User Score
5.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 551 Ratings

User score distribution:
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 12, 2012
    6
    Ryan Reynolds dons a green energy suit and defends Earth from outer space giant alien heads and a crazy scientist? Okay. Not perfect. But its fun all the same, and what superhero movie isn't?
  2. Jul 1, 2013
    6
    We can work with this. Don't do it again. There is no reason to reboot it. There is a decent world created, as long as the script and effects aren't as shoddy, then everything will be fine. No more floating poo monsters next time please.
  3. Sep 10, 2011
    4
    Equipped with poor CGI, decent performance from Ryan Reynolds, and a story that cannot hold itself in one whole piece, "Green Lantern" acknowledges me of DC's prominent failure to move its loved superhero into the big screen.
  4. Jun 17, 2011
    5
    The movie started off well enough and seemed to introduce some interesting concepts but the movie felt rushed. It really felt like whole scenes were missing. It was almost like they edited two movies into one and chopped it down, the end result is like someone trying to smash puzzle pieces that don't fit together. Some parts didn't make sense but it was...enjoyable, I guess? I didn't leaveThe movie started off well enough and seemed to introduce some interesting concepts but the movie felt rushed. It really felt like whole scenes were missing. It was almost like they edited two movies into one and chopped it down, the end result is like someone trying to smash puzzle pieces that don't fit together. Some parts didn't make sense but it was...enjoyable, I guess? I didn't leave fully disappointed, just slightly disappointed but I wasn't expecting very much to begin with. Stiff acting at times and hammy performances at others, they special effects were actually way better than I expected. I liked the ring on ring action sequences the best but the ending monster battle just sucked. Expand
  5. Jul 5, 2011
    6
    Putting aside all of the wonderful superhero movies that came out this year. Green Lantern isn't actually that bad. I was expecting it to be worst, but I guess only Daredevil will only dare to go down that level.

    I was really hoping that the movie was longer, so that we can see the development of the characters more. I believe that they really edited this baby. It feels as if the whole
    Putting aside all of the wonderful superhero movies that came out this year. Green Lantern isn't actually that bad. I was expecting it to be worst, but I guess only Daredevil will only dare to go down that level.

    I was really hoping that the movie was longer, so that we can see the development of the characters more. I believe that they really edited this baby. It feels as if the whole story was forced to us in 1 hour and 40 minutes. It would have been good if they focused on the childhood of Hal Jordan, before he became Green Lantern.

    While it does have good visuals, it over saturates you to the point of its overwhelming to see all these images all at once.

    The acting was okay, it wasn't as bad as I had imagined it, before I saw it. There really was no chemistry between Blake Lively and Ryan Reynolds. The supporting cast did a good job, Mark Strong and Peter Sarsgaard (But the screaming was too much to handle :p)

    Over-all I think that if you give this movie a chance you might find something in it to like. It gives you good visuals and scenery of the different planets.

    This movie doesn't really stack up to this years hit superhero movies. But it's not a bad movie.
    Expand
  6. Jun 22, 2011
    4
    This movie could have been so much better. There was to much talking, not enough action. I got bored. Go watch '' X-Men : First class '' instead, it's a way better superhero movie. At first, I didn't really think that Ryan Reynolds was a good choice for the role. After seeing the film, I finally thought he's okay as Hal Jordan. I expected more from '' Green Lantern ". It wasn't good has IThis movie could have been so much better. There was to much talking, not enough action. I got bored. Go watch '' X-Men : First class '' instead, it's a way better superhero movie. At first, I didn't really think that Ryan Reynolds was a good choice for the role. After seeing the film, I finally thought he's okay as Hal Jordan. I expected more from '' Green Lantern ". It wasn't good has I thought it will be, but not as bad either. It's a mediocre movie that almost touch the '' failure '' zone, in other words, the red zone. I wouldn't consider seeing it again, like never. I wanted to see Hal using the ring more often. Speaking of rings, I would have also enjoyed seeing the other Green lanterns using their ring as well. All they do is point it in the sky and shooting green laser or whatever. I don't have much to say about the movie, expect the fact that it's a disappointing, boring and forgettable movie. Expand
  7. Jun 17, 2011
    6
    This is nothing special, hell, mediocre at times. However, I left entertained enough to like it, if even a little. If only for the charm of it all, especially lead actor Ryan Reynolds, who manages, while of overall less quality, to dominate the film like Kenneth (last name here) did in Thor.
  8. Jun 30, 2011
    6
    O.k. Hal's transition into Green Lantern is a bit,unrealistic,Yes, I know it's a "Movie" about a "comic book superhero",but I believe the purpose of the theater is to turn fantasy into reality...so at least allow the characters to be a bit grounded towards reality. However on a whole, the movie was awesome and yes I would recommend it......
  9. Aug 17, 2011
    4
    The Green Lantern is my favorite DC comic book hero, so you can imagine my excitement as I sat down in the theater. Superhero movies always have a lot of potential, The Green Lantern included, needless to say, I was disappointed. Ryan Reynolds delivered an expressionless, boring character and was not fit for the role at all. Not just Ryan Reynolds though, all the actors do a depressing jobThe Green Lantern is my favorite DC comic book hero, so you can imagine my excitement as I sat down in the theater. Superhero movies always have a lot of potential, The Green Lantern included, needless to say, I was disappointed. Ryan Reynolds delivered an expressionless, boring character and was not fit for the role at all. Not just Ryan Reynolds though, all the actors do a depressing job at portraying any sort of emotion at all and most perform terribly at their roles. A cliche superhero plot is to be expected, but, unlike some films, this movie had no twists or surprises, and overall failed to impress. The special effects could have been much better, but were satisfactory. The action scenes never reach extreme excitement or explosive fun, but are still good enough to keep you interested. Everything felt rushed; some actually good scenes were cut off too quickly, the final battle came far too fast, and the whole movie I was hoping that one character would stand out and become defined, but alas, they never did. A disappointing superhero movie to say the least. For a superhero movie, this one is rushed, boring and sub-par. Expand
  10. Nov 18, 2011
    6
    This movie is very watchable and entertaining for a superhero movie. The special effects look expensive and the acting (esp Ryan Reynolds and Blake Lively) is decent. It makes for an excellent eye-candy piece, especially if you buy it on blu-ray. However, as a faithful interpretation of the Green Lantern lore, I found the movie to be merely okay. The director obviously knew where theThis movie is very watchable and entertaining for a superhero movie. The special effects look expensive and the acting (esp Ryan Reynolds and Blake Lively) is decent. It makes for an excellent eye-candy piece, especially if you buy it on blu-ray. However, as a faithful interpretation of the Green Lantern lore, I found the movie to be merely okay. The director obviously knew where the characters are generally going to end up. The teaser at the end is very accurate of the character's (Sinestro) fate. However, the movie focuses too much on the character of Hal Jordan and not enough on any of the other green lantern corps members. We never truly get into Sinestro's head or realize what a brute badass Kilowog really is. Overall, I thought Green Lantern First Flight was a far more enjoyable origin story for Green Lantern, even though it is animated. I think 10-20 years down the line when they make a new Green Lantern, (assuming this one does not receive a sequel) this version will be the equivalent to tim burton's Batman being compared to chis nolan's Batman Begins. Expand
  11. Jun 18, 2011
    6
    Definitely not as horrible as critics believe. The story was poorly presented at times and you can't help but feel that Jordan's fellow Lanterns were not present enough. Sinestro was definitely not used enough although I think Mark Strong did a great job with the script he was given. There could have been more action and fight scenes felt stunted when they were on screen. However, solidDefinitely not as horrible as critics believe. The story was poorly presented at times and you can't help but feel that Jordan's fellow Lanterns were not present enough. Sinestro was definitely not used enough although I think Mark Strong did a great job with the script he was given. There could have been more action and fight scenes felt stunted when they were on screen. However, solid acting with the given script and good effects, I would definitely recommend this to a fan of comics. Expand
  12. Jun 17, 2011
    4
    Green Lantern is simply disappointing.
    Just about a month ago, there was the amazing mythological story for the greek god Thor and then a couple of weeks later came the dream-team cast for X-men: First Class (a start off from the X-men trilogy). Yes, Summer is pretty much packed with superhero movies and eye-popping special effects. Then comes the Green Lantern...a very disappointing
    Green Lantern is simply disappointing.
    Just about a month ago, there was the amazing mythological story for the greek god Thor and then a couple of weeks later came the dream-team cast for X-men: First Class (a start off from the X-men trilogy). Yes, Summer is pretty much packed with superhero movies and eye-popping special effects. Then comes the Green Lantern...a very disappointing film.
    The special effects are...lets just say, its very green. I'm pretty sure the crew didn't have a huge problem with mistakes, mainly because they use a lot of green screen but I didn't care for any of the effects. It all looked fake and sitting on a seat for an hr and 45 mins watching different creatures wearing tight green suits, it just wasn't my thing. The only reason why I bother to watch this movie was because I remember reading about this lantern when I was about 7-8 years old and it was cool reading it on a comic book but on screen, it was an epic fail. Hal Jordon played by Ryan Reynolds: fail. You never really took him seriously and his facial expression (in my opinion) seems fit only for a comedy role. I found myself cracking up whenever he delievered all those scripted wisdom and besides he already has a role as the swordsman in X-men (Sorry, I forgot). Although the jokes fall bland especially if you've seen the beginning part of the trailer, there are some action extravaganza that covers for some hits and misses. Story/Plot: It explains itself and then it goes into details and infos and then at the end, turns out all that leads to nothing new or big.
    4 The only thing that kept my attention was the human interaction between Blake Lively's character and Mr. Ryan Reynolds. (Hey he's a good actor but as a hero, he comes off flat
    Pretty sure most won't agree but who gives a sh!t
    -nuff said.
    Expand
  13. Jun 19, 2011
    4
    After the bar has been raised for superhero movies in the past few years, Green Lantern just doesn't measure up. The fimmakers made no attempt to rise above rank mediocrity. At every level, this movie feels like it was phoned in.
  14. Jun 25, 2011
    6
    Many people have given it bad reviews but what i feel is that it is a good film which lacks action but got every other element a superhero movie should have. it has a good humorous moments which is new for a super hero film and is interesting. if you like the visual effects in avatar then this film provides u that. the only n important factor this film lacks is good action which theyMany people have given it bad reviews but what i feel is that it is a good film which lacks action but got every other element a superhero movie should have. it has a good humorous moments which is new for a super hero film and is interesting. if you like the visual effects in avatar then this film provides u that. the only n important factor this film lacks is good action which they showed it but was found short to be considered a action film. so overall it is good film not great but everyone should watch it at least ONCE. i think the ending was amazing if u liked the ending of usual suspects then u will love it. so HOPEFULLY the sequel to it will be better. Expand
  15. Jun 17, 2011
    6
    Even though the film tries it's hardest to be serious, it's not. The amount of CGI a low fueling plot lines make this film a dumbed down pointless mesh of superhero nerdiness. The acting is great but the story or lack of make this film unbearable for some.
  16. Jun 20, 2011
    6
    Being a Ryan Reynolds fan, I was determined to see the film no matter the poor reviews. Maybe it's because my expectations were low, but I was entertained. It isn't perfect. Some of the dialogue is clunky, and it follows the standard superhero formula, but it has some humor and great special effects. Strange to me that the critics loved the Spiderman movies but don't like this one.Being a Ryan Reynolds fan, I was determined to see the film no matter the poor reviews. Maybe it's because my expectations were low, but I was entertained. It isn't perfect. Some of the dialogue is clunky, and it follows the standard superhero formula, but it has some humor and great special effects. Strange to me that the critics loved the Spiderman movies but don't like this one. Spiderman was also formulaic, but I think Ryan Reynolds makes a better super hero than Tobey Maguire. All super hero movies follow the same formula, just like all romantic comedies follow the same formula, so I think critics are starting to get bored at super hero movies. I get that. I'm also hoping they come up with something original for the inevitable sequel, but this film was passable. Expand
  17. Jun 18, 2011
    4
    Green Lantern proves an entertaining, but poorly thought-out film. The movie contains visually captivating scenes and some humorous segments, but the film is afflicted by a slow-moving plot and conspicuous plot holes. Green Lantern kept me well entertained, and I do not regret paying the ticket price to see it; however, the quality of the movie is undoubtedly poor and it could have been aGreen Lantern proves an entertaining, but poorly thought-out film. The movie contains visually captivating scenes and some humorous segments, but the film is afflicted by a slow-moving plot and conspicuous plot holes. Green Lantern kept me well entertained, and I do not regret paying the ticket price to see it; however, the quality of the movie is undoubtedly poor and it could have been a much better movie had the writers decided to present a story that did not constantly skip around and make little sense. Moviegoers expecting a top-notch Green Lantern film adaptation will be disappointed; those seeking an entertaining movie containing superheroes and fighting sequences will most likely enjoy it. Expand
  18. Jun 19, 2011
    4
    I was kinda disappointed by this film. I thought that it would be as awesome as films like Iron Man and The Incredible Hulk but this movie never turns into anything more than a visually exciting movie. The villain is portrayed very good by Peter Sarsgard. Martin Campbell has made many better films like Casino Royale and The Mask of Zorro
  19. Jun 17, 2011
    4
    I normally dont agree with the critics at all but i have to say they are spot on with this movie. I give it a 4 because these types of comics are very hard to make into a film. It seemed cheesy to me. Ryan reynolds isnt the best actor in the world which i think we all know but he was funny and he fit the role of hal jordan/green lantern well. He has that **** attitude like hal and he hasI normally dont agree with the critics at all but i have to say they are spot on with this movie. I give it a 4 because these types of comics are very hard to make into a film. It seemed cheesy to me. Ryan reynolds isnt the best actor in the world which i think we all know but he was funny and he fit the role of hal jordan/green lantern well. He has that **** attitude like hal and he has the body frame for the green lantern. The movie just felt short and rushed. I felt as though you saw the entire movie in the trailer. I actuallyy fell asleep a couple of times during this movie, although i was tired and i saw the midnight showing, but the movie was pretty boring at times. If they do make a sequel i suggest they make it more epic like every comic book film should be. Create a stronger story, more action and certainly make the climax extended and epic, because the ending to this film as well with the whole movie, was awfully rushed. Overall the acting was sub par, not nearlyenough action, whole film was rushed but i give it a 4 because the comedy was definite,y there and Blake Lively is super hot in this movie. 4/10 Expand
  20. Jun 17, 2011
    5
    I might be overly complimentary giving it this rating. I love Ryan Reynolds. I'm excited about him being Deadpool. But the combination of he and Blake Lively who are clearly here for eye candy, along with dialogue that makes the Fantastic Four series seem like Citizen Kane, cannot sustain the brilliant effects and perfect representation of the Green Lantern Corps and backstory. As a comicI might be overly complimentary giving it this rating. I love Ryan Reynolds. I'm excited about him being Deadpool. But the combination of he and Blake Lively who are clearly here for eye candy, along with dialogue that makes the Fantastic Four series seem like Citizen Kane, cannot sustain the brilliant effects and perfect representation of the Green Lantern Corps and backstory. As a comic fan, they did a GREAT job with the Green Lantern aspect. But Ryan and Blake + awful writing = MEH. Expand
  21. Jun 22, 2011
    5
    Ryan Reynolds brings his deadpan comic charms to the superhero genre. He's given super powers to create cartoon weapons from his imagination. He's also plagued by self-doubt and a dead father. If it sounds like standard stuff for a superhero, you're right. The effects are convincing and it moves along well, but nothing about the film is particularly original or exciting. NOTE: Stay thruRyan Reynolds brings his deadpan comic charms to the superhero genre. He's given super powers to create cartoon weapons from his imagination. He's also plagued by self-doubt and a dead father. If it sounds like standard stuff for a superhero, you're right. The effects are convincing and it moves along well, but nothing about the film is particularly original or exciting. NOTE: Stay thru the first round of credits for another predictable postscript. Expand
  22. Jul 30, 2011
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I left this movie feeling pretty good.....and then I thought about one of things I liked best about it - the 3D effect. As far as superhero movies go, this one delivered. As for something new and "uninvented"...not at all. This was pretty much the superhero meets girl, girl falls in love with superhero, girl finds out uninteresting guy she knows is superhero. Don't dare see this without the 3D effect....you may be "green" with envy of those who did. Expand
  23. Jun 24, 2011
    5
    Not bad., but not great I probably liked this one a wee bit better than Thor, which isn't necessarily high praise since I thought Thor was average. The critics savaged this film and I can certainly see where the harsh reviews were coming from, but it wasn't all bad. This is summer popcorn fluff. Yes, the dialogue is cheesy. Yes, the love story is tired. But it wasn't the worst movie ever.Not bad., but not great I probably liked this one a wee bit better than Thor, which isn't necessarily high praise since I thought Thor was average. The critics savaged this film and I can certainly see where the harsh reviews were coming from, but it wasn't all bad. This is summer popcorn fluff. Yes, the dialogue is cheesy. Yes, the love story is tired. But it wasn't the worst movie ever. I do question the need for Hector Hammond. The actor was fine, but I've always thought he was a lame villain. Odd choice for a starter. Expand
  24. Jun 20, 2011
    5
    I like cheesy movies. That being said, i was a bit disappointed in this film. Sure movies from certain source material aren't always 100% true to the story, but when watching this movie i asked myself a few times "What's happening again?" I've read the Geoff Johns comics multiple times, so part of the disappointment was my fan factor. But i really enjoyed X-Men: First Class, and i don'tI like cheesy movies. That being said, i was a bit disappointed in this film. Sure movies from certain source material aren't always 100% true to the story, but when watching this movie i asked myself a few times "What's happening again?" I've read the Geoff Johns comics multiple times, so part of the disappointment was my fan factor. But i really enjoyed X-Men: First Class, and i don't know much about that universe. I think my biggest disappointment was Ryan Reynolds, I was really pulling for him and i don't think he pulled through for me. If you don't know much about Green Lantern give this movie a chance, it isn't terrible. But if you're a DC fanboy, you may want to wait for rental. Expand
  25. Jun 23, 2011
    5
    R.R does it again, he was perfect for the role. I love comic movies and GL is an old favorite of mine. The movie started off really good but slowed up fast. The movie goes by the rule your power is the limit of your imagination, but the writers really didn't follow that well, The 3 small fight scenes where cool but way to short. Overall the movie wasn't bad the acting was awesome theR.R does it again, he was perfect for the role. I love comic movies and GL is an old favorite of mine. The movie started off really good but slowed up fast. The movie goes by the rule your power is the limit of your imagination, but the writers really didn't follow that well, The 3 small fight scenes where cool but way to short. Overall the movie wasn't bad the acting was awesome the special effects where too. But it seemed to lack action and the imagination like GL has. I hope the second one is better. Expand
  26. Dec 21, 2011
    6
    The main problem with Green Lantern isn't that it's a bad movie. On the contrary, the vast majority of its elements work on film. The effects are superb, and different enough from the mainstream to stand out. The actors are also good in the vast majority - Ryan Reynolds is effortlessly likeable as our titular hero, and Mark Strong is as good as he always is as the fantastically morallyThe main problem with Green Lantern isn't that it's a bad movie. On the contrary, the vast majority of its elements work on film. The effects are superb, and different enough from the mainstream to stand out. The actors are also good in the vast majority - Ryan Reynolds is effortlessly likeable as our titular hero, and Mark Strong is as good as he always is as the fantastically morally complex Sinestro. The action is also extremely well-handled, with director Martin Campbell proving himself to be just as competent at handling special effects-driven filmic spectacle as with the practicall (as he demonstrated in Goldeneye and Casino Royale). The film fails in main because of its exceedingly daft source material. The Green Lantern comics were stupid even by super hero standards, and it would be nigh-on impossible for even the most accomplished director to bring this universe to the big screen with a completely straight face. Luckily, Campbell doesn't take things too seriously, and this results in one of the film's most pleasing moments, when love interest Carol Ferris (Blake Lively) comments on the ridiculousness of people not guessing Green Lantern's identity simply because they "can't see his cheekbones". Even this self-awareness can't save the film as a whole - the ideas behind this stupid universe aren't consistent or fully developed, and visual creativity doesn't stop Green Lantern from being ridiculous. The acting talent of such masters as Tim Robbins is almost completely wasted, and his relationship with estranged son Hector Hammond (Peter Sarsgaard) is woefully under-developed. Despite these obvious failings, Green Lantern remains an entertaining diversion, and a decent, if fairly hollow super hero film. Perhaps if a sequel is made, this intriguing intergalactic cop can truly step into the light... Expand
  27. Jun 20, 2011
    5
    This is only an OK superhero movie. It is incredibly noisy, it is over produced, and the acting is nothing to brag about. The special effects are amazing, as to be expected. I was incredibly disappointed by the final battle between the Green Lantern and whatever the villain was. The battle ended rather quickly and in a cheap way. There was a lot of stuff introduced in the film, such asThis is only an OK superhero movie. It is incredibly noisy, it is over produced, and the acting is nothing to brag about. The special effects are amazing, as to be expected. I was incredibly disappointed by the final battle between the Green Lantern and whatever the villain was. The battle ended rather quickly and in a cheap way. There was a lot of stuff introduced in the film, such as his father's death, that did not get explained. The best part of the movie was Geoffrey Rush as that fish like being. He was also the narrator, and he has an awesome voice, so that was nice. Overall, it is not a good movie that is also a comic book, such as The Dark Knight, and it is not a good comic book movie, either. If you are a fan of the Green Lantern, see it, if not, and you want to see a superhero movie, see a better one. I recommend X-men: First Class, or Thor, both of which are far better. Expand
  28. Jun 18, 2011
    5
    When it's good, It's amazing. But when it's bad, Green Lantern is painful to watch. The movie is incredibly unfocused in the beginning and introduces numerous characters who're never expanded upon or mentioned again. To make matters worse, this film has barely a drop of acting talent for almost the entire live action cast. Ryan Reynolds does a decent job, along with Mark Strong who does aWhen it's good, It's amazing. But when it's bad, Green Lantern is painful to watch. The movie is incredibly unfocused in the beginning and introduces numerous characters who're never expanded upon or mentioned again. To make matters worse, this film has barely a drop of acting talent for almost the entire live action cast. Ryan Reynolds does a decent job, along with Mark Strong who does a fantastic Sinestro. And the CGI aliens are brilliantly portrayed. But just about every scene on Earth is painfully boring or stupid.

    However, the silver lining to this cloud is that the scenes off of Earth are all fantastic. Oa is depicted beautifully, and the fight scenes occurring on it and in outer space are fantastic. All of the CGI effects, including the green lantern constructs, are outstanding and really the saving grace of this movie.

    For the average movie goer, I can only just barely say this movie would be worth seeing. It squeaks by with outstanding special effects and surprisingly creative fight scenes. Comic book fans, you'll certainly go see this regardless, but don't be surprised when you see deplorable acting from most of the cast and a very scattered story.
    Expand
  29. Jun 20, 2011
    5
    It's not awful. It's not great. It's just very middle of the road. If they were to make a sequel I'm sure it would be much cleaner and more entertaining. These franchises always have to build an understanding of a character in order to move forward with a story. And G.L. is more than a high school kid being bitten by a spider, or a rich guy buying gadgets. So it's a little dry toIt's not awful. It's not great. It's just very middle of the road. If they were to make a sequel I'm sure it would be much cleaner and more entertaining. These franchises always have to build an understanding of a character in order to move forward with a story. And G.L. is more than a high school kid being bitten by a spider, or a rich guy buying gadgets. So it's a little dry to start. But it's ok. Ryan Reynolds needed to be more Ryan Reynolds and have fun with it. But he's not awful. Some of his dialog is cliche for sure. It's summer popcorn movie. I have seen far worse this year. Expand
  30. Jun 25, 2011
    5
    I went into "Green Lantern" without any expectations, despite the terrible reviews & the fact that I've been reading the comic for over fifteen years - I was just happy to finally see one of my favorite superheroes brought to life. Somewhere around the twenty-minute mark, I actually thought, "I wonder what all the negativity is about; this is actually pretty entertaining." What followedI went into "Green Lantern" without any expectations, despite the terrible reviews & the fact that I've been reading the comic for over fifteen years - I was just happy to finally see one of my favorite superheroes brought to life. Somewhere around the twenty-minute mark, I actually thought, "I wonder what all the negativity is about; this is actually pretty entertaining." What followed soon after that thought extinguished my feeling of hope.. The worst scenes are the ones that involve the romance between Hal & Carol Farris as the majority fall flat & are even cringe-inducing at times. One scene is especially bad & I couldn't help but think, "What is this, 'Top Gun'?" Although Carol is an important part of the Green Lantern mythology, it feels like much of her relationship with Hal is shoehorned into the film in order to draw a more varied audience.. However, my biggest problem with the movie is not the romance, but how little time is spent away from Earth. In my opinion, the off-world scenes are the most enjoyable parts of the movie, but they feel squandered amongst the rest of the film. Without spoiling anything, a lot of the plot-lines feel incomplete, while the amalgamation of important chapters of the comic book mythology feels like a wasted opportunity to paint a bigger picture of the Green Lantern universe that could have easily been expanded in sequels stemming directly from concepts introduced in this movie. Example: I can't help but wonder what purpose, if any, Angela Bassett's character will serve as her role in the comic book world is an important one; maybe she'll be the Nick Fury of DC movies..? Casting: Besides a few good moments, Ryan Reynolds just did not fit as Hal Jordan. If he were playing Booster Gold, I'd be singing a different tune.. As for the rest of the cast, Mark Strong is excellent as Sinestro & Peter Sarsgaard is very effective as Hector Hammond. Overall, I didn't think any of the acting was bad; the writing is what keeps "Green Lantern" from becoming anything memorable. Expand
  31. Jul 17, 2011
    5
    A completely mediocre movie. The movie relied on its constant barrage of special effects and minimized on the plot. The villain in the movie is a diarrhea cloud and isn't even slightly scary. As far as super hero movies go, there is nothing special here.
  32. Aug 2, 2011
    5
    It's another Marvel film but it wasn't a good one like Captain America I like seeing Ryan Reynolds and he was trying to give a good job in this movie so it is not his fault for the bad review. It not a movie that you should go out of your way to watch. Just wait till it comes on T.V. or go if someone offers to buy your ticket.
  33. Jul 20, 2011
    6
    The Green Lanterns powers are based around his willpower and imagination, so why then did this movie lack imagination? While I did enjoy it at the time, afterwards once I got home and started thinking about it, it wasn't that great, actually. I'd watch it, but I probably wouldn't pay to do so.
  34. Sep 28, 2011
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I actually liked the movie more then the reviews led me to believe I would. I mean... you start out with the big fighter dogfight in the skies and I was like, yeah hey, this is uh, this is alright. It kinda reminded me of the F22 dogfight in Iron Man, and that was a pretty good high-flying action scene. Well here, they're also flying around in fighter planes and it's all cool looking and kinetic. I enjoyed that.

    There was a lot of fear about Blake Lively and her performance as Carol Ferris, since the first trailer had that infamously halting line reading, "Hal! This test today! It's! Important!" So yeah, I was very leery of her. But... actually, in the full finished product, I thought she gave an adequate performance. It was okay, it was alright. It wasn't that bad, actually. Her line readings were not like fingernails being scraped across a chalkboard. It wasn't a great performance, but I found that she did fine with the material she was given... which wasn't much. It wasn't compelling stuff, but she did look good delivering it. Maybe that's partially blinding me, I dunno. I'll admit, I find her pretty damn attractive. She's one of those women who's able to look equally as sexy with her natural blonde hair or with dark brunette, which she had here. Right now, I feel like she gave a better accounting of herself then Katie Holmes did in Batman Begins. Not great, but not terrible either.

    The stuff on Oa with Sinestro was done really well. I was pleased with Mark Strong's depiction, it felt pitch perfect. He's just conjuring up two or three swords at a time and completely schooling Hal with this training sequence and it's like yeah, that's exactly how Sinestro would behave, he doesn't have time for this upstart rookie. If you gather up 3600 of the bravest and most determined beings in the universe... of course they're all going to be somewhat elitist and headstrong and have no patience for the newbies.

    But then you keep watching and the film starts letting you down more and more. The editing is a complete trainwreck and just makes no sense at times. Sinestro leads a taskforce of Lanterns to battle Parallax and they predictably get massacred. That didn't really bother me, but the editing for that sequence was just atrocious. We see them try and net Parallax and he breaks free and begins to suck the fear out of two or three Lanterns and... that's it, cut to Sinestro explaining their defeat to the Guardians back on Oa. Now... why the sudden cut? Why not show us a bit more? Hell, why not actually show us why Sinestro didn't get murderized along with the rest of the lanterns? Parallax just somehow decided to spare Sinestro? He just fed on a couple, got full, and slithered away? Did Sinestro pull any nifty maneuvers or tricks to escape with his life? What the hell happened there? The movie's only about 1 hour and 45 minutes along, so why the **** is it chopped down so damn much? There could've been much more shown to us.

    Of course, another example is the confrontation with Hector Hammond in the secret lab. Now, he's just taken out a bunch of security guards, murdered one scientist, knocked out Amanda Waller (Angela Bassett in a real waste of a role here, she didn't do much of anything. I suspect she's not dead because Waller is a big fixture in the DCU and they'd want her back in other films), and barbequed his father Tim Robbins (who for some reason looked even younger then his son Peter Sarsgaard). This is pretty serious stuff here. And yet he just gets to escape at the end of the scene. Why didn't Hal go and pursue him? The man has a giant head and doesn't seem to have any super speed, so it looked like it'd be easy to catch him. Yet nothing happens. We next see Hammond writhing around on his bed, apparently. Nobody thought to check his residence? There'd probably be a massive search for an alien-infected man responsible for the murder of a US Senator, right?

    And the design for Parallax was so bad, Jesus Christ. I was kinda open to anything they'd come up with. I mean, in the books, it's just this yellow space insect thing which tends to look a bit silly and you know, why would the embodiment of fear look like a giant bug? It's sorta silly, so I was alright with changing that aspect of it. There's all sorts of different places you could go with that, in order to make it more palateable for audiences. But they for whatever reason decided to go with... a big dark, murky cloud with tentacles and a silly giant head that reminded me of the Martians from "Mars Attacks!" I dunno, I was not feeling that creative decision at all, it looked like a pile of crap. And didn't we learn that giant space clouds make for **** villains, from that second Fantastic Four movie? Why revisit that territory? Given the choice between an octopus cloud and a giant insect... I think I'd probably take the giant insect.
    Expand
  35. Sep 10, 2013
    4
    Not so bad. I liked it and I would like to see it for a second time. Do not listen to the critics and watch it!!! You will enjoy it. One of the most underrated films ever.
  36. Jul 26, 2011
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The future of mankind depends on the joystick doings of a college-bound kid who lives in a trailer park. It's 1984, and Alex Rogan is going for the Starfighter record, blasting spaceships on a coin-operated video game in pursuit of a million points before a live audience. When he crosses the threshold, you know the record is legitimate because Alex breaks the mark on a sanctioned machine, which makes all the difference in the world, according to Billy Mitchell, who discredits the world record-breaking Donkey Kong score posted by Washington resident Steve Wiebe in "The King of Kong", the 2007 documentary about the subculture of competitive gaming. 874,300 and 1,006,600 are meaningless numbers, relevant only to an insular group of eighties refugees, but in "The Last Starfighter", the score matters; it's actually a world record, tied with other players, extra-terrestrials from distant galaxies who presumably are all smarter than Alex, which proves Twin Galaxies referee Walter Day right with his claim that first generation arcade games require "comprehensive thinking". Whereas Wiebe, a middle-school science teacher, drives cross-country to New Hampshire for a winner-take-all showdown with Mitchell, a chicken wing hot sauce tycoon, Alex's journey takes him to the stars, as he's transported across the universe by Centauri, an interplanetary recruiter for Rylos, the planet where Alex, a jack-of-all-trades(including plumber, just like Mario), is expected to defend the Kodan Armada from Xur. It's the video game's premise come to life; it's a ten-year-old kid's wet dream, but Alex's brother is too busy ogling centerfolds from his Playboy stash. Early on, "The Last Starfighter" recognized the potential for arrested development in video game-playing males. Exhibit A: the "boys" at Fun Spot whose lives are centered around a Donkey Kong champion, twenty-three years after the film last played in theaters. This should be Louis' adventure. Released one year after Dragon's Lair(the first role-playing coin-op), the "Star Wars" knockoff demonstrates how anything could be an avatar, be it an interstellar fighter pilot or an Italian-American plumber-turned-"Average Joe" superhero, and more importantly, shows how the movies would someday resemble video games, in which "The Green Lantern" is just one more spectacle-laden example. In essence, Hal Jordan flies his plane like a gamer, breaking the rules of engagement like Maverick in "Top Gun", but Cruise managed to be human, unlike the superhero, who is clearly a cipher. The ring chooses Hal by default, since earth just happens to be the planet that Abin Sur crashes on. Earth has no affiliation with the Green Lantern Corps., whose leader deems the human species worthy only of his contempt. Alex, likewise, is considered to be a fluke. Centauri explains how the machine was originally headed for Vegas, but inexplicably, it turned up at a "fleaspeck trailer park", completely incongruous to its natural surroundings, an arcade, just like how the monolith in "2001: A Space Odyssey" winds up in the African desert, causing a disturbance among the apes(Donkey Kong, a gorilla, is a kind of ape). Earth isn't even a part of the league. Humans are comparably stupid. However, similar to how the monolith instilled that first ape with the intelligence to use the bone as a weapon, the machine makes Alex smarter, bringing him up to speed in order to make him competitive with the higher-evolved recruits. Like "The Last Starfighter", this latest DC Comics adaptation features a loss of narrative momentum, in which both protagonists return home when earth doesn't seem to be in any imminent danger. "Save the whales, but not the universe," observes Alex's replicant when the humanoid first sees the conscientious objector. Like the would-be starfighter, Hal is also an isolationist; he doesn't see how the Parallax's rampage against the planets of his Green Lantern brethren affects earth. Cowards at heart, nevertheless, self-preservation keeps both Hal and Alex alive and enables them to save their home when it comes under attack. At Alex's orientation for the Rylan Star League, the "death or victory" chant that comes at the end of the speaker's closing statements recall the Japanese mentality during WWII, turning the starfighter recruits into something akin to kamikaze pilots. Alex, being American, is impervious to the brainwashing. Similarly, the Parallax possesses the same quintessential war period Japanese characteristic of fearlessness, as embodied by the fear essence's "yellow" energy. It's Hal's humanity; his admission of being afraid to die which makes him successful against the Parallax and Hector, whose bulbous head, a result of exposure to radiation, could be interpreted as a reference to the atomic bombs that leveled Japan. Donkey Kong is suicide too. Most games "don't last a minute". It's suicide, manufactured by Nintendo. Expand
  37. May 16, 2012
    5
    While all the happenings in space is visually jaw-dropping and exciting, Hal Jordan's life on Earth is slow, unfunny and uninteresting. Main characters lack development and vital plot points are practically breezed over. This is a fault of the movie's short length, bearing under two hours long. Not bad, but you could spend your time on better stuff out right now.
  38. Jan 8, 2013
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Overall, Green Lantern is an ok film. There Expand
  39. Jul 18, 2011
    5
    An enjoyable but easily forgettable movie that will keep fans of comic book movies happy but will bore anyone expecting to get the same quality as movies like the Dark Knight. Ryan Reynolds was the perfect choice for Hal Jordan but it seems Martin Campbell director of Casino Royale was out of his depth doing a comic book movie.
  40. Feb 10, 2012
    5
    At this point, it's kind of just another comic book story made into a movie. It's not that bad, but I can't say it's that good either. I mean, what did the people behind the movie expect people were going to think? It's another modern day guy who finds super powers and has to save the universe, probably the five hundredth time this has happened at this point in the DC Comics Universe. IAt this point, it's kind of just another comic book story made into a movie. It's not that bad, but I can't say it's that good either. I mean, what did the people behind the movie expect people were going to think? It's another modern day guy who finds super powers and has to save the universe, probably the five hundredth time this has happened at this point in the DC Comics Universe. I did enjoy watching it, but it still should have been better. Rent it, but don't buy it. Expand
  41. Nov 1, 2011
    4
    Setting expectations as side, Green Lantern was weak, clumsy and embarrassing for DC comics. Ryan Reynolds is a decent actor and the only thing that held this movie from being a total disaster. The screenplay and story were a mess full of filler and threads that go nowhere, the action scenes were mostly lame. Parts of the special effects were OK, but most were overdone and made the movieSetting expectations as side, Green Lantern was weak, clumsy and embarrassing for DC comics. Ryan Reynolds is a decent actor and the only thing that held this movie from being a total disaster. The screenplay and story were a mess full of filler and threads that go nowhere, the action scenes were mostly lame. Parts of the special effects were OK, but most were overdone and made the movie look like an unbelievable green cartoon mashed with real life. The film makers also seem confused to what has made marvel comic movies so successful recently. This movie did not need to be made and does not need to be watched. Pass Expand
  42. Jul 23, 2011
    5
    Green Lantern is an alright film. Some of the fight scenes are cool and the story can be interesting to learn. The problems with the film is it could have gone into more detail about some of the characters but they didnt and this isnt the best superhero film ive ever seen. I would give this film a high rental
  43. Jul 24, 2011
    5
    This movie was.....ok. Even though Ryan Reynolds is unbeliveably sexy(which is why is saw this movie.) I think he could have played the role better than he did. I honestly think he is better off doing roles other than superheroes and involve less cheesy lines.
  44. Jul 12, 2011
    4
    I am a fan of Green Lantern comics and TV shows, having said that, this movie just SUCKED!! Granted there are some good moments in the movie but there are just too many bad moments that hurt this film. Actor Ryan Reynolds tried his best from what was given to him, however, actress Blake Lively was just terrible, looking dumb the whole time, just made me annoyed. Sad to say, but GreenI am a fan of Green Lantern comics and TV shows, having said that, this movie just SUCKED!! Granted there are some good moments in the movie but there are just too many bad moments that hurt this film. Actor Ryan Reynolds tried his best from what was given to him, however, actress Blake Lively was just terrible, looking dumb the whole time, just made me annoyed. Sad to say, but Green Lantern is not what the fan's were waiting for and this film is not worth paying full price! I give this movie a matinee because you are going to have enjoy watching it. Expand
  45. Jul 13, 2011
    5
    Tale as old as time. Ordinary man becomes superhero, explores powers, likes a girl, a villain arrives, saves the girl, accepts his destiny and beats the villain. Nothing wrong with that except that it was done very dully here. Everything felt rushed, and nothing really stood out. Nothing really special but not the worst of its kind either. Ryan Reynolds does a good job but he can only doTale as old as time. Ordinary man becomes superhero, explores powers, likes a girl, a villain arrives, saves the girl, accepts his destiny and beats the villain. Nothing wrong with that except that it was done very dully here. Everything felt rushed, and nothing really stood out. Nothing really special but not the worst of its kind either. Ryan Reynolds does a good job but he can only do so much when everything else is just kind of lifeless. The action is also not very engaging, the villain is forgettable and towards the end I just wanted it to be over. Expand
  46. Aug 6, 2011
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I think it is a good movie but not a great movie, is like one of those movies you see when you don't have something better to do, the plot seems to be good but I could note than there are missing pieces, you can think, among other things that one new untrained green lantern can defeat an ancient an dangerous enemy so easily when a group of the best fearless well trained lanterns fail on the task, it just don't make any sense... Expand
  47. Aug 12, 2011
    4
    Expected to see something more, found it very.... boring, however, its a pretty good adaptation, the acting is terrible and disappointing, and also, the effects are good, but the acting is as bad as Transformers's
  48. Aug 17, 2011
    5
    I love the Green lantern, but the actors, to put it flatly, are awful. None of them do a respectable job, and it is very predictably, but the action scenes are really good.
  49. Oct 25, 2011
    5
    I have never imagine that a Super Hero film can be this Boring. Seeing Green Lantern makes me wanna say to DC "Please stop making movie except for Batman " . Ryan was good but not perfect ! Blake's character didn't have much to do as well as most of the characters . Spatial Effect was good and only the positive thing in this film . Movie's starting was okay but ending sucked ! DC shouldI have never imagine that a Super Hero film can be this Boring. Seeing Green Lantern makes me wanna say to DC "Please stop making movie except for Batman " . Ryan was good but not perfect ! Blake's character didn't have much to do as well as most of the characters . Spatial Effect was good and only the positive thing in this film . Movie's starting was okay but ending sucked ! DC should take a look at the Marvel Movies and learn how to make a Super Hero movie with Action , Adventure , Funny and well "Not Boring" . I was really looking forward for this movie and now i wish it was never been made ! Hard they are talking about a Sequel . I say "Good Luck losing money" . Expand
  50. Oct 24, 2011
    5
    It's a movie when you see you say: there is no shine in the movie and also has another problem the Senator Hammond has a horrible especial effect. So i have to say the movie is more or less
  51. Sep 27, 2011
    5
    this film has really bad effects,the story sucks
    Nli good point is ryan reynolds who does a good job as hal jordan
    Nd some points of d film s entertaining
  52. Nov 18, 2011
    6
    Green Lantern is not the best superhero movie of 2011, but it does have some cool action and an occasional sense of humor. The story is kind of a mess.
  53. Dec 19, 2011
    5
    Some parts were just too long and drawn out. The movie fails to capture what a true green lantern movie should have been about. Just when the movie starts to get good, its already reached the end.
  54. Dec 15, 2011
    5
    Despite the fact that "Green Lantern" is getting pummeled by critics, the movie itself isn't that bad. In fact, it does something that no other comic book movie has done yet this year. It takes its time introducing the characters. This was the first movie where I didn't feel like I was being rushed along from one plot point to the next. Before getting into the main story, we learn that HalDespite the fact that "Green Lantern" is getting pummeled by critics, the movie itself isn't that bad. In fact, it does something that no other comic book movie has done yet this year. It takes its time introducing the characters. This was the first movie where I didn't feel like I was being rushed along from one plot point to the next. Before getting into the main story, we learn that Hal Jordan (Ryan Reynolds) is a brash fighter pilot who has the potential to be something greater, and that his friendship with the beautiful Carol Ferris (Blake Lively) is a complicated one. In short, the screenwriters do a nice job of laying the foundation to potentially expand the depth of the characters as the movie progresses. But the problem that arises is that the writers don't do anything more past that point. They fail to take any of the characters in interesting directions. Sure, the characters change as they are supposed to, but every choice that's made is something we've seen in other films. The action is filmed well, but the action scenes themselves don't do anything to lift you out of your seat. This leaves us with only the storyline to rely upon. And what a lame storyline it is. Apparently in the universe, there's green energy which is a manifestation of willpower and yellow energy which encompasses fear. Also, floating around in the universe is a giant octopus with a computer animated face named Parallax. The mythology of "Green Lantern" is hokey, and when there's nothing else to suck us in (no compelling characters or action set pieces), the mythology sticks out like a really ugly blemish. I feel bad for Ryan Reynolds. He really does all he can with the role, and he shows that he can be a competent leading man. But the problem is that the movie surrounding his performance is so mediocre that he can do nothing to save it. Skip this and wait for a summer movie that brings the excitement. Expand
  55. Aug 2, 2013
    5
    Green Lantern isn't a dissapointment, as I saw its trailers and promotions, I thought it looked like absolute tripe, the many bad reviews made me think that for sure; anyway, it isn't a dissapointment, it's a surprise it's better than I thought it looked. I would have never even considered watching it if I wasn't given it as a joke bithday present from my sister. It's the a silly film inGreen Lantern isn't a dissapointment, as I saw its trailers and promotions, I thought it looked like absolute tripe, the many bad reviews made me think that for sure; anyway, it isn't a dissapointment, it's a surprise it's better than I thought it looked. I would have never even considered watching it if I wasn't given it as a joke bithday present from my sister. It's the a silly film in its scenarios and action, but it's super serious with its kinda sucky story line and dialogue. Hal Jordan the main hero barely even goes to the Green Lantern society and when he does, his comrades complain about how 'young' his race is and how stupid he is. The effects and CGI for the most part are overdone and look cheap, but on occaisions, they look pretty good but not impressive by any stretch. Character building/developement is lacking and the relationship between the villian and hero doesn't really develop. The action of the film is silly and cheap, and the film ends quickly and puts a sudden end to the growing climax. The acting, on the otherhand, is okay, not impressive but good enough.

    The Green Lantern is a surprisingly mediocre-ish silly/serious action film that does nothing more for the audience than kind of excite them a bit at the climax (that ends suddenly). So I give this film a... 51/100!
    Expand
  56. Mar 7, 2012
    6
    One of the biggest deceptions, I like this film, but in a part I understand the critics, this film have much mistakes, the performance of the good looking Ryan Reynolds is terrible, the only great performance is of Blake Lively, other mistakes are the abuse of the CGi, the bad use of all the Green Lanterns, I wait some like First Flight, or a new The Dark Knight, but is a biggestOne of the biggest deceptions, I like this film, but in a part I understand the critics, this film have much mistakes, the performance of the good looking Ryan Reynolds is terrible, the only great performance is of Blake Lively, other mistakes are the abuse of the CGi, the bad use of all the Green Lanterns, I wait some like First Flight, or a new The Dark Knight, but is a biggest deception. The Movie is funny for the people that don't meet much about the character, and the only thing that wanna watch are big effects, explosions and only. Expand
  57. Mar 26, 2012
    4
    Story and plot wise the movie is pretty darn bland and very random. Events sort of just happen without any reasonable explanation or emotional connection. For instance in the beginning a Green Lantern dies, who is supposedly a great comrade to another Lantern, we no nothing about him and the other Lantern with a straight face is grieving for the lose. The event is also very confusingStory and plot wise the movie is pretty darn bland and very random. Events sort of just happen without any reasonable explanation or emotional connection. For instance in the beginning a Green Lantern dies, who is supposedly a great comrade to another Lantern, we no nothing about him and the other Lantern with a straight face is grieving for the lose. The event is also very confusing because we really donâ Expand
  58. May 24, 2012
    6
    Being a HUGE Green Lantern fan, I have to knock this film around some. This movie is an origin story that struggles to give a story that really matters to the audience. It wasn't a failure in execution, but content. I felt that the acting was enjoyable; nobody seemed tired or tasked to add life the characters. The scenery and CG were dazzling, and the musical score was spot on (stillBeing a HUGE Green Lantern fan, I have to knock this film around some. This movie is an origin story that struggles to give a story that really matters to the audience. It wasn't a failure in execution, but content. I felt that the acting was enjoyable; nobody seemed tired or tasked to add life the characters. The scenery and CG were dazzling, and the musical score was spot on (still looking for the "Green Lantern" theme though). Much of the film seemed to skim over things, like characters and plot points, but I'm guessing that the filmmakers were expecting to make a sequel to follow-up on those. On the whole, the question really becomes "How do you make a movie about an intergalactic superhero/cop without turning the audience off with disbelief?" I could think of a few, but then that wouldn't be critiquing, just making excuses for this film. Expand
  59. May 17, 2012
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I don't like sci-fi movies, Green Lantern is better like comics. I want see different actors/actress in this movie. I like Ryan Reynolds, but this role isn't for him. Expand
  60. Jun 24, 2012
    6
    In no way is "Green Lantern" a hit or superb in its nature, but it isn't awful. Watching, you can find many errors script wise and casting wise, but visually this film is pretty creative. That and some of the comedic elemnts done by Renolds and the ensemble either with thim or at thim make this film not exactly a complete waste of time and somewhat enjoyable. Try not to laugh to hard atIn no way is "Green Lantern" a hit or superb in its nature, but it isn't awful. Watching, you can find many errors script wise and casting wise, but visually this film is pretty creative. That and some of the comedic elemnts done by Renolds and the ensemble either with thim or at thim make this film not exactly a complete waste of time and somewhat enjoyable. Try not to laugh to hard at the extras and supporting character's choices during the serious scenes, because you might hurt a die-hard Renolds movie fan while they are watching the film. You will. I promise. Just keep it contained. Leaving the theatre with your overpriced ticket and theatre food, I'm sure that you'll look back at the last 105 minutes of your not as a complete waste of time. You'll find at least one thing to happily talk about with your friends. That being against or for the film Expand
  61. Aug 9, 2012
    6
    Potential is the first thing that comes to mind after watching the green lantern. The movie itself could become a bit boring at times had some decent action sequences though and its just an origin story that never really got too exciting. I feel that they should in fact make a Green Lantern 2 though because ryan reynolds does seem to have what it takes to place the green lantern andPotential is the first thing that comes to mind after watching the green lantern. The movie itself could become a bit boring at times had some decent action sequences though and its just an origin story that never really got too exciting. I feel that they should in fact make a Green Lantern 2 though because ryan reynolds does seem to have what it takes to place the green lantern and would play well into the justice league mold. Expand
  62. Jul 1, 2014
    4
    This movie had been in development since 1997 and they still managed to **** it up. The plot was really small and it tried to show its special effects. This movie is just plain bad. Barely anyrhing is good about it.
  63. Dec 7, 2012
    5
    Critics were way to harsh on this one, but the only reason it was ripped apart by critics is because they compared it to X-Men First Class and Thor. This film is actually really hard for me to rate. There are definitely things that needed to be better in the plot and story, but I can't pinpoint what exactly needed to change. I think the main problem with the film is that it just didn'tCritics were way to harsh on this one, but the only reason it was ripped apart by critics is because they compared it to X-Men First Class and Thor. This film is actually really hard for me to rate. There are definitely things that needed to be better in the plot and story, but I can't pinpoint what exactly needed to change. I think the main problem with the film is that it just didn't mesh together, especially the beginning. The story just didn't settle all the way is a good way to explain it. Also, the film didn't tap into emotion, which it really needed to, especially since it's a crucial idea to the character and story.

    I liked that cast a lot more than I thought I would. I was hesitant about Ryan Reynolds, but he was great here and completely likable, as were Peter Saarsgard and Mark Strong. Blake Lively is also really nice (and hot).

    The fighting was entertaining and the CGI was pretty good, definitely nothing special.

    Overall, Green Lantern is an average entertaining Superhero film that works. I recommend it!
    Expand
  64. Jan 25, 2013
    6
    above average movie tells the story of the green lantern life and all ryan reynolds acting was decent not epic nor very bad and the other actors are decent also the movie all put together is above average i mean its watchable not that bad and i give it 6/10
  65. Jan 12, 2013
    4
    I don't think I've ever seen so much effort put in to a movie for such mediocre return. What I mean to say is that almost every scene of this movie is absolutely beautiful. Seriously breathtaking visuals. And yet, it's so overwhelmingly boring. What an odd dichotomy. Worth watching if for nothing else than a study in how important it is to have a strong script before you pour so much moneyI don't think I've ever seen so much effort put in to a movie for such mediocre return. What I mean to say is that almost every scene of this movie is absolutely beautiful. Seriously breathtaking visuals. And yet, it's so overwhelmingly boring. What an odd dichotomy. Worth watching if for nothing else than a study in how important it is to have a strong script before you pour so much money and talent in to a project like this. Expand
  66. Jan 13, 2015
    4
    Watched it recently on BD. Not a particularly good movie. Ok acting. Good effects Story is pretty stupid. I'm not that big on the whole Green Lantern universe, I find it lame.
  67. Jun 11, 2013
    5
    This movie is being trashed by critics, they just hate it, but this is my opinion. I did have fun with the movie, I thought it was very well acted, and it had a very engrossing buildup, so I liked that part of the movie, but after the rising action reaches the climax, well, there is no climax. The movie seemed a bit anti-climactic when it ends. It just seemed as if they lost all theirThis movie is being trashed by critics, they just hate it, but this is my opinion. I did have fun with the movie, I thought it was very well acted, and it had a very engrossing buildup, so I liked that part of the movie, but after the rising action reaches the climax, well, there is no climax. The movie seemed a bit anti-climactic when it ends. It just seemed as if they lost all their funding and they just wanted to end it a little to quickly, it seemed as if they ended it just too fast, and that brought down the quality of the movie, but I guess its okay. Expand
  68. Jun 13, 2013
    5
    The movie wasn't all that great. It started all great at the top of the mountain but it went down on the bumpy side of the mountain (if you know what i mean). The CGI was okay, it was obvious some times, but at some point of the film you feel like the film isn't really good. An at sometimes you feel like you wasted 10 bucks! The movie was alright, I mean i don"t think its a must see movie.The movie wasn't all that great. It started all great at the top of the mountain but it went down on the bumpy side of the mountain (if you know what i mean). The CGI was okay, it was obvious some times, but at some point of the film you feel like the film isn't really good. An at sometimes you feel like you wasted 10 bucks! The movie was alright, I mean i don"t think its a must see movie. Overall 5.8 out of 10 Expand
  69. Jul 24, 2013
    4
    this movie of green lantern was a very deception for me .
    Ryan Reynolds has the potential to be the green lantern but the movie is turning to the ridiculous
    the scenario would have been very well but it was badly exploited
  70. Jul 31, 2013
    4
    Boring. Very boring.
    I was never much of a Green Lantern fan, but I still thought he was an interesting character. I was excited for this move to an extent. However, the film is your standard origin story and doesn't do anything unique or even anything special like say... Batman Begins.
    To take a character like the Green Lantern and to transform into a mediocre, two dimensional hero
    Boring. Very boring.
    I was never much of a Green Lantern fan, but I still thought he was an interesting character. I was excited for this move to an extent. However, the film is your standard origin story and doesn't do anything unique or even anything special like say... Batman Begins.

    To take a character like the Green Lantern and to transform into a mediocre, two dimensional hero is... wrong. It's not the worst super hero film. Far, and I mean FAR from it. It's just a mediocre film. A boring one too.
    Expand
  71. Jun 12, 2014
    5
    movie was on TV the other night. I can't say I enjoyed this movie and the reason is the green lantern corp has too many chicken headed aliens and the scientist on earth deformed into some elephant man. But I would like to see a more intelligent version.
  72. Nov 12, 2013
    4
    This is one of the worst super hero movies I’ve seen. The plot is common (the hero masters his powers very quickly showing how great humans are), the characters follow the usual stereotypes (the man is irresponsible while the woman is perfectly balanced), the cgi are mediocre or worse (the planet of the Green Lanterns looks like a video game stage) and the action is not convincing (using aThis is one of the worst super hero movies I’ve seen. The plot is common (the hero masters his powers very quickly showing how great humans are), the characters follow the usual stereotypes (the man is irresponsible while the woman is perfectly balanced), the cgi are mediocre or worse (the planet of the Green Lanterns looks like a video game stage) and the action is not convincing (using a giant spring to throw a truck to the villain doesn’t look good). The villains are a huge evil cloud who drinks souls for breakfast and a potato-head who is depressed because daddy doesn't appreciate him. Lastly, there are many Green Lanterns in the universe but they are all useless except for the hero. At least the pacing is fast and the two protagonists, Reynolds and Lively, are pleasant to watch.
    argonautis.eu
    Expand
  73. Apr 17, 2014
    6
    Though it lacks the sophisticated storytelling of past superhero movies such as Spider-Man 2, The Dark Knight, or even Iron Man, Green Lantern still manages to dazzle on a visual level, has a plot that manages to stay together all the way through, and has Ryan Reynolds deliver a fun performance as Hal Jordan. All resulting in a decent, if somewhat, faulted superhero film.
  74. Jul 23, 2014
    6
    The Green Lantern may be visually appealing, but it overuses its effects to the great expense of its subpar story line, and less than adequate script.
  75. Jul 12, 2014
    6
    It wasn't bad but it wasn't the best had potential but it was the writing that let it down. Acting was fine but the villain wasn't good. If they started with Sinestro becoming with fear in the first 30 min and made him the main villain it would have been allot better.
  76. Jan 12, 2014
    4
    Last year, I rented Green Lantern from iTunes to watch on the Christmas holidays. I heard that it was a terrible movie, but I went ahead and watched it anyways. The movie was OK at the start, but then it just went downhill from there. The acting was kinda crap on certain areas, there was a slight overuse on CGI which made it look like the director was lazy and the story wasn't thatLast year, I rented Green Lantern from iTunes to watch on the Christmas holidays. I heard that it was a terrible movie, but I went ahead and watched it anyways. The movie was OK at the start, but then it just went downhill from there. The acting was kinda crap on certain areas, there was a slight overuse on CGI which made it look like the director was lazy and the story wasn't that interesting because I was left confused with certain parts of the movie.

    I do not think that the person who directed this movie did any good with it seeing as they had to switch directors during the making of this movie. It honestly could have done with more finer tuning in a lot of areas if this were to become a great movie. If you are a DC fan and you did not watch the movie, I suggest you don't watch it. You are better off getting the Green Lantern video game than watching this piece of crap.
    Expand
  77. Apr 21, 2014
    4
    This movie was such a disappointment I thought I was going to love this movie and I definitely didn't. There was noting memorable about this movie. If I was asked to re tell what happened in this movie I probably wouldn't be able to and I can usually retell every movie I watch. And the ending of this movie happened so suddenly I still thought there was like 30 minutes left and it wentThis movie was such a disappointment I thought I was going to love this movie and I definitely didn't. There was noting memorable about this movie. If I was asked to re tell what happened in this movie I probably wouldn't be able to and I can usually retell every movie I watch. And the ending of this movie happened so suddenly I still thought there was like 30 minutes left and it went straight from an action scene and then pretty much just ended. A disappointing movie to say the least. Expand
  78. May 17, 2014
    4
    Green Lantern is a giant letdown. This movie shows that Marvel is better at making movies then DC. The suit looks awful. I don't know which of the two bad guys is the main villan. In my opinion There are two movies that came out in 2011 that is way better then this movie is, and they are Transformers Dark Of The Moon and X men First Class.
  79. Jun 26, 2015
    4
    Green Lantern is a really bad movie. The movie is very long has to start. Actor do not play very well. It's a pity a movie of super-hero which would have been able to have of the potential.
Metascore
39

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 39
  2. Negative: 15 out of 39
  1. Reviewed by: Marc Savlov
    Jun 23, 2011
    20
    It's a helluva comic book, to be sure, but it's a godawful mess of a movie.
  2. 60
    Apart from having no particular reason to exist onscreen, especially at these prices, it's not half bad.
  3. Reviewed by: Glen Weldon
    Jun 17, 2011
    40
    The film splinters into three near-discrete storylines that don't play all that well together.