Metascore
60

Mixed or average reviews - based on 23 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 8 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: A humble orphan suddenly becomes a gentleman with the help of an unknown benefactor.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 23
  2. Negative: 0 out of 23
  1. Reviewed by: Michael O'Sullivan
    Nov 7, 2013
    88
    Thrillingly told, compellingly acted and beautifully shot.
  2. Reviewed by: Claudia Puig
    Nov 7, 2013
    75
    It's an oft-told tale, but director Mike Newell's handsome version of Charles Dickens' epic novel is marked by strong performances, well-developed characters and gorgeous cinematography.
  3. Reviewed by: David Hiltbrand
    Nov 8, 2013
    75
    More important, Nicholls has created a rich alternative conclusion, one that poignantly sweetens the love story. It's a novel approach to Great Expectations - sharp and gritty giving way to a sentimental finish - and a satisfying one.
  4. Reviewed by: Cath Clarke
    Sep 20, 2013
    60
    What marks out director Mike Newell and writer David Nicholls’s version is its impeccable acting.
  5. Reviewed by: Andrew Lapin
    Nov 6, 2013
    60
    Newell brings the tale a brisk touch, avoiding the fate of Victorian costume epics bloated by too much window-dressing.
  6. Reviewed by: Justin Chang
    Sep 20, 2013
    60
    Working from a tightly compressed screenplay by David Nicholls, director Mike Newell strikes the beats of a deservedly oft-told tale with dour competence but little in the way of dramatic inspiration or visual flair.
  7. Reviewed by: Robbie Collin
    Sep 20, 2013
    40
    It’s less an adaptation than a recapitulation.

See all 23 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 1
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 1
  3. Negative: 0 out of 1
  1. Koz
    Dec 2, 2013
    10
    I first read the simplified version of this novel when I was 8. I liked it so much that I read the unabridged version a few years later. It is by far my favorite Dickens novel, so needless to say, I had "great Expectations" when I went to see this movie.
    Rarely does a movie live up to the book. Most of the time, when you go to the theater to see an adaptation, you come home very disappointed. (Like the time I saw the latest rendition of Les Miserables, but that's another story)
    But this movie did not disappoint me. At all. All the crucial points in the story were given the appropriate level of prominence. All the characters were just as I pictured them all those years back (except, maybe, for Miss Havisham, who I imagined to be more subdued. But I'm not saying Helen Bonham-Carter did a bad job there). Everything, really, was just as I saw in my mind when reading the book.
    So I put this among the best adaptations, along with Lord of the Rings trilogy.
    I know this will never get the amount of attention TLOTR got, but if you are a fan of Dickens, or classic novels in general, I strongly believe that you must see this movie.
    Collapse

Trailers