User Score
5.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 521 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 19, 2011
    0
    I came into the movie expecting it to be bad but reasonable summer movie entertainment. Being an avid metacritic reader, I was fully aware of score of 40 and the bashing the critics gave this movie. What drove me to what the movie was the trailer (which seemed reasonable) and the fact that the user score was 6.7, suggesting that this movie is full of mindless but fun action.

    And how I was
    wrong. Really Really wrong.

    This movie lacks action. For a movie about a lantern who's powers were only limited by ones imagination; a fittingly ironic plot considering the lack of imagination in the writing, storytelling, acting and CGI found in this movie. I counted only 3 action scenes of 30 secs each in this whole movie, all of them nicely summarized in the trailer. On might thing me shallow and argue that a focus on character development could be interesting, like in Ironman. This would be possible if not for the terrible writing AND acting in the story. None of the characters were believable if you are over the age of 6. I guess knowledge of the characters prior to the movie might help fill in the backstory which was never really explored in the movie. It seems mos of the people who enjoyed the movie were fans that grew up with GL. Unfortunately for me I do not fit this category . Honestly, 10 minutes into the movie I was already bored. The actors were all cliches and none of them were even convincing. The same plot lines were repeated around 30 times and again and again. I honestly felt like walking out of the cinema because it was that bad. Overall, stay far far away from Green Garbage and watch Xmen again if you have to.

    I feel bad for contributing to the revenue of this movie. For those who enjoyed this comic, watch it and feel free to disregard what I say.
    Expand
  2. Sep 10, 2011
    4
    Equipped with poor CGI, decent performance from Ryan Reynolds, and a story that cannot hold itself in one whole piece, "Green Lantern" acknowledges me of DC's prominent failure to move its loved superhero into the big screen.
  3. Jun 26, 2011
    3
    Half way thru the movie I was completely bored and didn't really care much whats gonna happen next, besides that main characters were presenting zero chemistry, only reason that made me stay all the way till the end was group of friends.
  4. Jun 17, 2011
    2
    Don't expect this to be a movie that actually moves you or makes you think, like fellow DC comic book blockbuster The Dark Knight. Instead, bring a bag to barf in when the words fear and/or willpower are mentioned three hundred times in a blurred montage of vague green colors, poorly written dialogue, and Ryan Reynolds' ass. Go with friends for a cheap laugh.
  5. Jun 18, 2011
    0
    This movie is a horrid, wretched, and miserable experience. The movie is full of superhero movie cliches, it contains a bland writing, Ryan Renolds (an overall decent actor) looked totally oblivious to what was going on in this movie, the supporting cast, with the exception of Sinestro, is basically nonessential to everything going on, the special effects range from average to outdated, and the production as a whole is sloppy. The movie acts as if it doesn't care so why should we? Expand
  6. Jun 17, 2011
    4
    Green Lantern is simply disappointing.
    Just about a month ago, there was the amazing mythological story for the greek god Thor and then a couple of weeks later came the dream-team cast for X-men: First Class (a start off from the X-men trilogy). Yes, Summer is pretty much packed with superhero movies and eye-popping special effects. Then comes the Green Lantern...a very disappointing
    film.
    The special effects are...lets just say, its very green. I'm pretty sure the crew didn't have a huge problem with mistakes, mainly because they use a lot of green screen but I didn't care for any of the effects. It all looked fake and sitting on a seat for an hr and 45 mins watching different creatures wearing tight green suits, it just wasn't my thing. The only reason why I bother to watch this movie was because I remember reading about this lantern when I was about 7-8 years old and it was cool reading it on a comic book but on screen, it was an epic fail. Hal Jordon played by Ryan Reynolds: fail. You never really took him seriously and his facial expression (in my opinion) seems fit only for a comedy role. I found myself cracking up whenever he delievered all those scripted wisdom and besides he already has a role as the swordsman in X-men (Sorry, I forgot). Although the jokes fall bland especially if you've seen the beginning part of the trailer, there are some action extravaganza that covers for some hits and misses. Story/Plot: It explains itself and then it goes into details and infos and then at the end, turns out all that leads to nothing new or big.
    4 The only thing that kept my attention was the human interaction between Blake Lively's character and Mr. Ryan Reynolds. (Hey he's a good actor but as a hero, he comes off flat
    Pretty sure most won't agree but who gives a sh!t
    -nuff said.
    Expand
  7. Jun 17, 2011
    2
    No one was anticipating this movie like I was - I've been a GL fan for forever. It was a complete and epic letdown. Though it looked very much like everything I had ever envisioned a GL movie to be, it never elicited any emotion from me other than embarrassment for the squandered actors delivering some of the worst dialogue imaginable. But that dialogue is extremely forgivable however, considering the genre. Flash Gordon has some of the worst dialogue in movie history, and it is head and shoulders above, in terms of forgiveness. It's the complete lack of any solid action that damns this adaptation to a place where some of the worst of comics-to-movies go to die. I thought at the very least, Martin Campbell would take me to the edge of my seat with action sequences like he did with Bond. I was lulled to genuine boredom by them. The only thing this movie managed to do was dull some of the pain away from my previously-huge disappointing memories of The Phantom Menace and G.I. Joe. Expand
  8. Jun 22, 2011
    4
    This movie could have been so much better. There was to much talking, not enough action. I got bored. Go watch '' X-Men : First class '' instead, it's a way better superhero movie. At first, I didn't really think that Ryan Reynolds was a good choice for the role. After seeing the film, I finally thought he's okay as Hal Jordan. I expected more from '' Green Lantern ". It wasn't good has I thought it will be, but not as bad either. It's a mediocre movie that almost touch the '' failure '' zone, in other words, the red zone. I wouldn't consider seeing it again, like never. I wanted to see Hal using the ring more often. Speaking of rings, I would have also enjoyed seeing the other Green lanterns using their ring as well. All they do is point it in the sky and shooting green laser or whatever. I don't have much to say about the movie, expect the fact that it's a disappointing, boring and forgettable movie. Expand
  9. Jun 19, 2011
    0
    This movie was trash. The fact that the actors in the movie are big names they still messed it up. The movie was worse then Batman and robin or Spiderman 3. IMO. A trash movie. DONT WASTE YOUR MONEY.
  10. Jun 19, 2011
    2
    It does a disservice to contentious comic fans, moviegoers and the Green Lantern brand itself. It attempted to do far too much with far too little time. Three different tangential story-lines that never really flesh themselves out, action sequences that are all-too few and far too short, and a horribly cliched by-the-numbers comic book movie script ('Eh, slap it together, we'll get some CGI to cover-up all the inadequacies'). All due to far, FAR too many Blake-Lively-dramatic-pause-faces. Put it on a t-shirt, you know you love that phrase. The most disheartening thing for me is that it probably won't inspire people to pick up any of the canon of Green Lantern comics, an infinitely more enjoyable and rewarding experience. Expand
  11. Jun 24, 2011
    3
    I'm an admitted comic book fan, but not a rabid Green Lantern fan, and I fully understand that some liberties have to be taken in order to translate a comic character into a live-action movie. Still, I found myself utterly disappointed with the mess that was Green Lantern. While the movie did stick reasonably close to the comic book lore, it didn't do it in a way that drew me in and kept me on the edge of my seat. At times, Ryan Reynolds just seemed bored and like he was reciting his lines. Parallax was more dull than scary, Hector Hammond was not nearly as creepy of a villain as he could have been, and the buildup to Sinestro's turn to the dark side seemed more like an afterthought than a logical progression for the character. Sadly, this just movie just ended up being another in a line of disappointing movies starting DC Comics characters. Expand
  12. Jun 25, 2011
    3
    I've never really been a Green Lantern fan, so I wasn't expecting much...and there wasn't. The film just seemed boring and nothing likable except a couple of scenes.
  13. Jun 21, 2011
    3
    The Guardians! The Parallax! Ryan Reynolds lost Scarlett Johannson for this mess! I certainly hope Ryan cashed a hefty paycheck and was, in fact, fooling around with Blake Lively. Blake, by the way, is the best part of this movie. Ryan also has another problem. He has a baby face and a feminine voice, definitely not super hero material. The special effects are fine but if you have a choice (I didn't at my theater) skip the 3D, it's not worth the extra 3 bucks. The plot is disjointed and really bad even by super hero standards where we tolerate a lot. Some decent actors (e.g. Peter Sarsgarrd and Tim Robbins) also give lackluster performances and I am still trying to figure out why the Dr. Hector/Senator Hammond subplot was even inserted into this movie. The age old adage "If you buy the premise, you buy the bit" just doesn't work here and half way through this movie I was looking at my watch trying to figure out when the 105 minute running time would let me out of this cinematic mistake. Save your money and cross your fingers that Captain America does a better job with the super hero genre. Expand
  14. Jun 25, 2011
    2
    I don't think the story is interesting , so the movie is about blah blah blah you suddenly gain power and oh **** your only a human and you cant fight god damn aliens than suddenly big scary final boss which looked like very powerful and strong and than the big scary strong boss is killed under 10 **** MINUTES. This god damn movie spent too much time on talking about love and boring things....Boring!
    You know what the 2 score for? It's for the air fight at the beginning which is quite nice for me.
    Expand
  15. Jul 31, 2011
    2
    There are plenty of bad movies been released this year, but i will draw my attention to the biggest disapointment of the year. Green lantern looked AMAZING in the trailer and it really does portray an epic tale of good vs evil , Will vs Fear. Me being an avid green lantern fan and a follower of DC comics i was looking forward to DC's 3rd major movie release other than batman and superman. With the huge depth of super heroes from DC unvierse to make movies on i thought that this movie would be one of the best movies out there this year. Oh how wrong was I. Even for me a true fan of the GL, this movie is utter rubbish. Its really boring, takes forever to get going and when it does it ends. It feels more like a setup for a second movie (at the end you will see why) but given how much it has flopped unless they know the 2nd movie will be a million times better than this, no one would go near it with a barge pole. The acting is okay in my opinon, Ryan Reynolds does a good job as the GL but his supporting cast look like they couldnt care less. The Special effects are good when you get to see some action but its not enough. If you are not gonna have action scenes then at least replace them with an engaging story, Unfortnately it dosent, stay away from this title its very, very poor. Expand
  16. Jun 19, 2011
    0
    I'm a big fan of the superhero movie genre. I grew up on comic books. I don't expect movies to directly channel the comic books; there has to be some allowances for the different medium. I thought Daredevil and X3 were decent movie fare.

    Green Lantern is easily one of the worst big-budget superhero movies I've seen. The story was boring. The pacing was boring. The dialogue was boring. The
    chemistry between Reynolds and his female romantic lead? Boring. The villain was boring. The Corps was so amateurish that a noobie like Hal Jordan easily shows them up in the boss fight.

    This is a terrible movie.
    Expand
  17. Sep 23, 2011
    3
    This was not a well conceived film. So much has already been said about how this that I'm not going to pile more on. Instead I'm writing this as a request to future superhero filmmakers. Please try a little harder to take into consideration the age of the mythology. Green Lantern has been around since 1940. That's a full 70 years before anyone thought to put the story on film. That means that if his first fans are still alive, they're in their 80's. Have a little more respect for people's memories. Spend some time on the writing, put aside the egos and let the writers who have talent and are fans of the subject weave the reasons for that love into the story. There are thousands of superhero stories out there and most of them are rightfully forgotten, so the few that stand the test of time have something that has been speaking to people for generations. Find that truth and make it the foundation of every thing the story communicates. And THEN make it look really cool. Also, yes there is subtext, but these are also comics not Shakespeare, so you don't have to bury that too deep. Story first, then merchandising opportunities or whatever else the suits are making you squeeze into it. This film was clearly made for junior high kids, and that's about money, we get it. But throw us 30, 40, 50, and 60 year olds a bone. We want to be transported too. Expand
  18. Jun 19, 2011
    4
    I was kinda disappointed by this film. I thought that it would be as awesome as films like Iron Man and The Incredible Hulk but this movie never turns into anything more than a visually exciting movie. The villain is portrayed very good by Peter Sarsgard. Martin Campbell has made many better films like Casino Royale and The Mask of Zorro
  19. Jun 17, 2011
    4
    I normally dont agree with the critics at all but i have to say they are spot on with this movie. I give it a 4 because these types of comics are very hard to make into a film. It seemed cheesy to me. Ryan reynolds isnt the best actor in the world which i think we all know but he was funny and he fit the role of hal jordan/green lantern well. He has that **** attitude like hal and he has the body frame for the green lantern. The movie just felt short and rushed. I felt as though you saw the entire movie in the trailer. I actuallyy fell asleep a couple of times during this movie, although i was tired and i saw the midnight showing, but the movie was pretty boring at times. If they do make a sequel i suggest they make it more epic like every comic book film should be. Create a stronger story, more action and certainly make the climax extended and epic, because the ending to this film as well with the whole movie, was awfully rushed. Overall the acting was sub par, not nearlyenough action, whole film was rushed but i give it a 4 because the comedy was definite,y there and Blake Lively is super hot in this movie. 4/10 Expand
  20. Jul 31, 2011
    2
    Comparing this movie to other superhero movies its BAD. Bad Dialogue, just bad. Good scenery though i'll give them credit for that. This movie is so bad I can't even write a bad review. Read another bad review and that is how I feel lol.
  21. Jun 18, 2011
    4
    Green Lantern proves an entertaining, but poorly thought-out film. The movie contains visually captivating scenes and some humorous segments, but the film is afflicted by a slow-moving plot and conspicuous plot holes. Green Lantern kept me well entertained, and I do not regret paying the ticket price to see it; however, the quality of the movie is undoubtedly poor and it could have been a much better movie had the writers decided to present a story that did not constantly skip around and make little sense. Moviegoers expecting a top-notch Green Lantern film adaptation will be disappointed; those seeking an entertaining movie containing superheroes and fighting sequences will most likely enjoy it. Expand
  22. Jun 19, 2011
    4
    After the bar has been raised for superhero movies in the past few years, Green Lantern just doesn't measure up. The fimmakers made no attempt to rise above rank mediocrity. At every level, this movie feels like it was phoned in.
  23. Nov 11, 2011
    2
    This is a great example of a non-Nolan DC film, it stinks and its quite horrid. Superman Returns also joins this list. So therefore, the High Council of Film should pass legislation that Christopher Nolan should do all the films for DC Comics, even as a producer, because he'd still have power over the film. These are just my comments, but below is the review.

    It nearly induced me into a
    deep sleep. I don't know why. Oh I know! It was very bland, it had a weak, formulaic script, overacting (yes, Ryan Reynolds growls like Batman on one part), convulted direction, and some very crappy CGI. I didn't watch this in 3D, but I was probably smart not to.

    Pretty much, this was a terrible movie that was rushed and just was released at the wrong time. I say, they should have put more emphasis on the script than the CGI.

    It was pretty funny though how Tim Robbins' character looked almost like Glenn Beck.
    Expand
  24. Jul 2, 2011
    0
    I don't know what to say, this movie is so bad, all i'm going to do is give it a zero ratting and urge you not to waste your time.
  25. Jul 8, 2011
    0
    bad script and bad acting makes it a failure...........................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................
  26. Aug 17, 2011
    4
    The Green Lantern is my favorite DC comic book hero, so you can imagine my excitement as I sat down in the theater. Superhero movies always have a lot of potential, The Green Lantern included, needless to say, I was disappointed. Ryan Reynolds delivered an expressionless, boring character and was not fit for the role at all. Not just Ryan Reynolds though, all the actors do a depressing job at portraying any sort of emotion at all and most perform terribly at their roles. A cliche superhero plot is to be expected, but, unlike some films, this movie had no twists or surprises, and overall failed to impress. The special effects could have been much better, but were satisfactory. The action scenes never reach extreme excitement or explosive fun, but are still good enough to keep you interested. Everything felt rushed; some actually good scenes were cut off too quickly, the final battle came far too fast, and the whole movie I was hoping that one character would stand out and become defined, but alas, they never did. A disappointing superhero movie to say the least. For a superhero movie, this one is rushed, boring and sub-par. Expand
  27. Oct 23, 2012
    3
    A guilty pleasure. This was the most disappointing comic book movie I ever saw at the movies, that and Spiderman 3. How could they do this to Green Lantern? They have a superhero who travels into space all the time and is practically Star Wars material. WHAT DO THEY DO?!?!?!?! MAKE A MEDIOCRE MOVIE OUT OF AN AWESOME CHARACTER!!!! .... What did you expect? For it to be good?

    This movie
    is a so-bad-it's-good movie. I was hoping for a "Dark Knight in space" epic, but what we got was an over-produced, poorly written and terribly acted piece of $200 million dollars that went straight down the box office toilet. What a shame.

    Now the guilty pleasures of this movie:

    Well this is Green Lantern's motion-picture debut, just not a great one. Some of the scenes are entertaining but HEctor Hammond is so bloody annoying you want to staple his mouth shut for the rest of the movie. His screaming is unbelievably annoying. It's like listening to a podcast of a baby crying 24/7 and never stopping once. So pointless.

    As for the plot, the whole thing is a mess and it messes with Green Lantern's mythological background quite a bit. Parallax was never an entity trapped in the ring. Instead he was a corrupted Guardian who wanted to use the power for himself.

    Hell, if that wasn't enough, the imagination that Hal uses for the ring is just as limited as the writer's abilities to write awkward dialogue let alone stronger plot and character development.

    Thankfully we got The Dark Knight Rises from Warner Brothers and DC Entertainment so we can forgive them for Green Lantern.
    Expand
  28. Nov 1, 2011
    4
    Setting expectations as side, Green Lantern was weak, clumsy and embarrassing for DC comics. Ryan Reynolds is a decent actor and the only thing that held this movie from being a total disaster. The screenplay and story were a mess full of filler and threads that go nowhere, the action scenes were mostly lame. Parts of the special effects were OK, but most were overdone and made the movie look like an unbelievable green cartoon mashed with real life. The film makers also seem confused to what has made marvel comic movies so successful recently. This movie did not need to be made and does not need to be watched. Pass Expand
  29. Jul 4, 2011
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I paid $32.67 for a XBOX 360 and my mom got a 17 inch Toshiba laptop for $94.83 being delivered to our house tomorrow by FedEX. I will never again pay expensive retail prices at stores. I even sold a 46 inch HDTV to my boss for $650 and it only cost me $52.78 to get. Here is the website we using to get all this stuff, BetaSell.com Expand
  30. Jul 12, 2011
    4
    I am a fan of Green Lantern comics and TV shows, having said that, this movie just SUCKED!! Granted there are some good moments in the movie but there are just too many bad moments that hurt this film. Actor Ryan Reynolds tried his best from what was given to him, however, actress Blake Lively was just terrible, looking dumb the whole time, just made me annoyed. Sad to say, but Green Lantern is not what the fan's were waiting for and this film is not worth paying full price! I give this movie a matinee because you are going to have enjoy watching it. Expand
  31. Jul 12, 2011
    0
    Being a lapsed GL fan, and a forgiver of much (I even found merit in the Electra movie) I went into this with my mind open. Sadly it would take a professional safe cracker to open it enough to allow for the fact that this utter, complete, total, rancid and appalling thing cost between 200 and 300 million to make. I suspect that money was spent mainly on pushing this on the masses and what was left was split between Ryan Reynold's fee, fizzy drinks and sweeties for the 5 writers. My brain actually boggles that this was passed by WB as something they could put out. Expand
  32. TTT
    Aug 29, 2011
    1
    In this film you can say that the plot is awful and has serious shortcomings ... some parts are nice, but not appreciable. We say that the work would have been better. The Italian dubbing, because I come from 'Italy is very poor compared to the Italian tradition of dubbing would say that is bad in comparison. As soon as I saw him I was not happy ...
  33. Jul 27, 2011
    1
    whoops i ment to give it a 1 on my first review! I hope this isn't too late for me!
  34. Aug 15, 2011
    3
    This wasn't the superhero movie I was trying to see, but thank goodness the movie was a total 3-D waste. OK, I'm not a fan of Green Lantern (he is probably overrated), but how come they still going to make a sequel if it was #1? Are the filmmakers making a second chance opportunity at greatness against Batman and Superman movies? The answer is NO. Nobody even critics wants a Green Lantern sequel because of Ryan Reynolds slow but awkward performance. Green Lantern was another mediocrity in 3-D movies so far and a mild one. I hate Green Lantern and it is one of the worst movies of 2011. Expand
  35. Aug 12, 2011
    4
    Expected to see something more, found it very.... boring, however, its a pretty good adaptation, the acting is terrible and disappointing, and also, the effects are good, but the acting is as bad as Transformers's
  36. Aug 25, 2011
    3
    In brightest day, in blackest night, no crappy movies shall escape my sight. Let brain-dead hacks who cannot write, beware this critic... (referring to Green Lantern) IT'S NO DARK KNIGHT! No indeed. Green Lantern is far, far away from The Dark Knight.
  37. Aug 23, 2011
    2
    Certains m'avaient critiqué du fait que je donnais mon avis (péjoratif) sur le film à partir de la première bande-annonce, qu'il fallait que j'attende le rendu final. Et je dois bien avouer qu'ils avaient raison : Green Lantern est bien pire de ce à quoi je m'attendais. Avec un humour qui tombe toujours à plat, un rendu visuel trop poussé à en être moche à regarder et des acteurs pitoyables, s'ajoutent un manque de punch incroyable (la puissance d'un pouvoir sans limite n'est vraiment pas présente) et tout un tas de clichés incroyables des films du genre. En somme, Green Lantern ne révolutionne pas les films de super-héros, mais il a le culot de se montrer à la hauteur alors qu'il ne l'est pas. Batman peut dormir sur ses deux pointes. Expand
  38. Oct 15, 2011
    3
    Based on the DC comic character of the same name, Martin Campbellâ
  39. Oct 19, 2011
    3
    I can sum it up in a word "Disappointing". The entire start to the movie, from the badly v.o back story, to the whole fighter pilot scenes, set the movie up really badly. There was no substance, nothing clever, and overall just anti-climactic. Each year, comic book heroes are coming to life nd getting better and better, but unfortunately this one missed the mark entirely.
  40. Jun 28, 2013
    0
    Going into this movie, I didn't expect much. But what I watched was a disaster! Probably the worst super hero movie made!? The story was typical, the cgi was awful! I felt like I was watching cut scenes from PS2 game, the movie felt rushed. Avoid!
  41. Oct 11, 2011
    2
    Is incredible how in a movie that lasting 2 hours, nothing happens, this movie is boring and lifeless, 2 villains and both didn´t scare you or make you feel danger, one super hero that is more busy flirting with a girl than actually saving the world, and even worst a nonsense story
  42. Jun 14, 2012
    2
    Green Lantern is laughable because the hero is neither charismatic nor heroic he is just this human being with a lot of special effects on him. The special effects are awful and the acting is terrible. This a severe disappointment. I give this movie 16%. I say this is the worse superhero movie, ever!
  43. Jan 20, 2012
    2
    Hollywood have done it again!
    This movie felt rushed from beginning to end. Plot wholes everywere and as a comic book nerd i felt raped after watching this movie. Did they even READ the comics? This is just as bad as AVP & AVP:R.
    This movie had a BIG budget and where did all the money go? If you are a comic book fan and like marvel/dc movies i advice you NOT to spend money for this pile
    of shi*. Go and watch Captain America or even Ben Afflecks DareDevil. Expand
  44. Jan 22, 2012
    0
    Ryan Reynolds has officially ruined his career with this movie. Until this point, he'd been a great comedy actor with some crossovers into drama & action. The only movies of the comic-book inspired superhero genre worth seeing, in my opinion, are the revived Batman series of movies. Even those are getting a bit campy with Bale's overly-dramatic angry whisper-delivered dialogue. Hollywood needs new creative minds badly. Expand
  45. Mar 28, 2012
    0
    This movie is corn-al-icious, and was painful to watch. It was easily one of the worst movies I have ever seen. Do not watch this, it is terrible, and you could probably AVP more.
  46. Mar 17, 2012
    0
    Basically this is a movie about a guy who finds a ring and saves the world. That story dates back to like 1930 when comics first came out. This movie is filled with cheesy special effects and dated story. I was very surprised to find this movie was a total bomb. This movie is just terrible and I didn't like it at all.
  47. Mar 26, 2012
    4
    Story and plot wise the movie is pretty darn bland and very random. Events sort of just happen without any reasonable explanation or emotional connection. For instance in the beginning a Green Lantern dies, who is supposedly a great comrade to another Lantern, we no nothing about him and the other Lantern with a straight face is grieving for the lose. The event is also very confusing because we really donâ Expand
  48. Apr 18, 2013
    3
    Of all the second-rate comic book movies that has occupied most of 2011's summer, "Green Lantern" is the only one of its crowd without a saving grace. "Captain America: The First Avenger" saw a true hero in Steve Rogers, giving as much attention to his human character as with his superhuman attributes. It was the goofy playfulness of "Thor" that made its overall silliness acceptable. "X-Men: First Class" was a prequel that founded itself on prior knowledge, instead of avoiding it. "Green Lantern" doesn't have a singular thing that could make it more than what we already expect. It fulfills the requisites of the superhero genre, then immediately stops trying.

    Millions of years ago, long before the nuisance of 3-D, an assembly of aliens called the Guardians formed an intergalactic peace-keeping organization. Each member, called a Green Lantern, was assigned to protect one of the 3,600 sectors of the universe. We're not sure how many planets or galaxies each sector covers, but we trust the judgment of the Guardians. With the whole universe accounted for, the blue, big headed Guardians have decided to spend the rest of their immortal lives in a planet called Oa. This peace is interrupted when a colossal, evil force named Parallax figured that it would be real evil if he started to eat planets; Earth and Oa are on his menu.

    Meanwhile, on Earth, our central human characters who coincidentally all have daddy issues, are introduced. Hal Jordan is a reckless test pilot whose actions on the job are always questioned by his authorities. When a severely injured Green Lantern crash lands on our planet, Hal is the one chosen by the Lantern's ring as his replacement. His duty later lands him in Oa, where he meets the Guardians. Plot details are discussed, obvious questions are asked, and shallow dilemmas are regarded with undeserved seriousness as a delay for the obligatory climactic confrontation, like taking 90 minutes to get to a destination 60 minutes away.

    Read more here: http://localmoviereview.com/green-lantern-movie-review/
    Expand
  49. Aug 25, 2012
    1
    I had never heard of the Green Lantern before The Big Bang Theory but now I know why. This film is awful and the whole idea of the character and the universe from which it derives is awful. I know the filmmakers clearly didn't come up with the character's powers but how did this comic ever become successful? The film itself was below par, Ryan Reynolds did his best but no one else can really say they did anything positive in this film (or at least anything of note). Do not watch this film. Expand
  50. Jul 1, 2014
    4
    This movie had been in development since 1997 and they still managed to **** it up. The plot was really small and it tried to show its special effects. This movie is just plain bad. Barely anyrhing is good about it.
  51. Nov 15, 2012
    2
    It's not treacherous, but it's laughable, and it doesn't intend to be.
  52. Dec 2, 2012
    2
    This film is awful. I was really looking forward to watching It and I was really disappointed. The film is slow paced and the fight scenes were abysmal. A film I do not recommend at all.
  53. Dec 30, 2012
    2
    Bad movie in general. The story line was dumb and bad acting. I dont mean to offend any comic book movie lovers but this was the worst comic book movie Ive seen in a long time. And what kind of a mask only covers you eyes???
  54. Jan 12, 2013
    4
    I don't think I've ever seen so much effort put in to a movie for such mediocre return. What I mean to say is that almost every scene of this movie is absolutely beautiful. Seriously breathtaking visuals. And yet, it's so overwhelmingly boring. What an odd dichotomy. Worth watching if for nothing else than a study in how important it is to have a strong script before you pour so much money and talent in to a project like this. Expand
  55. Aug 24, 2013
    2
    [2.1] I don't think I'm lying when I say this is the worst movie I've ever seen. It's uninteresting, incredibly unoriginal, and extremely painful. I don't understand how a group of adults, still, in the 2000's can make something so poorly written, and such a mess. For f**k's sake, good movies can make money too!
  56. Mar 30, 2013
    2
    why would anyone think that this is a good movie idea is beyond me even so the Execution is ridiculous how can someone is Exposed to something that can travel him anywhere in the universe never act surprised like it was happening to him his entire life this movie don't make any sense in the slightest.
  57. Jun 2, 2013
    3
    In an era of the comic book movie this is one of the worst. A lot of pointless story telling mixed with an unimportant villain and some mediocre acting makes you hope they just cancel any sequel plans.
  58. Aug 16, 2013
    1
    I wonder why i still want to watch this movie. maybe it's just too infamous. for me reynolds still can fit to physical qualification of Jordan. And yes, i like the likeness of Sinestro. But everything else....it just...can be thrown out of the movie. The story...doesn't not engaging at all. All the corps doing nothing just making lamp through the space...just Hal...even Hal action sequences also feels boring and inconsistent. some of the battle he's weak, but he beat Parallax himself. Poor Hal, poor Sinestro, they deserve better. Expand
  59. May 16, 2013
    3
    When launched the Green Lantern thought would be a cool movie, but it was not, for me it became a rich experience weak and exploited. Not worth it to have spent money for nothing in a disposable product.
  60. Jul 24, 2013
    4
    this movie of green lantern was a very deception for me .
    Ryan Reynolds has the potential to be the green lantern but the movie is turning to the ridiculous
    the scenario would have been very well but it was badly exploited
  61. Jul 31, 2013
    4
    Boring. Very boring.
    I was never much of a Green Lantern fan, but I still thought he was an interesting character. I was excited for this move to an extent. However, the film is your standard origin story and doesn't do anything unique or even anything special like say... Batman Begins.

    To take a character like the Green Lantern and to transform into a mediocre, two dimensional hero
    is... wrong. It's not the worst super hero film. Far, and I mean FAR from it. It's just a mediocre film. A boring one too. Expand
  62. Nov 12, 2013
    4
    This is one of the worst super hero movies I’ve seen. The plot is common (the hero masters his powers very quickly showing how great humans are), the characters follow the usual stereotypes (the man is irresponsible while the woman is perfectly balanced), the cgi are mediocre or worse (the planet of the Green Lanterns looks like a video game stage) and the action is not convincing (using a giant spring to throw a truck to the villain doesn’t look good). The villains are a huge evil cloud who drinks souls for breakfast and a potato-head who is depressed because daddy doesn't appreciate him. Lastly, there are many Green Lanterns in the universe but they are all useless except for the hero. At least the pacing is fast and the two protagonists, Reynolds and Lively, are pleasant to watch.
    argonautis.eu
    Expand
  63. Dec 8, 2013
    2
    This movie is so bad I don't even know where to begin. It has bad acting from everyone in this film. Its almost like the director said "act like you were on a school play, but worse". Second, the graphics were awful. They even put in a CG mask. Who does that? Third, the script was garbage. It folowed no real plot, which just went from bad to worse. Easily the worst superhero movie of all time.
  64. Jan 21, 2014
    3
    The trailer made this film actually look like a summer blockbuster to watch out for, the problem was the casting, acting, writing, editing... pretty much the entire film despite the spectacular effects. Mark Strong was the shining light through this storm of terrible.
  65. Aug 16, 2014
    3
    Sadly this movie had a really bland plot and dialogue with a boring villain. Another big problem with this movie is there was way too much CGI. Well I can understand everything that is made by the Green Lanterns but did Hal's costume and Sinestro have to be CGI? Overall this movie was a mess.
  66. Jan 12, 2014
    4
    Last year, I rented Green Lantern from iTunes to watch on the Christmas holidays. I heard that it was a terrible movie, but I went ahead and watched it anyways. The movie was OK at the start, but then it just went downhill from there. The acting was kinda crap on certain areas, there was a slight overuse on CGI which made it look like the director was lazy and the story wasn't that interesting because I was left confused with certain parts of the movie.

    I do not think that the person who directed this movie did any good with it seeing as they had to switch directors during the making of this movie. It honestly could have done with more finer tuning in a lot of areas if this were to become a great movie. If you are a DC fan and you did not watch the movie, I suggest you don't watch it. You are better off getting the Green Lantern video game than watching this piece of crap.
    Expand
  67. Apr 21, 2014
    4
    This movie was such a disappointment I thought I was going to love this movie and I definitely didn't. There was noting memorable about this movie. If I was asked to re tell what happened in this movie I probably wouldn't be able to and I can usually retell every movie I watch. And the ending of this movie happened so suddenly I still thought there was like 30 minutes left and it went straight from an action scene and then pretty much just ended. A disappointing movie to say the least. Expand
  68. May 17, 2014
    4
    Green Lantern is a giant letdown. This movie shows that Marvel is better at making movies then DC. The suit looks awful. I don't know which of the two bad guys is the main villan. In my opinion There are two movies that came out in 2011 that is way better then this movie is, and they are Transformers Dark Of The Moon and X men First Class.
Metascore
39

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 39
  2. Negative: 15 out of 39
  1. Reviewed by: Marc Savlov
    Jun 23, 2011
    20
    It's a helluva comic book, to be sure, but it's a godawful mess of a movie.
  2. 60
    Apart from having no particular reason to exist onscreen, especially at these prices, it's not half bad.
  3. Reviewed by: Glen Weldon
    Jun 17, 2011
    40
    The film splinters into three near-discrete storylines that don't play all that well together.