laughed long and hard. And this laughing still occurs even after multiple viewings. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TimothyG.Jul 5, 2008
i thought it was a great movie. anybody who doesn't like it should stop going on the internet and bitching about it. some people like it so get over it. you are just the worst kind of people.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JakeKJan 20, 2009
I don't know what you guys are talking about because i loved this movie. Very funny parts to it. Hope there is a Grandmas Boy 2.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoshK.Jan 26, 2009
This is quite possibly the best movie ever made.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CameronLAug 21, 2009
full 10, greatest comedy of all time, can be watched over and over and u will stil laugh, a true classic comedic genius. .if u hav a real sense of humour u wil laugh ur ass off. .sheer brilliance, timeless. .my favourite.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CalebGJan 18, 2010
There aren't many movies that make me laugh out loud the fifth time around, and this is one of them. I'm not quite sure why it got so low official reviews.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RobertM.Jan 23, 2006
Much funnier than I thought. It's one of those really weird movies: it's probably the worst movie I've seen - and yet one of the more humourous ones. Crazy! I mean - the acting, plot, storyline...absymal. But the jokes you get Much funnier than I thought. It's one of those really weird movies: it's probably the worst movie I've seen - and yet one of the more humourous ones. Crazy! I mean - the acting, plot, storyline...absymal. But the jokes you get off it - "Frankenstein weed" - you will laugh. Hard. Definately one of those movies you'll watch at home once every year, but enough to have in the collection. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
SamD.Jun 21, 2006
I thought the movie was good, but you do have to be in the right state of mind. Of course its not going to be funny if you're sober! So everybodys votes that were sober don't really count. It is a pretty funny movie to watch every I thought the movie was good, but you do have to be in the right state of mind. Of course its not going to be funny if you're sober! So everybodys votes that were sober don't really count. It is a pretty funny movie to watch every once in a while, ecpecially the scene where their driving to the devil's house. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
McGeeJul 12, 2006
The Second movie based on Video Games that was actually good. I give it two-thumbs up. A must see for all gamers out there.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
siglou25Jul 23, 2012
If you like stoner movies this is by far the one that's a must see. A cult classic that is very underrated due to it's poor marketing and Opening, but hilarious from opening to end. Lots of memorable characters especially Dante(his weedIf you like stoner movies this is by far the one that's a must see. A cult classic that is very underrated due to it's poor marketing and Opening, but hilarious from opening to end. Lots of memorable characters especially Dante(his weed dealer), Mr. Cheezel( the Boss), JP(the matrix nerd) Jeff(played by Nick Swardson) and of course, Grandma and her crew! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
numericJul 14, 2012
I had low expectations when this movie came out, and it totally took me off-guard as to how much I enjoyed this film. I always thought Alan Covert was hilarious and I think he stood his own in this one. The plot didn't wind up anything like II had low expectations when this movie came out, and it totally took me off-guard as to how much I enjoyed this film. I always thought Alan Covert was hilarious and I think he stood his own in this one. The plot didn't wind up anything like I thought it would. Definitely not worth all the negative reviews it received. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
TheQuietGamerDec 15, 2011
Are you a gamer, stoner, live with your grandma, or all of the above? then this is for you, a completely hilarious movie with video games, weed, old ladies, and just all around immaturity, honestly the characters are really likable and theirAre you a gamer, stoner, live with your grandma, or all of the above? then this is for you, a completely hilarious movie with video games, weed, old ladies, and just all around immaturity, honestly the characters are really likable and their sheer believable immaturity is what makes it funny and enjoyable, honestly this is how I see me and my friends in the next few years, the Happy Madison company has made another fantastic comedy, of you like their previous works than this is a must see. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
jAbMaNMar 24, 2011
Very, very, funny movie. The critics are wrong. Every joke is hil larry ous. Nick Swardson is funny as hell and I loved the concept of a video game tester smoking pot and playing video game. That is the life I want to live.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
shamusolarrySep 8, 2011
A funny, enjoyable, and quotable movie. However it was rather lacking in story, and there were a few too many sex-jokes. It's also clearly a Hollywood movie because videogames are so poorly portrayed. Honestly, how many games have levelsA funny, enjoyable, and quotable movie. However it was rather lacking in story, and there were a few too many sex-jokes. It's also clearly a Hollywood movie because videogames are so poorly portrayed. Honestly, how many games have levels anymore? And since when does programming a videogame involve no code? If you can ignore that, and enjoy stoner-comedies, then you'll probably enjoy Grandma's Boy. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
GTODaddy73Nov 10, 2011
This movie will be a cult classic, if not already, and all the uppity people bagging on will be trying to tell others how they watched endlessly in 5-10 years. There is so much more in this film than just the blatant stoner/gamer humor (btwThis movie will be a cult classic, if not already, and all the uppity people bagging on will be trying to tell others how they watched endlessly in 5-10 years. There is so much more in this film than just the blatant stoner/gamer humor (btw to the guy halfway down the thread......real gamers can, and do, make fun themselves) for the viewer to see that the replay value of this flick exceeds many "serious" movies. I mean, in the seen where J.P. is trying to hide in his jacket ("How did he see me?") look at the game posters.....Gay Robot, Canada Must Die, Ninja Blood Orgy.......classic. The plot perfect for the genre it is in and the writingfits within the realm of what typically happens when you get a group of people sitting around smoking weed and playing videogames. Good fun, a nice way to laugh for 90 min. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
VikingTyNov 10, 2011
I was wondering why all my favorite comedies were poorly ranked on this site and then I search for one of my all time favorite comedies and realize this site is visited by a bunch of fat ugly women.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
TTW107Feb 6, 2012
Grandma's boy will go down as a classic in my book. Not a movie to sit down and analyze, just a movie to sit down and enjoy. You cannot go wrong with Doris Roberts and Jonah Hill while he was still fat.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
imthenoobOct 20, 2016
It's the kind of stoner movie that is funny in it's simplicity and you can't help but enjoy it. Critics may bash it but it's obvious that fans clearly had a good time watching it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
zzz90210Mar 17, 2012
This is one of my favourite movies of all time. Period._______________More than that, it is my chicken soup. When I am feeling crap or depressed my pickup is either throwing on some heavy metal or watching this movie. It never fails to get aThis is one of my favourite movies of all time. Period._______________More than that, it is my chicken soup. When I am feeling crap or depressed my pickup is either throwing on some heavy metal or watching this movie. It never fails to get a chuckle out. I have lost count of how many times I have watched it, but I am fairly certain it is my most watched movie by far - massive replay value._______________That being said, I understand why it did not get great critical reviews. It is full of stoner humour and in-jokes that only geeks can appreciate. It uses stereotypes of computer geeks and computer-game humor that geeks find hilarious - but leave everyone else going WTF? Some say this is a stoner movie, and to an extent it is - but the real heart of this movie is geek and computer gaming culture and humour. And if you dont get that - and most people dont, especially stodgy old movie critics - then you simply are not going to appreciate this movie for what it is. Read the critical reviews and you can see this for yourself._______________Is it perfect? Well no, but what is? The main point is that this movie gets all the big things right. The acting is great. The story is great. The humour is amazing. It has boobies at the end. And the things it gets wrong are so small and inconsequential you wont even notice them, and these flaws ultimately just reinforce the overall personality of the movie, rather than serve as serious detractions._______________I feel I have to comment on the story in particular. I have read so many reviews, even positive ones, that basically say "yeah was pretty funny but didnt have much of a story". Let me say load and clear that the story behind this movie was AMAZING. You have a guy who hits rock bottom, moves in with his grandma and her friends, teams up with a band of losers to form an unlikely alliance against an evil (ok evil is a bit harsh) nemesis who is as comedic as he is sinister, manages to overcome obstacles to defeat his opponents and ultimately win the battle *and* scores the girl at the end. All while managing to have a bunch of fun and laughs along the way. It was tight. I suspect that people who found this movie funny but thought there was no story only saw the shallow slapstick humour and simply missed the deeper humour and culture that was present. I am guessing they are the same people who though Adam Sandler should have been in it (praise the Lord he wasn't)._______________What more to say? All I can think of is I am so glad this film is hated by critics. It just shows how well it serves its target audience. If some old fart writing for a newspaper column found this movie funny, I am sure I would have only found it half so. It is so rare that a movie is made without compromise - without trying to appease the critics or buy mass market appeal - but when they are, gems can be born. And that is what this movie is - a gem._______________Over and out. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
tvaughanx89Oct 6, 2013
Great movie funny an cool is a cult film that people love the critics are just mad because the production team didn't send them any money to review it well. Moral of my story critics are a paid for joke watch the movie you will love it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
FRYMANATIONMay 27, 2014
I love this movie. Granted, its not intended for all audiences. Its a hilarious video game player stoner movie that I have watched nearly 100 times and laugh at the same parts everytime. Watch for yourself, and dont base off critics score.I love this movie. Granted, its not intended for all audiences. Its a hilarious video game player stoner movie that I have watched nearly 100 times and laugh at the same parts everytime. Watch for yourself, and dont base off critics score. They clearly have forgotten how soothing laughter can be. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
ebernaysJul 1, 2016
One of the funniest movies beginning to end that I've seen in a very very long time. Allen Covert did a REMARKABLE job writing this film, and It's easy to see where Sandler really gets his material from. Nick Swardson (Terry the gay maleOne of the funniest movies beginning to end that I've seen in a very very long time. Allen Covert did a REMARKABLE job writing this film, and It's easy to see where Sandler really gets his material from. Nick Swardson (Terry the gay male prostitute from Reno 911) was absolutely hilarious. Linda Cardellini (ER) was great too... I don't know how many women in the gaming industry are as cute as she is - but - it was great to see her in something as funny as Grandma's Boy after seeing her every week on ER for the last couple years. Having exposure to gamers - a couple of whom are testers, I don't think this flick could have been *much* more accurate. Overall - I LOVED this movie. Start to finish it just got progressively funnier. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews