Metascore
39

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 39
  2. Negative: 15 out of 39
  1. Reviewed by: Lou Lumenick
    Jun 17, 2011
    38
    Blake Lively doesn't have a whole lot to do as Hal's employer and occasional lover, who sometimes requires rescuing. No great loss; she and Reynolds have minus-zero chemistry.
  2. Reviewed by: Claudia Puig
    Jun 16, 2011
    38
    For a movie that touts the importance of humanity, Green Lantern is a strangely lifeless spectacle.
  3. Reviewed by: Carrie Rickey
    Jun 16, 2011
    38
    What has Campbell wrought? An intermittently amusing, interminable affair that for sheer ugliness and a scenery-chewing performance by Peter Sarsgaard has a certain Camp appeal.
  4. Reviewed by: Joe Williams
    Jun 16, 2011
    38
    The spectacular collapse of Green Lantern is bound to be blamed on Reynolds, but the villainy has its origins in an injustice league of TV-trained screenwriters and tin-hearted studio suits.
  5. Reviewed by: Roger Moore
    Jun 15, 2011
    38
    Well, Green Lantern isn't "Jonah Hex" bad. But it's silly enough to be part of the same "silliest Warner Brothers comic book summer movies of all time" conversation.
  6. Reviewed by: Scott Tobias
    Jun 16, 2011
    33
    A film so utterly lacking in conviction, it needs a 25-year-old Tom Cruise vehicle just to keep its spine straight.
  7. Reviewed by: Manohla Dargis
    Jun 16, 2011
    30
    Green Lantern is bad. This despite Mr. Reynolds's dazzling dentistry, hard-body physique and earnest efforts.
  8. Reviewed by: Joe Morgenstern
    Jun 16, 2011
    30
    Green Lantern was meant to be a sci-fi adventure, but it proves to be a genuine mystery. How could its megamoola budget have yielded a production that looks almost as tacky as "Flash Gordon" (which had the good grace to deprecate itself at every turn)?
  9. Reviewed by: Steve Persall
    Jun 16, 2011
    25
    Can we please get over the notion that every superhero in a skintight suit deserves a movie? Green Lantern is the latest wallet drainer emptying the comic book bench, more thudding than "Thor" and sorely incoherent.
  10. Reviewed by: Wesley Morris
    Jun 16, 2011
    25
    The film is remarkably stunted.
  11. Reviewed by: Peter Travers
    Jun 16, 2011
    25
    Hal claims that a Lantern's only enemy is fear itself. The thought of a sequel to this shamelessly soulless Hollywood product scares me plenty.
  12. Reviewed by: Rene Rodriguez
    Jun 15, 2011
    25
    The tone is all over the place, which makes the movie difficult to take neither seriously nor as popcorn fluff.
  13. Reviewed by: Rex Reed
    Jun 15, 2011
    25
    Even as a prime example of rotten summer silliness, this is a paralyzing experience.
  14. Reviewed by: Marc Savlov
    Jun 23, 2011
    20
    It's a helluva comic book, to be sure, but it's a godawful mess of a movie.
  15. Reviewed by: Dana Stevens
    Jun 17, 2011
    20
    Even by the standards of the current run of mediocre comic-book movies, this one stands out for its egregious shoddiness.
User Score
5.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 519 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 47 out of 207
  1. Jun 19, 2011
    0
    I came into the movie expecting it to be bad but reasonable summer movie entertainment. Being an avid metacritic reader, I was fully aware of score of 40 and the bashing the critics gave this movie. What drove me to what the movie was the trailer (which seemed reasonable) and the fact that the user score was 6.7, suggesting that this movie is full of mindless but fun action.

    And how I was wrong. Really Really wrong.

    This movie lacks action. For a movie about a lantern who's powers were only limited by ones imagination; a fittingly ironic plot considering the lack of imagination in the writing, storytelling, acting and CGI found in this movie. I counted only 3 action scenes of 30 secs each in this whole movie, all of them nicely summarized in the trailer. On might thing me shallow and argue that a focus on character development could be interesting, like in Ironman. This would be possible if not for the terrible writing AND acting in the story. None of the characters were believable if you are over the age of 6. I guess knowledge of the characters prior to the movie might help fill in the backstory which was never really explored in the movie. It seems mos of the people who enjoyed the movie were fans that grew up with GL. Unfortunately for me I do not fit this category . Honestly, 10 minutes into the movie I was already bored. The actors were all cliches and none of them were even convincing. The same plot lines were repeated around 30 times and again and again. I honestly felt like walking out of the cinema because it was that bad. Overall, stay far far away from Green Garbage and watch Xmen again if you have to.

    I feel bad for contributing to the revenue of this movie. For those who enjoyed this comic, watch it and feel free to disregard what I say.
    Full Review »
  2. Jun 17, 2011
    5
    The movie started off well enough and seemed to introduce some interesting concepts but the movie felt rushed. It really felt like whole scenes were missing. It was almost like they edited two movies into one and chopped it down, the end result is like someone trying to smash puzzle pieces that don't fit together. Some parts didn't make sense but it was...enjoyable, I guess? I didn't leave fully disappointed, just slightly disappointed but I wasn't expecting very much to begin with. Stiff acting at times and hammy performances at others, they special effects were actually way better than I expected. I liked the ring on ring action sequences the best but the ending monster battle just sucked. Full Review »
  3. Jun 17, 2011
    8
    What can I say, I'm a sucker for comic book movies. If you're going into this expecting "one of the most brilliant films of our time", you might want to just go get your money back, but if you're looking for an eye-popping, action-packed, good time, then you picked the right movie. You may not enjoy this film as much as I did, unless you're like me and grew up on the Green Lantern comics and cartoons, but I do think you will enjoy Martin Campbell's marvelous take on the world of the Lanterns, and the Lanterns themselves. Full Review »