Metascore
39

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 39 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 543 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , ,
  • Summary: In a universe as vast as it is mysterious, a small but powerful force has existed for centuries. Protectors of peace and justice, they are called the Green Lantern Corps. A brotherhood of warriors sworn to keep intergalactic order, each Green Lantern wears a ring that grants him superpowers.In a universe as vast as it is mysterious, a small but powerful force has existed for centuries. Protectors of peace and justice, they are called the Green Lantern Corps. A brotherhood of warriors sworn to keep intergalactic order, each Green Lantern wears a ring that grants him superpowers. But when a new enemy called Parallax threatens to destroy the balance of power in the Universe, their fate and the fate of Earth lie in the hands of their newest recruit, the first human ever selected: Hal Jordan. Hal is a gifted and cocky test pilot, but the Green Lanterns have little respect for humans, who have never harnessed the infinite powers of the ring before. But Hal is clearly the missing piece to the puzzle, and along with his determination and willpower, he has one thing no member of the Corps has ever had: humanity. With the encouragement of fellow pilot and childhood sweetheart Carol Ferris, if Hal can quickly master his new powers and find the courage to overcome his fears, he may prove to be not only the key to defeating Parallax...he will become the greatest Green Lantern of all. (Warner Bros.)
    Expand
Watch On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 39
  2. Negative: 15 out of 39
  1. Reviewed by: Mike Scott
    Jun 17, 2011
    75
    So what we have is a movie that will make at least two important groups happy. New Orleans boosters can cheer Green Lantern for its local roots and for the possibility that the inevitable future installments could return to town. And the purists can cheer, knowing that Campbell and crew have done Green Lantern justice.
  2. Reviewed by: Roger Ebert
    Jun 16, 2011
    63
    Green Lantern does not intend to be plausible. It intends to be a sound-and-light show, assaulting the audience with sensational special effects. If that's what you want, that's what you get.
  3. Reviewed by: Justin Chang
    Jun 15, 2011
    60
    An attempt to infuse an earnest piece of comicbook lore with an irreverent, tongue-in-cheek sensibility yields decidedly mixed results in Green Lantern.
  4. Reviewed by: Keith Uhlich
    Jun 14, 2011
    40
    Whenever this Lantern returns to terra firma (too often), its imaginative flights are ground down under the Warners overlords' demographic-pandering heels.
  5. Reviewed by: Michael Wilmington
    Jun 16, 2011
    40
    The result is a deadly disappointment, despite Ryan Reynolds's cocky, muscle-flexing charisma as the daredevil test pilot turned intergalactic peacekeeper and Peter Sargaard's movie-stealing turn as a nerdy scientist turned psycho monster.
  6. Reviewed by: Joe Williams
    Jun 16, 2011
    38
    The spectacular collapse of Green Lantern is bound to be blamed on Reynolds, but the villainy has its origins in an injustice league of TV-trained screenwriters and tin-hearted studio suits.
  7. Reviewed by: Dana Stevens
    Jun 17, 2011
    20
    Even by the standards of the current run of mediocre comic-book movies, this one stands out for its egregious shoddiness.

See all 39 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 50 out of 212
  1. Jun 17, 2011
    10
    A very good movie for a first run at this particular hero! R.R was the right choice. A good balance of action both in the suit and out. I lookA very good movie for a first run at this particular hero! R.R was the right choice. A good balance of action both in the suit and out. I look forward to number two! Expand
  2. Jun 18, 2011
    9
    Everyone sounds so stupid on this page. "OMG Why would anyone like this movie? They should've seen *insert less successful movie here*Everyone sounds so stupid on this page. "OMG Why would anyone like this movie? They should've seen *insert less successful movie here* instead!" Its summer, its a comic book superhero movie, it had a bazillion dollar budget just for advertising... you're right that pretty much adds up to "lame movie" however, they aren't even attempting to make genre changing, Oscar winning gold, they are trying to sell some tickets to a movie that costs a **** to produce. Its fun, its entertaining, and the changes made from the comic book were necessary for time constraints. If you have read the Green Lantern run that has been written by Geoff Johns the past few years this movie would satisfy your craving to see these epic space battles in live-action rather than on the page or in a usually bland reinterpretation on animated DVD. This movie is easily one of the most entertaining superhero movies made and it sticks to the spirit of the book more than most superheroes even try to pretend they do. Loved it. Expand
  3. Jun 25, 2011
    8
    The movie was fun. Acting was well executed. Especially mark strong as sinestro, it's not his fault the writers dropped the ball with hisThe movie was fun. Acting was well executed. Especially mark strong as sinestro, it's not his fault the writers dropped the ball with his character. But the problems with his character could be fixed with a sequel. The rest was fine compared to the comics. Expand
  4. Jun 25, 2011
    5
    I went into "Green Lantern" without any expectations, despite the terrible reviews & the fact that I've been reading the comic for overI went into "Green Lantern" without any expectations, despite the terrible reviews & the fact that I've been reading the comic for over fifteen years - I was just happy to finally see one of my favorite superheroes brought to life. Somewhere around the twenty-minute mark, I actually thought, "I wonder what all the negativity is about; this is actually pretty entertaining." What followed soon after that thought extinguished my feeling of hope.. The worst scenes are the ones that involve the romance between Hal & Carol Farris as the majority fall flat & are even cringe-inducing at times. One scene is especially bad & I couldn't help but think, "What is this, 'Top Gun'?" Although Carol is an important part of the Green Lantern mythology, it feels like much of her relationship with Hal is shoehorned into the film in order to draw a more varied audience.. However, my biggest problem with the movie is not the romance, but how little time is spent away from Earth. In my opinion, the off-world scenes are the most enjoyable parts of the movie, but they feel squandered amongst the rest of the film. Without spoiling anything, a lot of the plot-lines feel incomplete, while the amalgamation of important chapters of the comic book mythology feels like a wasted opportunity to paint a bigger picture of the Green Lantern universe that could have easily been expanded in sequels stemming directly from concepts introduced in this movie. Example: I can't help but wonder what purpose, if any, Angela Bassett's character will serve as her role in the comic book world is an important one; maybe she'll be the Nick Fury of DC movies..? Casting: Besides a few good moments, Ryan Reynolds just did not fit as Hal Jordan. If he were playing Booster Gold, I'd be singing a different tune.. As for the rest of the cast, Mark Strong is excellent as Sinestro & Peter Sarsgaard is very effective as Hector Hammond. Overall, I didn't think any of the acting was bad; the writing is what keeps "Green Lantern" from becoming anything memorable. Expand
  5. Jun 17, 2011
    5
    The movie started off well enough and seemed to introduce some interesting concepts but the movie felt rushed. It really felt like wholeThe movie started off well enough and seemed to introduce some interesting concepts but the movie felt rushed. It really felt like whole scenes were missing. It was almost like they edited two movies into one and chopped it down, the end result is like someone trying to smash puzzle pieces that don't fit together. Some parts didn't make sense but it was...enjoyable, I guess? I didn't leave fully disappointed, just slightly disappointed but I wasn't expecting very much to begin with. Stiff acting at times and hammy performances at others, they special effects were actually way better than I expected. I liked the ring on ring action sequences the best but the ending monster battle just sucked. Expand
  6. Mar 26, 2012
    4
    Story and plot wise the movie is pretty darn bland and very random. Events sort of just happen without any reasonable explanation or emotionalStory and plot wise the movie is pretty darn bland and very random. Events sort of just happen without any reasonable explanation or emotional connection. For instance in the beginning a Green Lantern dies, who is supposedly a great comrade to another Lantern, we no nothing about him and the other Lantern with a straight face is grieving for the lose. The event is also very confusing because we really donâ Expand
  7. Jan 22, 2012
    0
    Ryan Reynolds has officially ruined his career with this movie. Until this point, he'd been a great comedy actor with some crossovers intoRyan Reynolds has officially ruined his career with this movie. Until this point, he'd been a great comedy actor with some crossovers into drama & action. The only movies of the comic-book inspired superhero genre worth seeing, in my opinion, are the revived Batman series of movies. Even those are getting a bit campy with Bale's overly-dramatic angry whisper-delivered dialogue. Hollywood needs new creative minds badly. Expand

See all 212 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Summer Movie Scorecard: The Best of 2011 So Far

    Summer Movie Scorecard: The Best of 2011 So Far Image
    Published: September 7, 2011
    The summer movie season has officially come to a close, which means that it's time once again to take a look at the quality and financial performance of the films released during the past few months (and the year to date).