Metascore
39

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 39
  2. Negative: 15 out of 39
  1. Reviewed by: Mike Scott
    Jun 17, 2011
    75
    So what we have is a movie that will make at least two important groups happy. New Orleans boosters can cheer Green Lantern for its local roots and for the possibility that the inevitable future installments could return to town. And the purists can cheer, knowing that Campbell and crew have done Green Lantern justice.
  2. Reviewed by: Andrew O'Hehir
    Jun 16, 2011
    70
    For all the CGI action sequences and butt-rocking Dolby sound effects, in fact, Green Lantern is most satisfying when it sticks close to stodgy comic-book archetype.
  3. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    Jun 15, 2011
    70
    Serves up all the requisite elements with enough self-deprecating humor to suggest it doesn't take itself too seriously.
  4. Reviewed by: Peter Rainer
    Jun 17, 2011
    67
    It's not only light, it's thin. It's self-deprecating to a fault. Reynolds is required to practically wink at the audience, as if to say,"I know this looks silly."
  5. Reviewed by: Roger Ebert
    Jun 16, 2011
    63
    Green Lantern does not intend to be plausible. It intends to be a sound-and-light show, assaulting the audience with sensational special effects. If that's what you want, that's what you get.
  6. 60
    Apart from having no particular reason to exist onscreen, especially at these prices, it's not half bad.
  7. Reviewed by: Kenneth Turan
    Jun 16, 2011
    60
    More science-fiction space opera than superhero epic, it works in fits and starts as its disparate parts go in and out of effectiveness, but the professionalism of the production make it watchable in a comic book kind of way.
  8. Reviewed by: Stephanie Zacharek
    Jun 16, 2011
    60
    Takes forever to get going and then goes nowhere.
  9. Reviewed by: Justin Chang
    Jun 15, 2011
    60
    An attempt to infuse an earnest piece of comicbook lore with an irreverent, tongue-in-cheek sensibility yields decidedly mixed results in Green Lantern.
  10. Reviewed by: Owen Gleiberman
    Jun 15, 2011
    58
    Reynolds makes Hal a perfectly functional comic-book hero, but there's a big difference between functional and super.
  11. Reviewed by: James Berardinelli
    Jun 17, 2011
    50
    The result makes the movie seem assembled from bits and pieces of other superhero yarns rather than existing on a plane of its own.
  12. Reviewed by: Liam Lacey
    Jun 16, 2011
    50
    What gets sacrificed on the altar of this new franchise launch is any real sense of fun.
  13. Reviewed by: Amy Biancolli
    Jun 16, 2011
    50
    There are pros and cons to this Green Lantern, a half-campy, half-compelling adaptation of the superheroic DC comic books.
  14. Reviewed by: Mark Jenkins
    Jun 16, 2011
    50
    It's neither amusing nor exciting enough to ensure a long-running franchise.
  15. Reviewed by: Richard Corliss
    Jun 16, 2011
    50
    Apart from some spiffy visual effects, which create coherent, scary textures and architecture for outer space, Green Lantern is the most generic of summer time wasters.
  16. Reviewed by: Michael Phillips
    Jun 16, 2011
    50
    Green just isn't the superhero color this year.
  17. Reviewed by: Ed Gonzalez
    Jun 16, 2011
    50
    Martin Campbell, though a capable director of action (Hal's training session with the Michael Clarke Duncan-voiced Kilowog is proof of that), doesn't have a poet's instincts.
  18. Reviewed by: Glen Weldon
    Jun 17, 2011
    40
    The film splinters into three near-discrete storylines that don't play all that well together.
  19. Reviewed by: Kim Newman
    Jun 16, 2011
    40
    Martin Campbell made Zorro and Bond work as contemporary heroes, but doesn't quite have the feel for poor old Hal Jordan. Green Lantern is dazzling in pieces, but we've seen too many sharper versions of the superhero origin story in the last few years. It's not Jonah Hex, but the battery runs low too quickly.
  20. Reviewed by: Michael Wilmington
    Jun 16, 2011
    40
    The result is a deadly disappointment, despite Ryan Reynolds's cocky, muscle-flexing charisma as the daredevil test pilot turned intergalactic peacekeeper and Peter Sargaard's movie-stealing turn as a nerdy scientist turned psycho monster.
  21. Reviewed by: Joe Neumaier
    Jun 16, 2011
    40
    The effects are so omnipresent it's like Reynolds' perfect hair is floating in CGI limbo. Yet when they need punch, as in a "Superman"-ish display-of-powers scene involving a helicopter, there's no flair.
  22. Reviewed by: Pete Hammond
    Jun 15, 2011
    40
    The film, released in both 2D and 3D, delivers lots of freshly minted CGI'd action (eventually) but none of it grabs you. There's just something too synthetic about the whole enterprise - it's fantasy tipped over into fakery.
  23. Reviewed by: Karina Longworth
    Jun 14, 2011
    40
    The film never rewards the viewer for even trying to keep track of what is going on. So you give up, and instead try to grab on to the small pleasures, which momentarily distract from the fact that the narrative is nonsensical, the characters so boilerplate that their every action seem preordained from the earliest frames, even as the action on-screen is often incoherent.
  24. Reviewed by: Keith Uhlich
    Jun 14, 2011
    40
    Whenever this Lantern returns to terra firma (too often), its imaginative flights are ground down under the Warners overlords' demographic-pandering heels.
  25. Reviewed by: Lou Lumenick
    Jun 17, 2011
    38
    Blake Lively doesn't have a whole lot to do as Hal's employer and occasional lover, who sometimes requires rescuing. No great loss; she and Reynolds have minus-zero chemistry.
  26. Reviewed by: Claudia Puig
    Jun 16, 2011
    38
    For a movie that touts the importance of humanity, Green Lantern is a strangely lifeless spectacle.
  27. Reviewed by: Carrie Rickey
    Jun 16, 2011
    38
    What has Campbell wrought? An intermittently amusing, interminable affair that for sheer ugliness and a scenery-chewing performance by Peter Sarsgaard has a certain Camp appeal.
  28. Reviewed by: Joe Williams
    Jun 16, 2011
    38
    The spectacular collapse of Green Lantern is bound to be blamed on Reynolds, but the villainy has its origins in an injustice league of TV-trained screenwriters and tin-hearted studio suits.
  29. Reviewed by: Roger Moore
    Jun 15, 2011
    38
    Well, Green Lantern isn't "Jonah Hex" bad. But it's silly enough to be part of the same "silliest Warner Brothers comic book summer movies of all time" conversation.
  30. Reviewed by: Scott Tobias
    Jun 16, 2011
    33
    A film so utterly lacking in conviction, it needs a 25-year-old Tom Cruise vehicle just to keep its spine straight.
  31. Reviewed by: Manohla Dargis
    Jun 16, 2011
    30
    Green Lantern is bad. This despite Mr. Reynolds's dazzling dentistry, hard-body physique and earnest efforts.
  32. Reviewed by: Joe Morgenstern
    Jun 16, 2011
    30
    Green Lantern was meant to be a sci-fi adventure, but it proves to be a genuine mystery. How could its megamoola budget have yielded a production that looks almost as tacky as "Flash Gordon" (which had the good grace to deprecate itself at every turn)?
  33. Reviewed by: Steve Persall
    Jun 16, 2011
    25
    Can we please get over the notion that every superhero in a skintight suit deserves a movie? Green Lantern is the latest wallet drainer emptying the comic book bench, more thudding than "Thor" and sorely incoherent.
  34. Reviewed by: Wesley Morris
    Jun 16, 2011
    25
    The film is remarkably stunted.
  35. Reviewed by: Peter Travers
    Jun 16, 2011
    25
    Hal claims that a Lantern's only enemy is fear itself. The thought of a sequel to this shamelessly soulless Hollywood product scares me plenty.
  36. Reviewed by: Rene Rodriguez
    Jun 15, 2011
    25
    The tone is all over the place, which makes the movie difficult to take neither seriously nor as popcorn fluff.
  37. Reviewed by: Rex Reed
    Jun 15, 2011
    25
    Even as a prime example of rotten summer silliness, this is a paralyzing experience.
  38. Reviewed by: Marc Savlov
    Jun 23, 2011
    20
    It's a helluva comic book, to be sure, but it's a godawful mess of a movie.
  39. Reviewed by: Dana Stevens
    Jun 17, 2011
    20
    Even by the standards of the current run of mediocre comic-book movies, this one stands out for its egregious shoddiness.
User Score
5.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 529 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 49 out of 210
  1. Jun 19, 2011
    0
    I came into the movie expecting it to be bad but reasonable summer movie entertainment. Being an avid metacritic reader, I was fully aware of score of 40 and the bashing the critics gave this movie. What drove me to what the movie was the trailer (which seemed reasonable) and the fact that the user score was 6.7, suggesting that this movie is full of mindless but fun action.

    And how I was wrong. Really Really wrong.

    This movie lacks action. For a movie about a lantern who's powers were only limited by ones imagination; a fittingly ironic plot considering the lack of imagination in the writing, storytelling, acting and CGI found in this movie. I counted only 3 action scenes of 30 secs each in this whole movie, all of them nicely summarized in the trailer. On might thing me shallow and argue that a focus on character development could be interesting, like in Ironman. This would be possible if not for the terrible writing AND acting in the story. None of the characters were believable if you are over the age of 6. I guess knowledge of the characters prior to the movie might help fill in the backstory which was never really explored in the movie. It seems mos of the people who enjoyed the movie were fans that grew up with GL. Unfortunately for me I do not fit this category . Honestly, 10 minutes into the movie I was already bored. The actors were all cliches and none of them were even convincing. The same plot lines were repeated around 30 times and again and again. I honestly felt like walking out of the cinema because it was that bad. Overall, stay far far away from Green Garbage and watch Xmen again if you have to.

    I feel bad for contributing to the revenue of this movie. For those who enjoyed this comic, watch it and feel free to disregard what I say.
    Full Review »
  2. Jun 17, 2011
    5
    The movie started off well enough and seemed to introduce some interesting concepts but the movie felt rushed. It really felt like whole scenes were missing. It was almost like they edited two movies into one and chopped it down, the end result is like someone trying to smash puzzle pieces that don't fit together. Some parts didn't make sense but it was...enjoyable, I guess? I didn't leave fully disappointed, just slightly disappointed but I wasn't expecting very much to begin with. Stiff acting at times and hammy performances at others, they special effects were actually way better than I expected. I liked the ring on ring action sequences the best but the ending monster battle just sucked. Full Review »
  3. Jun 17, 2011
    8
    What can I say, I'm a sucker for comic book movies. If you're going into this expecting "one of the most brilliant films of our time", you might want to just go get your money back, but if you're looking for an eye-popping, action-packed, good time, then you picked the right movie. You may not enjoy this film as much as I did, unless you're like me and grew up on the Green Lantern comics and cartoons, but I do think you will enjoy Martin Campbell's marvelous take on the world of the Lanterns, and the Lanterns themselves. Full Review »