User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2246 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 4, 2013
    10
    Intense and gripping! This movie was shot as a simple survival story in space... but I connected to it even more at a much deeper level. The way that the cinematography was shot, I felt I was in space floating with Sandra Bullock's character, Dr. Ryan Stone... that was a technical achievement in itself... But I was also able to feel what it was like to be in the mind of her character. I feared with her, struggled to survive with her, felt the hopelessness of life and accepted death with her, and then, found air, found new life, and was born again with her. Sandra Bullock has put on an Oscar worthy performance, and it sure did help with Alfonso Cuaron being at the helm to guide this film. What a genius. It's been awhile since I've been deeply absorbed into the thoughts and feelings of a character on screen. This movie was truly a journey and an experience into the mind and soul of Dr. Ryan Stone's character. Wow, such an amazing film. An unforgettable experience! Must see in theaters with the biggest screen you can find. Expand
  2. Oct 4, 2013
    10
    Everyone knows that both Sandra Bullock and George Clooney played their rolls beautifully. But one thing I want to mention that blew me away was the unsung hero of sound design. HOLY HELL it was spectacularly done. For a setting that has no sound and to make it seem that way is a feet that is out of this world (sorry for the pun). It may sound easy just to remove the Atmos effects but really, having done sound for TV myself it is very difficult to cover up. This is a film I will take notes from in the future. Expand
  3. Oct 4, 2013
    10
    Utterly breathtaking. Gravity is a terrifying, realistic, beautiful and amazing thrill ride filled with non-stop suspense and incredible tension along with fantastic visuals and score. This is definitely a must see film and can definitely qualify as one of the best films of the year.
  4. Oct 4, 2013
    10
    In a year where some movies pass off as cheap entertainment, this movie delivers and shows the wonders and thrills of cinema. It's absolutely breathtaking while showing both the beauty and the horrors of space. The acting, visuals, cinematography, everything is about this movie is just flawless. Overall, this is truly one of the best movies ever made. It's freaking awesome! Be sure to check out my YouTube channel, "TheMovieManLife" for all things movies! Expand
  5. Oct 4, 2013
    10
    Wow! I rarely enthuse about any film these days, but this is something very special. Gravity is not only intense, devastating and ultimately life affirming, but has single handedly changed my opinion of Sandra Bullock, an actress who I normally have no time for. Full marks.
  6. Oct 4, 2013
    10
    Honestly, this was the best movie I've seen in a very very long time. Gravity is easily the most beautiful and realistically terrifying movie out there. From the very beginning until a few minutes after the credits began to roll, I found my self on the edge of my seat clinging desperately to my chair as if I were holding on for dear life. The film making was superb, the acting was brilliant, and the visuals were every bit out of this world. Gravity is a masterpiece, plain and simple. Expand
  7. Oct 4, 2013
    9
    While not everything in the movie may be 100% realistic (you don't take off your spacesuit like it's your pajamas), but apart from those minor quirks, this movie is an absolute sight to behold. The cinematography is fantastic, the acting superb, and the movie remains interesting for the whole duration. Obligatory watching for anyone who remotely likes movies.
  8. Oct 4, 2013
    9
    Gripping. Almost like a two-person play. Effects are just incredible; it looks and feels like it was shot on location in space. Plus, there's a nice little smile near the beginning as a familiar voice graces another space epic. Highly, highly recommended. See it in IMAX 3D if you can.
  9. Oct 5, 2013
    9
    This memorizing and thrilling sci-fi extravaganza is the perfect example of what pure movie magic is all about. From its captivating cinematography, to its superb acting, riveting production design, and exceptional use of 3D, Gravity is a terrifyingly accurate portrayal of lifelessness in the outer reaches of space and the sheer determination and struggle to grasp onto hope in the most hopeless, and virtually most helpless of scenarios. Being quite arguably one of the most remarkable outings in the history of film, Gravity cements itself as being an achievement in almost every aspect of both its genre and filmmaking in general. There is no doubt in my mind that Gravity is a once in a generation accomplishment that will be talked about and regarded as an inspiration for many ages to come. Expand
  10. Oct 4, 2013
    10
    Easily one of the best space film I've ever seen and ever. Gravity offer high level of tension add with beautiful visual design and strong acting. This is masterpiece of movie. Watch it in 3D if possible. :D
  11. Oct 4, 2013
    10
    It takes more than just visual effects to hold a film together and Sandra Bullock is the pull in “Gravity.” For the majority of the film, Bullock is alone, and while acting in general is no easy feat, acting solo is an actor’s most challenging role and Bullock is effortlessly sensational. Her roller coaster of emotions from the start of the film to its final frame are riveting. The suspense in this film would be null without Bullock’s wonderful and relatable connection. The Cuaróns’ makes Ryan an "everyman," so watching her struggle to save and be saved is like having a sinking feeling of watching one’s self go through this traumatic ordeal. Bullock wasn’t the first choice to play Ryan, but Cuarón should count himself lucky that he landed a powerful, often beautiful, performance in the end. While “Gravity” gives audiences a sensational and unparalleled fictional view of the final frontier, Bullock says it best as her dread sets in: “I hate space.” For those who have always dreamed of becoming an astronaut or visiting the stars, this incredibly tense film might change your mind. Going in to the film knowing disaster will strike just makes the tension that much greater and when Cuarón unleashes hell upon Ryan and Kowalski, the suspense is relentless and exhausting. “Gravity” deserves the IMAX treatment more than most films. An already immersive experience is incredibly heightened by the big screen format. Check out on IMAX if possible. It will be worth the extra coin. It remains to be seen if “Gravity” will have a long shelf-life once every new science fiction movie hereafter copies everything from its realism to its naturalistic effects to Steven Price’s hypnotic and vertigo-inducing score. “Gravity” is definitely an experience an event and whether or not that lasts, as of right now, there’s just nothing else like it. And that is a rare treat at the movies. Expand
  12. Oct 16, 2013
    10
    Gravity is a first rate, charming but gripping complex drama, although claustrophobic, it is deep and absorbing, with dazzling effects, breathtaking performances, all in all, a fascinating, one of a kind ride, that you will stay with you for a long time. This film has real soul attached to it, you can feel the passionate making behind this film, the visuals are astonishing and look very real. The sequences are intense and gripping.You can easily connect with the film, because of the powerful performances and the gripping sequences, it is a legendary achievement. The cinematography is spellbinding, the soundtrack is fascinating, the visuals are dazzling, the performances are powerful yet complicated and thought provoking, the direction is masterful, I think that Alfonso Cuaron's Gravity is a remarkable Hollywood invention, a gripping and intense thriller, a masterful arty direction and a film that has a real soul. This is a type of a film that doesn't come every year. Expand
  13. Oct 6, 2013
    10
    This movie is a cinematic masterpiece. I dont want to say more because going in with no expectation beyond something happens in space is the best way. Also see it in 3d it really uses this well not as a gimmick.
  14. Oct 6, 2013
    10
    I would never waste the time to do this ever in my life, but for the first time, I had to register on this website just to give a review of this movie, first of all, If you're not affected by it, 3d should be your first and only option to see this movie. This is one movie that I followed on imdb as it climbed up from 8.4 to 8.8 now on its ratings. I have never been so stunned. This movie is breathtaking, there's no way to describe this movie to convince you to go watch it. This movie is one of the very first of its kind and makes you think when watching rather than making it too obvious like other movies nowadays. This movie got me on the edge of my seat, I was just mesmerized at how a movie could be so good. WOOOOW!!!, special effects, acting, breathtaking visuals, fiction at its best and good idea. This is one of the very first movie that made me want to pay again in the same theater and wait to watch the next time it was showing the same day. YOU HAVE TO SEE THIS MOVIEEEEEEEE!!!!!, IT'S NOT JUST WHAT PEOPLE SAY. It's interesting, brilliant and drags you into it's world more and more, devouring you and feeding you pleasure. Movie recommended without thinking twice or hesitating, definitely watching again-3D, with another set of friends. Expand
  15. Oct 5, 2013
    10
    Wonderful. Delivers that sense of grandeur only one or two movies a year can muster. Alfonso Cuaron is a brilliant filmmaker. The long tracking shot at the beginning is...for lack of better words...absolutely friggin' insane. What an amazing experience.
  16. Oct 4, 2013
    10
    Alfonso Cuaron’s new feature film, “Gravity,” a movie about an astronaut is on graveness space in his spectacular 3D experience. Mr. Cuaron has done previous films that I enjoy so much including “Y’Tu Mama Tambien,” “Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban,” and “Children of Men,” now he decides to make his latest space adventure about two astronauts were on the mission to repair the satellite in outer space. Then, a probe pollution appears from nowhere and damages the satellite; however, the two astronauts split away in a dark gravity of space. One space scientist, Dr. Ryan Stone (Sandra Bullock), is on the loose and she has no way out to save herself in space. Dr. Stone decided to take care of herself and she needs to find a way to be safe, so she can come back home from earth. Mr. Cuaron makes a wonderful experiences to travel deep in outer space to see a beautiful atmosphere and an epic suspense for one the best films I ever seen.. Expand
  17. Oct 4, 2013
    9
    A beautiful and also terrifying look into the vast and majestic Universe beyond the safety of our world. A fantastic movie, that executed every aspect almost flawlessly. Actually, it wasn't just a movie, it was experience. Cinematography was absolutely astonishing, soundtrack was beautiful, acting was fantastic, and the visuals... The visuals were one of the best I've ever seen. Director Alfonso Cuarón outdone himself once again.
    I cannot recommend this enough, for every thriller, drama or scifi fan, this movie is a must watch.
    Expand
  18. Oct 6, 2013
    10
    10/10 this movie is phenomenal. I do love space in general, taking me on a ride to actual space was breathe taking I was on the edge of my seat the whole movie. The ambient music put me in the best mood, it was funny at times, it was so emotional as well. Though this is a space simulation it still has a plot and a story that leaves you going home and just thinking really how it is in space and you get a glimpse in this movie to see how it really is. The 18 people that just really dont get it well not every movie is for everyone but this really is fantastic movie and I will rewatch this movie over and over and over again. Expand
  19. Oct 6, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Considering the sentiment of most of the negative user reviews I've read on this movie, I really wish most moviegoers would *try* to engage movies in a vacumm (not necessarily in the vacumm of space though...heh heh). It seems many came into this film filled with too many preconceived ideas about what it would be and how it would effect/affect them. I find it really does the movie a disservice when you think it's going to be the best thing you've ever seen before you even see it. You spend most of the time hung-up on that moment that's going to make it all happen, and in the process, you miss the overall composition. Then you consider the movie a failure because that moment never came. I say all this because I've done it too many times before. Thankfull, I didn't do it with Gravity.

    A lot of people, myself included, love film for its aesthetic advantage over most other forms of art. I don't think it's crazy to suggest that this film has done, cinematically, what no other film has yet to do; that, I believe, warrants many of the accolades it's been receiving. On the other hand, I really enjoyed the emotional 'gravity' of this movie and it's allegory for rebirth It somehow manages to quickly pull you onto an empathetic level for the main character without the normal, slow characture development we would typically need for someone who's in a situation we have a hard time relating to—and I think this is all connected to how wonderfully real this movie feels, despite the fact that 99.9999991% of us have never been in space.

    On a side note, Gravity also tugged a piece of my heart with the seemingly subtil ode to Spielberg/John Wlliams 80's style soundtrack and sound editing. What I'm referring to here is when a film's eutherial, clean, and powerful sounding soundtrack seems to shelter a softer, dirty—almost analog sounding—song. The scene I felt this during most was when Dr. Ryan had the radio communication with the civilian (non English speaking) man. While she was finally realizing things were not great (I'll spare details for fear of spoiling), the soundtrack paralled the weight of the situation. Though a spark of hope came through a man's singing to a baby in the background—an obvious but well played contrast. This scene/sound editing might not have been an overt ode, but I still liked its use.

    See this movie, but forget everything everyone has said about it!
    Expand
  20. Oct 11, 2013
    10
    If you are seeing this movie, you MUST see it in IMAX 3D if possible. This is one of the handful of movies that must be seen in 3D.

    When I first saw a previews for this movie, I was so sure it would be bad. I have never been more wrong about a film in my life. Everything about this movie is phenomenal. The acting is Oscar worthy, the sound design is flawless, and the visuals are
    spectacular. Gravity has a fairly simple story, but that is clearly by design. The character that Sandra Bullock plays appears relatively shallow, but in reality is so deep, SHE is the story. Especially in 3D, the movie pulls the viewer into the character, almost literally, and never lets go. You feel every emotion the character feels, including the absolute dread when you know something bad is going to happen. Your heart and mind alike race when the terrifying situations come about. I have to warn though, that if you suffer from any sort of anxiety, you might want to think twice about seeing this movie. I saw this with my wife, who has anxiety, and while she absolutely loved the movie, it was too much to handle at some points. This is not a film for the feint of heart. Either way, this movie will definitely be getting Oscar nominations. This is a must see film. Do yourself a favor though, and splurge on the IMAX 3D. You won't regret it. Expand
  21. Oct 7, 2013
    10
    This movie was AMAZING!!!! I was able to watch it on IMAX and I was just blown away! The thrills start right away and watching Dr. Ryan Stone swirl around in space made me feel light-headed, which is a very good thing since few movies can really do that. The special effects are some of the best I've ever seen!! One scene, in particular, where we see one of the space shuttles get destroyed by debris in the middle of the film, was nothing short of breathtaking. I also love the acting: George Clooney gives a light-hearted performance sure to get a few chuckles out of you, but this is Sandra Bullock's show, and she gives, probably, the best performance of her career. She's a character to root for since she has very strong character development. However, there are times when the dialogue gets a little sappy,but the actors give it their all, especially Bullock. Overall, with a mastery of special effects and a strong emotional core shown through great performances, Gravity is one of the best thrillers I have ever seen and will definitely blow you away as well! Expand
  22. Oct 6, 2013
    10
    Brilliantly executed and acted all wrapped in outstanding special effects. I was on the edge of my seat for 99% of the film and had my hand covering my mouth for half of the movie (which often doesn't happen, even when I am watching horror films). A tour de force of a masterpiece by Alfonso Cuarón that will be in your head long after you've left the theatre. I foresee a few Oscar nominations and wins for this one. Go see this. Now. Expand
  23. Oct 6, 2013
    10
    Intense and keeps you on the edge of your seat the whole time. This movie is pinned as just a survival story that takes place in space, but it connects on a much deeper level with the undertones and themes of loneliness, separation, and love. Beautiful and breathtaking visual effects, along with stuffing and emotional acting from Bullock. This is a must see movie to me 10/10
  24. Oct 5, 2013
    9
    Gravity is an amazing movie. It's also the tensest film I've ever seen, and movies rarely ever make me tense. I'm almost certain Sandra Bullock will win an Oscar. If it doesn't win the visual effects Oscar I'd also be very surprised about that. I do have some caveats however. The story felt too minimalistic for me. It's basically a survival tale set in space. There's nothing wrong with that but just think of what could have been. Despite these problems the movie is so tense, so atmospheric, and so visually impressive that it would be crazy to not catch it in theatres. I'd place it up there with Avatar, District 9, and Inception. Expand
  25. Oct 12, 2013
    10
    Amazing action movie. Displays zero-g physics better than any sci-fi movie I've seen (even if not entirely perfectly), which makes for a really unusual environment. Also, it is a space movie, and it is not sci-fi. Which is a shock right there. There's not much "interaction" and "character development", and thank God for that, we have that in literally every movie except this one already, and in large amounts. There is however a psychological drama about getting over yourself and doing much more than you ever thought you were able to, not giving up until the very end. Also did I mention awesome action in zero-g? Expand
  26. Oct 15, 2013
    10
    "Gravity" is not only a beautiful, visual and science-fiction film, it's more than that. Alfonso Cuarón has created pure 7th art. It has emotiional weight, life toil and spiritual philosophy Sandra Bullock is great, I think that Ryan Stone is her best role in her filmography. George Clooney is a cool Jiminy Cricket in this film. It's curious, this film is now but already is classic.
  27. Oct 16, 2013
    10
    One of the best movies I've ever seen! Non stop intensity throughout the whole film! With 3D it felt like I was actually there with them. The visual effects and cinematography are some of the best I've seen. Will be really upset if this doesn't win some awards at the Oscars this upcoming year.
  28. Oct 15, 2013
    10
    I personally wish the sci-fi genre were the dominant genre of hollywood. Unfortunately, it's not. However, this film makes up for the lack of SF films and the crappy ones that do come out. It's an 11/10 for all the reasons other user reviews have said. People would be insane to dislike this film. Two of the best actors in the game at the top of it. Must see.
  29. Nov 9, 2013
    10
    Touching, funny, involving, human, simple, direct. This is perfect cinema. Utterly convincing, almost to the extent of making me queasy, though I soon got my space legs, Gravity makes maximum use of sound and vision.

    Just remember to breathe!
  30. Oct 7, 2013
    10
    This movie is a perfect 10

    The visuals,the audio detail, the acting, the story, and execution were perfect. I have nothing bad to say about it

    Great score

    Sandra really proved herself in this movie and I think its a good role for her and a good move

    I knew I wouldnt be disappointed by a movie with Alfonso's name on it
  31. Oct 11, 2013
    10
    This is literally the best movie I have ever seen. There is so much to love. I have never left a theater speechless before. But I did that night, and I could not speak for at least half an hour afterwards.
  32. Oct 20, 2013
    10
    Space... the final frontier... of near death and thrilling situations. That summs the movie up. If we left out the jaw dropping ambiance, scenery and cinematography. When the first cut in this movie happened I clapped. Wanna know why? Because it doesn't happen till 3 minutes into the movie when the satellite debry starts cutting through dudes faces. That is masterpiece editing done by the proud Mexican (I'm Mexican)
    Alfonso Cuarón. The flowing of every scene is smooth but tense at the
    same time. You gasp for air and control when you are put in Bullock's
    point of view while she spins into the nothingness of space. And those
    scenes last... and are absolutely beautifully choreographed. The tense
    atmosphere that Cuarón achieves doesn't let go of you until the last
    second of the movie for you to realize how sweaty you are. The script
    and dialogue aren't something to be amazed about, but the acting makes
    up for it. The charm and charisma of Clooney are entertaining and you
    really believe some of the scenes done by Sandra Bullock who plays this
    really unlucky (but at the same time lucky?) astronaut. Cuarón achieves
    greatness with eye popping visuals and a surprisingly low (for the
    things you experience in the movie) budget and that is something you
    don't see that often. I can really see some Oscar statues in Cuaron's
    pocket in 2014.
    Expand
  33. Oct 7, 2013
    9
    This is a very simple movie at heart. A 90min thriller that takes place in the vacuum of space. There is very little dialogue, back story, and minimal sound effects (no sound in space after all). Clooney is the veteran spaceman and calming voice of reason while Bullock is the 6 months trainee and panicking. You'll instantly be familiar with story, characters, and setting 20mins in, but thats OK. Visually this movie is amazing using lengthy, single shots (my guess to show the infinity of outer space) and the occasional 1st person perspective. 90mins is a perfect length for Gravity cause Bullock's escalating bad luck does start to get ridiculous. Bottomline: Total worth seeing in theaters!!! Expand
  34. Nov 9, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The negative reviews here are baffling. Truly baffling. A lot of them are saying "there's no plot". Well what exactly are we looking for here? Debris from a destroyed satellite impacts upon a small-scale mission above Earth and we then follow in near real-time an attempt by the survivors to return to Earth. So we spend about 90 minutes in that situation and what happens is what happens. How much of a character arc can we really expect?

    Other comments are like this :
    "Bad acting". Utter drivel.
    "Sets feminism back with a female character who just panics and hyperventilates". WTF?

    I think I'd panic, too. A lot.

    Clooney's character was calm because this wasn't his first rodeo. Bullock's Ryan was on her first trip out. She's set adrift in space without a way to take control and that caused her to panic. A lot. Seems reasonable. It had nothing to do with her gender. Nothing in this film is concerned with gender. It's absolutely ludicrous to try and make an argument that this film is diminishing feminism.

    One of the '0' reviews I read said that people who are raving about the film are too embarrassed to say they don't like it because they've bought into the hype. Honestly, I'd say it was the other way around. These reviewers are determined not to like this film.

    It's clear that I'm very much in favour of this film.
    You should see it for yourself.
    When you do, remind yourself of the strongly negative opinions and try and relate them to what you've just seen. You should logically conclude that the negative reviews are, as I said, baffling.

    If you find yourself agreeing with the bizarre negativity, then re-read this and know that now I'm complaining about you. Yes, you. You baffle me.
    Expand
  35. Oct 5, 2013
    10
    I had low expectations for this movie but after watching the film, I made a decision to never go to space. Space is a silent and dangerous place to go, that was what I learned after watching Gravity. The movie did an excellent execution of showing the dangers that space holds for it's visitors. The acting of Sandra Bullock was outstanding, the way she would say her lines and the way she acts, was such a joy to watch. George Clooney was excellent as well, his like perfect for an astronaut role. He knows that in situations like these, you have to be calm or else your going to die. The visual effects were like out of this world, scenes were ships are being destroyed by asteroids were one of the highlights of the film, because everyone in theatre had their jaws dropped. The movie showed us that giving up is not an option even if your trapped in a situation where escape is impossible and if you do succeed, your considered as an underdog. Gravity was such a good movie and it deserves a very high score. Gravity gets a 10/10 from Jetstar. Expand
  36. Oct 5, 2013
    10
    OH MY GOSH! this movie was so intense,damn! i was so nervous my heart was pumping like crazy oh god i don't know how to explain what the movie makes u feel,there were so many feeling,emotions just PERFECT!
  37. Nov 8, 2013
    10
    Like Kubrick's '2001: Space Odyssey', this movie is about space. But instead of psychologically challenging you, it challenges your body. I was shaking in my chair because of the thrill the movie provided and after leaving the theatre I was constantly looking at the sky and thinking about the movie. It's a movie experience you will hardly leave to die, because it's so unique. Few movies can impact on a person such as this does, so I recommend you too will experience it. Expand
  38. Oct 25, 2013
    10
    Stunning realism to the science of space, along with extraordinary cinematography and special effects, brilliant, entertaining acting by Sandra Bullock and George Clooney, give this sci-fi it's interesting cataclysmic plot, and it's essence of a dramatic-thriller Mexican film-making [of Alfonso Cuaron] proves both entertaining and sophisticated.
  39. Oct 5, 2013
    9
    By far one of the best cinema experiences ive ever had. Sure there were obvious outcomes, yet it holds the tension beautifully from beginning to end and truly crafts suspension of disbelief for the viewer.
    Even more so, the stunningly complex visuals are backed by a stimulating pallet of terrifyingly sparse atmosphere underlined with pulsating crescendo's of electronic dissonance, making
    this movie's impact all the more impressive.
    The fact that the cast is relatively small (with most of it being performed by one actress) is a refreshing change prompting new approaches to dialogue while dissipating the borders of the screen to creatively engage the audience in Dr.Stone's desperate crawl to survival.
    Cinematography in this film was practically larger than life, creating a true sense of fear, awe and utter isolation. (Highly suggest sitting in the front row if you want total immersion)
    Felt like i was being exposed to open vacuum the entire time and somehow just managing to escape; it really was one hell of a ride.
    Expand
  40. Oct 6, 2013
    10
    Great movie see in 3d Sandra Bullock is awesome. The special effects were so real. I was on the edge of my seat during the whole movie. It made me think of real astronauts and their missions
  41. Oct 6, 2013
    10
    If I here one more complaint about 'character development', I'm going to scream. Just a few minor character details is all one needs to know to get on with the story, fill the rest in with the power of imagination. Long-winded 'character development' with flashbacks and shots of life back on earth would have destroyed this fragile film. You don't 'care' about the characters? Get over yourself. We won't even go there. 'Implausible' is another word thrown around. They have missed the boat. About as realistic 'sci-fi' film as you will see, no aliens, no death ray guns. The most dangerous situation is debris, debris!

    Look, can we cut to the chase here? This film is about nothing more than Life itself, there's nothing bigger, or better. we can throw around words like metaphor or microcosm, but the is that this film is a game-changer, a towering achievement in cinema, a landmark in motion pictures, a masterpiece constructed by a humanist, a master film maker at the top of his game. Too many cliches? Please forgive.

    Rarely have I been brought to tears at the end of a 'thriller'. This film doesn't want your tears, but there they were. Was I thinking about my own life? Did it all hit me at once at the immensity of the films themes? Yes, it's that kind of film, all wrapped in a 'thriller'. I hope this film becomes a blockbuster: escapism, pure adrenaline, a red-blooded thrill ride, with heart and soul to spare, pure poetry in motion, if you will. As intimate as a art-house flick on a a large scale budget.

    'Is anybody out there?' The mystery of being alive is all laid out here. Making a connection, the human touch, the wonder, the awe-inspiring fragility of it all. Yes it can be lonely out there, and the great unknown hovering over, but we are not solo lonesome creatures, we need to hear and be heard no matter how trivial. When people say, 'how insignificant we are in the grand scheme of things', that is a scary thought. This film is about hope, the triumph of the human will to survive, reflection, deep contemplation, spirituality, without hammering you over the head. It's done with love and care. I felt a deep appreciation for a film that cares, so do we.

    A new level of excellence must be mentioned for sound design and special affects, not going to pretend I know how they did it, doesn't matter, movies are an illusion, and the trick is told when the trick is sold.

    Sandra Bullock, is magnificent. It is said that the most interesting subject in film is the human face. She is able to at once project and reflect all the necessary emotion that she feels and more important, the audience is right there with her.

    'Gravity' is the front-runner for best picture, in my humble opinion. A masterwork of pure film making, it touches your heart and mind, and is exciting as any film I have ever seen, and I don't say that lightly. You want a 'plot summary?' Not here.

    A most special movie-going experience.
    Expand
  42. Oct 6, 2013
    10
    The movie was beyond my expectations. Since it was announced during Venice Film Festival, I was already intrigued. After the initial teaser trailer, I was sold. The movie was intense and gripping. The first 10 mins of the movie grabs hold of you and leaves you paralyzed, asking what is going to happen next. Sandra Bullock played her character as Ryan Stone with so much emotion that it makes you feel the pain and loneliness she went through in the movie. This is definitely a must see of the year. Expand
  43. Oct 8, 2013
    10
    Breakthrough kind of film. Milestone. Subject of study in Universities of Visual Arts.
    Cuaron is a genius All the things he had to overcome to do this the way he wanted!!...Awesome Bullock in her part.
    It has been some years since the last time we can share at a movie theater a cinematographic experience so organically vividly and in some many different levels, and it will pass some
    time for the next one.
    Some may say is a simple story, but there are layers if you want to go deep, it´s up to you. You choose. or just relax if you can) and enjoy the most amazing out of this world space trip you'll ever gonna get.
    ( Can't understand critics of physic, astronomy, etc... Its only a movie! Get over it.!. those critics speak for the persons who talked, by the way))
    Pure cinema spirit. Marvelous
    Expand
  44. Oct 12, 2013
    10
    A masterpiece of a movie that's at once visually beautiful, emotional, and thrilling. This should be the example of how to make a movie that's carried by a strong female lead.
  45. Oct 12, 2013
    10
    G R A V I T Y MIND BLOWING 3D! VISUALLY EXCITING AND S-C-A-R-Y at the same time. The movie's director Alfonso Curon (harry potter 3'rd part movie), decided to shoot nearly 60% of the movie in 1'st person perspective -and the result is spine chilling. They were times I forgot I was watching a movie in a theater cause it felt like I was out there in space (with SANDRA BULLOCK) spinning wildly out of control, without any idea where to go. The 3D is incredible. I HAVE NEVER EXPERIENCE A MOVIE LIKE THIS ON THE BIG SCREEN EVER BEFORE. AND I EMPHASIZE ON EXPERIENCE CAUSE WATCHING THIS MOVIE ON THE BIG SCREEN IS TRULY AN EXPERIENCE THAT NO MOVIE LOVING HUMAN BEING SHOULD EVER MISS. Any one thinking about watching this movie (via download, dvd, blu-ray, clueray blaha blah,) anywhere other than a theater will be a waste for him/her. THis is truly a big screen, 3D tHEATRE MOVIE LIKE NONE BEFORE (even AVATAR didn't give me this experience). as for the story it is thrilling, emotional, along with rock solid performance from SANDRA BULLOCK (she really sinks her teeth into this role physically and emotionally) a solid extended cameo with a heroic, emotional and incredibly charming act from George Clooney!! MUST WATCH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 STARS RATING LOVED EVERY MINUTE OF THIS 90 MINUTE MOVIE Expand
  46. Oct 13, 2013
    10
    It is a cinematic masterpiece thanks to its technical prowess. Have never seen anything like this. Exhilarating Stuff. It is a story of Life, Death, Loneliness, Fear, Courage and Life. It is a story of Infinite and Finite. Story of Air, Water and Vacuum.Of Distance and Destiny. Of Silence. Of Energy. Of Motion, Of Gravity.
    You will not forget the weight of this movie for a long long time to come
  47. Oct 20, 2013
    10
    Stunning visuals, perfect sound mixing and editing, and a great performance by academy award winner Sandra Bullock. Gravity is an intense ride that will keep you on the edge of your seat. Cuaron's best movie to date. A must watch!
  48. Oct 27, 2013
    10
    An intense, beautifully crafted film. For the entirety of the movie, I was holding my breath and on the edge of my seat, quite literally in fact. A relatively short runtime gives the feeling of length without exhaustion, and the acting, visual effects, sound effects, and soundtrack, are so incredibly engrossing, that after the film ended, I felt like I had to check in with myself that i was sitting in a theater. Absolutely something to put on anyone's must watch list. Expand
  49. Nov 10, 2013
    10
    Gravity (90 wonderful minutes) Sandra Bullock- Dr. Ryan Stone George Clooney- Matt Kowalski Ed Harris Mission Control (voice)

    Gravity is not only one of the best movies about space ever made, it is one of the best movies ever made, period. From the opening until the end, the moviegoer is held in the spellbinding grip of this magnificent film. Gravity deserves every Oscar that can be
    forged, it is just that good.

    There are no gratuitous sex scenes, no sappy no corporate logos or political innuendos in this film, just 90 minutes of gripping, spellbinding entertainment. This is one of the tightest movies I have ever seen, not one second wasted, no fluff, no quarter and no pause. From the moment you are in your seat, prepare to stay there and prepare to be absorbed by this tour de force of a film. The attention to detail is absolutely amazing, it's about the best I have ever seen. My popcorn and every edible half-popped kernel was consumed in the first 30 minutes and any thoughts of relieving an aching bladder during this film were discarded as the cinematic greatness manifested itself throughout the entire 90 minutes.

    Sandra Bullock was wonderful in this role, certainly an award-winning performance from beginning to end. I will try really hard to avoid Spoilers here, but this film is brutally real as there is no saving the day or head-turning suspension of disbelief. The scene in the Russian capsule where Dr. Ryan seemingly had accepted her inevitable fate...I won't say any more, just go see this film.

    This movie received universal acclaim from the professional critics, but has been savaged by quite a few amateur movie critics who criticize the movie for two main reasons. First, the storyline is assailed as being mediocre or pedestrian, and others rail against the scientific accuracy of what is portrayed in the film. To this I say, codswallop. Many forget the purpose of movies, i.e. to entertain the audience, and this one does this in spades.

    Just go see it, you will not be sorry. Five Stars out of Five.
    Expand
  50. Nov 14, 2013
    9
    A rather incredible film in all honesty. A wonderful balance of persistent tension and sudden shock, coupled with constantly breathtaking visuals, Gravity would be the perfect film but for the rather cheesy, Buzz Lightyear-type peformance from Clooney.
  51. Oct 8, 2013
    10
    Sandra Bullock and George Clooney are 2 astronauts who struggle for their lives when their space walk is shattered. The cast is small and the plot is simple, but this film packs a colossal wallop. The groundbreaking effects are truly spectacular (in every sense of the word). Director Alfonso Cuarón has created a dazzling cinematic masterpiece with gripping suspense that never lets up. Even with the amazing spectacle of outer space, he and Bullock create an intimate, emotional roller coaster ride. This is a filmmaking at its best. Don't miss it! Expand
  52. Oct 7, 2013
    9
    This movie is all about the visuals. Be sure you see it in 3D. Sandra Bullock is excellent, although somewhat panicky for a highly trained astronaut. Even at the beginning before disaster strikes she is having a panic attack. The astronaut played by Clooney is a stereotype you've seen before, but it doesn't matter as Sandra Bullock is the main focus. You will be asking yourself how they are doing the special effects all throughout the film because it looks so real. I was on the edge of me seat the entire time. Expand
  53. Nov 9, 2013
    10
    There is a reason this movie is averaging 96 in Critic Scores and 8.3 in User Scores; It's is a cinematic masterpiece.

    I will accept any scores in the range of 7-10 as being reasonable, anything in the green basically, but anyone that is scoring this film lower than a 7 and especially those people giving it 0, 1, 2, 3 etc are just being ridiculous and really shouldn't be allowed to post
    reviews and ratings in my opinion.

    Trust me; this is a film that everyone who enjoys cinema should go and see and if it turns out you don't enjoy this film then trust me, you probably need to have a serious think about how you look at the world and interpret things in it because your take on reality is seriously distorted.

    It's not "perfect" but I can't really find any genuinely good reason I'd drop it a full point that I'd feel right about, and certainly not just to appease those types of people who think "no film is 'perfect' so no film should score a 10" or whatever, so I might as well give it 10 because to me in this case I think it's basically earned it and to be totally honest, I'd also like to see that average User Score just a little higher too.

    This film is brilliant and thank God the majority of people are smart enough to actually understand why and acknowledge it's greatness.
    Expand
  54. Nov 25, 2013
    9
    If *anything* goes wrong in space... ANYTHING? You are doomed. This story is so realistically filmed that I left the theater thinking, "we will never send a man to mars..." Wish they'd added a bit more backstory on all of the astronauts, but otherwise loved it.
  55. Oct 6, 2013
    9
    I'm going to lead by saying that this movie is fantastic, unique, and totally worth your time. However, despite its meager 90 minute length, it was getting stale by the end. You can only put a person's life in danger so many times before it starts feeling scripted. But seriously, Gravity is just phenomenal. I never once noticed an unrealistic zero-gravity scene. In fact, I was surprised multiple times by the detail given to the anti-gravity effects. And the camera work! I swear there was a scene that lasted almost ten minutes without a cut! In short, the movie starts out stellar, stays there a while, then slowly declines. Expand
  56. Oct 11, 2013
    9
    This is a really great movie, very intense and emotional throughout the entire movie. The acting is spot on from everyone, and the visuals are very stunning. My only complaint is that the movie is on the short side. Anyone who likes thrillers will love this movie. Anyone interested in space will probably lose their desire to go to space.
  57. Orw
    Oct 13, 2013
    10
    Saw it yesterday in 3D. It is trully one the most wonderful movies i've seen in my life. And not only because of its astonishing visual landscapes, but also because it has a moving story and two great performances by Sandra Bullock and George Clooney. It was a trip, and only the best kind of movies give you that feeling. Congratulations to Alfonso Cuaron and his co-writers. Gravity is Brilliant.
  58. Oct 10, 2013
    9
    Gravity is an incredible film. Absolutely incredible. Peerless in direction, Gravity features career defining performances from Bullock and Clooney, absolutely stunning, top-notch special effects and incredibly effective drama that brings this seemingly simplistic idea and narrative to life. But above all, Gravity is the most fantastic space movie ever made.

    Gravity is filled with
    visual splendor, and packed with layers of metaphor and meaning (much of which I am still debating with colleagues on)! I haven't come out of a film for a long while equally blown away and perplexed, in a good way of course. I love films that are appreciable by both audiences: those looking for entertainment (Which they will receive in spades), and those looking for a film that transcends being a film in the sleekest of ways. Other elements of the film are peerless; the cinematography is beautiful, the minimalist score is effective, and the sound design is perfected.

    It's hard to describe my feelings towards Gravity without abusing my "positive adjective" collection, but I'll just say the Gravity is pretty darned close to perfect. It's original, intense and very entertaining. It's also highly re-watchable with a purpose; it's packed with genius and beauty.

    This is one perilous journey I personally want to experience over and over, deciphering it's layers and themes. It will forever stick in my memory. A one of a kind, incredibly exceptional experience.

    Side note: 3D usage transcends Avatar and my personal favorite of the summer Pacific Rim. It's essential to the experience, and proves to be one of the finest in-theater experiences ever.
    Expand
  59. Nov 10, 2013
    10
    Completely blown away, best movie of the year in my opinion.

    Technically flawless with masterful pacing and perfect performances, not to mention haunting sound editing, it's all there and more.

    For 90 minutes, which felt like a lifetime because of intense and packed the movie was, you feel like you're in space, struggling for survival against all odds. How often does a movie achieve
    something like that? Expand
  60. Oct 9, 2013
    9
    Few movies manages to resist the urge to simply go a big and load as possible to add dramatic effect; Gravity is a master at doing a lot with as little as possible. From the eerie sounds of being in space to the disorientation of spinning out of control, the atmosphere in Gravity is everything. As someone who is skeptical of 3-D, this is one movie where it really does add much to the experience and left me feeling that it is best seen as such. There are some cheesy scenes, courtesy of George Clooney, but they do much to add levity to what Sandra Bullock shows as a traumatic and horrifying scenario. All in all, Gravity left me with some of the most memorable and intense scenes I've seen in a movie while doing so little. Expand
  61. Jan 18, 2014
    10
    Gravity is the best movie in years with its brilliant cinematography, terrific score and an ending that is one of a kind. No movie since Avatar has created astonishing visuals that transform a movie into a stunning work of art. Alonso Cuaron has created a cinematic masterpiece that sets a new standard in visual effects.
  62. Nov 14, 2013
    10
    Gravity is by far the best movie I have seen in years. The special effects ate awesome, the suspense is killer, and the action leaves you stunned. Gravity will earn several Oscars, at least in special effects. And if you do see it, make sure it's in 3D, otherwise you won't enjoy it nearly as much.
  63. lcb
    Oct 11, 2013
    9
    I saw this movie in 3D Imax and on the basis of that, I give it a high rating. Had I seen it in a regular format it would not be as high. It is a beautifully shot movie and the special effects are amazing. It is Bullock's movie and she gives a bravura performance. Read a lot of the negative comments about the movie and am amused at how critical they are regarding its realism or lack of it. Unless they are astronauts, specialists in space engineering or travel, how would they know about its realism and believe-ability? Also, I don't care if they felt Bullock's character appeared weak. Since when do all female characters in movies need to be super heroes. They seem to forget that the Clooney character was an experienced astronaut and she was not. It was her vulnerability and personal story that made her character interesting. I do agree that the plot was simple and I did not find it as thrilling as some did. I doubt that I would have payed the money to see it on a regular screen--just waited for it on subscription TV. I am not a big 3D fan and seldom pay extra to see one, but this was 3D used effectively and was well worth the admission price. Expand
  64. Nov 22, 2013
    9
    a great movie, it sucks you in and keeps you watching for sure. It starts off a little slow at first but the movie flies without you realizing how long it has been playing. Excellent cinematic display and a truly original film. It is nice to have something different from the mediocre trend of movies lately.
  65. Oct 6, 2013
    9
    Alfonso Cuaron continues his exhibition of extraordinary cinematography in this tale of one of the most frightening situations imaginable. Alongside: Bullock's acting is phenomenal, and George Clooney provides some much needed comic relief. Overall, a fantastic piece of cinema and a taste of what is to come for film.
  66. Oct 18, 2013
    10
    It will pull you in, even if you aren't the type to typically get 'in' to movies. A huge part of it is the amazing sound design/music (they run together to form a single audio singularity), which is filled with a lot less 'tell me how to feel' and a lot more primal sounds that more directly influence your feelings. Go. And see it in 3D!
  67. Oct 5, 2013
    9
    This was an intense movie right out the gate with the opening shot. The visuals were spectacular! It is a very compelling performance by Sandra Bullock. Although George Clooney was just being George.
    It deserves all the accolades it getting. The director, Alfonso Cuaron, is a true visionary!
  68. Nov 16, 2013
    10
    Brilliant movie! Visually stunning, with a storyline that has only two characters, and takes us on a roller coaster ride of suspense for the full length of the running time gets my vote for best movie of the year. Some minor problems with dialogue and character studies, but when I am so fully engaged in the movie that I feel like I am there with the actors, allows me to be forgiving of the flaws.

    After I left the theater and drove home I could not put on music or talk radio, I needed let the movie stay in my thoughts, uninterrupted, for a while. Another sign of a great movie.
    Expand
  69. Oct 5, 2013
    9
    Spectacular visuals...almost no need for depth in story. Won't be seen as anything revolutionary in 20 years. I can imagine how it would be in IMAX. Don't see it on a full stomach.
  70. Oct 9, 2013
    9
    Great movie. The cinematography was just out of this world... pardon the pun. The sound and music was captivating and it had the best actor credits I have ever seen. Hate the name though, it should be called lack of gravity. Calling it gravity is misleading and suggests the writer wasn't bright enough to research a better name.
  71. Nov 25, 2013
    9
    This is proabably one of the few movies I would recommend seeing in theaters, because the specticle can only be saw in theaters. With a few short comings with its star power (George Clooney) and its pretentious themes. Gravity is an awesome survivor story.
  72. Oct 12, 2013
    10
    Awesome, damn incredible! Special effects are fantastic, when I watched this movie in 3d I always shuddered when scrap was flying to the screen. I strongly reccoment anyone to watch thisd in IMAX theatre you will forget where you are, you will feel yourself in space with brave astronauts. Views of Earth are breathtaking. This movie is not only about how beautiful Earth is, but also about value of life, about force of will, to fight for your life, so please avoid your "hysterical woman" comments. 10 from 10 Expand
  73. Jan 17, 2014
    10
    Gravity is a visceral, dark and horrifying experience. But it is also one of the most hopeful and inspirational films I have ever seen.

    The film is far more enjoyable the less you know before going into it, but from the trailers you have already seen that it is about two astronauts caught in a tidal wave of chaos as they are thrown into certain doom in outer space.
    The simplicity of
    its plot benefits the film and reinforces it's core architectural foundations. It is a film that wants you to experience everything it's two characters are experiencing. All these feelings that are passed onto us as the viewer and are emphasized via the use of some amazingly placed POV shots, sound and subliminal imagery.
    The result of all this, is a film that only gave me a couple of occasions in which I could release my firm grip form the arms of my chair, and breathe again. And I bloody loved it.

    The imagery that I spoke of earlier is something that cannot be talked about in any kind of detail with possibly detracting from what makes it so special. The concepts of loss, denial acceptance and rebirth are the most prominent, but there are also various nods at the journey of mankind and our downfall.

    In the day and age where special effects are in just about every film, Gravity delivers a marvel of visual effects that are some of the most amazing I have ever seen.
    From gorgeous shots spanning the earth from outer space, to space stations tearing themselves apart throwing millions of particles across the screen all at once. The film does not do anything that is out of character. These effects, could be real. And if you let go of whatever else is going on in your life for just a short while, you may get dragged in, and lost. And that is the experience that is well worth the price of admission.

    I cannot emphasize enough how astonishing Gravity is. In truth, it may be one of the most successfully realized films I have ever seen. One of the many thoughts that lingered with me long after I left my chair in the theatres was "How bloody long am I going to have to wait until this is out on Blu-ray?"

    A 10.

    Jack Valentine
    Expand
  74. Oct 23, 2013
    10
    This film could be summed up in one sentence "The Power of Simplicity", because the script is so simple that if another director surely spoil the movie, but the form is so beautiful Cuaron directed and acted in and takes only ones in the first person what makes the movie very tense but also very entertaining, this sure Sandra Bulock the Bullet film acting in one of his best performances and possible Oscar nominee, but the best scenes are the ones that George Clooney appears with his ironic way and firm Expand
  75. Oct 20, 2013
    10
    Gravity permeates into my mind as an evitable experience. It stays with me for days--now it's almost a week. I guess no other space-thrillers (in the near future) can defy Gravity's terrifying demonstration. Though the plot is quite simple, the directing by Alfonso Cuaron overshadows that--and it should stay that way. If you have not seen it yet, go to the nearest theater right now and watch it! If it is not the best space-thriller ever made, it is the best film I have seen this year. Expand
  76. Oct 9, 2013
    9
    Realistic (to some degree) space movie at last, thanks to senior Alfonso Cuaron! The best thing about it is the visuals and the thrilling atmosphere. As for the narrative, let's just say it's not the strongest side of "Gravity"! Even though some laws of physics has been violated for the sake of plot, it is one of the best picture of 2013!
  77. Oct 4, 2013
    10
    Just saw it in IMAX & gotta say this movie perfect for IMAX experience!! Sense of place, atmosphere, emotions ALL is just incredible!!! Probably, effect will be somewhat lost on smaller screen. Catch it now, you won't be disapointed!!!
  78. Oct 12, 2013
    9
    One of the overall best films I've ever seen. This movie must sweep the Oscars. While lacking in much of a complicated story, there is definitely a plot. The main theme of the film is rebirth through isolation, which can be seen through many thematic elements in the film. This is a must see in Imax-3D. The actors spinning wildly out of control with the Earth in the background provides the viewer with a very existential experience. After watching this movie I called all of my closest friends and told them I loved them because this film really makes you reflect on your own life. The music was phenomenal, despite there not being sound. It made you feel all of the action without having corny foley artists add all of the fake sound effects. Cuaron uses extended long shots to add to the realism of the film, making it seem almost like a documentary. Best film of the year, and one of the best I have ever seen. Gravity is worth checking out and enjoying with a loved one. A masterpiece of cinema. Expand
  79. Nov 12, 2013
    10
    You may have heard some hype floating around about this “little” movie and its big achievement… believe it! ‘Gravity’ is one of the best films to hit the big screen all year and, through staggering technical accomplishment, it quite easily made its mark as a vital contributor to the visual language of cinema. The screenplay may not be an elaborate piece of work, but it gets the job done. Through Alfonso Cuaron’s accomplished direction the ideas come into fruition and the simplicity of the script is given a grand, new life. Cuaron crafts a staggering tale of survival against seemingly impossible odds, and splices it with spiritual motifs and nods to some classic science fiction films. When a space shuttle is destroyed by debris from a decimated Russian Satellite, the last two survivors of the disaster become stranded in space and are forced to use their wit and will to live in order to return to mother Earth. Sandra Bullock delivers her career best turn as rookie astronaut, Ryan Stone, who faces the brunt of Space’s fury. Her arc as a hero placed in repetitive danger may (or may not) have been a shortcoming of the script, but that question was put to rest by Bullock’s convincing lead presence. Her attempts to overcome one near-death obstacle after another never got boring. George Clooney turns up the charm, and gives his best George Clooney impersonation, as the veteran astronaut who guides our imperiled heroine along the way. This was such a beautifully made film. What Cuaron did to bring this space spectacle to the screen is beyond my understanding; and I’m quite happy just marveling at its wonder. The visual effects are obviously groundbreaking stuff, and if Emmanuel Lubezki doesn’t finally win that elusive Oscar for his arresting cinematography I will lose all hope in humanity. That 20 minute single shot opening scene is enough to earn him the award. Just as elegant as the visuals were the sound designs, sparse musical score and that excellent sound mix that strives for realism. That’s what I appreciated most about this film, Alfonso Cuaron’s attempt at creating a realistic space experience; I was actually caught in the illusion of weightlessness and silence that is definitive of space. In the process he not only created a realistic space experience, but also an astonishing cinematic one. Expand
  80. Oct 17, 2013
    10
    The most incredible cinematic experience of my 39 years alive, by leaps and bounds. As far as I'm concerned this film was flawless. I would like to respond to another reviewer who criticized Sandra Bullock's portrayal of a "hysterical, incapable astronaut". The character she played was not a career astronaut, she was a scientist who trained for basic astronaut aptitude in order to go into space for a particular mission and this was her first time in space, engaging in a space walk no less. Regardless, she certainly proved her mettle by the end, didn't she? Sir Edmund Hillary, the first person to ascend Mt. Everest said, "It is not the mountain that we conquer, but ourselves." Sandra's character conquered herself and there is no greater achievement for any human being, in spite of the personality and emotional type they are born with and develop through life. Expand
  81. Nov 10, 2013
    9
    This is a film for the more sensitive among us, and for those that are, this is the closest you will come to actually getting the feelings and sense of being face to face with outer space and death.
    A definite to see at the cinema in 3D, it actually gave me vertigo several times and at the end when I tried to stand up my legs were somewhat jelly like and balance unsure.
    Several have
    commented on the lack of development of the characters, but this for me is not true, and something they are getting confused by because of the unconventional methods of delivering said development. For instance, you learn of the characters through the conversations they are having with each other, and not through being shown a lot through cinematic revealing. This is a purposeful ploy, so that to highlight the secluded nature of outer space, and to place the viewer into the skins of the actors, something I thought worked very well.
    From the moment the film starts we are encouraged to use our ears as well as our eyes to great effect. In the cinema I was in you could have heard a pin drop as the ship approached us for the first time.
    All acting performances were wonderful and the directing superb.
    9 out of 10 for me, losing just one point for a small plot line I thought felt a little tacked on, although I will not mention it hear so as to not give away any spoilers.
    Expand
  82. Nov 25, 2013
    10
    An visually gorgeous thrill ride. Gravity provides a breathtaking view of the heavens that no other film has been able to provide in decades. Not only is this film a visual showcase, but it's an emotionally draining drama that delivers flawless performances by Sandra Bullock and George Clooney, the script was beautifully written as well. The film's script has been criticized for some "cheesy lines," yet, the film Titanic carries some extremely cheesy lines, and that film's script has been hailed as one of the best scripts ever written. This film carries deeper meaning that only those who think about it after seeing it will truly understand. Gravity is an absolute masterpiece, this film will be nominated, if not, win for best picture. If not best picture, then best actress: Sandra Bullock. If not best actress, best special effects. Its a must see. Expand
  83. Oct 8, 2013
    9
    The experimental filming style works big time, making you feel immersed in gravity. 3D effects are also incredibly well done. This film would make for the ultimate Universal Studios movie experience (Earthquake/Jaws style). Only negative is the Clooney/Bullock casting could have been better. They were good but not great. Script was also not perfect
  84. Oct 7, 2013
    9
    I strangled my popcorn bag from the tension. i have to watch again and i will definitely be buying it. Really well done CG 2 years this has been in the works and it shows.
  85. Oct 19, 2013
    10
    Maybe it's one of the best films i've ever seen, it's an incredible experience. This tense movie give us a chance for the future of cinema, it's innovative, it's emotional,it's beautiful. Yes the script is a little dull but the incredible scenes are an opportunity to ignore that. The set it's an advance for the future technology and Cuaron give us a prove of how be a legendary director maybe i exaggerate but the time will say everything. The scenes ,all the scenes have that incredible silence connected with the music is something unique i never feel that with another movie, and the cinematography yes it's Lubezki, he has a great achievement in the beautiful scenes of our home. Gravity it's the second best film based in space, behind 2001 A Space Odyssey; but in the future the two masterpieces maybe will become a legend. It's the best film of the year. Expand
  86. Nov 10, 2013
    10
    A cinematic achievement of this generation! In every aspect Gravity seemed to blow me away. With the amazing visual effects, intense story with many heartfelt scenes and finally that 3D. I wish more movies would capture you in the atmosphere of being in space. I especially loved the first person camera at times when you felt as if you were Sandra Bullock scared in space.
    One movie you
    must see within the decade! This could be starting point in which other movies will make you feel so captivated within the movie! One of the best movies this year! Expand
  87. Oct 5, 2013
    9
    This fall came a movie that will change the course of how CGI (Computer Generated Imagery) and special effects are looked at in a movie. Alfonso Cuarón's newest masterpiece, "Gravity" is guaranteed to be a game changer in the film industry.

    The film features only three people on screen, two of which being the main characters, Sandra Bullock and George Clooney. Bullock’s character Dr.
    Ryan Stone has had a bad life with her four year old daughter dying, and her husband leaving her. What she doesn't know is soon, her life is about to get a lot worse. Matt Kowalski (George Clooney) is a middle aged man who we know very little about, only early learning that he is a hilarious laid back character. We watch them spend the first sixth of the movie repairing the Hubble in space, which soon comes to a halt when Russian satellite debris comes toward the astronauts faster than the speed of a gunshot. Sooner than later Bullock is left floating on her own in space, and now we have our movie.

    With trailers releasing as early as the start of July, the brilliant film took more than four and a half years to make, most of which was the production and editing. With the opening scene, we have that awkward silence in the theater as the film has no audio demonstrating not a single sound in space. This is another impressive move by Cuarón, most viewers don’t pick up on. He used the quietness of space and put in near heart-pounding scenes. At these times, you could literally hear your own heart beating rapidly during the truly intense times which happened to be the majority of the film. I did happen to take note of a few slow points in the film though.

    A couple times in the movie would be one camera angle of the earth, or a shot of Clooney smiling. These shots would last for over a minute. Just a single of these would've been fine, but there was at least three, with the film just barely reaching its 90 minute length. I think that if in a few years someone would ask about Gravity, I hope that no one talks about the acting or story. With this said, I think that the fact that the movie was shot on earth with gravity is the amazing part. It’s breathtaking view and real feel is what people will be talking about. The over 470 person effect crew could've easily made any movie extremely realistic. The fact that it was about space with stars, and the (three person) cast floating, took my respect for them up a large notch.

    The plot wasn't unique, being just another film where we watch a character try to survive, like 127 hours. I don't think it would get even close to the score it has been receiving if it took place on earth, or with lower quality effects. There were times that Bullocks acting wasn't very realistic, or there was a flaw in the writing, but other than that I was overly impressed and surprised with the turns the film took, that the trailer didn't show. Gravity is a must see, but only for its flawless effects in IMAX 3D. Don't even bother seeing it on a regular screen because it is nowhere close to the visuals experienced in 3D. Overall I thoroughly enjoyed Gravity, and think that Alfonso Cuarón just earned the respect, and awards he deserves.
    Expand
  88. Oct 20, 2013
    10
    There is no other film experience on Earth like Gravity. Which makes sense, keeping in mind the whole movie was located in space, with only the ending scene being on Earth.

    Alfonso Cuaron has struck gold with his masterpiece Gravity. It explores the silence of space where all you can hear are your breaths and your thoughts as you spin around aimlessly. This is usually harmless until a
    crisis like debris comes into play. From then on, Sandra Bullock puts on an amazing performance which will definitely give her an Oscar nod, and George Clooney is his usual affable self.

    One thing that really defined this movie's greatness was its careful attention to being realistic. From the tears slipping down Sandra Bullock's cheeks actually floating off her face, to the oxygen in her suit depleting at a steady rate, this movie doesn't look over any detail or flaw. Instead, it uses simplicity and directness to flow the movie along. Nothing was that unbelievable in this movie.

    Even though sound was a luxury in this movie, the emotional side of the film was not. Confined to tight spaces, Bullock couldn't really do anything to hide her emotions. She couldn't run anywhere to hide, or walk into a different room. Instead, we all saw and felt what she was going through, and actually cared about what happening to her character.

    Another thing this movie did that was great was switch perspectives of the camera. We went from seeing what was happening from the character's eyes, to a third person view, to a wide camera angle, all in a few seconds. And the best part is, the camera was so fluent and coherent that we didn't even notice that the perspectives were changing until it actually happened. Genius filmmaking.

    I could go on about this things this movie did right, because to be honest I can't think of anything I didn't like in the movie, which is extremely rare. Overall, this is a new kind of cinema experience that cannot be replicated again. (Yes, that was a challenge, directors!) Everyone in the target audience and beyond should see this movie because of its realistic sense of things and its careful attention to detail. The cinematography is beautiful, and the views and perspectives this movie gives are to die for. The emotional core, themes, and moral lessons this movie offers should be soaked up with ease. And the way it draws you into the story and what's happening is truly an amazing feat.
    Expand
  89. Oct 13, 2013
    10
    Just...terrific, one of the best movies i ever seen, incredible acting, score, and directed...Most beautiful film ever, must watch...cant breath until now
  90. Nov 8, 2013
    10
    Edgy and ground breaking We felt this film delivered much more than initially thought possible from 2 actors and a basic concept. The movie keeps you connected and on the edge of your seat for pretty much the whole experience. Top notch work by everyone involved!
  91. Oct 5, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I'm giving this a 91/100. The movie is beautifully shot and is exciting to watch. It's a testament to Alfonso Cuaron. However, there are some major flaws with the movie that make me feel that it should be rated significantly lower than a 96. First, the writing is bad. It was written by the Cuaron brothers, and I'm not sure if they are professional writers, but there are some major flaws in the writing. For instance, when Sandra Bullock should be breathing slowly to save oxygen, the characters find excuses to talk until their tanks are too low. Second, the movie is incredibly unrealistic in that she is jumping from space station to space station as if they are all only within a few hundred feet of each other. Then, the space debris always come at the perfect time to add suspense to the movie. The movie seems somewhat hollow as it won't leave the audience thinking about anything after it's over it's a simple, although well executed 70 minute modest thriller. I was never really worried for Sandra Bullock's character I didn't really care if she lived or died. It's just a cheap movie. But, the effects are great and I think it probably made it seem like Space more than any other movie before. Expand
  92. Oct 24, 2013
    10
    I think this movie is a masterpiece and the best use of 3D technology I have seen. Cuaron is an extraordinary director and film maker, I certainly hope he gets the Oscar for best film, I had not enjoyed a movie so much in a long time, I think it will be a landmark for generations. Go see it in 4DX.
  93. Oct 13, 2013
    10
    The movie was amazing and exciting,performoance's sandra bullock was excellent worthy academy awards just 2 words "simply wonderful", it's the best movie have had the film director "Alfonso Cuaron"
  94. Oct 19, 2013
    10
    Probably the most "real" movie I have seen in years. My friends have raised their eyebrows for the first few minutes of the movie thinking that it would be boring and all. But after when the first accident happened, the movie pulled all of us inside. There was no letting go. We were grabbing our chairs hard. And those who thought it would be dull stood up and gave a standing ovation after the ending. This is what I would call not just a movie but an experience. Expand
  95. Oct 18, 2013
    10
    Gravity is a intense film that will thrill and petrify you like no film has done before. Many have criticized the acting of Bullock and Clooney as flawed, but they are a full and complete realization of their characters, who are themselves flawed. Bullock particularly shines as the star of the film as an inexperienced scientist with full training to be in space but without the experience or will to survive on her own. This becomes more apparent as the story progresses and we see that her struggle to survive does not start or end in space but is instead an internal struggle to find purpose in life. The film is visually stunning and directed with such precision that its hard to not immerse yourself in the beauty and horror that space has to provide. Expand
  96. Oct 20, 2013
    10
    Let yourself travel into Cuaron's visionary narrative movie, 3D has never been so full of emotions and thrill as it has in this movie. This is by far the best movie I've seen in the last years, nothing like it so far, the feel of being in space reminds me of the same feeling I had with Kubrick's 2001 a space odyssey, a movie where space was cleverly designed to fulfill my minds imagination, Cuaron does this again in a beautiful narrative movie. Expand
  97. Oct 20, 2013
    10
    Gravity is something new and unexpected that people wanted to see. It makes best use of 3D technology and is awesomely breathtaking. It is crossing 200 million dollars in just two weeks and it hasn't released in UK yet. It will explode the box office. The movie has everything: starting from action, emotions, pranks, jokes, inspiration, and awesome special effects. I enjoyed the whole 91 minutes period and Gravity has become my favourite movie. Expand
  98. Nov 25, 2013
    9
    Magnificent. Perfect visuals, direction, atmosphere, and music. An absolute Tour de Force from director Alfonso Cuaron. Just a modern space masterpiece. Its no Solaris or 2001: A Space Odyssey, but its destined to become a classic.
  99. Nov 12, 2013
    10
    Gravity is simply an incredible (emotional) journey. I saw it in IMAX and it completely blew my mind. I just sat there and stared at the beautiful scenery. The cinematography is amazing, and it'll surely win an Academy Award for Emmanuel Lubezki for this masterful work. I can only praise this movie really. The acting (Bullock is excellent), the music, the atmosphere... it's near perfection. Go see it in IMAX if you haven't already, you won't regret it. It's easily one of the best films of the year, and probably one of the best I've ever seen. Expand
  100. Oct 29, 2013
    10
    A fantastic, intense and gripping sci-fi film! The camerawork, the visual effects acting and pacing were all perfect, and the two lead roles were really good! I don't know why some people seem to dislike it; It truly is worth seeing.
Metascore
96

Universal acclaim - based on 49 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 49 out of 49
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 49
  3. Negative: 0 out of 49
  1. Reviewed by: James Mottram
    Nov 3, 2013
    100
    A stunning space saga that takes off for new technical frontiers without leaving its humanity behind.
  2. Reviewed by: David Denby
    Oct 6, 2013
    90
    Gravity is not a film of ideas, like Kubrick's techno-mystical "2001," but it's an overwhelming physical experience -- a challenge to the senses that engages every kind of dread. [7 Oct. 2013, p.88]
  3. Reviewed by: Dana Stevens
    Oct 4, 2013
    80
    This is not to say that Gravity is a masterpiece: Unlike Cuarón’s extraordinary "Children of Men", it doesn’t quite pull off its ambitious effort to combine formal inventiveness, heart-pounding action, and intimate human storytelling. But it succeeds thrillingly at the first two of those categories, and only misses the mark on the last because it tries a little too hard — which is certainly a welcome respite from the countless sci-fi thrillers that privilege the human story not at all.