Warner Bros. Pictures | Release Date: June 17, 2011
5.8
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 751 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
321
Mixed:
252
Negative:
178
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
0
ReviewerMetaJun 19, 2011
I came into the movie expecting it to be bad but reasonable summer movie entertainment. Being an avid metacritic reader, I was fully aware of score of 40 and the bashing the critics gave this movie. What drove me to what the movie was theI came into the movie expecting it to be bad but reasonable summer movie entertainment. Being an avid metacritic reader, I was fully aware of score of 40 and the bashing the critics gave this movie. What drove me to what the movie was the trailer (which seemed reasonable) and the fact that the user score was 6.7, suggesting that this movie is full of mindless but fun action.

And how I was wrong. Really Really wrong.

This movie lacks action. For a movie about a lantern who's powers were only limited by ones imagination; a fittingly ironic plot considering the lack of imagination in the writing, storytelling, acting and CGI found in this movie. I counted only 3 action scenes of 30 secs each in this whole movie, all of them nicely summarized in the trailer. On might thing me shallow and argue that a focus on character development could be interesting, like in Ironman. This would be possible if not for the terrible writing AND acting in the story. None of the characters were believable if you are over the age of 6. I guess knowledge of the characters prior to the movie might help fill in the backstory which was never really explored in the movie. It seems mos of the people who enjoyed the movie were fans that grew up with GL. Unfortunately for me I do not fit this category . Honestly, 10 minutes into the movie I was already bored. The actors were all cliches and none of them were even convincing. The same plot lines were repeated around 30 times and again and again. I honestly felt like walking out of the cinema because it was that bad. Overall, stay far far away from Green Garbage and watch Xmen again if you have to.

I feel bad for contributing to the revenue of this movie. For those who enjoyed this comic, watch it and feel free to disregard what I say.
Expand
19 of 29 users found this helpful1910
All this user's reviews
3
SkruffJun 24, 2011
I'm an admitted comic book fan, but not a rabid Green Lantern fan, and I fully understand that some liberties have to be taken in order to translate a comic character into a live-action movie. Still, I found myself utterly disappointed withI'm an admitted comic book fan, but not a rabid Green Lantern fan, and I fully understand that some liberties have to be taken in order to translate a comic character into a live-action movie. Still, I found myself utterly disappointed with the mess that was Green Lantern. While the movie did stick reasonably close to the comic book lore, it didn't do it in a way that drew me in and kept me on the edge of my seat. At times, Ryan Reynolds just seemed bored and like he was reciting his lines. Parallax was more dull than scary, Hector Hammond was not nearly as creepy of a villain as he could have been, and the buildup to Sinestro's turn to the dark side seemed more like an afterthought than a logical progression for the character. Sadly, this just movie just ended up being another in a line of disappointing movies starting DC Comics characters. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
3
BingoTrousers14Jun 25, 2011
I've never really been a Green Lantern fan, so I wasn't expecting much...and there wasn't. The film just seemed boring and nothing likable except a couple of scenes.
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
2
nnn1814Jun 25, 2011
I don't think the story is interesting , so the movie is about blah blah blah you suddenly gain power and oh **** your only a human and you cant fight god damn aliens than suddenly big scary final boss which looked like very powerful andI don't think the story is interesting , so the movie is about blah blah blah you suddenly gain power and oh **** your only a human and you cant fight god damn aliens than suddenly big scary final boss which looked like very powerful and strong and than the big scary strong boss is killed under 10 **** MINUTES. This god damn movie spent too much time on talking about love and boring things....Boring!
You know what the 2 score for? It's for the air fight at the beginning which is quite nice for me.
Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
2
AfreemanukJul 31, 2011
There are plenty of bad movies been released this year, but i will draw my attention to the biggest disapointment of the year. Green lantern looked AMAZING in the trailer and it really does portray an epic tale of good vs evil , Will vs Fear.There are plenty of bad movies been released this year, but i will draw my attention to the biggest disapointment of the year. Green lantern looked AMAZING in the trailer and it really does portray an epic tale of good vs evil , Will vs Fear. Me being an avid green lantern fan and a follower of DC comics i was looking forward to DC's 3rd major movie release other than batman and superman. With the huge depth of super heroes from DC unvierse to make movies on i thought that this movie would be one of the best movies out there this year. Oh how wrong was I. Even for me a true fan of the GL, this movie is utter rubbish. Its really boring, takes forever to get going and when it does it ends. It feels more like a setup for a second movie (at the end you will see why) but given how much it has flopped unless they know the 2nd movie will be a million times better than this, no one would go near it with a barge pole. The acting is okay in my opinon, Ryan Reynolds does a good job as the GL but his supporting cast look like they couldnt care less. The Special effects are good when you get to see some action but its not enough. If you are not gonna have action scenes then at least replace them with an engaging story, Unfortnately it dosent, stay away from this title its very, very poor. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
2
TheTroofJun 19, 2011
It does a disservice to contentious comic fans, moviegoers and the Green Lantern brand itself. It attempted to do far too much with far too little time. Three different tangential story-lines that never really flesh themselves out, actionIt does a disservice to contentious comic fans, moviegoers and the Green Lantern brand itself. It attempted to do far too much with far too little time. Three different tangential story-lines that never really flesh themselves out, action sequences that are all-too few and far too short, and a horribly cliched by-the-numbers comic book movie script ('Eh, slap it together, we'll get some CGI to cover-up all the inadequacies'). All due to far, FAR too many Blake-Lively-dramatic-pause-faces. Put it on a t-shirt, you know you love that phrase. The most disheartening thing for me is that it probably won't inspire people to pick up any of the canon of Green Lantern comics, an infinitely more enjoyable and rewarding experience. Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
3
nufrequencyJun 26, 2011
Half way thru the movie I was completely bored and didn't really care much whats gonna happen next, besides that main characters were presenting zero chemistry, only reason that made me stay all the way till the end was group of friends.
7 of 12 users found this helpful75
All this user's reviews
0
9TwistedRosesJul 2, 2011
I don't know what to say, this movie is so bad, all i'm going to do is give it a zero ratting and urge you not to waste your time.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
0
rockerZJul 8, 2011
bad script and bad acting makes it abad script and bad acting makes it a failure........................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................... Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
0
lead_sharpJul 12, 2011
Being a lapsed GL fan, and a forgiver of much (I even found merit in the Electra movie) I went into this with my mind open. Sadly it would take a professional safe cracker to open it enough to allow for the fact that this utter, complete,Being a lapsed GL fan, and a forgiver of much (I even found merit in the Electra movie) I went into this with my mind open. Sadly it would take a professional safe cracker to open it enough to allow for the fact that this utter, complete, total, rancid and appalling thing cost between 200 and 300 million to make. I suspect that money was spent mainly on pushing this on the masses and what was left was split between Ryan Reynold's fee, fizzy drinks and sweeties for the 5 writers. My brain actually boggles that this was passed by WB as something they could put out. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
2
Princess_PeachJul 31, 2011
Comparing this movie to other superhero movies its BAD. Bad Dialogue, just bad. Good scenery though i'll give them credit for that. This movie is so bad I can't even write a bad review. Read another bad review and that is how I feel lol.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
3
skanteaSep 23, 2011
This was not a well conceived film. So much has already been said about how this that I'm not going to pile more on. Instead I'm writing this as a request to future superhero filmmakers. Please try a little harder to take intoThis was not a well conceived film. So much has already been said about how this that I'm not going to pile more on. Instead I'm writing this as a request to future superhero filmmakers. Please try a little harder to take into consideration the age of the mythology. Green Lantern has been around since 1940. That's a full 70 years before anyone thought to put the story on film. That means that if his first fans are still alive, they're in their 80's. Have a little more respect for people's memories. Spend some time on the writing, put aside the egos and let the writers who have talent and are fans of the subject weave the reasons for that love into the story. There are thousands of superhero stories out there and most of them are rightfully forgotten, so the few that stand the test of time have something that has been speaking to people for generations. Find that truth and make it the foundation of every thing the story communicates. And THEN make it look really cool. Also, yes there is subtext, but these are also comics not Shakespeare, so you don't have to bury that too deep. Story first, then merchandising opportunities or whatever else the suits are making you squeeze into it. This film was clearly made for junior high kids, and that's about money, we get it. But throw us 30, 40, 50, and 60 year olds a bone. We want to be transported too. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
2
Eric_LevengoodNov 11, 2011
This is a great example of a non-Nolan DC film, it stinks and its quite horrid. Superman Returns also joins this list. So therefore, the High Council of Film should pass legislation that Christopher Nolan should do all the films for DCThis is a great example of a non-Nolan DC film, it stinks and its quite horrid. Superman Returns also joins this list. So therefore, the High Council of Film should pass legislation that Christopher Nolan should do all the films for DC Comics, even as a producer, because he'd still have power over the film. These are just my comments, but below is the review.

It nearly induced me into a deep sleep. I don't know why. Oh I know! It was very bland, it had a weak, formulaic script, overacting (yes, Ryan Reynolds growls like Batman on one part), convulted direction, and some very crappy CGI. I didn't watch this in 3D, but I was probably smart not to.

Pretty much, this was a terrible movie that was rushed and just was released at the wrong time. I say, they should have put more emphasis on the script than the CGI.

It was pretty funny though how Tim Robbins' character looked almost like Glenn Beck.
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
0
MetalheadJun 18, 2011
This movie is a horrid, wretched, and miserable experience. The movie is full of superhero movie cliches, it contains a bland writing, Ryan Renolds (an overall decent actor) looked totally oblivious to what was going on in this movie, theThis movie is a horrid, wretched, and miserable experience. The movie is full of superhero movie cliches, it contains a bland writing, Ryan Renolds (an overall decent actor) looked totally oblivious to what was going on in this movie, the supporting cast, with the exception of Sinestro, is basically nonessential to everything going on, the special effects range from average to outdated, and the production as a whole is sloppy. The movie acts as if it doesn't care so why should we? Expand
5 of 11 users found this helpful56
All this user's reviews
2
tompaineJun 17, 2011
No one was anticipating this movie like I was - I've been a GL fan for forever. It was a complete and epic letdown. Though it looked very much like everything I had ever envisioned a GL movie to be, it never elicited any emotion from meNo one was anticipating this movie like I was - I've been a GL fan for forever. It was a complete and epic letdown. Though it looked very much like everything I had ever envisioned a GL movie to be, it never elicited any emotion from me other than embarrassment for the squandered actors delivering some of the worst dialogue imaginable. But that dialogue is extremely forgivable however, considering the genre. Flash Gordon has some of the worst dialogue in movie history, and it is head and shoulders above, in terms of forgiveness. It's the complete lack of any solid action that damns this adaptation to a place where some of the worst of comics-to-movies go to die. I thought at the very least, Martin Campbell would take me to the edge of my seat with action sequences like he did with Bond. I was lulled to genuine boredom by them. The only thing this movie managed to do was dull some of the pain away from my previously-huge disappointing memories of The Phantom Menace and G.I. Joe. Expand
4 of 10 users found this helpful46
All this user's reviews
3
MajorBobJun 21, 2011
The Guardians! The Parallax! Ryan Reynolds lost Scarlett Johannson for this mess! I certainly hope Ryan cashed a hefty paycheck and was, in fact, fooling around with Blake Lively. Blake, by the way, is the best part of this movie. Ryan alsoThe Guardians! The Parallax! Ryan Reynolds lost Scarlett Johannson for this mess! I certainly hope Ryan cashed a hefty paycheck and was, in fact, fooling around with Blake Lively. Blake, by the way, is the best part of this movie. Ryan also has another problem. He has a baby face and a feminine voice, definitely not super hero material. The special effects are fine but if you have a choice (I didn't at my theater) skip the 3D, it's not worth the extra 3 bucks. The plot is disjointed and really bad even by super hero standards where we tolerate a lot. Some decent actors (e.g. Peter Sarsgarrd and Tim Robbins) also give lackluster performances and I am still trying to figure out why the Dr. Hector/Senator Hammond subplot was even inserted into this movie. The age old adage "If you buy the premise, you buy the bit" just doesn't work here and half way through this movie I was looking at my watch trying to figure out when the 105 minute running time would let me out of this cinematic mistake. Save your money and cross your fingers that Captain America does a better job with the super hero genre. Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
2
WhiteCannonJun 17, 2011
Don't expect this to be a movie that actually moves you or makes you think, like fellow DC comic book blockbuster The Dark Knight. Instead, bring a bag to barf in when the words fear and/or willpower are mentioned three hundred times in aDon't expect this to be a movie that actually moves you or makes you think, like fellow DC comic book blockbuster The Dark Knight. Instead, bring a bag to barf in when the words fear and/or willpower are mentioned three hundred times in a blurred montage of vague green colors, poorly written dialogue, and Ryan Reynolds' ass. Go with friends for a cheap laugh. Expand
6 of 18 users found this helpful612
All this user's reviews
0
Coolguy45Jun 19, 2011
This movie was trash. The fact that the actors in the movie are big names they still messed it up. The movie was worse then Batman and robin or Spiderman 3. IMO. A trash movie. DONT WASTE YOUR MONEY.
3 of 9 users found this helpful36
All this user's reviews
0
cajun67Jun 19, 2011
I'm a big fan of the superhero movie genre. I grew up on comic books. I don't expect movies to directly channel the comic books; there has to be some allowances for the different medium. I thought Daredevil and X3 were decent movie fare.I'm a big fan of the superhero movie genre. I grew up on comic books. I don't expect movies to directly channel the comic books; there has to be some allowances for the different medium. I thought Daredevil and X3 were decent movie fare.

Green Lantern is easily one of the worst big-budget superhero movies I've seen. The story was boring. The pacing was boring. The dialogue was boring. The chemistry between Reynolds and his female romantic lead? Boring. The villain was boring. The Corps was so amateurish that a noobie like Hal Jordan easily shows them up in the boss fight.

This is a terrible movie.
Expand
1 of 7 users found this helpful16
All this user's reviews
3
kerri112Jul 4, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I paid $32.67 for a XBOX 360 and my mom got a 17 inch Toshiba laptop for $94.83 being delivered to our house tomorrow by FedEX. I will never again pay expensive retail prices at stores. I even sold a 46 inch HDTV to my boss for $650 and it only cost me $52.78 to get. Here is the website we using to get all this stuff, BetaSell.com Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
0
PahnJan 22, 2012
Ryan Reynolds has officially ruined his career with this movie. Until this point, he'd been a great comedy actor with some crossovers into drama & action. The only movies of the comic-book inspired superhero genre worth seeing, in myRyan Reynolds has officially ruined his career with this movie. Until this point, he'd been a great comedy actor with some crossovers into drama & action. The only movies of the comic-book inspired superhero genre worth seeing, in my opinion, are the revived Batman series of movies. Even those are getting a bit campy with Bale's overly-dramatic angry whisper-delivered dialogue. Hollywood needs new creative minds badly. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
0
MovieFan123Mar 17, 2012
Basically this is a movie about a guy who finds a ring and saves the world. That story dates back to like 1930 when comics first came out. This movie is filled with cheesy special effects and dated story. I was very surprised to find thisBasically this is a movie about a guy who finds a ring and saves the world. That story dates back to like 1930 when comics first came out. This movie is filled with cheesy special effects and dated story. I was very surprised to find this movie was a total bomb. This movie is just terrible and I didn't like it at all. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
1
garongorengAug 16, 2013
I wonder why i still want to watch this movie. maybe it's just too infamous. for me reynolds still can fit to physical qualification of Jordan. And yes, i like the likeness of Sinestro. But everything else....it just...can be thrown out ofI wonder why i still want to watch this movie. maybe it's just too infamous. for me reynolds still can fit to physical qualification of Jordan. And yes, i like the likeness of Sinestro. But everything else....it just...can be thrown out of the movie. The story...doesn't not engaging at all. All the corps doing nothing just making lamp through the space...just Hal...even Hal action sequences also feels boring and inconsistent. some of the battle he's weak, but he beat Parallax himself. Poor Hal, poor Sinestro, they deserve better. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
3
Cinemassacre94Mar 20, 2016
There are movies willed to life by the passion of their creators, and there are movies like Green Lantern, which are willed to life strictly by market forces. Superhero movies are popular right now, no one had tackled Green Lantern yet, andThere are movies willed to life by the passion of their creators, and there are movies like Green Lantern, which are willed to life strictly by market forces. Superhero movies are popular right now, no one had tackled Green Lantern yet, and voilà, here’s an adaptation that only the mouse-clicking digital artisans behind the effects shots seemed to give a **** about. Beyond the undigested lump of information about the origins and purpose of the Green Lantern Corps and a new rogue force threatening the universe, the early scenes are a marvel of CGI landscaping, presenting deep space as a shimmering Technicolor arena that pops like the pages of a particularly arresting comic book. Then the film comes down to Earth, repurposes Top Gun as a superhero story, and goes through the motions with a kid-friendly arbitrariness not seen since the last Fantastic Four movie.

Returning to the Van Wilder unctuousness that he lately had successfully dialed back, Ryan Reynolds plays Hal Jordan, a hotshot fighter pilot who rides into the danger zone at every opportunity. He also ignores the rules of engagement, has more raw talent than anyone has ever seen, is haunted by his pilot father’s tragic legacy, falls for his superior (Blake Lively) on the tarmac, and would likely serenade ladies with “You’ve Lost That Lovin’ Feeling” if Anthony Edwards were his wingman. Hal’s raw talent (and ripped abs) are not lost on the galactic forces behind the Green Lantern Corps, a brotherhood of warriors that maintain peace in the universe. As a new enemy called Parallax threatens the balance, Hal comes into possession of a ring that gives him the power to fight back with the force of his will and imagination.

Green Lantern tries to make a case of human exceptionalism: Out of the thousand-plus species comprising the Green Lantern Corps, only Hal, the newcomer, has the humanity that can save the universe. But a message like that is hard to believe in a film so utterly lacking in conviction, it needs a 25-year-old Tom Cruise vehicle just to keep its spine straight. Peter Sarsgaard seems to be enjoying himself as a nerdy shut-in turned evil scientist, but Green Lantern otherwise goes through the motions, even when it has the chance to deploy any digital weapon its hero can imagine. In staging an interstellar battle of will vs. fear, all it can offer is a shrug.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
1
youthcritic12Jul 27, 2011
whoops i ment to give it a 1 on my first review! I hope this isn't too late for me!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
KadeemluvmusicAug 15, 2011
This wasn't the superhero movie I was trying to see, but thank goodness the movie was a total 3-D waste. OK, I'm not a fan of Green Lantern (he is probably overrated), but how come they still going to make a sequel if it was #1? Are theThis wasn't the superhero movie I was trying to see, but thank goodness the movie was a total 3-D waste. OK, I'm not a fan of Green Lantern (he is probably overrated), but how come they still going to make a sequel if it was #1? Are the filmmakers making a second chance opportunity at greatness against Batman and Superman movies? The answer is NO. Nobody even critics wants a Green Lantern sequel because of Ryan Reynolds slow but awkward performance. Green Lantern was another mediocrity in 3-D movies so far and a mild one. I hate Green Lantern and it is one of the worst movies of 2011. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
avatar16Aug 23, 2011
Certains m'avaient critiqué du fait que je donnais mon avis (péjoratif) sur le film à partir de la première bande-annonce, qu'il fallait que j'attende le rendu final. Et je dois bien avouerCertains m'avaient critiqué du fait que je donnais mon avis (péjoratif) sur le film à partir de la première bande-annonce, qu'il fallait que j'attende le rendu final. Et je dois bien avouer qu'ils avaient raison : Green Lantern est bien pire de ce à quoi je m'attendais. Avec un humour qui tombe toujours à plat, un rendu visuel trop poussé à en être moche à regarder et des acteurs pitoyables, s'ajoutent un manque de punch incroyable (la puissance d'un pouvoir sans limite n'est vraiment pas présente) et tout un tas de clichés incroyables des films du genre. En somme, Green Lantern ne révolutionne pas les films de super-héros, mais il a le culot de se montrer à la hauteur alors qu'il ne l'est pas. Batman peut dormir sur ses deux pointes. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
J-ShapAug 25, 2011
In brightest day, in blackest night, no crappy movies shall escape my sight. Let brain-dead hacks who cannot write, beware this critic... (referring to Green Lantern) IT'S NO DARK KNIGHT! No indeed. Green Lantern is far, far away from TheIn brightest day, in blackest night, no crappy movies shall escape my sight. Let brain-dead hacks who cannot write, beware this critic... (referring to Green Lantern) IT'S NO DARK KNIGHT! No indeed. Green Lantern is far, far away from The Dark Knight. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
TTTAug 29, 2011
In this film you can say that the plot is awful and has serious shortcomings ... some parts are nice, but not appreciable. We say that the work would have been better. The Italian dubbing, because I come from 'Italy is very poor compared toIn this film you can say that the plot is awful and has serious shortcomings ... some parts are nice, but not appreciable. We say that the work would have been better. The Italian dubbing, because I come from 'Italy is very poor compared to the Italian tradition of dubbing would say that is bad in comparison. As soon as I saw him I was not happy ... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
RodrigoBGCOct 11, 2011
Is incredible how in a movie that lasting 2 hours, nothing happens, this movie is boring and lifeless, 2 villains and both didn´t scare you or make you feel danger, one super hero that is more busy flirting with a girl thanIs incredible how in a movie that lasting 2 hours, nothing happens, this movie is boring and lifeless, 2 villains and both didn´t scare you or make you feel danger, one super hero that is more busy flirting with a girl than actually saving the world, and even worst a nonsense story Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
BooleanflixOct 15, 2011
Based on the DC comic character of the same name, Martin Campbellâ
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
JonathanCOct 19, 2011
I can sum it up in a word "Disappointing". The entire start to the movie, from the badly v.o back story, to the whole fighter pilot scenes, set the movie up really badly. There was no substance, nothing clever, and overall justI can sum it up in a word "Disappointing". The entire start to the movie, from the badly v.o back story, to the whole fighter pilot scenes, set the movie up really badly. There was no substance, nothing clever, and overall just anti-climactic. Each year, comic book heroes are coming to life nd getting better and better, but unfortunately this one missed the mark entirely. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
BuzterOneJan 20, 2012
Hollywood have done it again!
This movie felt rushed from beginning to end. Plot wholes everywere and as a comic book nerd i felt raped after watching this movie. Did they even READ the comics? This is just as bad as AVP & AVP:R.
This movie
Hollywood have done it again!
This movie felt rushed from beginning to end. Plot wholes everywere and as a comic book nerd i felt raped after watching this movie. Did they even READ the comics? This is just as bad as AVP & AVP:R.
This movie had a BIG budget and where did all the money go? If you are a comic book fan and like marvel/dc movies i advice you NOT to spend money for this pile of shi*. Go and watch Captain America or even Ben Afflecks DareDevil.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
PrimalHunter70Mar 28, 2012
This movie is corn-al-icious, and was painful to watch. It was easily one of the worst movies I have ever seen. Do not watch this, it is terrible, and you could probably AVP more.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
heyitsmegrif4Jun 14, 2012
Green Lantern is laughable because the hero is neither charismatic nor heroic he is just this human being with a lot of special effects on him. The special effects are awful and the acting is terrible. This a severe disappointment. I giveGreen Lantern is laughable because the hero is neither charismatic nor heroic he is just this human being with a lot of special effects on him. The special effects are awful and the acting is terrible. This a severe disappointment. I give this movie 16%. I say this is the worse superhero movie, ever! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
dev92Aug 25, 2012
I had never heard of the Green Lantern before The Big Bang Theory but now I know why. This film is awful and the whole idea of the character and the universe from which it derives is awful. I know the filmmakers clearly didn't come up withI had never heard of the Green Lantern before The Big Bang Theory but now I know why. This film is awful and the whole idea of the character and the universe from which it derives is awful. I know the filmmakers clearly didn't come up with the character's powers but how did this comic ever become successful? The film itself was below par, Ryan Reynolds did his best but no one else can really say they did anything positive in this film (or at least anything of note). Do not watch this film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
PixarloverOct 23, 2012
A guilty pleasure. This was the most disappointing comic book movie I ever saw at the movies, that and Spiderman 3. How could they do this to Green Lantern? They have a superhero who travels into space all the time and is practically StarA guilty pleasure. This was the most disappointing comic book movie I ever saw at the movies, that and Spiderman 3. How could they do this to Green Lantern? They have a superhero who travels into space all the time and is practically Star Wars material. WHAT DO THEY DO?!?!?!?! MAKE A MEDIOCRE MOVIE OUT OF AN AWESOME CHARACTER!!!! .... What did you expect? For it to be good?

This movie is a so-bad-it's-good movie. I was hoping for a "Dark Knight in space" epic, but what we got was an over-produced, poorly written and terribly acted piece of $200 million dollars that went straight down the box office toilet. What a shame.

Now the guilty pleasures of this movie:

Well this is Green Lantern's motion-picture debut, just not a great one. Some of the scenes are entertaining but HEctor Hammond is so bloody annoying you want to staple his mouth shut for the rest of the movie. His screaming is unbelievably annoying. It's like listening to a podcast of a baby crying 24/7 and never stopping once. So pointless.

As for the plot, the whole thing is a mess and it messes with Green Lantern's mythological background quite a bit. Parallax was never an entity trapped in the ring. Instead he was a corrupted Guardian who wanted to use the power for himself.

Hell, if that wasn't enough, the imagination that Hal uses for the ring is just as limited as the writer's abilities to write awkward dialogue let alone stronger plot and character development.

Thankfully we got The Dark Knight Rises from Warner Brothers and DC Entertainment so we can forgive them for Green Lantern.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
cameronmorewoodNov 15, 2012
It's not treacherous, but it's laughable, and it doesn't intend to be.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
Wright98Dec 2, 2012
This film is awful. I was really looking forward to watching It and I was really disappointed. The film is slow paced and the fight scenes were abysmal. A film I do not recommend at all.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
RedShadowHatDec 30, 2012
Bad movie in general. The story line was dumb and bad acting. I dont mean to offend any comic book movie lovers but this was the worst comic book movie Ive seen in a long time. And what kind of a mask only covers you eyes???
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
ExKingMar 30, 2013
why would anyone think that this is a good movie idea is beyond me even so the Execution is ridiculous how can someone is Exposed to something that can travel him anywhere in the universe never act surprised like it was happening to himwhy would anyone think that this is a good movie idea is beyond me even so the Execution is ridiculous how can someone is Exposed to something that can travel him anywhere in the universe never act surprised like it was happening to him his entire life this movie don't make any sense in the slightest. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
AutiTakahashiApr 18, 2013
Of all the second-rate comic book movies that has occupied most of 2011's summer, "Green Lantern" is the only one of its crowd without a saving grace. "Captain America: The First Avenger" saw a true hero in Steve Rogers, giving as muchOf all the second-rate comic book movies that has occupied most of 2011's summer, "Green Lantern" is the only one of its crowd without a saving grace. "Captain America: The First Avenger" saw a true hero in Steve Rogers, giving as much attention to his human character as with his superhuman attributes. It was the goofy playfulness of "Thor" that made its overall silliness acceptable. "X-Men: First Class" was a prequel that founded itself on prior knowledge, instead of avoiding it. "Green Lantern" doesn't have a singular thing that could make it more than what we already expect. It fulfills the requisites of the superhero genre, then immediately stops trying.

Millions of years ago, long before the nuisance of 3-D, an assembly of aliens called the Guardians formed an intergalactic peace-keeping organization. Each member, called a Green Lantern, was assigned to protect one of the 3,600 sectors of the universe. We're not sure how many planets or galaxies each sector covers, but we trust the judgment of the Guardians. With the whole universe accounted for, the blue, big headed Guardians have decided to spend the rest of their immortal lives in a planet called Oa. This peace is interrupted when a colossal, evil force named Parallax figured that it would be real evil if he started to eat planets; Earth and Oa are on his menu.

Meanwhile, on Earth, our central human characters who coincidentally all have daddy issues, are introduced. Hal Jordan is a reckless test pilot whose actions on the job are always questioned by his authorities. When a severely injured Green Lantern crash lands on our planet, Hal is the one chosen by the Lantern's ring as his replacement. His duty later lands him in Oa, where he meets the Guardians. Plot details are discussed, obvious questions are asked, and shallow dilemmas are regarded with undeserved seriousness as a delay for the obligatory climactic confrontation, like taking 90 minutes to get to a destination 60 minutes away.

Read more here: http://localmoviereview.com/green-lantern-movie-review/
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
nippu33May 16, 2013
When launched the Green Lantern thought would be a cool movie, but it was not, for me it became a rich experience weak and exploited. Not worth it to have spent money for nothing in a disposable product.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
BrianMcCriticJun 2, 2013
In an era of the comic book movie this is one of the worst. A lot of pointless story telling mixed with an unimportant villain and some mediocre acting makes you hope they just cancel any sequel plans.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
MikefromAngusJun 28, 2013
Going into this movie, I didn't expect much. But what I watched was a disaster! Probably the worst super hero movie made!? The story was typical, the cgi was awful! I felt like I was watching cut scenes from PS2 game, the movie felt rushed. Avoid!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
eggJul 12, 2013
Although people have been heavily criticizing this film for its lack of quality and it seeming rushed, both of which I agree with, they had something in there which could have developed into a much better movie. It was entertaining, on theAlthough people have been heavily criticizing this film for its lack of quality and it seeming rushed, both of which I agree with, they had something in there which could have developed into a much better movie. It was entertaining, on the whole, and I found it managed to keep me interested for a long time. I'd like to think myself as a DC geek, and I found myself impressed at how well they'd managed to keep to the original stories.
I think the critics are complaining primarily because it couldn't get anywhere close to the Dark Knight, which is a very hard act to follow for DC. Anyone remember Batman Begins? It was good, but nothing special, however it led on to one of the greatest films ever made, in most people's opinion. I think that if Warner Bros. wade through all of the bad reception and decide that they will continue on this, they will be able to produce a far better movie for the sequel. Ignore the critics. Rent it if you can and see what you think.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
ncstatemikeAug 24, 2013
[2.1] I don't think I'm lying when I say this is the worst movie I've ever seen. It's uninteresting, incredibly unoriginal, and extremely painful. I don't understand how a group of adults, still, in the 2000's can make something so poorly[2.1] I don't think I'm lying when I say this is the worst movie I've ever seen. It's uninteresting, incredibly unoriginal, and extremely painful. I don't understand how a group of adults, still, in the 2000's can make something so poorly written, and such a mess. For f**k's sake, good movies can make money too! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
cag11Dec 8, 2013
This movie is so bad I don't even know where to begin. It has bad acting from everyone in this film. Its almost like the director said "act like you were on a school play, but worse". Second, the graphics were awful. They even put in a CGThis movie is so bad I don't even know where to begin. It has bad acting from everyone in this film. Its almost like the director said "act like you were on a school play, but worse". Second, the graphics were awful. They even put in a CG mask. Who does that? Third, the script was garbage. It folowed no real plot, which just went from bad to worse. Easily the worst superhero movie of all time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
marcmyworksJan 21, 2014
The trailer made this film actually look like a summer blockbuster to watch out for, the problem was the casting, acting, writing, editing... pretty much the entire film despite the spectacular effects. Mark Strong was the shining lightThe trailer made this film actually look like a summer blockbuster to watch out for, the problem was the casting, acting, writing, editing... pretty much the entire film despite the spectacular effects. Mark Strong was the shining light through this storm of terrible. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
ghost-nappa56Aug 16, 2014
Sadly this movie had a really bland plot and dialogue with a boring villain. Another big problem with this movie is there was way too much CGI. Well I can understand everything that is made by the Green Lanterns but did Hal's costume andSadly this movie had a really bland plot and dialogue with a boring villain. Another big problem with this movie is there was way too much CGI. Well I can understand everything that is made by the Green Lanterns but did Hal's costume and Sinestro have to be CGI? Overall this movie was a mess. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
SatiricalewokNov 8, 2014
If the dark knight is how a superhero movie should be done, this is how it should not be done. Everything the Dark knight did, is reversed here. Really if you've seen a poster for this movie, you have experienced about as much characterIf the dark knight is how a superhero movie should be done, this is how it should not be done. Everything the Dark knight did, is reversed here. Really if you've seen a poster for this movie, you have experienced about as much character development as there is during the film. The special effects, actually, are woeful which is a real problem for a film solely reliant on special effects. Overall really, this is the worst superhero movie to be released so far, and really it would take a pretty monstrous effort to undo that. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
cryhardhumorJul 26, 2015
The biggest crime with Green Lantern is the utter disrespect of the source materiel. Apparently DC executives have begun filming themselves taking a crap and expect it to make money.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
MrMovieBuffNov 2, 2016
The DC Comics have always been populated by many characters of different abilities... but the two most popular characters are, and always have been, Batman and Superman. Not to mention that we have had many variations of movies with BatmanThe DC Comics have always been populated by many characters of different abilities... but the two most popular characters are, and always have been, Batman and Superman. Not to mention that we have had many variations of movies with Batman and Superman... maybe it's because they're easier to translate well onto the big screen, more so than most other heroes.

The character of Green Lantern also proves to be a challenge to adapt into a feature-length film... and it seems that, in 2011, that challenge has not been attempted well.

Ryan Reynolds stars as Hal Jordan, a hotshot test pilot for the Ferris Aircraft Company. Reynolds seems to channel mostly what Chris Evans did as Johnny Storm in 'Fantastic Four' (2005), often disregarding the health and safety of himself, and always breaking rules when he sees fit.

His limitations come from Carol Ferris (Blake Lively), who always has to tell him to take better care of himself or else he will end up either hurt or dead. She is also the daughter of Carl Ferris (Jay O. Sanders) who is the aircraft designer for the company named after him.

Hal ends up discovering something along his travels... he finds a green ring that has chosen him, for some reason, and sees a crash where a dying alien-like species named Abin Sur (Temeura Morrison) informs Hal that the ring chose him, and must use it to protect and save the race. It seems that things get out of hand when Sur's body is taken to Dr. Hector Hammond (a hilariously awful Peter Sarsgaard), and the life of the alien species is drawn onto Hammond, leaving him to change in appearance and become hungry for power.

Hal trains to become the powerful "Green Lantern" through a series of training montages, executed in such a cliche fashion, that it is not funny... it is in fact, very excruciating to watch and sit through. Luckily, these training sequences don't last long... but at the same time, they don't give us, as the audience, time to develop with Hal as he becomes used to the powers and abilities.

The ring is able to create whatever it is Hal is thinking. He uses it to save anyone from danger, but this leads to a string of badly rendered CGI action scenes that look more animated than a Pixar movie.

'Green Lantern' is a 2002 superhero movie, disguised as a 2011 superhero movie... it uses all of the long-dead cliches and traits that you expect from a typical superhero origin movie... a nobody finds something and becomes a somebody. He must train to become this somebody, and meanwhile, an antagonist finds himself poisoned and deformed in appearance and just wants power... for some reason. He also kills people as a threat to get what he wants. The hero's main love interest is kidnapped and he must make a decision that will secure everyone from danger.

If you've seen virtually any superhero movie over the past decade... then you have definitely seen 'Green Lantern'.

It's hard to believe that director Martin Campbell, who directed the brilliant 'Goldeneye' (1995) and 'Casino Royale' (2006), would go on to make a superhero movie lacing depth, compelling characters and a series of well-crafted action sequences. Plus, I must mention how awful Peter Sarsgaard's performance was as Dr. Hammond... the constant screaming, and bad CGI to deform his appearance is unintentionally hilarious to watch, and drags the movie further down than it should.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews