Metascore
96

Universal acclaim - based on 49 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2369 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: ,
  • Summary: After debris destroys their space shuttle, two astronauts desperately try to return to Earth.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 49 out of 49
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 49
  3. Negative: 0 out of 49
  1. Reviewed by: James Mottram
    Nov 3, 2013
    100
    A stunning space saga that takes off for new technical frontiers without leaving its humanity behind.
  2. Reviewed by: James Berardinelli
    Oct 3, 2013
    100
    Gravity isn't just a movie; it's almost transformative, and the visceral element is enhanced by the 3-D.
  3. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    Aug 28, 2013
    100
    At once the most realistic and beautifully choreographed film ever set in space, Gravity is a thrillingly realized survival story spiked with interludes of breath-catching tension and startling surprise.
  4. Reviewed by: Kenneth Turan
    Oct 3, 2013
    100
    Gravity is out of this world. Words can do little to convey the visual astonishment this space opera creates. It is a film whose impact must be experienced in 3-D on a theatrical screen to be fully understood.
  5. Reviewed by: Andrew O'Hehir
    Oct 4, 2013
    90
    While the tension never lets up for a second, how you respond to the boundary-fudging and wildly improbable ending of Gravity – meaning both how it makes you feel and how you interpret it – will determine whether you think the movie is a genuine pop masterpiece or a canny artifice. Maybe there’s no difference.
  6. Reviewed by: Ty Burr
    Oct 3, 2013
    88
    The movie’s an astonishingly detailed, visually painstaking state-of-the-art production that advances what the cinema can show us—even as the human story at its center feels a little thin after a while.
  7. Reviewed by: Rex Reed
    Oct 1, 2013
    75
    Accept Gravity as pure, popcorn-munching show business fun and nothing else, and you won’t go away disappointed.

See all 49 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Oct 24, 2013
    10
    Mind boggling visuals, with fantastic acting. Gravity delivers on a much bigger scale then people have it out to be. For a majority of theMind boggling visuals, with fantastic acting. Gravity delivers on a much bigger scale then people have it out to be. For a majority of the film your treated to the beauties and disasters space can convey. Something so beautiful and wonderful cannot be taken for granted. Expand
  2. Oct 19, 2013
    10
    Maybe it's one of the best films i've ever seen, it's an incredible experience. This tense movie give us a chance for the future of cinema,Maybe it's one of the best films i've ever seen, it's an incredible experience. This tense movie give us a chance for the future of cinema, it's innovative, it's emotional,it's beautiful. Yes the script is a little dull but the incredible scenes are an opportunity to ignore that. The set it's an advance for the future technology and Cuaron give us a prove of how be a legendary director maybe i exaggerate but the time will say everything. The scenes ,all the scenes have that incredible silence connected with the music is something unique i never feel that with another movie, and the cinematography yes it's Lubezki, he has a great achievement in the beautiful scenes of our home. Gravity it's the second best film based in space, behind 2001 A Space Odyssey; but in the future the two masterpieces maybe will become a legend. It's the best film of the year. Expand
  3. Oct 4, 2013
    10
    Intense and gripping! This movie was shot as a simple survival story in space... but I connected to it even more at a much deeper level.Intense and gripping! This movie was shot as a simple survival story in space... but I connected to it even more at a much deeper level. The way that the cinematography was shot, I felt I was in space floating with Sandra Bullock's character, Dr. Ryan Stone... that was a technical achievement in itself... But I was also able to feel what it was like to be in the mind of her character. I feared with her, struggled to survive with her, felt the hopelessness of life and accepted death with her, and then, found air, found new life, and was born again with her. Sandra Bullock has put on an Oscar worthy performance, and it sure did help with Alfonso Cuaron being at the helm to guide this film. What a genius. It's been awhile since I've been deeply absorbed into the thoughts and feelings of a character on screen. This movie was truly a journey and an experience into the mind and soul of Dr. Ryan Stone's character. Wow, such an amazing film. An unforgettable experience! Must see in theaters with the biggest screen you can find. Expand
  4. Jun 25, 2014
    8
    Prior to watching this: I was considering watching the film in 3D. Didn't do it. Left wondering if I should have.
    Review:
    Pros: Great action
    Prior to watching this: I was considering watching the film in 3D. Didn't do it. Left wondering if I should have.
    Review:
    Pros: Great action and CGI.
    Cons: Very little story. It was as if the characters were desperately trying to tell their backstory and they fail. There are many plot holes and many (astro)physical errors. Left me feeling unfullfilled at the end due to lack of story. Definitely does not deserve full points and definitely not best film of that year.
    4/5 - It's worth paying to watch it in the cinema.
    Expand
  5. Lyn
    Oct 11, 2013
    7
    Visually delicious; truly amazing special effects. The 3-D experience is engrossing, not just the floating people and elements but the way youVisually delicious; truly amazing special effects. The 3-D experience is engrossing, not just the floating people and elements but the way you almost get used to the stunning outer space views as a backdrop for everything that happens. But I'm sorry: I want to be involved with the characters, too. Sandra Bullock (in yet another bad movie wig!) does OK as a sketchily written woman-turned-superwoman. George Clooney has never been less memorable. Neither lingers in the memory as much as the cinematography does. Expand
  6. Oct 29, 2013
    5
    Beautiful pictures, thrilling scenario, good actors performance but there is something missing...it is as if this was not true, in fact thereBeautiful pictures, thrilling scenario, good actors performance but there is something missing...it is as if this was not true, in fact there is something not real in the movie, however I d not know what exactly. Expand
  7. Dec 26, 2014
    0
    I really have to say this is one of the very worst movies I have ever seen. I really did not expect a mind blowing sci-fi movie but this movieI really have to say this is one of the very worst movies I have ever seen. I really did not expect a mind blowing sci-fi movie but this movie was honestly so boring and so senseless.. there is no comparison. I try very hard to find one positive thing about the movie but I cant. Even the effects and the sound are far from being excellent or mind blowing. This movie is just a very big fail and waste of time. Rating this movie with more than 0 proves bad taste. I dont see any reason to give more than a 0 rating to this movie, maybe somebody can enlighten me Expand

See all 654 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. 2014 Oscars: Full Winners List + Reviews of the Show

    2014 Oscars: Full Winners List + Reviews of the Show Image
    Published: March 3, 2014
    Read reviews of last night's Academy Awards broadcast, find out which experts and users had the most accurate predictions, and find a full list of winners in all 24 categories.
  2. 2014 Oscar Nominations: Full List and Analysis

    2014 Oscar Nominations: Full List and Analysis Image
    Published: January 16, 2014
    The Oscar nominations are in. What were this year's biggest surprises and snubs? Find a complete list and analysis of nominees for the 86th Annual Academy Awards.
  3. Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2013

    Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2013 Image
    Published: January 7, 2014
    The results are in! Find out which movies, TV shows, video games, albums, and songs were the favorites among Metacritic users in 2013.
  4. The Best and Worst Movies of 2013

    The Best and Worst Movies of 2013 Image
    Published: January 6, 2014
    There were more great movies released in 2013 than in any year in recent memory. Browse our official lists of the year's highest-scoring movies in a variety of categories, and check out 2013's worst films, too.
  5. 2013 Film Critic Top Ten Lists

    2013 Film Critic Top Ten Lists Image
    Published: December 8, 2013
    Throughout the coming weeks, we'll be collecting year-end top ten lists from dozens of movie critics and publications. Browse the individual lists and view our composite rankings inside.
  6. 2013 Film Awards and Nominations Scorecard

    2013 Film Awards and Nominations Scorecard Image
    Published: December 3, 2013
    Find a complete list of 2013's major film awards and nominations from dozens of professional organizations and critic associations, as well as a running scorecard of the year's biggest winners. Check daily for updates throughout December and January.
  7. 2013 Fall Film Festival Recap: The Verdict on Films Screening at TIFF, Telluride, and Venice

    2013 Fall Film Festival Recap: The Verdict on Films Screening at TIFF, Telluride, and Venice Image
    Published: September 17, 2013
    Find capsule reviews for the 30 most notable films that debuted during the three major fall film festivals, including upcoming films from Alfonso Cuaron, Jonathan Glazer, Hayao Miyazaki, Jason Reitman, Steve McQueen, Stephen Frears, Bill Condon, Richard Ayoade, Kelly Reichardt, and more.
  8. Fall Movie Preview: A Look at 25 Notable Films

    Fall Movie Preview: A Look at 25 Notable Films Image
    Published: August 30, 2013
    Find details and trailers for the key films due out this fall, including new movies from Alfonso Cuarón, the Coen brothers, Martin Scorsese, Ridley Scott, and Paul Greengrass.
  9. 2012 Movie Preview: Our 50 Most-Anticipated Films

    2012 Movie Preview: Our 50 Most-Anticipated Films Image
    Published: January 12, 2012
    Another humdrum year for movies? Forget it; 2012 is shaping up to be the best year for film in over a decade. Inside, we run down 50 of the most promising movies due to arrive this year, and we guarantee that you'll find something to get excited about.