User Score
5.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 524 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 18, 2011
    9
    Everyone sounds so stupid on this page. "OMG Why would anyone like this movie? They should've seen *insert less successful movie here* instead!" Its summer, its a comic book superhero movie, it had a bazillion dollar budget just for advertising... you're right that pretty much adds up to "lame movie" however, they aren't even attempting to make genre changing, Oscar winning gold, they are trying to sell some tickets to a movie that costs a **** to produce. Its fun, its entertaining, and the changes made from the comic book were necessary for time constraints. If you have read the Green Lantern run that has been written by Geoff Johns the past few years this movie would satisfy your craving to see these epic space battles in live-action rather than on the page or in a usually bland reinterpretation on animated DVD. This movie is easily one of the most entertaining superhero movies made and it sticks to the spirit of the book more than most superheroes even try to pretend they do. Loved it. Expand
  2. Jun 19, 2011
    9
    Don't believe the critics. This film is a lot of fun! Its got great action fun locations and a list of great characters as long as my arm. Going to a comic book film should be a fun experience at all times, it should be light and fun. This is that movie! Its only rival would be X-Men: First Class which is another great comic movie. Green Lantern starts off with some great adventure and will keep you entertained until the end. The special effects are a lot of fun to look at, and the 3D conversion looks fantastic. Its a must see for comic fans and fans of fun summer movies, because when it comes to summer movies this is head and shoulders above the rest! Expand
  3. Jun 17, 2011
    10
    A very good movie for a first run at this particular hero! R.R was the right choice. A good balance of action both in the suit and out. I look forward to number two!
  4. Jun 18, 2011
    9
    Its good to see dc going in the same direction as marvel, this movie is what its supposed to be fun..a good popcorn flick worth seeing and worth buying when it comes out..
  5. Jun 19, 2011
    10
    Excellent movie... and 3D made it all the better. It was the best 3D effects I've ever seen. I really hope there will be a sequel. The end of the movie (after the credits) left room for one.
  6. Jun 19, 2011
    10
    I liked it. Adventure with a side of humour. Ryan Reynolds was great. Clancy Brown is a great voice for Parallax. Peter Sarsgaard is a great villain (Hector Hammond) . I'll probably see it again!
  7. Jun 17, 2011
    10
    I honestly have no idea what the reviews are talking about, Green Lantern was amazing!

    I loved every thing about it. The fights were awesome, Oa looked fantastic, Hector was creepy as hell, Ryan was wonderful, the CGI was great, the pacing was near-perfect and the jokes were spot on! Sure it wasn't 100% faithful to the comics, but what movie is? GL was very fun and exciting. And all of
    this is coming from a big GL fan.

    I went in expected to be disappointed, but I came out with a huge smile on my face. I can't wait to go see it again!
    Collapse
  8. Jul 3, 2011
    9
    I may not be a huge Green Lantern comic book fan, but Ryan Reynolds delivered in his role as Hal Jordan. I'm not quite sure why the critics have been bashing this movie, because it's a pretty solid popcorn movie. If you're expecting Citizen Kane from Green Lantern, then you've only got yourself to blame. A solid superhero movie and pure escapism!
  9. Jun 18, 2011
    9
    As someone who has been reading comic books since I was 12, I have to say that GL was great. After watching Superman Returns and the last three X-men movies I had almost given up hope that any superhero screenplay would be anywhere close to the source material (Superman having a son? Jean Grey killing Cyclops? blasphemy!) GL, and the Dark Knight before it, renewed hope that Hollywood can make a comic movie without completely rewriting 50 years of character development. Other than the presence of Paralax, 90% of the Hal Jordan origin story reflects what you find in GL: Secret Origin (by Geoff Johns), which keeps this from becoming just another cringe worthy attempt to cash in on the wave of superhero films since the late 90's. That being said it isn't Shakespeare, so if you're looking for a heady drama you're not going to find it here. Overall it was a great summer adventure that keeps you entertained for an hour and a half, which is just what it is supposed to do. The Pros - True to the source material
    - Ryan Reynolds plays Hal like he is supposed to be: flawed, but working to overcome his shortcomings
    - Amazing character design for the other GLs (Sinestro, Killowog, Tomar)
    - Enough (but not too much) humor to prevent it from being dark and dreary. GL isn't Batman, and isn't supposed to be.
    - Didn't feel like it was overloaded with visual fx, but they still looked awesome
    - Good dialog overall. no "are you an angel" (to quote phantom menace) lines in this to make you wonder what the writer's IQ is

    The Cons - needed a bit more action, if they make a sequel they should find a villain who's main ability isn't that he's a "thinker not a doer"
    - not enough character development for the supporting cast. other than Carol the average audience wont really be able to tell you anything about Tom, Killowog, Tomar, etc. and if you haven't read the comics you really won't know why Hals older brother is an ass

    bottom line: not a bad job for GL's first time on the silver screen. I'd give it an 8.5 if they'd let me
    Expand
  10. Jun 24, 2011
    10
    This movie does not deserve the critic reviews that it has received so far. It almost seems that the reviews are paid by Marvel studios! Special effects were excellent! The 3D was arguably the best executed since Avatar. Even Thor looked fuzzy and out of focus compared to this movie. The story could have been better and the pacing was off and that means this movie will not win an oscar but i never tried to. This movie is meant to be family fun while managing to give GL fans many of the things we wanted to see. This movie does not bastardize the concept or the story that was developed over so many years in print. I give this movie a 10 to make a point. It does not deserve a 10 not does it deserve the current critic score of 39. IMDB has it right. These ratings just go to reduce my trust in metacritic and rottentomatoes reviews. Go and Enjoy the film. Expand
  11. Jun 27, 2011
    10
    I thought it was much better than what the critics thought, I would recommend it. I thought the special effects were good and tha Ryan Reynolds was excellent in his role. Remember they had to spend time with the background of the story,
  12. KCB
    Jun 27, 2011
    10
    My husband & I really enjoyed Green Lantern alot!!! We thought Ryan Reynolds was great and the special effects were very good. We think the critics were way wrong - Green Lantern was so very much better than Thor the bore, Hope they do a sequel wirh more romance between Reynolds & Lively
  13. Jul 4, 2011
    10
    The movie was really entertaining. Critics got this wrong. Yes, the movie was a little short and a bit rushed. It should have been 15 minutes longer. However, aside from that, the special effects were pretty good and the origin story was pretty close to the comic. I hope they still make a sequel with Sinestro as the villian.
  14. Jun 27, 2011
    10
    Wat a pile of crud. And now the studio wants to give us a sequel! the trailer was good, but that was the only thing that was. Honestly wanted y money back.
  15. Jun 17, 2011
    10
    What were the critics thinking? I loved this movie. I liked the story, acting, special effects, I really loved this movie. I went to see Super 8 last week and didn't think it was near as good as this movie. It was just like the comics that I grew up reading. All I can say is if you read the Green Lantern back in the 70ies like I did, then you are going to love this movie. The guy playing Senestro looked just like him! Don't listen to those stupid critics, go see this movie. Expand
  16. Jun 19, 2011
    9
    Yeah critics shame on you. I really liked this movie. Critic's are fools and trolls and shouldn't be trusted. Make up your own mind and support a good movie. I mean i thought Thor was awesome, but i still think Green Lantern deserves way more credit. I saw no problems with the plot at all other than changes that they made from the comics which is always expected from Hollywood. Ryan Reynolds acting was good had a good story and he wasn't annoying like as Deadpool in Xmen. Expand
  17. Jun 17, 2011
    10
    Books often don't translate well to film. A good writer can make it work. The acting in the film is fair, but no actor can transform a bad script into a good film. Those who chose the script should be hit with the bill for failed sales at the box office. Their opinion of the public verges on contempt and therefore the public shows its contempt by ignoring this trite effort at cinema.
  18. Jun 17, 2011
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I was surprised how good this film was. First, you have the "professional critics" saying that it's a bust and then, the users? I walked into the theater expecting Fantastic Four! It was legitimately well done and brilliantly written! The weak points were the score (I couldn't hum a single line from the film if you asked me to right now. It's very forgettable.), one line delivered by Hal's friend ("But doesn't the hero always get the girl?" The audience just sat there, confused. It was completely out of context and made NO sense.), and the apathy the audience is supposed to feel for the Dr. He may have wanted the girl, but I'm not sure I believed that. Also, his dead was a little underwhelming. The movie gets very "real" in a couple of parts...and they are both believable. Reynolds has always been a phenomenal actor, but he really shines here. These people tearing the film apart were in a bad mood. They had to be. Of course...these are the same people who told me Thor was a good film. Ha. You will enjoy it. I can almost guarantee it. Expand
  19. Jun 20, 2011
    10
    I was looking forward to this moving for a long time, then I started seeing the critic reviews rolling in and my balloon began to burst and I was not sure if I was even going to spend my money to see it. Obviously I did, and mainly because critics, the majority of them, suck. They are too full of themselves to enjoy a good movie. This movie was fun. It was a great superhero flick, and I am glad I went to see it. There was no bad acting, nothing to speak of takes you out of the fiction of the movie. Go see it in 3D if you can. Expand
  20. Jun 20, 2011
    10
    If u r a complete bore with no friends or sense of humor DON'T go see this movie as no one wants to read your post crying like a baby about how "Your" version of the movie wasn't met! This flick was an awesome roller coaster ride that was never a dull moment and had some of the most gorgeous visuals of late. I love all the comic book movies that have come out and this one has made me a fan of the Green Lantern. Go support the studios! Expand
  21. Jun 21, 2011
    9
    Green lantern was a wonderful comic book movie come to life after all these years. it was brilliant & bold to use the cgi effects to give an Epic action sequence, including the costumes. Hectors mutated head was very realistic, and Parallax even more deadlier than the comics. This is an all entertaining movie for everyone.
  22. Jun 21, 2011
    10
    After all the critic reviews I thought the movie would really suck but I found myself thoroughly entertained. The plot is not the strongest ever, but the visuals are amazing and the movie was fun. Go in with a light attitude and you will probably enjoy it.
  23. Jun 22, 2011
    10
    I may be one of a select few people, but I don't listen to reviewers to decide what I watch. In fact I HAD to create an account just so I could further prove why I'm glad I don't. Everywhere the critics have it voted worse then I have ever seen a movie rated. Yes it had some minor flaws, but I still don't believe it deserved HALF of the brash words it received.

    Let me start off by saying
    that I am an AVID green lantern fan, in fact I was going into this movie EXPECTING to be disappointed. Just because I felt that it could never convey what I believed the Lantern Universe deserved on the big screen.
    I was still looking forward to it, even with my negative expectations.

    I truly believe from the bottom of my 'comic book guy' level of 'fan-dom' that it could not have portrayed Hal Jordan and the lantern Universe any better.

    Yes, There were some issues with the plot, and I truly thought that the Hector Hammond story arc, could have been saved for a later movie. I also felt that there were things that did NOT stick to the comics but overall it was close enough to stay ballpark accurate for the fans and coherent enough for the newcomers.

    Now, while I did think there were minor flaws, the one flaw that bothers me most is everyone keeps comparing it to something IT IS NOT.

    It is not The Dark Knight, it is not Iron Man, nor is it by any means trying to be either one of them.
    While I love them both the problem with those movies is the dark and sombre tone to them, and the lack of connection to the characters themselves. Think about it, Batman can only do what he does because he is a billionaire, same with Stark. While that is a nice setting, Green Lantern does away with that altogether and basically says: "No." No you can not join us, no matter how smart you are, no matter how rich you are, you have to be CHOSEN.
    There is absolutly nothing else like it, maybe that is why the critics hate it, they don't really know how to review it.

    In today's dark, gritty, and all around perverted style of comic book movies, Green Lantern actually does us a favor and tries to be different.
    Instead of gritty caves, murderers and terrorists it gives us a place we can escape from the human concerns and tragedies that surround us.

    Every scene that had both Hal as a lantern, as well as the other members of the corps left me wanting more. Every scene where he was just plain ol' Hal gave me more insight to what was going on in his head, and yes the script was corney at times, but it was SUPPOSED TO BE! That is actually Hal's character. The part of Sinestro was amasing as well, often times I forgot he was an actor.

    People now-a-days complaining about 'Obvious CG' need to remember one bloody thing.
    "The original Star Wars/Star Trek movies/series USED MODELS ON STRINGS!"
    WHO CARES?! Frankly I didn't notice anything obsurd about the CG, nor did it ever feel out of place. In fact I felt that it was the most stunning CG I have EVER seen. When we were on OA it felt how OA should feel, magestic yet completly alien. When we saw the other lanterns it was the same.

    I am finished with this review but I leave you with one final and important thought.
    I went to see this movie with my fiancée and my best friend.
    Neither of them had an understanding of the comics yet, when all three of us walked out of that theater after the credits had finished rolling and the screen turned off.
    We all asked the same question:
    "When is the next showing?"
    Expand
  24. Jul 5, 2011
    9
    I saw this movie (in 3D) with two friends of mine... et we loved it ! I say there are a few flaws in the script, but it's not that important. And... It's what "I" wanted to see in the fist place. Great action, great fun !!! I can't wait to see what they will with Sinestro in the second movie... LOVED the whole thing ! G-R-E-A-T !
    P.-S. This movie make me want to join... the Grenn Lantern
    Corp. LOL. :-) Expand
  25. Jul 22, 2011
    10
    How there can be such huge fans of Harry Putter and say this movie wasn't great is beyond me. Funny, action pact, awesome special effects, great message that wasn't environmental. Great movie for the whole family. Thank goodness for finally a great comic book movie since Iron Man 1!!
  26. Jul 7, 2011
    10
    This movie is a lot better than what many critics are trying to make it out to be. I am a fan of the Green Lantern super-hero idea (and not just because my favorite color IS Green) but because of the fact that the powers of a Green Lantern is that while a chosen one wears the green ring, he and/or she and/or it can create virtually anything they can think up of in their mind. The character designs, C.G.I. and special effects were all amazing, and the actors/actresses' who made up this movie all played their parts to perfection! Comic book fanatics will be especially pleased, as this movie explores in great detail, the origin of one of the greatest Green Lanterns (some would even argue the BEST Green Lantern ever) known as Hal Jordan. If you want to see action, romance, and humor in a comic book superhero movie, than this is a great movie to see! :D And a sequel is definitely not out of the question, I recommend checking it out to see what I mean. I thoroughly enjoyed it and I highly recommend it! :idea: Enough said! ;) Expand
  27. Oct 3, 2011
    10
    Green Lantern is so much better than so many other films that have been released recently I expected schlock from all of the negative reviews but I found it to be fun, visually engaging, and the characters interesting,and likeable. This is NOT A BAD MOVIE. It is not perfect but it doesn't insult your intelligence and isn't ultra violent like most. I seriously don't understand the bad reviews it didn't deserve it. This was way better than Transformers- all of them. Also better than the Jar Jar Binks Star Wars atrocities. Expand
  28. Jul 1, 2011
    10
    i think some of the criticism was very harsh indeed. Ok it is no masterpiece but it's very entertaining and has decent humour. I think the problem was with the plot and the lack of real enemy. Also the whole idea that ou can create any weapon you like it's too easy and maybe not too interesting on the big screen. Regardless I would like to see a sequel.
  29. Sep 4, 2011
    10
    I'm a huge fan of green lantern and this movie certainly didn't disappoint me at all. It had great 3-D, ryan reynolds was perfect for the part. The guardian's of the universe looked great and there was some amazing action. It was kinda weird that yellow wasn't a weakness but whatever.
  30. Dec 13, 2011
    9
    There have been some awesome super hero movies that have come out, and Green Lantern has earned the right to call itself one of them, Ryan Reynolds does a fantastic job, as does the rest of the cast, I would have liked to see more interaction between Hal and the rest of the Lanterns, but that's a small complaint, and it does have some other minor flaws but in the end that doesn't detract from what is one of the best super hero movies of this year. Expand
  31. Jun 20, 2011
    9
    I can't agree more with DaleHeisch. Those who hate it, don't understand the genre. The makers of GL made this one for the fans. As a comic book fan myself, I enjoyed the subtle visual homages to the comic art style employed throughout the movie by the photography direction. I don't want to spoil anything, for those who have the keener eye but there is one shot in particular that I found fantastic. The Green Lantern story is all about Hal and so it is in the movie. I found the movie to be a lot of fun and terrific to watch in 3D. Expand
  32. Jul 11, 2011
    9
    I think this movie deserved more than what it got. I highly enjoyed the story and I would recommend it to my friends to see it. The main reason it didn't get a 10 was that the special effects were not the greatest I have ever seen.
  33. Jul 13, 2011
    10
    I'll tell you! I really dislike critics. Almost every time they dislike a movie, I love it. I'm not sure why we even have them. The movie was an enjoyable superhero romp, which is exactly what most people will go and see it for. OK! it might have tried to bite off a bit more than it could chew re past plots and stories, but hey it had action, romance, humour, great special effects, and it was a lot fun. They can concentrate on making the next one better. But for me, I go to the movies to immerse my self in two hours of suspended reality, and this movie does this brilliantly. I give it 10 and can't wait for the next one. Expand
  34. Jul 31, 2011
    10
    The Green Lantern is the best movie of all time. great summer flick. All DC superhero fans should know about Hal Jordan and The Green Lantern corps. overall this movie is awesome and will inpress everybody
  35. Aug 1, 2011
    10
    cool movie, great sound, and awesome on th big screen. any super hero fan wil sure like this movie.,
  36. Sep 11, 2011
    10
    I should say i am an Marvel fan rather than DC Comics but nonetheless this movie was good and definitely worth to be watched. I was not so familiar with Green Lantern before this one and didn't read any comic books of him.Ryan Reynolds did fine and was fit for the role, Just like the time he played Deadpool in X-Men movies. Blake Lively was hot & stunning as we all expected. The boss fight with Parallax in city was actually looking like Kraken scene in Clash of the Titans but all the space fighting and brawl near the sun was exciting. Wish i could be watching this in 3-D. Expand
  37. Dec 10, 2011
    9
    A great performance by Ryan Reynolds and it was really fun he played a test pilot who becomes a superhero with will as his main power i think this was a great movie, the greatest superhero movie i have ever seen.
  38. Aug 29, 2012
    10
    Ok, there are better superhero movies, but "Green Lantern" is still enjoyable (I would give it a 6, but it's been bad reviewed enough). Ryan Reynolds is a good actor, he really looks like the comic-character Hal Jordan and also the rest of the cast has made a good job. Not a masterpiece, but still worth watching it!
Metascore
39

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 39
  2. Negative: 15 out of 39
  1. Reviewed by: Marc Savlov
    Jun 23, 2011
    20
    It's a helluva comic book, to be sure, but it's a godawful mess of a movie.
  2. 60
    Apart from having no particular reason to exist onscreen, especially at these prices, it's not half bad.
  3. Reviewed by: Glen Weldon
    Jun 17, 2011
    40
    The film splinters into three near-discrete storylines that don't play all that well together.